DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-19, 22-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by GAO et al PG PUB 2024/0063870.
Re Claims 1, 12, 13, 23 and 25, GAO et al teaches in figure 2, 210, a terminal (a UE includes transmitter, receiver and processing circuitry) receiving one or more configuration for at least one of first CSI, a second CSI, or a third CSI or a fourth CSI in a CSI reporting setting [0056] from a BS (a network node including transmitter, receiver and processing circuitry) wherein the fourth CSI to be compliant with maximal transmission layer of 4 [0040] and the CSIs are associated with a number of NZP CSI-RS resources (first, second, third and fourth) used for channel measurement associated with multi-TRPs or a single TRP transmission [0040]; based on the CSI reporting setting, the terminal performs computing and reporting of a CSI feedback wherein the CSI reporting setting includes a first setting supporting NCJT multi-TRP transmission with first CSI for the multi-TRP transmission comprises two RIs and two PMIs wherein a first RI and PMI associated can be associated with first NZP CSI-RS and a second RI and PMI can be associated with the second NZP CSI-RS [0065 0066]; and a second setting supporting a single TRP transmission having the second CSI comprising at least third RI and PMI associated with the third NZP CSI-RS resource for channel measurement [0064].
Re Claims 2, 14, GAO et al teaches the first CSI includes a first CQI [0092].
Re Claims 3, 15, GAO et al teaches the first CSI includes a first CRI [0043 0063].
Re Claim 4, GAO et al teaches the second and third CSI includes the second and third CQI respectively [0102].
Re Claims 5, 6, 7, 18, 19, GAO et al teaches during multi-TRP transmission the third CSI includes a third CRI and a fourth CRI and the second CSI comprises a third CRI.
Re Claims 10, 22, GAO et al teaches the CSI reporting setting includes a configuration of CSI-IM associated with first and second NZP CSI-RS resources [0042].
Re Claim 11, GAO et al teaches the terminal operates in NR [0040].
Re Claim 16, GAO et al teaches the second CSI includes a second CQI [0092].
Re Claim 17, GAO et al teaches the third CSI includes a third CQI [0092].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 9, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over GAO et al PG PUB 2024/0063870 in view of Khan Beigi et al PG PUB 2024/0072865.
Re Claims 8, 9, 20 and 21, GAO et al teaches the multi-TRP transmission whereby the CSIs can include “first, third NZP CSI-RS resources” and “second and fourth NZP CSI-RS resources” for performing channel measurement. GAO et al fails to explicitly teaches “first and third NZP CSI-RS” and “second and fourth NZP CSI-RS” are the same. However, Khan Beigi et al teaches the same NZP CSI-RS set can linked to first and second TRP performing interference measurements [0087]. By combining the teachings, the multi-TRP transmission in GAO et al can be modified with the same NZP CSI-RS set for each of the TRPs, hence having the same NZP CSI-RS resources (“first and third NZP CSI-RS” and “second and fourth NZP CSI-RS”). One skilled in the art would have realized when the TRP share the same NZP CSI-RS set, it would have minimized signaling overhead. One skilled in the art would have been motivated to have minimized the signaling overhead. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
/ANDREW LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472