DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10- 14 of argument, filed 01/19/2026, with respect to claims 1, 4-10, 12-13, 15-19 and claims 2 - 3, 11 and 14 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The previous rejection has been upheld. No new claims have been added. However, the drawing objections and 35 USC § 112 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive.
The drawings objections have been withdrawn. As discussed on page 10 of the Applicants remarks, the Applicant has addressed:
The Fig. 3 arrows, pointing to components 2041, 20411 and 20211
The Fig. 6 arrows, pointing to components 2041 and 204
The Fig. 9 arrows, pointing to components 2041 and 204
The 35 USC § 112 rejection has been withdrawn. As discussed on page 11 of the Applicants remarks, the Applicant has clarified the thickness of any one of the first conductive portions is greater than the thickness of any one of the second conductive portions and clarified that a ratio of any one of the thickness of the first conductive portions to the thickness of any one of the second conductive portions is greater than or equal to 5, and less than or equal to 7.
The 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 1, 4-10, 12-13, 15-19 is upheld as being unpatentable over Cheng, X et al. (CN 114823608), herein referred to as Cheng. And the 35 USC § 103 rejection of claims 2 - 3, 11 and 14 is upheld as being unpatentable over Cheng, X et al. (CN 114823608), herein referred to as Cheng, in view of over Zhao et al. (WO 2023184505), herein referred to as Zhao. The arguments as presented on pages 11-13 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. The previous rejection has been upheld.
It is noted that the Applicants first contact pad (20211) is shown in the hollowed out region in Fig. 2. The pad (20211) is not a separate layer. It is a section of the conductive layer that has been exposed due to the hollowed out section as shown in Fig.2. There is no extra step or material in this hollowed out region.
Cheng discloses the exact same thing. The first contact pad is where the exposed portion is shown also. Cheng discloses the same device structure and materials of the Applicant. The first contact pad, is in the same position, defined by the perimeters of the hollowed out portion, and is therefore inherently within the orthographic portion. It is well known in the industry to use a landing pad as a pad between two conductive components. The Examiner has interpreted the use of a landing pad as a pad, with one part of component (20) being a landing pad, since a landing pad serves the same function as a first contact pad. Though not explicitly taught, it would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to place a landing pad on the conductive layer (20) so as to provide a larger contact point for connecting electrical components, which allows for a more reliable physical and electrical connection. The landing pad is within that hollowed out opening and is inherently orthographic. Compare Fig. 2 of Applicant and Annotated Fig. 4 of Cheng below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention.
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, 12-13, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, X et al. (CN 114823608), herein referred to as Cheng.
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses a drive base plate, and further discloses:
a substrate ([n0037] substrate 10); and a first conductive layer ([n0037] 1st conductive layer 20) and a first block layer ([n0067] 2nd inorganic sub-layer 34) disposed on the substrate (10), wherein
the first conductive layer ([n0042] 20) comprises multiple first conductive portions (Annotated multiple conductive portions), arranged at intervals, and …
the first block layer (34) comprises first hollowed-out regions (Annotated 1st hollowed -out region),
an orthographic projection of the first contact pad (pad part of layer 20) on the substrate (10) is within
an orthographic projection of the first hollowed-out region (See Fig. 3) on the substrate (10) , ([0019] the orthographic projection of each of the pads on the substrate falls within an orthographic projection of the second opening on the substrate.), and
a material of the first block layer (34) comprises an oxidation-resistant material ([n0070], 34 silicon nitride and silicon oxide are oxidation -resistant materials).
each of the first conductive portions ([n0042] 1st conductive portion 21, Fig. 6),…
Cheng does not appear to expressly disclose “a first contact pad”:
… comprises a first contact pad (obvious)
each of the first hollowed-out regions corresponds to a respective first contact pad (obvious).
Cheng does teach conductive layers. The conductive layer (20) is adjacent to another conductive layer (40). It is well known in the industry to use a landing pad as a pad between two conductive components. The Examiner has interpreted the use of a landing pad as a pad, with one part of component (20) being a landing pad, since a landing pad serves the same function as a first contact pad. Though not explicitly taught, it would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to place a landing pad on the conductive layer (20) so as to provide a larger contact point for connecting electrical components, which allows for a more reliable physical and electrical connection.)
Regarding claim 4, Cheng discloses the drive base plate according to claim 1, as discussed above, and further discloses:
a second conductive layer ([n0037] 2nd conductive layer (40) located on a side of the first conductive layer (20) facing away from the substrate (10),
the first block layer (34) being located between the first conductive layer (20) and the second conductive layer (40); wherein
the second conductive layer (40) comprises multiple conductive portion groups ([n0038 “The second conductive layer 40 includes a plurality of conductive portion groups”),
each conductive portion group among the multiple conductive portion groups comprises at least two second conductive portions [n0038, “plurality of conductive portion groups”] and
each of the second conductive portions comprises a second contact pad (411) ([n0038] “The second conductive portion 41 includes a pad 411,”); wherein
the second contact pad (411) passes through the first hollowed-out region to directly lap over the first contact pad (pad part of layer 20), and
a surface of the second contact pad (Annotated surface of second contact pad) facing away from the substrate (10) is exposed.
Regarding claim 5, Cheng discloses the drive base plate according to claim 4, as discussed above and further comprising:
a second insulation layer ([n0073] 2nd inorganic layer, 50) located on a side of the first conductive layer (20) facing away from the substrate (10); wherein
the first block layer (34) is located on a side of the second insulation layer (35) facing away from the substrate (10), and
the second conductive layer (40) is located on a side of the first block layer (34) facing away from the substrate (10); wherein
the second insulation layer (50) comprises multiple second openings ([n00731], “ the second insulating layer 50 includes a second inorganic layer 51, and the second opening 501 includes a third sub-opening 511 arranged in the second inorganic layer 51”) , and
the second contact pad (411) passes through the first hollowed-out region and the second opening to directly lap over the first contact pad (pad part of layer 20); wherein
an orthographic projection of the second opening on the substrate is within the orthographic projection of the first hollowed-out region on the substrate. ([n0072] “the orthographic projection of each of the pads 411 on the substrate 10 falls within an orthographic projection of the second opening 501 on the substrate 10.” See Fig. 4; pads (411) are within the orthographic projection of the 1st hollowed out region.)
Regarding claim 6, Cheng discloses the drive base plate according to claim 5, as discussed above and further discloses wherein:
a second block layer ([n0063] 1st sub-inorganic layer, 33) located between the first conductive layer (20) and the second insulation layer (50), …
the second block layer (33) comprises a second hollowed-out region (Annotated hollowed out region), and the second contact pad (411) passes through the first hollowed-out region, the second opening, and the second hollowed-out region in sequence, and directly laps over the first contact pad (pad part of layer 20) See Fig. 4; wherein
the orthographic projection of the second opening on the substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the second hollowed-out region on the substrate ([n0060], and ([n0072] “the orthographic projection of each of the pads 411 on the substrate 10 falls within an orthographic projection of the second opening 501 on the substrate 10.” See Fig. 4; pads (411) are within the orthographic projection of the 2nd hollowed out region.).
Cheng does not appear to expressly disclose "a material of the second block layer (33) comprises an oxidation-resistant material (obvious)”;
Cheng does teach an oxidation-resistant material comprising a molybdenum-niobium alloy, for components (20) and (40), used in the same Cheng device for improving adhesion and preventing oxidation as disclosed in [n0046].
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the oxidation-resistant material comprised of a molybdenum-niobium alloy for the second block layer (33) such as is used to fabricate components (20) and (40) of the Cheng device. Fabricating the second block layer (33), using materials that improve adhesion and prevent oxidation, are critical for improving device performance, reliability, and manufacturing yield. Both factors directly impact the electrical properties, structural integrity, and long-term functionality of the device, so as to use an industrially tested and accepted device.)
Regarding claim 7, Cheng discloses the drive base plate according to claim 1, as discussed above and further discloses wherein:
the oxidation-resistant material comprises a molybdenum-niobium alloy (obvious).
Cheng does not appear to expressly disclose "the oxidation-resistant material of claim 1 comprises a molybdenum-niobium alloy "
Cheng does teach an oxidation-resistant material comprising a molybdenum-niobium alloy, used in the fabrication of components (20) and (40), also used in the same Cheng device for the purpose of better adhesion and oxidation prevention.
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the oxidation-resistant material of claim 1, comprised of a molybdenum-niobium alloy, such as is used in the fabrication of components (20) and (40) of the same Cheng device. Fabricating the first block layer (34) for improved adhesion and for oxidation prevention are critical for performance, reliability, and manufacturing yield. Both factors directly impact the electrical properties, structural integrity, and long-term functionality of the device, so as to use an industrially tested and accepted device.)
Regarding claim 8, Cheng discloses the drive base plate according to claim 1, as discussed above, and further discloses:
the first conductive layer comprises: an inorganic layer ([n0046] layer 20 comprises a Cu middle layer, a MoNb bottom layer, and a MoNb top layer which are all inorganic) close to the substrate (10), and
a first metal layer ([n0046] MoNb top 1st conductive layer is a metal layer) on a side of the inorganic layer facing away from the substrate (10).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng discloses he drive base plate according to claim 4, as discussed above, and further discloses:
the second conductive layer (40) comprises: a second metal layer (MoNb is a bottom metal layer) close to the substrate (10); and
a third metal layer (middle metal layer Cu or top metal layer CuNi ) located on a side of the second metal layer facing away from the substrate. ([n0046] layer 40 comprises “a stacked material of MoNb/Cu/CuNi, wherein the bottom layer of MoNb is used to improve adhesion, the middle layer of Cu is mainly used to ensure that the second conductive layer has a lower resistance, and the top layer of CuNi can take into account both anti-oxidation and solid crystal firmness”).
Regarding claim 10, Cheng discloses the drive base plate according to claim 4, as discussed above, and further discloses:
a thickness of the first conductive portion (21) is greater than the thickness of the second conductive portion (41) ([n0010] “In one embodiment, the thickness of the first conductive portion is greater than the thickness of the second conductive portion.”);
Cheng does not appear to expressly disclose "a ratio of the thickness (obvious) of the first conductive portion (21) to the thickness of the second conductive portion (41) is greater than or equal to 5, and less than or equal to 7. "
However, the Applicant has not shown that the thickness of the second conductive portion being greater than or equal to 5, and less than or equal to 7, is novel and would not have been found through routine experimentation. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to optimize the thickness of the second conductive portion so as to improve performance, electrical properties, and manufacturing yield. Proper thickness control ensures devices have the correct switching behavior, heat management, electrical efficiency, and mechanical stress. Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re AIler, 105 USPQ 233.)
Regarding claim 12, Cheng discloses the drive base plate according to claim 1, as discussed above, and further discloses:
the first conductive portion comprises a signal line. ([n0042] “That is, the first conductive layer 20 includes a first conductive portion 21 and a plurality of signal lines 22)
Regarding claim 13, Cheng discloses the drive base plate according to claim 5, as discussed above, and further discloses:
the first conductive portion comprises a signal line [n0042] ,
the signal line (22) comprises the first contact pad (pad part of layer 20) corresponding to the first hollowed-out region, and
the second conductive layer (40) further comprises multiple connection lines ([n0045 “a plurality of connecting lines 42”) ; wherein
the orthographic projection of the signal line on the substrate overlaps with the orthographic projection of the connection line on the substrate [n0048 See orthographic projection of Fig. 4], and
the orthographic projection of the signal line on the substrate covers the orthographic projection of the second contact pad on the substrate [n0048 See orthographic projection of Fig. 4] .
Cheng does not appear to expressly disclose “connection lines in direct contact with signal lines below through a third opening penetrating through the second insulation layer, so that
the second contact pad is electrically connected to the connection line through the signal line”:
each of the connection lines is in direct contact (obvious) with the signal line below through a third opening (Annotated 3rd opening, Fig. 4) penetrating through the second insulation layer (50), so that
the second contact pad is electrically connected (obvious) to the connection line through the signal line; wherein
Though not explicitly taught, it would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to connect the connection lines of the Cheng device in direct contact with the signal lines of the device through a third opening penetrating through the second insulation layer, so that the second contact pad is electrically connected to the connection line through the signal lines so as to enable a working, functioning, operable, electrical device. Except that the connection lines are connected to the signal lines, the device fails to operate.)
Regarding claim 15, Cheng discloses a light-emitting base plate [n0002], as discussed above, and further discloses: multiple electronic elements and a drive base plate wherein
the drive base plate [0006] comprises: a substrate (10); and a first conductive layer (20) and a first block layer (34) disposed on the substrate (10), wherein
the first conductive layer (20) comprises multiple first conductive portions arranged at intervals ([n0038]“The first conductive layer 20 includes a plurality of first conductive portions 21 arranged at intervals”), and
each of the first conductive portions (21) comprises a first contact pad (pad part of layer 20); wherein
the first block layer (34) comprises first hollowed-out regions (Annotated hollowed out region Fig. 4),
each of the first hollowed-out regions corresponds to a respective first contact pad (pad part of layer 20),
an orthographic projection of the first contact pad (pad part of layer 20) on the substrate (10) is within an orthographic projection of the first hollowed-out region (Annotated hollowed out region Fig. 4), on the substrate (10), and
a material of the first block layer (34) comprises an oxidation-resistant material ([n0070], 34 silicon nitride and silicon oxide are oxidation -resistant materials);
each electronic element among the multiple electronic elements comprises at least two pins [n0023],
each pin of the electronic element being soldered ([n0039] “…each pin is soldered to one pad respectively”) with the first contact pad (pad part of layer 20) on the drive base plate.
Regarding claim 16, Cheng discloses the light-emitting base plate according to claim 15, as discussed above, and further discloses:
wherein
the electronic elements comprise at least one of an inorganic light-emitting diode and a drive chip [n0024]; wherein
the drive chip is used for driving the inorganic light-emitting diode to emit light ([n0040] “The driving chip may be a chip used to provide a signal to the inorganic light emitting diode”).
Regarding claim 17, Cheng discloses a display device, as discussed above, and further discloses:
the light-emitting base plate according to claim 15 [n0022].
Regarding claim 18, Cheng discloses the drive base plate according to claim 1, as discussed above, and further discloses:
the first conductive portion comprises a connection line ([n0048] “the pad 411 is electrically connected to the connection line 42 through the first conductive portion 21”).
Regarding claim 19, Cheng discloses the drive base plate according to claim 12, as discussed above, and further discloses:
the first conductive portion comprises a connection line ([n0048] “the pad 411 is electrically connected to the connection line 42 through the first conductive portion 21”).
Claim(s) 2 - 3, 11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng, X et al. (CN 114823608), herein referred to as Cheng, in view of over Zhao et al. (WO 2023184505), herein referred to as Zhao
Regarding claim 2, Cheng discloses the drive base plate according claim 1, as discussed above and further discloses:
the first block layer (34) is disposed on a side of the first conductive layer (20) facing away from the substrate (10);
the orthogonal projection of the first hollowed-out region (Annotated 1st hollowed -out region) on the substrate (10) is located within the orthogonal projection (See Fig. 3) of the first opening (Annotated 1st opening) on the substrate (10), and
a surface of the first contact pad (pad part of layer 20) facing away from the substrate (10) is exposed.
Cheng does not appear to expressly disclose:
a first insulation layer (obvious) is disposed on a side of the first block layer facing away from the substrate, and
the first insulation layer is provided with a first opening (obvious)
However, Zhao does teach a first insulation layer of multiple insulating layers: in order, the first inorganic sub-layer 41, the first organic sub-layer 42, the second organic sub-layer 43 and the third inorganic sub-layer 41.
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a first insulation layer disposed on a side of the first block layer facing away from the substrate, provided with a first opening, in the device of Cheng such as is provided through the multiple insulating layers disclosed in the device of Zhao because additional insulating layers improve performance by reducing parasitic capacitance and leakage currents, which leads to faster speeds and lower power consumption. The inclusion of additional multiple layers in the Cheng device, such as the multiple layers of the Zhao device, creates an opening when those additional layers (first inorganic sub-layer 41, and /or first organic sub-layer 42, and /or second organic sub-layer 43, and/or third inorganic sub-layer 41)
are deposited on the layer (34) of Cheng.)
Regarding claim 3, Cheng and Zhao as combined above disclose the drive base plate according to claim 2, as discussed above, and further discloses:
the first block layer (34) covers at least a side surface of any of the first conductive portions (21)
the side surface being multiple faces adjoining a bottom surface (bottom surface 1st conductive portion) of any of the first conductive portions (21) facing the substrate (10).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng discloses the drive base plate according to claim 5 as discussed above and further discloses:
the second insulation layer ([n0073] 2nd insulation layer 50, [n0073] “In one embodiment, as shown in Figures 4 to 7, the second insulating layer 50 includes a second inorganic layer 51”, Chen) comprises:
an organic layer (52) located on a side of the first inorganic layer (51) facing away from the substrate ([n0076] ,”In one embodiment, as shown in FIG. 4 to FIG. 7 , the second insulating layer 50 includes a second organic layer 52”); and
a second inorganic layer (inorganic sub-layer 41, Zhao) located on a side of the organic layer (layer 52 of Cheng) facing away from the substrate.
Cheng does not appear to expressly disclose:
“a first inorganic layer; an organic layer located on a side of the first inorganic layer facing away from the substrate; and a second inorganic layer (obvious) located on a side of the organic layer facing away from the substrate”.
However, Zhao does teach a second insulation layer comprising multiple inorganic sub-layers: in order, the first inorganic sub-layer 41, the first organic sub-layer 42, the second organic sub-layer 43 and the third inorganic sub-layer 41.
It would have been obvious to one who is skilled in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include a second inorganic insulation layer (above layer 40 of the Cheng device) in the device of Cheng, such as is in the device of Zhao, because additional insulating layers improve performance by reducing parasitic capacitance and leakage currents, which lead to faster speeds and lower power consumption.
Regarding claim 14, Cheng/Zhao combination discloses the drive base plate according to claim 4, as discussed above and further discloses:
a third insulation layer (combined Zhao insulation layers) located on a side of the second conductive layer (40) facing away from the substrate (10),
the third insulation layer (combined Zhao insulation layers) comprises a fourth opening (opening created from additional Zhao insulation layer), wherein
the orthographic projection of the second contact pad on the substrate is within the orthographic projection of the fourth opening on the substrate ([n0009] See orthographic projection of Fig. 4.)
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/SHAWN SHAW MUSLIM/Examiner, Art Unit 2897