DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-16 are pending and presented for examination.
Claims for Examination
Note the amended claim set of 7/14/2023 is the claim set of record and is the claim set examined below. Another claim set was filed on 3/15/2024 but was not entered as it was an old claim set and didn’t incorporate the changes from the amended claim set of 7/14/2023.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the use of the word “said”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6-9, 14 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/571334 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3, 6-9, 14 and 15 anticipate claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-14 and 16. Additionally, claims 4, 11 and 15 are obvious as the claims of copending Application No. 18/571334 teach a range that overlaps with the range of claims 4, 11 and 15.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
2. Claims 1-3 and 7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2 and 9 of copending Application No. 18/871952 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 2 and 9 recite an identical process and composition except for failing to teach the exact range for the fatty acid metal salt. However, claims 2 and 9 recite a range that overlaps with the claimed range and thus makes the claims obvious (overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (EP 3190154).
Initially, it is noted that the limitation in the preamble that the composition “is used by being melt kneaded with metal powders” is an intended use recitation and holds no patentable weight. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, this recitation is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
I. Regarding claims 1-3 and 7, Park teaches a composition comprising 100 parts polyacetal resin and 0.4 parts magnesium stearate (Example 11, Table 1). Park also teaches preparing the composition by melt-kneading the polyacetal resin and the magnesium stearate (see Table 1 and 0080). Park teaches all the limitations of claims 1-3 and 7; therefore, Park anticipates the claims.
II. Regarding claims 6, 9 and 10, Park teaches that the above polyacetal composition can be mixed with metal powder to yield a metal resin composition. Park teaches all the limitations of claims 6, 9 and 10; therefore, Park anticipates the claim.
III. Regarding claims 8, 13 and 14, Park teaches that the above polyacetal composition can be melt kneaded with metal powder and injection molded to yield a powder injected molded part (0072-0076). Park teaches all the limitations of claims 8, 13 and 14; therefore, Park anticipates the claims.
4. Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2015/0225536).
Initially, it is noted that the limitation in the preamble that the composition “is used by being melt kneaded with metal powders” is an intended use recitation and holds no patentable weight. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, this recitation is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Regarding claims 1-4, Ito teaches a composition comprising 100 parts polyacetal resin and 1 part zinc stearate (Example 5, Table 1). Ito teaches all the limitations of claims 1-4; therefore, Ito anticipates the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 4, 5, 11, 12, 15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park.
Regarding claims 4, 5, 11, 12, 15 and 16, Park teaches all the limitations of claim 1, 4, 5, 11, 12, 15 and 16 (see above) except for teaching an exemplary embodiment where the fatty acid metal salt is present in 1-10 parts and the melt flow of the polyacetal is 40-100 g/10 minutes. However, Park does teach that the fatty acid metal salt may be present in a range of 0.5-10 parts by weight with respect to 100 parts of polyacetal resin (0046) and the melt flow index of the polyacetal can be 0.1-100 g/10 min (0034). Park teaches ranges for the amount of fatty acid metal salt and melt flow index which overlap the claimed ranges. Furthermore, overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness.
Conclusion
Claims 1-16 are pending
Claims 1-16 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
July 11, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717