DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 and 16-20, in the reply filed on 03/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/18/2026.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-7 and 16-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “a hydrogen atom a linear or branched alkyl” in line 4, which should have a comma and “or” separating “a hydrogen atom” and “a linear or branched alkyl” since they are different species in the list. The Office suggests that Applicant change this to “a hydrogen atom, or a linear or branched alkyl”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huffman et al. (JP 2012-2016634 A, cited in IDS, machine translation in English or untranslated patent used for citation as indicated, made of record on 07/13/2023).
Regarding claim 1, Huffman teaches a copolymer composed of isopropylacrylamide derivatives having two or more alkyne groups represented by the following chemical formula (translation [0035])
(untranslated [0036]), which reads on a copolymer comprising a repeating unit 1 represented by the claimed formula (1) and a repeating unit 2 represented by the claimed formula (2), in the formula (1), X1 represents a hydrogen atom, and in the formula (2), X2 represents a hydrogen atom, L2 represents a divalent group, multiple R1s are same as each other and are each selected from a hydrogen atom, Z is selected from C(R1)2, a’ is an integer of 0 to 1, a’’ is an integer of 0 to 1, and a sum of a’ and a’’ is 1 as claimed
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher et al. (US 2017/0304420 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fisher teaches a statistical copolymer having the formula
, wherein
,
, and
[0119], which reads on a copolymer comprising a repeating unit 1 represented by the claimed formula (1) and a repeating unit 2, in the formula (1), X1 represents a hydrogen atom as claimed. Fisher teaches that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], wherein the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which suggests modifying Fisher’s
group in Fisher’s X group in Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer to be a different species, such as -CH(CH3)CH2-, such that the -CH- group is bonded to the -CONH- group bonded to the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, and the -CH2- group is bonded to the -NHCO- bonded to the -(CH2)2- group in the side group of Fisher’s statistical copolymer. Fisher therefore suggests the copolymer further comprising a repeating unit 2 represented by the claimed formula (2), in the formula (2), X2 represents a linear alkyl group having 1 carbon atom, L2 represents a divalent group, multiple R1s are same as or different from each other and are each selected from a hydrogen atom, an alkenyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, where two or more R1s bind to each other to form a ring, Z is selected from NR1, a’ is an integer of 2 to 3, a’’ is an integer of 2 to 3, and a sum of a’ and a’’ is 5.
Fisher does not teach that the copolymer further comprises a repeating unit 2 represented by the claimed formula (2). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify Fisher’s
group in Fisher’s X group in Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer to be -CH(CH3)CH2-, such that the -CH- group is bonded to the -CONH- group bonded to the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, and the -CH2- group is bonded to the -NHCO- bonded to the -(CH2)2- group in the side group of Fisher’s statistical copolymer. The proposed modification would read on the copolymer further comprising a repeating unit 2 represented by the claimed formula (2), in the formula (2), X2 represents a linear alkyl group having 1 carbon atom, L2 represents a divalent group, multiple R1s are same as or different from each other and are each selected from a hydrogen atom, an alkenyl group having 1 to 4 carbon atoms, where two or more R1s bind to each other to form a ring, Z is selected from NR1, a’ is an integer of 2 to 3, a’’ is an integer of 2 to 3, and a sum of a’ and a’’ is 5 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer has the formula
, wherein
[0119], that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], and that the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher’s
group in Fisher’s X group in Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer and a -CH(CH3)CH2-, such that the -CH- group is bonded to the -CONH- group bonded to the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, and the -CH2- group is bonded to the -NHCO- bonded to the -(CH2)2- group in the side group of Fisher’s statistical copolymer, are of sufficiently close structural similarity that the resulting statistical copolymer would possess similar properties because they are isomers, and which means that Fisher permits the X group in the formula for the statistical copolymer to be any alkylene group. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties (MPEP 2144.09(II)). Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Regarding claim 2, Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer has the formula
[0119], that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], and that the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher’s m and n in the backbone of Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer can be any integer that is 1 or greater, which reads on wherein a content of the unit 2 is greater than 0 mol% and less than 100 mol% when a total of the repeating unit is defined as 100 mol%.
Fisher does not teach that a content of the unit 2 is 1.0 to 30.0 mol% when a total of the repeating units is defined as 100 mol%. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer to be from 1.0 to 30.0 % of the total value of Fisher’s m and Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer. The proposed modification would read on wherein a content of the unit 2 is 1.0 to 30.0 mol% when a total of the repeating units is defined as 100 mol% as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for optimizing thermoresponsive properties of Fisher’s statistical copolymer because Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer has the formula
[0119], that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], and that the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer in % of the total value of Fisher’s m and Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer would have affected the thermoresponsive properties of Fisher’s statistical copolymer.
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer has the formula
[0119], that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], and that the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher’s m and n in the backbone of Fisher’s formula for Fisher’s statistical copolymer can be any integer that is 1 or greater, which reads on wherein a content of the unit 2 is greater than 0 mol% and less than 100 mol% when the total of repeating units is defined as 100 mol%.
Fisher does not teach that a content of the unit 2 is from 5 mol% to 30 mol% or less when the total of repeating units is defined as 100 mol%. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to optimize Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer to be from 5 to 30 % of the total value of Fisher’s m and Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer. The proposed modification would read on wherein a content of the unit 2 is from 5 mol% to 30 mol% or less when the total of repeating units is defined as 100 mol% as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for optimizing thermoresponsive properties of Fisher’s statistical copolymer because Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer has the formula
[0119], that the polymer comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116], and that the SPs include diamines (1,3-propylenediamine, etc.) [0117], which means that Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer in % of the total value of Fisher’s m and Fisher’s n in the backbone of Fisher’s statistical copolymer would have affected the thermoresponsive properties of Fisher’s statistical copolymer.
Regarding claim 6, Fisher teaches that the average molecular weights of the polymer may be between about 5,000 to 1,000,000 g/mol [0029], which reads on the copolymer according to claim 1, having a number average molecular weight of about 5000 to 1000000.
Fisher does not teach with sufficient specificity that the copolymer has a number average molecular weight of 5000 to 50000. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to select the average molecular weights of Fisher’s statistical copolymer to be from 5,000 to 50,000. The proposed modification would read on the copolymer according to claim 1, having a number average molecular weight of 5000 to 50000 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing an average molecular weight that is suitable for Fisher’s statistical copolymer or because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Fisher teaches that the average molecular weights of the polymer may be between about 5,000 to 1,000,000 g/mol [0029], which encompasses from 5,000 to 50,000. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05(I)). Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Claims 1-6 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon Jacques (Simon Jacques, “Polymer/DNA Bio-conjugates via Grafting-from and Grafting-to”, thesis at Flinders University, Adelaide South Australia, November 2017, cited in IDS, made of record on 10/09/2025).
Regarding claims 1, 3, and 4, Simon Jacques teaches a copolymer that has the formula
and that is synthesized by reacting
with
(p. 135), which reads on a copolymer comprising a repeating unit 1 represented by the claimed formula (1) and a repeating unit (2), in the formula (1), X1 represents a hydrogen atom as claimed. Simon Jacques a copolymer that has the formula
and that is used to synthesize another copolymer (p. 27). Simon Jacques’s teachings suggest using a
group to substitute for the
group in Simon Jacques’s
and
groups in Simon Jacques’s formula
. Simon Jacques therefore suggests the copolymer further comprising a repeating unit 2 represented by the claimed formula (2), in the formula (2), X2 represents a hydrogen atom, L2 represents a divalent group, multiple R1s are same as or different from each other and are each selected from a hydrogen atom, and an alkenyl group having 4 carbon atoms, where two or more R1s bind to each other to form a ring, Z is selected from NR1, a’ is an integer of 2 to 3, a’’ is an integer of 2 to 3, and a sum of a’ and a’’ is 5 as claimed, wherein the unit 2 is a unit 3 represented by the claimed unit 4 represented by the claimed formula (4), in the formula (4), X2 represents a hydrogen atom, in the formula (4), L2 represents a divalent group as claimed, and the copolymer according to claim 1, further comprising a repeating unit represented by the claimed formula (5), in the formula (5), X5 represents a hydrogen atom as claimed.
Simon Jacques does not teach that the copolymer further comprises a repeating unit (2) represented by the claimed formula (2), that the unit 2 is a unit 3 represented by the claimed formula (3) or a unit 4 represented by the claimed formula 4, and that the copolymer further comprises a repeating unit represented by the claimed formula (5). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a
group to substitute for the
group in Simon Jacques’s
and
groups in Simon Jacques’s formula
. The proposed modification would read on the copolymer further comprising a repeating unit 2 represented by the claimed formula (2), in the formula (2), X2 represents a hydrogen atom, L2 represents a divalent group, multiple R1s are same as or different from each other and are each selected from a hydrogen atom, and an alkenyl group having 4 carbon atoms, where two or more R1s bind to each other to form a ring, Z is selected from NR1, a’ is an integer of 2 to 3, a’’ is an integer of 2 to 3, and a sum of a’ and a’’ is 5 as claimed, wherein the unit 2 is a unit 4 represented by the claimed formula (4), in the formula (4), X2 represents a hydrogen atom, in the formula (4), L2 represents a divalent group as claimed, and the copolymer according to claim 1, further comprising a repeating unit represented by the claimed formula (5), in the formula (5), X5 represents a hydrogen atom as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been obvious to try with a reasonable expectation of success because Simon Jacques teaches that the copolymer has the formula
and is synthesized by reacting
with
(p. 135), that the copolymer is temperature responsive and can be conjugated to dsDNA (p. 157), that another copolymer has the formula
, is used to synthesize another copolymer, and is a pNIPAAm copolymer (p. 27), that copolymers of NIPAAm and DMA are temperature responsive copolymers (p. 28), that DNA can be conjugated to pNIPAAM (p. 29), and that a monoclonal antibody can be conjugated to pNIPAA, (p. 31), which means that a
group and the
group are of sufficiently close structural similarity that the resulting copolymer would possess similar properties because they are isomers and are both present in a copolymer that is temperature responsive and that can be conjugated to DNA or an antibody. Compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties (MPEP 2144.09(II)). Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (MPEP 2143(I)(E)).
Regarding claim 2, Simon Jacques teaches that in the copolymer that has the formula
(p. 135), the proportion of the
is 4, 1, 3.5, 3, or 1.5 mol% (p. 137), which reads on wherein a content of the unit 2 is 1.0, 1.5, 3, 3.5, or 4.0 mol% when a total of the repeating units is defined as 100 mol% as claimed.
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Simon Jacques teaches that in the copolymer that has the formula
(p. 135), the proportion of the
is 4, 1, 3.5, 3, or 1.5 mol%, and the proportion of the
is 8, 4, 4, 7, or 11 mol% (p. 137), and that the copolymer is synthesized by reacting
with
(p. 135), which reads on wherein a content of the unit 2 is 1.0, 1.5, 3, 3.5, or 4.0 mol% when the total of repeating units is defined as 100 mol%, and which suggests when a content of the unit 2 is greater than 0 mol% when the total of repeating units is defined as 100 mol%.
Simon Jacques does not teach that a content of the unit 2 is from 5 mol% to 30 mol% or less when the total of repeating units is defined as 100 mol%. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the proportion of Simon Jacques’s
in Simon Jacques’s copolymer that has the formula
to be from 5 to 12.5 mol%. The proposed modification would read on wherein a content of the unit 2 is from 5 mol% to 12.5 mol% or less when the total of repeating units is defined as 100 mol% as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for modifying the temperature responsive properties of Simon Jacques’s copolymer and for modifying an ability of an antibody to be conjugated to Simon Jacques’s copolymer because Simon Jacques teaches that in the copolymer that has the formula
(p. 135), the proportion of the
is 4, 1, 3.5, 3, or 1.5 mol%, and the proportion of the
is 8, 4, 4, 7, or 11 mol% (p. 137), that the copolymer is synthesized by reacting
with
(p. 135), that the copolymer is temperature responsive and can be conjugated to dsDNA (p. 157), and that a monoclonal antibody can be conjugated to pNIPAA, (p. 31).
Regarding claim 6, Simon Jacques that the copolymer
(p. 135) has a number average molecular weight Mn of 26000, 34000, or 39000 (p. 105), that the copolymer that has the formula
is synthesized by reacting
with
(p. 135), which reads on the copolymer according claim 1, having a number average molecular of within 5000 to 50000 as claimed.
Regarding claim 16, as explained above for claims 1, 3, and 4, Simon Jacques renders it obvious that the unit 2 is a unit 4 represented by the claimed formula (4), in the formula (4), X2 represents a hydrogen atom, in the formula (4), L2 represents a divalent group as claimed.
Regarding claims 17-19, as explained above for claims 1, 3, and 4, Simon Jacques renders it obvious that the copolymer according to claim 2, 3, or 16, further comprises a repeating unit represented by the claimed formula (5), in the formula (5), X5 represents a hydrogen atom as claimed.
Claims 3 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fisher et al. (US 2017/0304420 A1) as applied to claims 1 and 2, and further in view of Simon Jacques (Simon Jacques, “Polymer/DNA Bio-conjugates via Grafting-from and Grafting-to”, thesis at Flinders University, Adelaide South Australia, November 2017, cited in IDS made of record on 10/09/2025).
Regarding claims 3 and 16, Fisher renders obvious the copolymer according to claims 1 and 2 as explained above.
Fisher does not teach that the unit 2 is a unit 3 represented by the claimed formula (3) or a unit 4 represented by the claimed formula (4). However, Simon Jacques teaches a copolymer that has the formula
and that is synthesized by reacting
with
(p. 135). Fisher and Simon Jacques are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a copolymer comprising a repeating unit represented by the claimed formula (1) and a repeating unit 2. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use a
group to substitute for the
group in Fisher’s formula
for Fisher’s statistical copolymer. The proposed modification would read on wherein the unit 2 is a unit 4 represented by the claimed formula (4), in the formula (4), X2 represents a hydrogen atom, and in the formula (4), L2 represents a divalent group as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for modifying temperature responsive properties and thermoresponsive properties of Fisher’s statistical copolymer because Simon Jacques teaches that a copolymer that has the formula
and that is synthesized by reacting
with
(p. 135) is temperature responsive and can be conjugated to dsDNA (p. 157), and Fisher teaches that the statistical copolymer having the formula
, wherein
,
, and
[0119], comprises thermoresponsive macromolecules-forming monomeric units (NIPAAm and NIPMAm) and methacrylamide-based monomeric units bearing the functional groups (FGs) attached to the methacryloyl moiety through various spacers (SPs) [0116].
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Simon Jacques (Simon Jacques, “Polymer/DNA Bio-conjugates via Grafting-from and Grafting-to”, thesis at Flinders University, Adelaide South Australia, November 2017, cited in IDS, made of record on 10/09/2025) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Sedlak et al. (US 2020/0299780 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Simon Jacques renders obvious the copolymer according to claim 1 as explained above. Simon Jacques teaches conjugating a monoclonal antibody to pNIPAAm (p. 31), that the polymer-antibody conjugate is used as an antigen bio-separation tool (p. 31), and antibody-pNIPAAm conjugates (p. 133). Simon Jacques teaches that the copolymer has the formula
(p. 135), which is a pNIPAAm. Simon Jacques therefore suggests an antibody-copolymer preparation kit comprising the copolymer according to claim 1.
Simon Jacques does not teach an antibody-copolymer conjugate preparation kit comprising the copolymer according to claim 1. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use Simon Jacques’s copolymer that has the formula
in a kit for conjugating an antibody to Simon Jacques’s copolymer. The proposed modification would read on an antibody-copolymer conjugate preparation kit comprising the copolymer according to claim 1 as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it would have been beneficial for providing a utility for Simon Jacques’s copolymer because Simon Jacques teaches conjugating a monoclonal antibody to pNIPAAm (p. 31), that the polymer-antibody conjugate is used as an antigen bio-separation tool (p. 31), antibody-pNIPAAm conjugates (p. 133), and that the copolymer has the formula
(p. 135), which is a pNIPAAm, which would therefore be useful for conjugating an antibody to Simon Jacques’s copolymer.
Simon Jacques does not teach that the antibody-copolymer conjugate preparation kit further comprises a linker represented by the claimed formula (6). However, Sedlak teaches a linker comprising a spacer group at either end with a reactive functional group capable of covalent attachment to a target-binding moiety [0185], wherein exemplary reaction functional groups are azidoacetic acid NHS ester [0185]. Sedlak teaches a kit that finds use in practicing technologies described in the reference [0296], wherein the kit comprises a plurality of detection probes directed at different targets [0296]. Sedlak teaches that a target-binding moiety is or comprises an antibody agent directed at a specific target [0016]. Simon Jacques and Sedlak are analogous art because both references are in the same field of endeavor of a conjugate comprising an antibody. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine Sedlak’s linker that is azidoacetic acid NHS ester with the kit for conjugating an antibody. The proposed modification would read on the antibody-copolymer conjugate preparation kit further comprising a linker represented by the claimed formula (6), in the formula (6) L6 represents a divalent hydrocarbon group as claimed. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Sedlak teaches that the linker that is azidoacetic acid NHS ester is beneficial for comprising a spacer group at either end with a reactive functional group capable of covalent attachment to a target-binding moiety [0185], that a kit finds use in practicing technologies described in the reference [0296], that the kit comprises a plurality of detection probes directed at different targets [0296], and that a target-binding moiety is or comprises an antibody agent directed at a specific target [0016], which would have been desirable in combination with the kit for conjugating an antibody because Simon Jacques teaches conjugating a monoclonal antibody to pNIPAAm (p. 31), that the polymer-antibody conjugate is used as an antigen bio-separation tool (p. 31), antibody-pNIPAAm conjugates (p. 133), and that the copolymer is a pNIPAAm (p. 135).
Correspondence
/DAVID T KARST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767