DETAILED ACTIONAcknowledgment is made of applicant’s amendment filed 12/30/25.Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9 - 12, 16, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Liu et al. (CN1807032, hereinafter Liu - See IDS dated 7/18/23) in
view of Mendel et al. (EP2018494, hereinafter Mendel), Song et al. (KR20140066018, hereinafter Song) and Wang et al. (2021/0060793, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an apparatus comprising a wave generator 1-3-1 (See Fig. 3), a circular spline 1-3-2 provided with internal teeth; a flexible spline 1-3-
provided between the wave generator and the circular spline and configured to be
engaged with the internal teeth of the circular spline; a plurality sets of torque sensors
(See Fig. 7), wherein each set of the torque sensors comprises a plurality of strain
gauges, each set of the torque sensors is respectively configured to measure torque
transmitted by the harmonic drive during rotation of the flexible spline, and the
plurality sets of torque sensors are alternatively arranged (See Pg. 3, Para. 3 and Pg. 4,
Para. 4). Liu fails to disclose that the plurality of strain gauges in each set of the torque sensors are sequentially arranged along a circumferential direction of the flexible spline, adjacent two strain gauges belong to different sets, and the plurality of strain gauges in different sets of the torque sensors are equally spaced. However, Mendel discloses a method and apparatus comprising a wave generator (See Fig. 5), a flexspline 2, a circular spline 3, and a plurality of strain gauges 7, 8, 12, 13 in sets of torque sensors that are sequentially arranged along a circumferential direction of the flexspline, adjacent two strain gauges belonging to different sets, and the plurality of strain gauges in different sets of the torque sensors are equally spaced (See Figs. 1, 5, 7 and 8, See Pg. 9, Para. 2, and Pg. 10, Paras. 3 – 7, 5 and 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Liu according to the teachings of Mendel for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device corrects undesirable deformation (See Mendel, Pg. 3, Para. 3).
Liu and Mendel fail to disclose that the signals measured by each set of torque sensors comprise a torque ripple.
However, Song discloses an apparatus comprising torque sensors 21 having
strain gauges 215 that output torque ripple signals (See Pg. 5, Paras. 3 - 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Liu and Mendel according to the teachings of Song for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device accurately measures torque and provides quiet and safe safety operation (See Song, Pg. 2, Para. 4).
Liu, Mendel, and Song fail to disclose a processor that is configured to calculate a true torque transmitted by the harmonic drive based on signals measured by the plurality sets of torque sensors wherein the torque ripple is excluded from the true torque.
However, Wang discloses an apparatus comprising a processor that calculates a
true torque from signals measured by torque sensors (See Pg. 2, Para. 0032 and Pg. 4,
Para. 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art fore
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Liu, Mendel and Song according to the teachings of Wang for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device enables more measurements of
force/torque information that is transmitted through a joint (See Wang, Pg. 2, Para.
0034).
Regarding claim 2, in Liu, the plurality of sets of torque sensors comprises a first set of torque sensors comprising four strain gauges and a second set of torque sensors comprising four strain gauges, the strain gauges in the first set of torque sensors and the strain gauges in the second set of torque sensors are alternatively arranged at an angle of 45 degrees (See Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 6, in Liu, the plurality of sets of torque sensors comprises a
first set of torque sensors, a second set of torque sensors, and a third set of torque
sensors, the first set of torque sensors comprises four strain gauges, the second set of torque sensors comprises four strain gauges, and the third set of torque sensors
comprises four strain gauges, the strain gauges in the first set of torque sensors, the
strain gauges in the second set of torque sensors, and the strain gauges in the third set
of torque sensors are alternatively arranged at an angle of 30 degrees, wherein each
strain gauge in the second set of torque sensors is arranged 30 degrees ahead of an
adjacent strain gauge in the first set of torque sensors, and each strain gauge in the
third set of torque sensors is arranged 30 degrees behind an adjacent strain gauge in
the first set of torque sensors (See Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 9, in Liu, each set of torque sensors is provided on the flexible
spline 1-3-3 and surrounds an axis of the flexible spline (See Figs. 2 and 7).
Regarding claim 10, in Liu, the flexible spline comprises a body part; a toothed
part provided at one end of the body part and configured to be engaged with the
inner teeth of the circular spline; and a flange 1-7 extending radially outwardly from
an end of the body part opposite the toothed part, wherein the plurality sets of torque
sensors are provided on at least one of an inner side of the flexible spline, an outer
side of the body part, a side of the flange facing the toothed part, and a side of the
flange away from the toothed part (See Figs. 2 and 7).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses an apparatus comprising a wave generator 1-
3-1, a circular spline 1-3-2 provided with internal teeth; a flexible spline 1-3-3
provided between the wave generator and the circular spline and configured to be
engaged with the internal teeth of the circular spline; a plurality sets of torque sensors, wherein each set of torque sensors comprises a plurality of strain gauges, and the
plurality sets of torque sensors are alternatively arranged; and a processor, wherein the
method comprises the following steps of measuring torque transmitted by the harmonic drive during rotation of the flexible spline by each set of torque sensors (See Pg. 3, Para. 3 and Pg. 4, Para. 4).
Liu fails to disclose that the plurality of strain gauges in each set of the torque sensors are sequentially arranged along a circumferential direction of the flexible spline, adjacent two strain gauges belong to different sets, and the plurality of strain gauges in different sets of the torque sensors are equally spaced. However, Mendel discloses a method and apparatus comprising a wave generator (See Fig. 5), a flexspline 2, a circular spline 3, and a plurality of strain gauges 7, 8, 12, 13 in sets of torque sensors that are sequentially arranged along a circumferential direction of the flexspline, adjacent two strain gauges belonging to different sets, and the plurality of strain gauges in different sets of the torque sensors are equally spaced (See Figs. 1, 5, 7 and 8, See Pg. 9, Para. 2, and Pg. 10, Paras. 3 – 7, 5 and 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Liu according to the teachings of Mendel for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device corrects undesirable deformation (See Mendel, Pg. 3, Para. 3).
Liu and Mendel fail to disclose that the signals measured by each set of torque
sensors comprise a torque ripple.
However, Song discloses an apparatus comprising torque sensors 21 having
strain gauges 215 that output torque ripple signals (See Pg. 5, Paras. 3 - 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Liu and Mendel according to the teachings of Song for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improve device since this type of device accurately measures torque and provides quiet and safe safety operation (See Song, Pg. 2, Para. 4).
Liu, Mendel and Song fail to disclose a processor that is configured to calculate
a true torque transmitted by the harmonic drive based on signals measured by the plurality sets of torque sensors wherein the torque ripple is excluded from the true torque.
However, Wang discloses an apparatus comprising a processor that calculates a
true torque from signals measured by torque sensors (See Pg. 2, Para. 0032 and Pg. 4, Para. 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Liu, Mendel and Song according to the teachings of Wang for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device enables more measurements of force/torque information that is transmitted through a joint (See Wang, Pg. 2, Para.
0034).
Regarding claim 12, in Liu, the plurality of sets of torque sensors comprise a
first set of torque sensors comprising four strain gauges and a second set of torque
sensors comprising four strain gauges, the strain gauges in the first set of torque
sensors and the strain gauges in the second set of torque sensors are alternatively
arranged at an angle of 45 degrees (See Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 16, in Liu, the plurality of sets of torque sensors comprises a
first set of torque sensors, a second set of torque sensors, and a third set of torque sensors, the first set of torque sensors comprises four strain gauges, the second set of
torque sensors comprise four strain gauges, and the third set of torque sensors comprises four strain gauges, the strain gauges in the first set of torque sensors, the
strain gauges in the second set of torque sensors, and the strain gauges in the third set of torque sensors are alternatively arranged at an angle of 30 degrees, wherein each
strain gauge in the second set of torque sensors is arranged 30 degrees ahead of an adjacent strain gauge in the first set of torque sensors, and each strain gauge in the
third set of torque sensors is arranged 30 degrees behind an adjacent strain gauge in the first set of torque sensors (See Figs. 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 19, in Liu, each set of torque sensors is provided on the
flexible spline 1-3-3 and surrounds an axis of the flexible spline (See Figs. 2 and 7).
Regarding claim 20, in Liu, connecting arms are pivotally connected by a robot
joint (See Pg. 2, Para. 2).5. Claims 3, 5, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Liu in view of Mendel, Song and Wang, as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Toru (JPS639801).
Regarding claim 3, Liu, Mendel, Song and Wang fail to disclose an angle
measuring device configured to measure an angle of the wave generator relative to the flexible spline during rotation of the flexible spline.
However, Toru discloses an apparatus comprising displacement sensors 12, 13
that detect rotational angle position of detectors 1, 2 having a wave generator 4
relative to a flex spline 6 (See Fig. 1, See Pg. 2, lines 1 - 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Liu, Mendel, Song and Wang according to the teachings of Toru for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device detects output torque taking advantage of a composition and feature of a harmonic reduction gear (See Toru, Pg. 1, lines 31 33).
Regarding claim 5, Liu, Mendel, Song and Wang fail to disclose that the angle
measuring device comprises a first angle sensor configured to measure an angle of the wave generator relative to the circular spline during rotation of the flexible spline, and a second angle sensor configured to measure an angle of the flexible spline relative to
the circular spline during rotation of the flexible spline, such that the angle measuring
device is capable of measuring the angle of the wave generator relative to the flexible
spline during rotation of the flexible spline.
However, Toru discloses an apparatus comprising angle (displacement) sensors
12, 13 that detect rotational angle position of detectors 1,2 having a wave generator 4 relative to a flex spline 6 such that the angle measuring device is capable of measuring the angle of the wave generator relative to the flexible spline during rotation of the flexible spline (See Fig. 1, See Pg. 2, lines 1 - 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Liu, Mendel, Song and Wang according to the teachings of Toru for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device detects output torque taking advantage of a composition and feature of a harmonic reduction gear (See Toru, Pg. 1, lines 31 - 33).
Regarding claim 13, Liu, Mendel, Song and Wang fail to disclose an angle
measuring device configured to measure an angle of the wave generator relative to the flexible spline during rotation of the flexible spline.
However, Toru discloses an apparatus comprising displacement sensors 12, 13
that detect rotational angle position of detectors 1, 2 having a wave generator 4 relative to a flex spline 6 (See Fig. 1, See Pg. 2, lines 1 - 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Liu, Mendel, Song and Wang according to the teachings of Toru for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device detects output torque taking advantage of a composition and feature of a harmonic reduction gear (See Toru, Pg. 1, lines 31 - 33).
Regarding claim 15, Liu, Mendel, Song and Wang fail to disclose that the angle
measuring device comprises a first angle sensor configured to measure an angle of the wave generator relative to the circular spline during rotation of the flexible spline, and
a second angle sensor configured to measure an angle of the flexible spline relative to the circular spline during rotation of the flexible spline, such that the angle measuring device is capable of measuring the angle of the wave generator relative to the flexible spline during rotation of the flexible spline.
However, Toru discloses an apparatus comprising angle (displacement) sensors
12, 13 that detect rotational angle position of detectors 1,2 having a wave generator 4 relative to a flex spline 6 such that the angle measuring device is capable of measuring the angle of the wave generator relative to the flexible spline during rotation of the flexible spline (See Fig. 1, See Pg. 2, lines 1 - 29).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before
the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Liu, Mendel, Song and Wang according to the teachings of Toru for the purpose of, advantageously providing an improved device since this type of device detects output torque taking advantage of a composition and feature of a harmonic reduction gear (See Toru, Pg. 1, lines 31 - 33). Allowable Subject Matter 6. Claims 4, 7, 8, 14, 17 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 7. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter is that the prior art does not anticipate or make obvious the provisions of “the processor calculates the real torque according to the following equation: τo=(τ1+τ2)/1-tan(2θ) where τo is the real torque transmitted by the harmonic drive, z is a torque value measured by the first set of torque sensors, Z2 is a torque value measured by the second set of torque sensors, and 0 is the angle of the wave generator relative to the flexible spline” (referring to claim 4), “the processor calculates the real torque according to the following equation: to=t5+t6-t4 where to is the real torque transmitted by the harmonic drive, τ.sub.4 is a torque value measured by the first set of torque sensors, t.sub.5 is a torque value measured by the second set of torque sensors, t.sub.6 is a torque value measured by the third set of torque sensors, and t.sub.o is an output torque value of the harmonic drive” (referring to claim 7), “the processor calculates the real torque according to the following equation: to the following equation: τo=τ4-τpr.Math.sin(2θ)=τ4-(τ4-τ5′/sin(2θ)-sin(2(θ-(30°+Δα)))orτ4-τ6/sin(2θ)-sin(2(θ+(30∘+Δβ))))sin(2θ) where to is the real torque transmitted by the harmonic drive, t4 is a torque value measured by the first set of torque sensors, t5 is a torque value measured by the second set of torque sensors, t6' is a torque value measured by the third set of torque sensors, Да is an angular deviation between the second set of torque sensors and the first set of torque sensors, and ДB is an angular deviation between the third set of torque sensors and the first set of torque sensors” (referring to claim 8) in combination with the other limitations presented in claim 1 and “the processor calculates the real torque according to the following equation: τo=(τ1+τ2)/1-tan(2θ) where τo is the real torque transmitted by the harmonic drive, τ1 is a torque value measured by the first set of torque sensors, t2 is a torque value measured by the second set of torque sensors, and θ is the angle of the wave generator relative to the flexible spline” (referring to claim 14), “the processor calculates the real torque according to the following equation: τo=τ5+τ6-τ4 where t.sub.o is the real torque transmitted by the harmonic drive, t.sub.4 is a torque value measured by the first set of torque sensors, t.sub.5 is a torque value measured by the second set of torque sensors, t.sub.6 is a torque value measured by the third set of torque sensors, and t.sub.o is an output torque value of the harmonic drive” (referring to claim 17), and “the processor calculates the real torque according to the following equation: τo=τ4-τpr.Math.sin(2θ)=τ4-(τ4-τ5′/sin(2θ)-sin(2(θ-(30°+Δα)))orτ4-τ6/sin(2θ)-sin(2(θ+(30∘+Δβ))))sin(2θ) where to is the real torque transmitted by the harmonic drive, t4 is a torque value measured by the first set of torque sensors, t5 is a torque value measured by the second set of torque sensors, t6' is a torque value measured by the third set of torque sensors, Да is an angular deviation between the second set of torque sensors and the first set of torque sensors, and ДB is an angular deviation between the third set of torque sensors and the first set of torque sensors” (referring to claim 18) in combination with the other limitations presented in claim 11.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, on Pg. 9, lines 1 – 6, Pg. 10, lines 10 – 11 and Pg.
11, lines 1 – 14, with respect to these claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2176. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm.
/OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 4/1/26