DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/15/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Lewis does not disclose or suggest “the use of k-vector” and “the first optical layer directs the incident invisible light to a specific pixel in the pixel array based at least in part on a k-vector of the incident invisible light” (Remarks, pages 5-7). The examiner respectfully disagrees. Per Applicant’s disclosure, k-vector is light direction ([0031]) and the front/first optical layer is made of lenses that convert the direction of the incident invisible light (known as the k-vectors) to a specific point on the pixel array ([0026]). The first optical layer (112) of Lewis is also made of lenses (Fig. 1; col. 7, lines 32-36); thus, it is inherently performing the same function of converting the light’s direction (k-vector) to a specific point or pixel on the pixel array (104). In normal operation, the first optical layer (112) must control/change/convert the direction of the incident light to direct it to at least a pixel/specific pixel (shown in fig. 6) of the pixel array in order the light to be redirected to the second optical layer (114). Accordingly, given the broadest reasonable interpretation, Lewis meets the claimed limitations.
This action is therefore made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lewis et al. (US 9054262 B2).
Re claim 1: Lewis et al. discloses a wavelength converter (abstract) comprising: a first optical layer (112); a second optical layer (114); and a pixel array (104) positioned between the first optical layer (112) and the second optical layer (114), wherein a pixel in the pixel array (104) includes a first device (224) to convert incident invisible light to an electrical signal and a second device (228) that converts the electrical signal into visible light (Figs. 1-2; col. 7, line 49 through col. 8, line 8), wherein the first optical layer directs the incident invisible light to a specific pixel in the pixel array based at least in part on a k-vector of the incident invisible light (Figs. 3A-B; col. 8, lines 29-61).
Re claim 2: Lewis et al. discloses the wavelength converter of claim 1, further comprising a battery connected to the pixel array, wherein one or more of the first device and the second device of the pixel is powered by the battery (Fig. 5; col. 9, lines 31-35. Though the word “battery” is not mentioned, it is understood that the disclosed voltage source is a battery since the device is designed for use in portable devices such as hand-held, helmet-mounted, etc.).
Re claim 3: Lewis et al. discloses the wavelength converter of claim 1, wherein the first optical layer (112) is made of one or more elements that convert a direction of the incident invisible light to a specific pixel in the pixel array (Fig. 1; col. 7, lines 32-36).
Re claim 4: Lewis et al. discloses the wavelength converter of claim 3, wherein the one or more elements comprise one or more lenses (Fig. 1; col. 7, lines 32-36).
Re claim 5: Lewis et al. discloses the wavelength converter of claim 1, wherein the second optical layer (114) is used to convert a point of light to a collimated beam with a direction that is the same as the incident invisible light (col. 7, lines 23-45).
Re claim 6: Lewis et al. discloses the wavelength converter of claim 5, wherein the second optical layer (114) comprises two or more lenses (Fig. 1; col. 7, lines 36-37).
Re claim 7: Lewis et al. discloses the wavelength converter of claim 1, wherein the first device (224) comprises a photodiode (Fig. 2; col. 7, line 55) and the second device (228) comprises a light source (Fig. 2; col. 7, line 57).
Re claim 9: Lewis et al. discloses the wavelength converter of claim 1, wherein the first optical layer (112) is configured to receive the incident invisible light (Fig. 1; col. 7, lines 32-36).
Re claim 10: Lewis et al. discloses the wavelength converter of claim 1, wherein the second optical layer (114) is configured to output the visible light (Fig. 1; col. 7, lines 36-40).
Re claim 12: Lewis et al. discloses the wavelength converter of claim 1, wherein each pixel in the pixel array is configured to receive invisible light of the same wavelength (SWIR; col. 6, lines 65-67 and col. 7, lines 32-36).
Re claim 13: Lewis et al. discloses the wavelength converter of claim 1, wherein the electrical signal preserves a directionality of the incident invisible light (Figs. 3A-B; col. 8, lines 29-61).
Re claim 15: Lewis et al. discloses a method for converting wavelengths, the method comprising: receiving, by a first optical layer (112) of a wavelength converting system, incident invisible light; converting, by a first device (224) in a pixel of a pixel array of the wavelength converting system, the incident invisible light into an electrical signal; generating, by a second device (228) in the pixel of the pixel array, visible light corresponding to the electrical signal; and transmitting, through a second optical layer (114) of the wavelength converting system, the visible light (Figs. 1-2; col. 7, line 49 through col. 8, line 8); directing, by the first optical layer (112), the incident invisible light to a specific pixel in the pixel array based at least in part on a k vector of the incident invisible light (Fig. 6; col. 9, lines 43-54).
Re claim 16: Lewis et al. discloses the method of claim 15, wherein converting the incident invisible light into the electrical signal includes maintaining a directionality of the incident invisible light such that the electrical signal includes the directionality (Figs. 3A-B; col. 8, lines 29-61).
Re claim 17: Lewis et al. discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising powering the second device by a battery of the wavelength converting system (Fig. 5; col. 9, lines 31-35. Though the word “battery” is not mentioned, it’s understood that the disclosed voltage source is a battery since the device is designed for use in portable devices such as hand-held, helmet-mounted, etc.).
Re claim 19: Lewis et al. discloses the method of claim 15, further comprising generating, based on the visible light, a collimated beam by the second optical layer (114), wherein the collimated beam is transmitted from the second optical layer (Figs. 3A-B; col. 8, lines 29-61).
Re claim 20: Lewis et al. discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the collimated beam has a direction that is the same as the incident invisible light (Figs. 3A-B; col. 8, lines 29-61).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. in view of Pan et al. (US 10901074 B1).
Re claim 8: Lewis et al. discloses the wavelength converter of claim 7 above, but is silent with respect to the photodiode has internal gain as the converted electrical signals are amplified by gain element 226.
However, avalanche photodiodes, which are characterized by a high internal gain, are well-known in the art as evidenced by Pan et al. (col. 6, lines 51-52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use avalanche photodiodes in the system of Lewis et al. in order to provide Lewis et al. with a more advanced and compact system, i.e., by eliminating the use of additional gain element.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis et al. in view of Kobayashi et al. (US 10722105 B2).
Re claim 11: Lewis et al. discloses the wavelength converter of claim 1 above but is silent with respect to the pixel array comprises a first plurality of pixels that are configured to receive invisible light of a first wavelength and a second plurality of pixels that are configured to receive invisible light of a second wavelength, wherein the first wavelength differs from the second wavelength.
Kobayashi et al. teaches the pixel array (Fig. 8; col. 18, lines 51-57) comprises a first plurality of pixels (R) that are configured to receive invisible light of a first wavelength (IR-2) and a second plurality of pixels (W) that are configured to receive invisible light of a second wavelength (IR-1), wherein the first wavelength (IR-2: 905 nm to 970 nm) differs from the second wavelength (IR-1: 790 nm to 820 nm) (see col. 9, Table 1).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant application, to modify the pixels of Lewis to receive invisible light of different wavelengths for the purpose of providing a versatile system to provide high quality images in dark environment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zerulla (US 20210164900 A1) and Zerulla (US 20220299439 A1) disclose a pixel array positioned between the first optical layer and a second optical layer, and the use of k-vector.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/UYEN CHAU N LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874