DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's request for reconsideration of the finality of the rejection of the last Office action is persuasive and, therefore, the finality of that action is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 13-17, and 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WANG (US 2023/0080009) is a continuation of Appl. No. PCT/CN2020/091084.
Regarding claim 1, WANG teaches a method of operating a communication device in a communication network ([0005]-[0009]), the method comprising: receiving, while operating in an idle state, a connected state, or an inactive state, an early measurement configuration to perform an early measurement for reporting to the communication network, wherein the early measurement configuration includes a configuration to perform a beam level measurement for a serving cell (i.e., At block 301, a terminal device receives a first measurement configuration from a first network device, the first measurement configuration being a measurement configuration for an idle state or an inactive state. The first measurement configuration carries at least one of first indication information or second indication information, the first indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device does not need to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device does not need to report a measurement result, and the second indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device needs to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device needs to report a measurement result [0005]-[0009], [0069], [0071]-[0073]); performing the early measurement including the beam level measurement for the serving cell while operating in the idle state or the inactive state (i.e., the terminal device performs a measurement based on the first measurement configuration in the idle state or the inactive state… the first measurement configuration is a measurement configuration of an early measurement [0076]); and reporting an early measurement result including the beam level measurement for the serving cell to the communication network upon the communication device transitioning to the connected state (i.e., At block 302, the terminal device performs a measurement based on the first measurement configuration in the idle state or the inactive state, and reports a measurement result to the first network device or a second network device after the terminal device enters a connected state [0074]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 2, WANG further teaches the idle state comprises a Radio Resource Control Idle, RRC_IDLE, state the connected state comprises a Radio Resource Control Connected, RRC_CONNECTED state and the inactive state comprises a Radio Resource Control Inactive, RRC_INACTIVE, state ([0048]-[0051]).
Regarding claim 3, WANG further teaches receiving the early measurement configuration to perform the early measurement comprises receiving the early measurement configuration through dedicated signaling, broadcast signaling, or a combination of dedicated and broadcast signaling from the communication network (i.e., The measurement configuration of early measurement is configured via RRC dedicated signaling (such as RRC release message) or system broadcast message (such as system information block (SIB)). The measurement configuration in the system broadcast message is common to the terminal device in the idle state and the terminal device in the inactive state [0053]).
Regarding claim 4, WANG further teaches the configuration to perform the beam level measurement for the serving cell is provided to the communication device in one of a separate field or an information element, IE, in the early measurement configuration (i.e., There are three forms of reporting measurement result of beams: only reporting measurement result of beams, only reporting beam index, reporting beam index and measurement result of beams. The filtering of beam measurement depends on the implementation of terminal device. The network side can configure that the terminal device reports the measurement results of more than one beam, and the terminal device reports the measurement result of the strongest beam by default [0069]).
Regarding claim 5, WANG teaches the configuration to perform the beam level measurement for the serving cell is provided to the communication device within one or more MeasldleCarrierNR-r1 6 entities that are part of the early measurement configuration (i.e., the first measurement configuration is implemented by MeasIdleConfig, and the contents of MeasIdleConFIG refer to Table 2 below TABLE-US-00002 TABLE 2 -- ASN1START -- TAG-MEASIDLECONFIG-START MeasIdleConfigSIB-r16 ::= SEQUENCE { measIdleCarrierListNR-r16 SEQUENCE (SIZE (1..maxFreqIdle-r16) ) OF MeasIdleCarrierNR-r16 OPTIONAL, -- Need S measIdleCarrierListEUTRA-r16 SEQUENCE (SIZE (1..maxFreqIdle-r16) ) OF MeasIdleCarrierEUTRA-r16 OPTIONAL, -- Need S ... } MeasIdleConfigDedicated-r16 ::= SEQUENCE { measIdleCarrierListNR-r16 SEQUENCE (SIZE (1..maxFreqIdle-r16) ) OF MeasIdleCarrierNR-r16 OPTIONAL [0094]).
Regarding claim 12, Bergqvist further teaches all the limitations above except determining whether to perform and/or include the beam level measurement for the serving cell in an early measurement report based on determining that at least one of a configuration for any neighbouring NR frequency includes a configuration for beam level measurements or there is a configuration for a neighboring NR frequency that includes a configuration for beam level measurements that includes a separate mechanism to determine which entity to use (i.e., If the terminal device acquires only the measurement configuration of the E-UTRAN frequency point through the system broadcast message, and then is re-selected to a cell in which the E-UTRAN frequency point list and the NR frequency point list are simultaneously configured in the system broadcast message, the terminal device should adopt the measurement configuration of the NR frequency point list [0069]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 13, Wang further teaches the configuration to perform the beam level measurement is provided to the communication device in a configuration for cell (re)selection in system information (i.e., If the terminal device is re-selected to a cell whose system broadcast message does not contain a measurement indication (i.e. idleModeMeasurements) that the current cell supports early measurement, the terminal device may not perform early measurement, but the timer T331 continues to run [0066]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 14, Wang further teaches the early measurement configuration further includes a configuration for beam level measurement for a neighboring New Radio, NR, frequency (i.e., the terminal device has received an RRC release message (applied in the 2-step resume process) and the RRC release message contains a measurement configuration of the early measurement (i.e. measIdleConfig); {circle around (3)} the terminal device has performed cell reselection of inter-RAT [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim WANG, Bergqvist further teaches performing the early measurement further comprises performing the early measurement based on the configuration for beam level measurement for the neighboring NR frequency (i.e., the terminal device has received an RRC release message (applied in the 2-step resume process) and the RRC release message contains a measurement configuration of the early measurement (i.e. measIdleConfig); {circle around (3)} the terminal device has performed cell reselection of inter-RAT [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 16, WANG in view of Chen teaches all the limitations above. Chen further teaches performing the early measurement based on the configuration for the beam level measurement for the neighboring NR frequency comprises selecting a configuration for the neighboring NR frequency from a list of configurations of several neighboring NR frequencies (i.e., the terminal device has received an RRC release message (applied in the 2-step resume process) and the RRC release message contains a measurement configuration of the early measurement (i.e. measIdleConfig); {circle around (3)} the terminal device has performed cell reselection of inter-RAT [0062]-[0063]).
Regarding claim 17, WANG teaches a method of operating a network node in a communication network, the method comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment, UE , while the UE is operating in an active state, an idle state, or an inactive state, a configuration to perform a beam level measurement for a serving cell when the UE is operating in the idle state or the inactive state (i.e., At block 301, a terminal device receives a first measurement configuration from a first network device, the first measurement configuration being a measurement configuration for an idle state or an inactive state. The first measurement configuration carries at least one of first indication information or second indication information, the first indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device does not need to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device does not need to report a measurement result, and the second indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device needs to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device needs to report a measurement result [0005]-[0009], [0069], [0073]); and receiving a beam level measurement result for the serving cell (i.e., At block 302, the terminal device performs a measurement based on the first measurement configuration in the idle state or the inactive state, and reports a measurement result to the first network device [0074]).
Regarding claim 18, WANG teaches the configuration to perform the beam level measurement is provided to the UE within one or more MeasIdleCarrierNR-r16 entities ([0093]-[0094]).
Regarding claim 19, WANG further teaches one of the one or more MeasIdleCarrierNR- r16 entities includes a configuration for the serving frequency (i.e., the first measurement configuration is implemented by MeasIdleConfig, and the contents of MeasIdleConFIG refer to Table 2 below TABLE-US-00002 TABLE 2 -- ASN1START -- TAG-MEASIDLECONFIG-START MeasIdleConfigSIB-r16 ::= SEQUENCE { measIdleCarrierListNR-r16 SEQUENCE (SIZE (1..maxFreqIdle-r16) ) OF MeasIdleCarrierNR-r16 OPTIONAL, -- Need S measIdleCarrierListEUTRA-r16 SEQUENCE (SIZE (1..maxFreqIdle-r16) ) OF MeasIdleCarrierEUTRA-r16 OPTIONAL, -- Need S ... } MeasIdleConfigDedicated-r16 ::= SEQUENCE { measIdleCarrierListNR-r16 SEQUENCE (SIZE (1..maxFreqIdle-r16) ) OF MeasIdleCarrierNR-r16 OPTIONAL [0094]).
Regarding claim 20, WANG further teaches transmitting a configuration for beam level measurement for neighboring New Radio, NR, frequency (i.e., On the NR side, the scenarios are MR-DC configuration and CA configuration, and the measurement frequency points supporting configuration can include NR frequency point list and E-UTRAN frequency point list. The frequency list of NR only supports the measurement of synchronization signal/PBCH Block (SSB), but does not support the measurement of channel status indicator reference signal (CSI-RS [0052]).
Regarding claim 21, WANG further teaches a communication device ([0005]-[0009]) adapted to perform: receiving, while operating in an idle state, a connected state, or an inactive state, an early measurement configuration to perform an early measurement for reporting to the communication network, wherein the early measurement configuration includes a configuration to perform a beam level measurement for a serving cell (i.e., At block 301, a terminal device receives a first measurement configuration from a first network device, the first measurement configuration being a measurement configuration for an idle state or an inactive state. The first measurement configuration carries at least one of first indication information or second indication information, the first indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device does not need to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device does not need to report a measurement result, and the second indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device needs to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device needs to report a measurement result [0005]-[0009], [0069], [0071]-[0073]); performing the early measurement including the beam level measurement for the serving cell while operating in the idle state or the inactive state (i.e., the terminal device performs a measurement based on the first measurement configuration in the idle state or the inactive state… the first measurement configuration is a measurement configuration of an early measurement [0076]); and reporting an early measurement result including the beam level measurement for the serving cell to the communication network upon the communication device transitioning to the connected state (i.e., At block 302, the terminal device performs a measurement based on the first measurement configuration in the idle state or the inactive state, and reports a measurement result to the first network device or a second network device after the terminal device enters a connected state [0074]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 22, WANG teaches a communication device comprising: processing circuitry memory coupled with the processing circuitry, wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry (inherent features of communication device), cause the communication device to: receive, while operating in an idle state, a connected state, or an inactive state, an early measurement configuration to perform an early measurement for reporting to the communication network, wherein the early measurement configuration includes a configuration to perform a beam level measurement for a serving cell (i.e., At block 301, a terminal device receives a first measurement configuration from a first network device, the first measurement configuration being a measurement configuration for an idle state or an inactive state. The first measurement configuration carries at least one of first indication information or second indication information, the first indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device does not need to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device does not need to report a measurement result, and the second indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device needs to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device needs to report a measurement result [0005]-[0009], [0069], [0071]-[0073]); perform the early measurement including the beam level measurement for the serving cell while operating in the idle state or the inactive state (i.e., the terminal device performs a measurement based on the first measurement configuration in the idle state or the inactive state… the first measurement configuration is a measurement configuration of an early measurement [0076]); and report an early measurement result including the beam level measurement for the serving cell to the communication network upon the communication device transitioning to the connected state (i.e., At block 302, the terminal device performs a measurement based on the first measurement configuration in the idle state or the inactive state, and reports a measurement result to the first network device or a second network device after the terminal device enters a connected state [0074]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 23, a computer program comprising program code to be executed by processing circuitry of a communication device whereby execution of the program code causes the communication device to: receive, while operating in an idle state, a connected state, or an inactive state, an early measurement configuration to perform an early measurement for reporting to the communication network, wherein the early measurement configuration includes a configuration to perform a beam level measurement for a serving cell (i.e., At block 301, a terminal device receives a first measurement configuration from a first network device, the first measurement configuration being a measurement configuration for an idle state or an inactive state. The first measurement configuration carries at least one of first indication information or second indication information, the first indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device does not need to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device does not need to report a measurement result, and the second indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device needs to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device needs to report a measurement result [0005]-[0009], [0069], [0071]-[0073]); perform the early measurement including the beam level measurement for the serving cell while operating in the idle state or the inactive state (i.e., the terminal device performs a measurement based on the first measurement configuration in the idle state or the inactive state… the first measurement configuration is a measurement configuration of an early measurement [0076]); and report an early measurement result including the beam level measurement for the serving cell to the communication network upon the communication device transitioning to the connected state (i.e., At block 302, the terminal device performs a measurement based on the first measurement configuration in the idle state or the inactive state, and reports a measurement result to the first network device or a second network device after the terminal device enters a connected state [0074]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 24, computer program product comprising a non-transitory storage medium including program code to be executed by processing circuitry of a communication device, whereby execution of the program code causes the communication device to: receive, while operating in an idle state, a connected state, or an inactive state, an early measurement configuration to perform an early measurement for reporting to the communication network, wherein the early measurement configuration includes a configuration to perform a beam level measurement for a serving cell (i.e., At block 301, a terminal device receives a first measurement configuration from a first network device, the first measurement configuration being a measurement configuration for an idle state or an inactive state. The first measurement configuration carries at least one of first indication information or second indication information, the first indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device does not need to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device does not need to report a measurement result, and the second indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device needs to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device needs to report a measurement result [0005]-[0009], [0069], [0071]-[0073]); perform the early measurement including the beam level measurement for the serving cell while operating in the idle state or the inactive state (i.e., the terminal device performs a measurement based on the first measurement configuration in the idle state or the inactive state… the first measurement configuration is a measurement configuration of an early measurement [0076]); and report an early measurement result including the beam level measurement for the serving cell to the communication network upon the communication device transitioning to the connected state (i.e., At block 302, the terminal device performs a measurement based on the first measurement configuration in the idle state or the inactive state, and reports a measurement result to the first network device or a second network device after the terminal device enters a connected state [0074]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 25, WANG teaches network node adapted to perform operations of: transmitting, to a user equipment, UE , while the UE is operating in an active state, an idle state, or an inactive state, a configuration to perform a beam level measurement for a serving cell when the UE is operating in the idle state or the inactive state (i.e., At block 301, a terminal device receives a first measurement configuration from a first network device, the first measurement configuration being a measurement configuration for an idle state or an inactive state. The first measurement configuration carries at least one of first indication information or second indication information, the first indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device does not need to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device does not need to report a measurement result, and the second indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device needs to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device needs to report a measurement result [0005]-[0009], [0069], [0073]); and receiving a beam level measurement result for the serving cell (i.e., At block 302, the terminal device performs a measurement based on the first measurement configuration in the idle state or the inactive state, and reports a measurement result to the first network device [0074]).
Regarding claim 26, WANG teaches a network node comprising: processing circuitry; and memory coupled with the processing circuitry, wherein the memory includes instructions that when executed by the processing circuitry causes the communication device to: transmit, to a user equipment, UE , while the UE is operating in an active state, an idle state, or an inactive state, a configuration to perform a beam level measurement for a serving cell when the UE is operating in the idle state or the inactive state (i.e., At block 301, a terminal device receives a first measurement configuration from a first network device, the first measurement configuration being a measurement configuration for an idle state or an inactive state. The first measurement configuration carries at least one of first indication information or second indication information, the first indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device does not need to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device does not need to report a measurement result, and the second indication information being used for indicating at least one of a cell on which the terminal device needs to perform a measurement or a cell of which the terminal device needs to report a measurement result [0005]-[0009], [0069], [0073]); and receive a beam level measurement result for the serving cell (i.e., At block 302, the terminal device performs a measurement based on the first measurement configuration in the idle state or the inactive state, and reports a measurement result to the first network device [0074]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-26have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/JEAN A GELIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643