DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8-10 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son (KR 20190092879; machine translation relied upon).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Son teaches an electrolyte solution comprising an organic solvent, a lithium salt, a first additive, and a second additive, wherein Son teaches the use of ethyl propionate and/or propyl propionate (taken to be the claimed first additive) (the specific embodiments of the first additive claimed in claim 1), where ethyl propionate and/or propyl propionate can be present in the organic solvent along with other chain compounds, where the mixture of linear carbonate solvents to cyclic carbonate solvents is 1:1 to 9:1, preferably 1.5:1 to 4:1, this resulting in an amount of the first additive of from greater than 0 to almost 90% (for an embodiment where the linear carbonate solvent is purely ethyl propionate and/or propyl propionate in a 9:1 ratio with the cyclic carbonate solvents), overlapping the claimed range of 20% by weight or less, the second additive is pentaerythritol disulfate (the specific embodiment of the second additive claimed in claim 6), present in an amount preferably of 0.05 to 5% by weight (machine translation at pages 3-5; see original at paragraphs [0025]-[0026] and [0035]-[0036]), resulting in a range of first to second additive weight ratio of from just above 0 to 1800, overlapping the claimed range.. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an amount of ethyl propionate and/or propyl propionate in an amount of 20% by weight or less and a ratio of claimed first additive to second additive as claimed because Son teaches overlapping ranges (see machine translation at page 4). “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” MPEP at 2144.05 citing In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 8, Son teaches numerous lithium salts from the claimed list, including at least LiPF₆, LiClO4, LiBF₄, and LiSbF₆ (machine translation at page 4).
Regarding claim 9, Son teaches that the organic solvent can be at least one from the group consisting of numerous of the claimed solvents, including at least ethylene carbonate, propylene carbonate, butylene carbonate, and vinylene carbonate (machine translation at page 4).
Regarding claim 10, Son teaches 1 to 10% by weight based on the total weight of the solvent of one or more of lithium difluorobis (oxalato) phosphate, lithium bis (oxalato) borate, lithium difluoro (oxalato) borate, lithium bis (fluorosulfonyl) imide, ethylene sulfate, and fluoroethylene carbonate (machine translation at page 5).
Regarding claim 13, Son teaches that lithium secondary battery comprising a cathode, an anode, a separator, and an electrolyte where the electrolyte is the electrolyte set forth above (machine translation at pages 5 and 10).
Regarding claims 14-17, Son teaches that the electrolyte for a secondary battery comprising the vinylene carbonate and the cyclic sulfate compound to suppress an increase of resistance during high temperature storage and enhances capacity retention rate and room temperature and high temperature lifetime characteristics (abstract), and uses an electrolyte reading on all of the claimed limitations of the instant application. Accordingly, Applicant is claiming a function of the electrolyte with respect to claims 13-16, and the composition is the same, therefore the limitations of these claims are taken to be anticipated or obvious. “Where applicant claims a composition in terms of a function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function is not explicitly disclosed by the reference, the examiner may make a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, expressed as a 102/103 rejection.” MPEP § 2112.
Regarding claim 18, with regard to the recitation “the lithium secondary battery is a battery for energy storage systems (ESSs) or as a battery for automobiles,” this claim limitation is merely intended use of the battery. The manner in which an apparatus operates is not germane to the issue of patentability of the apparatus itself. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The battery of Son set forth above is fully capable of being used as a battery for energy storage systems or for automobiles.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C 112 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior art rejection of claims 1-18 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to the prior art rejection of claim 1, Applicant argues that Son does not teach EP or PP in an amount of 20% by weight or less relative to the total weight of the electrolyte. However, as was set forth previously and has again been set forth above, Son teaches an overlapping range of EP or PP, and thus renders the claim obvious.
Applicant argues unexpected results of the invention. Unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claims has not been demonstrated at least for the reason that formula 6 defining the second additive in claim 1 encompasses a very large number of chemical compounds due to the R groups having a variety of configurations, whereas only one specific chemical compound has been tested as the second additive in the examples and comparative examples using the claimed first additives (see tables 6 and 7). Further, unexpected results commensurate in scope with the invention have not been demonstrated because results have not been submitted at the top and above the top of the range of the first additive while falling within the claimed weight ratio, below the bottom, at the bottom, at the top, and above the top of the claimed amount of the second additive, and at the top and bottom of the range of weight ratio of first to second additive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.N.S/ Examiner, Art Unit 1749 September 3, 2026
/KATELYN W SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749