Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges preliminary amendment to the claims filed on 07/19/2023. They have been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arnstein (USPGPUB 20130296062) “Arnstein”.
Regarding claim 1, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method of mounting a rotary scale member (1) on a machine part (5) which is configured to rotate about an axis of rotation (C), the rotary scale member (1) comprising a body (2) on which a series of scale features defining a scale that extends around a scale axis (see Fig. 1A; 4) is or can be provided, and at least three radially-compliant flexures (6) spaced around the scale axis (Fig. 1A; 4), the method comprising:
i) locating the rotary scale member (1) on the machine part (5) such that the scale axis (Fig. 1A; 4) and axis of rotation (C) are substantially parallel (Fig. 2; C),
ii) subsequently arranging at least, a first radial adjustment device (6’; see [0027]) so as to contact both the machine part (5) and the rotary scale member (1), and manipulating the at least first radial adjustment device (6’; see [0027]) so as to radially displace the body (2) of the rotary scale member (1);
wherein at least the majority of any radial reaction force, generated as a result of the interaction of at least one of the flexures (6) with a radial stop member (10) against which it is radially pressed, and which is imparted on the at least first radial adjustment device (6’) by the rotary scale member (4) in opposition to the radial displacement of the rotary scale member (4), is directed into, and reacted by, the machine part (5) via the contact between the at least first radial adjustment device (6’) and the machine part (5).
Regarding claim 2, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein at step i) the at least three flexures (6) are in a non-flexed state.
Regarding claim 3, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the method additionally comprises anchoring to the machine part (5), adjacent at least one of the flexures (6), the radial stop member (10).
Regarding claim 4, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the radial stop member (10) comprises a radial adjustment device (6’).
Regarding claim 5, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least first radial adjustment device (6’) is arranged so as to contact one of the flexures (6) of the rotary scale member (1), such that manipulating the at least first radial adjustment device (6’) causes a radial displacement of the flexure (6), and thereby a radial displacement of the body (2) of the rotary scale member (1), wherein the radial reaction force is generated by the interaction of at least one other of the flexures with a radial stop member (10) against which it is radially pressed ([0027]).
Regarding claim 6, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method as claimed in claim 5, in which at least the flexure (6) in contact with the radial adjustment device (6’) being manipulated is not radially compressed between the radial adjustment device ([0027]) and any part of the machine part (5).
Regarding claim 7, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein at least one of the flexures (6) defines a flexure void (12) between the body of the rotary scale member (1) and the part of the flexure (6) which is configured to contact a radial stop member/radial adjustment device (10 or 6’).
Regarding claim 8, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method as claimed in claim 7, wherein the part of the radial stop member/radial adjustment device (10 or 6’) in contact with the flexure (6) resides within the flexure void (12).
Regarding claim 9, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the radial adjustment device (6’) comprises a rotatable member (4), rotatable ([0024]) about a radial adjustment device axis (C), configured such that rotation of the rotatable member (4) causes a change in the radial displacement of the body (2) of the rotary scale member (1).
Regarding claim 10, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method as claimed in claim 9, wherein the radial adjustment device (6’) comprises a tapered member ([0027]), configured such that rotation of the rotatable member about the radial adjustment device (6’) axis changes the axial position of the tapered member ([0027]) along the radial adjustment device axis (C), which in turn controls the extent of radial displacement of the body of the rotary scale member (1).
Regarding claim 11, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method as claimed in claim 10, wherein the rotatable member (4) of the radial adjustment device (6’) comprises a threaded member ([0027]) which is received by a threaded hole (14) in the machine part (5), wherein rotation of the threaded member ([0027]) changes the axial position of the tapered member along the radial adjustment device axis (C).
Regarding claim 12, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method as claimed in claim 11, wherein the tapered member and the threaded member are a single piece ([0027]).
Regarding claim 13, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method as claimed in claim 9, in which the radial adjustment device (6’) is anchored to the machine part (5) such that the radial adjustment device axis (C) is radially fixed with respect to the machine part (5).
Regarding claim 14, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, a method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the rotary scale member (4) comprises a disc scale member comprising a planar surface on which the series of scale features (see markings on 4) defining a scale is or can be provided, the scale axis (C) extending normal to the planar surface (surface of 2).
Regarding claim 15, Arnstein discloses in figures 1 and 2, an apparatus (1) comprising a rotary scale member (1) and a machine part (5) which is configured to rotate about an axis of rotation (C), the rotary scale member (1) comprising a body (2) on which a series of scale features defining a scale (4) that extends around a scale axis (C) is or can be provided, and at least three radially-compliant flexures (6) spaced around the scale axis (C), wherein the rotary scale member (1) is located on the machine part (5) such that the scale axis (C) and axis of rotation (C) are substantially parallel, the apparatus further comprising at least a first radial adjustment device (6’) arranged so as to contact both the machine part (5) and the rotary scale member (4) and which is configured to be manipulated so as to cause the body of the rotary scale (4) member to be radially displaced, wherein at least the majority of any radial reaction force, generated as a result of the interaction of at least one of the flexures (6) with a radial stop member (10) against which it is radially pressed, and which is imparted on the at least first radial adjustment device (6’) by the rotary scale member (1) in opposition to the radial displacement of the rotary scale member (1), is directed into, and reacted by, the machine part (5) via the contact between the at least first radial adjustment device (6’) and the machine part (5).
Conclusion
/ANNA JOSEPHINE SAUNDERS/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855