DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 33, 34 and 43 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 33 includes 15 in line 11 and it looks like a typo. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 43 recites “the camera system is configured to determine the distance between the one or more cameras and the stock using image recondition and/or optical analysis techniques.”
“recondition” should be “recognition” and it looks like a typo. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 34 recites, “a second strip configured to be positioned: on an end of the closure opposite the strip of claim 33 with a long axis of the second strip transverse to the direction of sliding of the closure; or on a second closure with the long axis of the second strip transverse to the direction of sliding of the second closure;” The claim should end with a “.” Not “;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33, 36, 37, 39, 47, 51, 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEO et al. (US 20170234602 A1; hereafter SEO) in view of Innella et al. (US 20190387879 A1; hereafter Innella).
As of Claim 33: SEO teaches a camera system for a cabinet (¶0084 and exhibit the refrigerator 1) having a cavity for receiving stock and a sliding closure at the top of the cavity (¶0084 and exhibit storage chamber 20), wherein the camera system comprises: a strip (¶¶0064,0065 and exhibit a metal plate 130 coupled with the outer surface of the cover 120.) configured to be positioned on the closure with a long axis of the strip transverse to a direction of sliding of the sliding closure; and one or more cameras (¶¶0084, 0085,0087 and exhibit a plurality of camera units 160 may be disposed at regular intervals vertically along the height direction of the first door 31. However, a single camera unit 160 may be disposed in the rotation bar 100 to photograph the storage chamber 20) configured to point downwards when the strip is positioned on the closure , the one or more cameras operatively connected to the electrical circuitry and configured to monitor stock beneath the strip; wherein the camera system is configured to monitor all of the stock beneath 15the strip as the closure is slid from open to closed or closed to open (¶0098 and exhibit camera 162 may be configured to operate only when the rotation bar 100 is at the closed position 100a. Also, the camera 162 may rotate in the up, down, left, or right direction within the predetermined angle range, as described above, when the rotation bar 100 is at the closed position 100a, thereby changing an area to be photographed. Also, the camera 162 may zoom in or out to magnify and photograph a cooled object or to photograph a plurality of cooled objects together).
SEO does not explicitly teach “a power supply configured to provide electrical power to the strip;wherein the strip comprises: electrical circuitry including a power input device and a data output device " as recited in present claimed invention.
However, the above-mentioned claimed features are well-known in the art as evidenced by Innella. In particular, Innella teaches a power supply configured to provide electrical power to the strip; wherein the strip comprises: electrical circuitry including a power input device and a data output device (i.e., see ¶0015 and note that an electrical power strip 160 is mounted to back wall 124 within locker interior 121, which can be used to power or charge various electrical devices. Kiosk 100 may include various radio and/or telephonic equipment 170 to coordinate command and control operations at the kiosk location. Kiosk 100 includes an internal video camera 180 for recording actions at the kiosk during emergencies. As shown, kiosk 100 includes a warning light 190, which typically activates when locker door 130 is opened. Kiosk 100 also includes a flat panel video display monitors 195 mounted to the exterior of back 126 and sidewalls 128. Monitors 195 are connected the kiosk's communication systems to display warnings, instructions and other information during emergency events. At other times, the monitors can be used for advertisement and other non-emergency messaging.) as recited in present claimed invention.
In view of the above, having the storage chamber of SEO and given the well-established teaching of Innella, Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the cabinet forming the storage chamer of SEO as taught by Innella, since Innella state that such modification would facilitate on-site, real-time command and control communications and operations to coordinate and manage first responders, security, citizenry is critical (See Innella ¶0003).
As of Claim 36: SEO in view of Innella further teaches the strip comprises two end sections configured to be positioned at opposite ends of the sliding closure with a long axis of each end section transverse to the direction of sliding of the sliding closure (Fig. 3 of Innella and ¶0015).
As of Claim 37: SEO in view of Innella further teaches the camera system is configured to monitor all stock in the cabinet as the closure is slid from open to closed or closed to open (SEO ¶¶0084-0086 and note also ¶0095 and FIGS. 7, 8, 9, and 10 are views for describing operations of a rotation bar and a camera unit according to opening or closing of a door, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, and FIGS. 11 and 12 are views for describing operation of changing a photographing angle according to rotation of a camera).
As of Claim 39: SEO in view of Innella further teaches the camera system is configured to capture images of the stock using the one or more cameras when the closure is slide from open to closed or closed to open (SEO ¶¶0084-0086 and note also ¶0095 and FIGS. 7, 8, 9, and 10 are views for describing operations of a rotation bar and a camera unit according to opening or closing of a door, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure, and FIGS. 11 and 12 are views for describing operation of changing a photographing angle according to rotation of a camera).
As of Claim 47: SEO in view of Innella further teaches the strip comprises one or more lights to illuminate the interior of the cavity (i.e., see FIG. 3 and note that Ren Col. 7, lines 35-52).
As of Claim 51: SEO teaches a camera system for a cabinet (¶0084 and exhibit the refrigerator 1) having a cavity for receiving stock and one or more sliding closures at the top of the cavity(¶0084 and exhibit storage chamber 20), wherein the camera system comprises:one or more strips (¶¶0064,0065 and exhibit a metal plate 130 coupled with the outer surface of the cover 120) configured to be positioned on the one or more closures with a long axis of each strip transverse to a direction of sliding of the respective sliding closure; and one or more power supplies configured to provide electrical power to the one or more strips; wherein each strip comprises: electrical circuitry including a power input device and a data output device; and one or more cameras (¶¶0084, 0085,0087 and exhibit a plurality of camera units 160 may be disposed at regular intervals vertically along the height direction of the first door 31. However, a single camera unit 160 may be disposed in the rotation bar 100 to photograph the storage chamber 20)configured to point downwards when the strip is positioned on the closure, the one or more cameras operatively connected to the electrical circuitry and configured to monitor stock beneath the strip; wherein the camera system is configured to monitor all of the stock in the cabinet as the closure(s) is/are slid from open to closed or closed to open (¶0098 and exhibit camera 162 may be configured to operate only when the rotation bar 100 is at the closed position 100a. Also, the camera 162 may rotate in the up, down, left, or right direction within the predetermined angle range, as described above, when the rotation bar 100 is at the closed position 100a, thereby changing an area to be photographed. Also, the camera 162 may zoom in or out to magnify and photograph a cooled object or to photograph a plurality of cooled objects together).
SEO does not explicitly teach “a power supply configured to provide electrical power to the strip " as recited in present claimed invention.
However, the above-mentioned claimed features are well-known in the art as evidenced by Innella. In particular, Innella teaches a power supply configured to provide electrical power to the strip (i.e., see ¶0015 and note that an electrical power strip 160 is mounted to back wall 124 within locker interior 121, which can be used to power or charge various electrical devices. Kiosk 100 may include various radio and/or telephonic equipment 170 to coordinate command and control operations at the kiosk location. Kiosk 100 includes an internal video camera 180 for recording actions at the kiosk during emergencies. As shown, kiosk 100 includes a warning light 190, which typically activates when locker door 130 is opened. Kiosk 100 also includes a flat panel video display monitors 195 mounted to the exterior of back 126 and sidewalls 128. Monitors 195 are connected the kiosk's communication systems to display warnings, instructions and other information during emergency events. At other times, the monitors can be used for advertisement and other non-emergency messaging.) as recited in present claimed invention.
In view of the above, having the storage chamber of SEO and given the well-established teaching of Innella, Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the cabinet forming the storage chamer of SEO as taught by Innella, since Innella state that such modification would facilitate on-site, real-time command and control communications and operations to coordinate and manage first responders, security, citizenry is critical (See Innella ¶0003).
As of Claim 52: SEO teaches a camera system for a cabinet(¶0084 and exhibit the refrigerator 1) having a cavity for receiving stock and a sliding closure at the top of the cavity(¶0084 and exhibit storage chamber 20), wherein the camera system comprises: a strip configured to be positioned on the closure with a long axis of the strip transverse to a direction of sliding of the sliding closure; and a power supply configured to provide electrical power to the strip; wherein the strip comprises: electrical circuitry including a power input device and a data output device; and one or more cameras (¶¶0084, 0085,0087 and exhibit a plurality of camera units 160 may be disposed at regular intervals vertically along the height direction of the first door 31. However, a single camera unit 160 may be disposed in the rotation bar 100 to photograph the storage chamber 20)configured to point downwards when the strip is positioned on the closure, the one or more cameras operatively connected to the electrical circuitry and configured to monitor stock beneath the strip; wherein the camera system is configured to determine the distance between the one or more cameras and stock in the cabinet and calculate an amount of stock in the cabinet using the determined distance (¶¶0084, 0085,0087).
SEO does not explicitly teach “a power supply configured to provide electrical power to the strip " as recited in present claimed invention.
However, the above-mentioned claimed features are well-known in the art as evidenced by Innella. In particular, Innella teaches a power supply configured to provide electrical power to the strip (i.e., see ¶0015 and note that an electrical power strip 160 is mounted to back wall 124 within locker interior 121, which can be used to power or charge various electrical devices. Kiosk 100 may include various radio and/or telephonic equipment 170 to coordinate command and control operations at the kiosk location. Kiosk 100 includes an internal video camera 180 for recording actions at the kiosk during emergencies. As shown, kiosk 100 includes a warning light 190, which typically activates when locker door 130 is opened. Kiosk 100 also includes a flat panel video display monitors 195 mounted to the exterior of back 126 and sidewalls 128. Monitors 195 are connected the kiosk's communication systems to display warnings, instructions and other information during emergency events. At other times, the monitors can be used for advertisement and other non-emergency messaging.) as recited in present claimed invention.
In view of the above, having the storage chamber of SEO and given the well-established teaching of Innella, Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the cabinet forming the storage chamber of SEO as taught by Innella, since Innella state that such modification would facilitate on-site, real-time command and control communications and operations to coordinate and manage first responders, security, citizenry is critical (See Innella ¶0003).
Claims 38, 40, 42-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEO et al. (US 20170234602 A1; hereafter SEO) in view of Innella et al. (US 20190387879 A1; hereafter Innella), and further in view of Ren et al. (US 1,016,9677 B1; hereafter Ren).
As of Claim 40: SEO in view of Innella does not explicitly teach “the camera system comprises a motion detector. “
Ren teaches the camera system comprises a motion detector (i.e., see Col. 5, lines 46-62 and Col. 22, lines 44-64 note that the input components could be one or more of a pressure sensor, a load cell, a RFID tag reader, or a motion sensor.) as recited in present claimed invention.
In view of the above, having the camera unit of SEO and given the well-established teaching of Ren, Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify camera system of SEO as taught by Ren, since Ren state that such modification would facilitate using this information, and known dimension information for the item, a count of the number of items stacked at an inventory location may be determined (See Ren abstract).
As of Claim 42: SEO in view of Innella in view of Ren further teaches the camera system is configured to determine the distance between the one or more cameras and stock in the cabinet (i.e., see Ren Col. 14, lines 53-67).
As of Claim 43: SEO in view of Innella in view of Ren further teaches the camera system is configured to determine the distance between the one or more cameras and the stock using image recondition and/or optical analysis techniques (i.e., see Ren Col. 6, lines 15-30).
As of Claim 44: SEO in view of Innella in view of Ren further teaches the camera system is configured to determine the distance between the one or more cameras and the stock based on the size of a product, brightness of light reflected from a stock object, or parallax of a stock object (i.e., see Ren Col. 14, lines 53-67).
As of Claim 45: SEO in view of Innella in view of Ren further teaches the camera system is configured to calculate an amount of stock in the cabinet using the determined distance (i.e., see Ren FIG. 4 is an illustration of a camera pair 400, according to one implementation. The camera pair 400 may be formed as a single unit, as illustrated, and/or incorporated onto a mounting surface (not shown), such as a board or an inventory shelf, with other camera pairs 400. The cameras 402, 404 of the camera pair 400 are set at a fixed distance with respect to one another so that images obtained from each camera may be analyzed together to generate a depth map of the item(s) represented in the obtained images. For example, the cameras 402, 404 may be spaced approximately 6.35 centimeters apart).
As of Claim 38: SEO in view of Innella in view of Ren further teaches the strip comprises a plurality of cameras arranged along its long axis (i.e., see Ren FIG. 4 SEO and ¶¶0064,0065).
Claims 41&48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEO et al. (US 20170234602 A1; hereafter SEO) in view of Innella et al. (US 20190387879 A1; hereafter Innella), and further in view of Jain et al. (US 20160080705 A1; hereafter Jain).
As of Claim 41: SEO in view of Innella does not explicitly teach “the camera system comprises an accelerometer to monitor opening or movement of the closure. “
Jain teaches the camera system comprises an accelerometer to monitor opening or movement of the closure (i.e., see¶¶0022,0023) as recited in present claimed invention.
In view of the above, having the camera unit of SEO and given the well-established teaching of Jain, Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the primary reference of SEO as taught by Jain to include, since Ren state that such modification would facilitate an integrated image capture system with an activator and an image sensor. (See Jain abstract).
As of Claim 48: SEO in view of Innella in view of Jain further teaches a temperature sensor, wherein the temperature sensor is:in the strip; or configured to communicate temperature information to the strip (i.e., see Jain ¶¶0008,0032).
Claims 34, 35, 46, 49, 50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEO et al. (US 20170234602 A1; hereafter SEO) in view of Innella et al. (US 20190387879 A1; hereafter Innella), and further in view of Simpson et al. (US 20210259053 A1; hereafter Simpson).
As of Claim 46: SEO in view of Innella does not explicitly teach “the power supply comprises an inductive power transmitter and the power input device comprises an inductive power receiver. “
Ren teaches the power supply comprises an inductive power transmitter and the power input device comprises an inductive power receiver (i.e., see ¶¶0070,0078 and note that Adhesive Strip with Flush Peel-Away—As noted previously, the Inductive Power Transmitter and the Inductive Power Receiver should be aligned to insure the best transfer of power through the window glass and the brightest possible illumination of the lights.) as recited in present claimed invention.
In view of the above, having the camera unit of SEO and given the well-established teaching of Simpson, Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify camera system of SEO as taught by Simpson, since Simpson state that such modification would allow using the induction as alternative power system (See Simpson abstract).
As of Claim 49: SEO in view of Innella in view of Simpson further teaches the strip is positioned on a closure of the cabinet with the long axis transverse to the sliding direction of the closure (Simpson ¶¶0075-0078).
As of Claim 50: SEO in view of Innella in view of Simpson further teaches a cabinet comprising the camera system of claim 46, wherein the strip is positioned on a closure of the cabinet with the long axis transverse to the sliding direction of the closure (Simpson ¶¶0075-0078) and wherein:the inductive power transmitter and inductive power receiver are configured to couple to each other when the closure is in a closed position (Simpson ¶¶0075-0078).
As of Claim 34: SEO in view of Innella in view of Simpson further teaches a second strip configured to be positioned (Simpson ¶¶0075-0078) on an end of the closure opposite the strip of claim 33 with a long axis of the second strip transverse to the direction of sliding of the closure; or on a second closure with the long axis of the second strip transverse to the direction of sliding of the second closure; (Simpson ¶¶0075-0078).
As of Claim 35: SEO in view of Innella in view of Simpson further teaches the camera system is configured to monitor all stock in the cabinet as the closure(s) is/are slid from open to closed or closed to open (SEO ¶¶0084, 0085,0087 and exhibit a plurality of camera units 160).
Conclusion
/MEKONNEN D DAGNEW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638