DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant Election filed on 05/11/2026.
Currently, claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11-18 are pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species XI (Figs. 14A-14B) in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-5, 7-9, and 11-18 are examined in this Office action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/20/2023 and 01/02/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4, 12, 14, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 12 recite the limitation “wherein the second pixel comprises the first light-emitting device, the first light-recording device”. It is unclear what this limitation means because the first pixel already comprises the first light-emitting device and first light-recording device (see claims 1 and 11). Therefore, the claim has an indefinite scope. For the purpose of examination, this limitation will be read as: “wherein the second pixel comprises another first light-emitting device, another first light-recording device”
Claims 4 and 14 recite the limitation “wherein the second light-emitting device comprises the first light-emitting unit”. It is unclear what this limitation means because the first light-emitting device already comprises the first-light emitting unit (see claims 4 and 14). Therefore, the claim has an indefinite scope. For the purpose of examination, this limitation will be read as: “wherein the second light-emitting device comprises another first light-emitting unit”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over PARK et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0111851) in view of LIUS et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0042493) and further in view of RAUSCH et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0274442) and further in view of HE et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0034020) and further in view of DEFRANCO et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0256754)
Regarding independent claim 1, Park teaches a display apparatus (Figs. 7-10) comprising a first pixel (Fig. 7, Pixel, ¶ [0112]), a battery, and a housing (Fig. 9A, ¶ [0120] teaches that Park’s OLED display panel can be integrated in a smart phone. It would be obvious that a smart phone includes a battery and housing),
wherein the first pixel comprises a first light-emitting device (Fig. 10, 310R, ¶ [0061]), a second light-emitting device (Fig. 10, 310B, ¶ [0061]), and a first light-receiving device (Fig. 10, 210, ¶ [0060]),
wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a first light-emitting layer (Fig. 10, 311 in 310R, ¶ [0075]),
wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a second light-emitting layer (Fig. 10, 311 in 310B, ¶ [0075]),
wherein the first light-emitting device is configured to emit visible light of a color different from that of the second light-emitting device (¶ [0061]),
wherein the first light-receiving device is configured to sense light emitted from the first light-emitting device (¶ [0060] teaches that the visible light sensor 210 detects a portion of emitted light 330 from Park’s subpixels that is reflected. Further, it would be obvious that a visible light sensor is capable of detecting visible red light),
wherein a side surface of the first light-emitting layer faces a side surface of the second light-emitting layer (Fig. 10).
However, Park does not explicitly teach an electric double layer capacitor,
wherein the second light-emitting device is configured to emit white light,
wherein a distance between the side surface of the first light-emitting layer and the side surface of the second light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 8 m,
wherein the second light-emitting device is electrically connected to the electric double layer capacitor, and
wherein the electric double layer capacitor is electrically connected to the battery.
However, Lius is a pertinent art that teaches a light-emitting device is configured to emit white light (¶ [0029] teaches that a pixel in an OLED device can include a white subpixel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least one of Park’s subpixels to emit white light according to the teaching of Lius (¶ [0029]) in order to display color images according to preferred design requirements (Lius ¶ [0029]).
However, Park modified by Lius does not explicitly teach an electric double layer capacitor,
wherein a distance between the side surface of the first light-emitting layer and the side surface of the second light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 8 m,
wherein the second light-emitting device is electrically connected to the electric double layer capacitor, and
wherein the electric double layer capacitor is electrically connected to the battery.
However, Rausch is a pertinent art that teaches an electric double layer capacitor (¶ [0039] teaches connecting a supercapacitor in addition to a battery in an energy storage unit to improve current operation in an OLED device),
wherein the second light-emitting device is electrically connected to the electric double layer capacitor (¶ [0039] teaches that Rausch’s supercapacitor is connected to their OLED during operation. Therefore, it would be obvious that Park modified by Rausch’s subpixels would be connected to their supercapacitor), and
wherein the electric double layer capacitor is electrically connected to the battery (¶ [0039] teaches that Rausch’s supercapacitor is included in addition to a battery in their energy storage unit. It would be obvious that Rausch’s supercapacitor and battery are connected in order to charge the supercapacitor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park modified by Lius’s device to be connected to an electric double layer capacitor according to the teaching of Rausch (¶ [0039]) in order to improve short term high current operation of the OLED during a flash (Rausch ¶ [0039]). Further, it would be obvious to modify Park modified by Lius’s device to be capable of a flash operation in order to increase light for optical sensing (for example, see ¶ [0848] of HE et al.)
However, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch does not explicitly that a distance between the side surface of the first light-emitting layer and the side surface of the second light-emitting layer is less than or equal to 8 μm.
However, Defranco is a pertinent art that teaches that a distance between the side surface of the first light-emitting layer (Fig. 3C, 216, ¶ [0048]) and the side surface of the second light-emitting layer (Fig. 3F, 226, ¶ [0050]) is less than or equal to 8 μm (¶ [0237] teaches spacing organic EL elements 4 μm or less apart from each other. It would be obvious that in reducing the spacing between EL elements to be would also likewise reduce distances between the closest side-surfaces of Defranco’s adjacent light emitting layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the spacing of Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch’s subpixels to be 4 μm or less apart from each other according to the teaching of Defranco (¶ [0237]) in order to increase aperture ratio (Defranco ¶ [0008]).
Regarding claim 2, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Defranco teaches display apparatus according to claim 1, and Park teaches a second pixel (Fig. 11A, ¶ [0130]), wherein the second pixel comprises another first light-emitting device (¶ [0135] teaches that the common pixel of Fig.11A can include a red subpixel 310R), another first light-receiving device (Fig. 11, 210, ¶ [0060]), and a second light-receiving device (Fig. 11, 210IR, ¶ [0130]), and wherein the second light-receiving device is configured to sense infrared light (¶ [0130]).
Regarding claim 5, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Defranco teaches the display apparatus according to claim 6, and Park teaches that the first light-emitting device (Fig. 10, 310R, ¶ [0061] teaches a red subpixel) is configured to emit red, green, or blue light.
Regarding claim 7, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Defranco teaches an electronic device (Park Fig. 9A, ¶ [0120]) comprising the display apparatus (Park Fig. 9A, 1000, ¶ [0120]) according to claim 1; and
a light source (Park Fig. 11A, 311IR, ¶ [0130] teaches that pixel in Park’s OLED panel can include an infrared light emitter 310IR) configured to emit infrared light.
Regarding claim 8, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Defranco teaches the electronic device according to claim 7, and Park teaches that the light source (Fig. 11A, 311IR, ¶ [0130]) emits light (Fig. 11A, 330IR, ¶ [0130]) to the outside of the electronic device through the display apparatus.
Regarding claim 9, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Defranco teaches a display module (Park Fig. 13, 1300, ¶ [0148]) comprising: the display apparatus according to claim 1 (Park Fig. 13, 1340, ¶ [0149]); and at least one of a connector and an integrated circuit (Park ¶ [0150] teaches that Park’s display device can include an application specific integrated circuit. Park teaches at least one of the required options and therefore fulfills this limitation).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over PARK et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0111851) in view of LIUS et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0042493) and further in view of RAUSCH et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0274442) and further in view of HE et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0034020) and further in view of DEFRANCO et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0256754) and further in view of SEO et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0338289).
Regarding claim 3, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Defranco teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1.
However, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Defranco does not explicitly teach that the first light-emitting device comprises a first light-emitting unit comprising the first light-emitting layer, and wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a second light-emitting unit comprising the second light-emitting layer, a charge-generation layer over the second light- emitting unit, and a third light-emitting unit over the charge-generation layer.
However, Seo is a pertinent art that teaches that the first light-emitting device (Fig. 2B) comprises a first light-emitting unit (Fig. 2B, 203a, ¶ [0114] teaches an EL layer that contain a light emitting layer 213 and that different substances can be used depending on a desired emission color. ¶ [0138] also teaches that a substance whose emission color is red can be used in the light emitting layers. Therefore, one of ordinary skill could modify Park’s red subpixels according to the teaching of Seo and still output a red color) comprising the first light-emitting layer, and wherein the second light-emitting device (Fig. 2B) comprises a second light-emitting unit (Fig. 2B, 203a, ¶ [0114] teaches an EL layer that contain a light emitting layer 213 and that different substances can be used depending on a desired emission color. ¶ [0138] also teaches that different substances in the first and second light-emitting layers can be used to achieve white emission. Therefore, one of ordinary skill could modify Park modified by Lius’s white subpixels according to the teaching of Seo and still output a white color) comprising the second light-emitting layer, a charge-generation layer (Fig. 2B, 204, ¶ [0111]) over the second light- emitting unit, and a third light-emitting unit (Fig. 2B, 203b, ¶ [0114] teaches another EL layer that contain a light emitting layer 213 that emits light of a desired color) over the charge-generation layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Defranco’s subpixels to have a tandem structure according to the teaching of Seo (Fig. 2B) in order to reduce power consumption (Seo ¶ [0110]).
Regarding claim 4, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Defranco teaches the display apparatus according to claim 1.
However, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Defranco does not explicitly teach that the first light-emitting device comprises a first light-emitting unit comprising the first light-emitting layer, and wherein the second light-emitting device comprises another first light-emitting unit, a charge-generation layer over the second light- emitting unit, and a second light-emitting unit comprising the second light-emitting layer over the charge-generation layer.
However, Seo is a pertinent art that teaches that the first light-emitting device (Fig. 2B) comprises a first light-emitting unit (Fig. 2B, 203a, ¶ [0114] teaches an EL layer that contain a light emitting layer 213 and that different substances can be used depending on a desired emission color. ¶ [0138] also teaches that a substance whose emission color is red can be used in the light emitting layers. Therefore, one of ordinary skill could modify Park’s red subpixels according to the teaching of Seo and still output a red color) comprising the first light-emitting layer, and wherein the second light-emitting device (Fig. 2B) comprises another first light-emitting unit (Fig. 2B, 203a, ¶ [0114] teaches an EL layer that contain a light emitting layer 213 and that different substances can be used depending on a desired emission color. ¶ [0138] also teaches that different complementary emission colors in the first and second light-emitting layers can be combined to achieve white emission. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a same red light emitting EL layer 203a in a red subpixel and a white subpixel in order to reduce manufacturing cost because red light can be used in conjunction with a complementary color to emit white light), a charge-generation layer (Fig. 2B, 204, ¶ [0111]) over the second light- emitting unit, and a second light-emitting unit comprising the second light-emitting layer over the charge-generation layer (Fig. 2B, 203b, ¶ [0114] teaches another EL layer that contain a light emitting layer 213 that emits light of a desired color).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Defranco’s subpixels to have a tandem structure according to the teaching of Seo (Fig. 2B) in order to reduce power consumption (Seo ¶ [0110]).
Claims 11-12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over PARK et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0111851) in view of LIUS et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0042493) and further in view of RAUSCH et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0274442) and further in view of HE et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0034020) and further in view of KE et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0190908).
Regarding independent claim 11, Park teaches a display apparatus (Figs. 7-10) comprising a first pixel (Fig. 7, Pixel, ¶ [0112]), a battery, and a housing (Fig. 9A, ¶ [0120] teaches that Park’s OLED display panel can be integrated in a smart phone. It would be obvious that a smart phone includes a battery and housing),
wherein the first pixel comprises a first light-emitting device (Fig. 10, 310R, ¶ [0061]), a second light-emitting device (Fig. 10, 310B, ¶ [0061]), and a first light-receiving device,
wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a first electrode (Fig. 10, 313 in 310R, ¶ [0075]), a first light-emitting layer (Fig. 10, 311 in 310R, ¶ [0075]) over the first electrode, and a second electrode (Fig. 10, 315, ¶ [0075]).
wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a third electrode (Fig. 10, 313 in 310B, ¶ [0075]), a second light-emitting layer (Fig. 10, 311 in 310B, ¶ [0075]) over the third electrode,
wherein the first light-emitting device is configured to emit visible light of a color different from that of the second light-emitting device (¶ [0061]),
wherein the first light-receiving device is configured to sense light emitted from the first light-emitting device (¶ [0060] teaches that the visible light sensor 210 detects a portion of emitted light 330 from Park’s subpixels that is reflected. Further, it would be obvious that a visible light sensor is capable of detecting visible red light),
wherein a side surface of the first light-emitting layer faces a side surface of the second light-emitting layer (Fig. 10).
However, Park does not explicitly teach
an electric double layer capacitor,
a first layer over the first light-emitting layer, and a second electrode over the first layer,
the first layer over the second light-emitting layer, and the second electrode over the first layer,
wherein the second light-emitting device is configured to emit white light,
wherein the second light-emitting device is electrically connected to the electric double layer capacitor, and
wherein the electric double layer capacitor is electrically connected to the battery.
However, Lius is a pertinent art that teaches a light-emitting device is configured to emit white light (¶ [0029] teaches that a pixel in an OLED device can include a white subpixel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least one of Park’s subpixels to emit white light according to the teaching of Lius (¶ [0029]) in order to display color images according to preferred design requirements (Lius ¶ [0029]).
However, Park modified by Lius does not explicitly teach an electric double layer capacitor,
a first layer over the first light-emitting layer, and a second electrode over the first layer,
the first layer over the second light-emitting layer, and the second electrode over the first layer,
wherein the second light-emitting device is electrically connected to the electric double layer capacitor, and
wherein the electric double layer capacitor is electrically connected to the battery.
However, Rausch is a pertinent art that teaches an electric double layer capacitor (¶ [0039] teaches connecting a supercapacitor in addition to a battery in an energy storage unit to improve current operation in an OLED device),
wherein the second light-emitting device is electrically connected to the electric double layer capacitor (¶ [0039] teaches that Rausch’s supercapacitor is connected to their OLED during operation. Therefore, it would be obvious that Park modified by Rausch’s subpixels would be connected to their supercapacitor), and
wherein the electric double layer capacitor is electrically connected to the battery (¶ [0039] teaches that Rausch’s supercapacitor is included in addition to a battery in their energy storage unit. It would be obvious that Rausch’s supercapacitor and battery are connected in order to charge the supercapacitor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park modified by Lius’s device to be connected to an electric double layer capacitor according to the teaching of Rausch (¶ [0039]) in order to improve short term high current operation of the OLED during a flash (Rausch ¶ [0039]). Further, it would be obvious to modify Park modified by Lius’s device to be capable of a flash operation in order to increase light for optical sensing (for example, see ¶ [0848] of HE et al.)
However, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch does not explicitly teach a first layer over the first light-emitting layer, and a second electrode over the first layer,
the first layer over the second light-emitting layer, and the second electrode over the first layer.
However, Ke is a pertinent art that teaches a first layer (Fig. 33, 42, ¶ [0086]) over the first light-emitting layer (Fig. 33, 721, ¶ [0109] teaches that 721 includes an electroluminescent layer), and a second electrode (Fig. 33, 50, ¶ [0086]) over the first layer,
the first layer over the second light-emitting layer (Fig. 33, 731, ¶ [0109] teaches that 731 includes an electroluminescent layer), and the second electrode over the first layer (Fig. 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch’s subpixels to have a similar structure Ke’s subpixels (Fig. 33) in order to reduce degradation risk during manufacturing (Ke ¶ [0036]).
Regarding claim 12, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Ke teaches the display apparatus according to claim 11, and Park teaches a second pixel (Fig. 11A, ¶ [0130]), wherein the second pixel comprises another first light-emitting device (¶ [0135] teaches that the common pixel of Fig.11A can include a red subpixel 310R), another first light-receiving device (Fig. 11, 210, ¶ [0060]), and a second light-receiving device (Fig. 11, 210IR, ¶ [0130]), and wherein the second light-receiving device is configured to sense infrared light (¶ [0130]).
Regarding claim 15, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Ke teaches the display apparatus according to claim 11, and Park teaches that the first light-emitting device (Fig. 10, 310R, ¶ [0061] teaches a red subpixel) is configured to emit red, green, or blue light.
Regarding claim 16, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Ke teaches an electronic device (Park Fig. 9A, ¶ [0120]) comprising the display apparatus (Park Fig. 9A, 1000, ¶ [0120]) according to claim 11; and
a light source (Park Fig. 11A, 311IR, ¶ [0130] teaches that pixel in Park’s OLED panel can include an infrared light emitter 310IR) configured to emit infrared light.
Regarding claim 17, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Ke teaches the electronic device according to claim 16, and Park teaches that the light source (Fig. 11A, 311IR, ¶ [0130]) emits light (Fig. 11A, 330IR, ¶ [0130]) to the outside of the electronic device through the display apparatus.
Regarding claim 18, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Ke teaches a display module (Park Fig. 13, 1300, ¶ [0148]) comprising: the display apparatus according to claim 11 (Park Fig. 13, 1340, ¶ [0149]); and at least one of a connector and an integrated circuit (Park ¶ [0150] teaches that Park’s display device can include an application specific integrated circuit. Park teaches at least one of the required options and therefore fulfills this limitation).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over PARK et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0111851) in view of LIUS et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0042493) and further in view of RAUSCH et al. (US Pub. No. 2016/0274442) and further in view of HE et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0034020) and further in view of KE et al. (US Pub. No. 2018/0190908) and further in view of SEO et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0338289).
Regarding claim 13, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Ke teaches the display apparatus according to claim 11.
However, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Ke does not explicitly teach that the first light-emitting device comprises a first light-emitting unit comprising the first light-emitting layer, and wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a second light-emitting unit comprising the second light-emitting layer, a charge-generation layer over the second light- emitting unit, and a third light-emitting unit over the charge-generation layer.
However, Seo is a pertinent art that teaches that the first light-emitting device (Fig. 2B) comprises a first light-emitting unit (Fig. 2B, 203a, ¶ [0114] teaches an EL layer that contain a light emitting layer 213. ¶ [0138] also teaches that a substance whose emission color is red can be used in the light emitting layers. Therefore, one of ordinary skill could modify Park’s red subpixels according to the teaching of Seo and still output a red color) comprising the first light-emitting layer, and wherein the second light-emitting device (Fig. 2B) comprises a second light-emitting unit (Fig. 2B, 203a, ¶ [0114] teaches an EL layer that contain a light emitting layer 213. ¶ [0138] also teaches that different substances in the first and second light-emitting layers can be used to achieve white emission. Therefore, one of ordinary skill could modify Park modified by Lius’s white subpixels according to the teaching of Seo and still output a white color) comprising the second light-emitting layer, a charge-generation layer (Fig. 2B, 204, ¶ [0111]) over the second light- emitting unit, and a third light-emitting unit (Fig. 2B, 203b, ¶ [0114] teaches another EL layer that contain a light emitting layer 213 that emits light of a desired color) over the charge-generation layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Ke’s subpixels to have a tandem structure according to the teaching of Seo (Fig. 2B) in order to reduce power consumption (Seo ¶ [0110]).
Regarding claim 14, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Ke teaches the display apparatus according to claim 11.
However, Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Ke does not explicitly teach that the first light-emitting device comprises a first light-emitting unit comprising the first light-emitting layer, and wherein the second light-emitting device comprises another first light-emitting unit, a charge-generation layer over the second light- emitting unit, and a second light-emitting unit comprising the second light-emitting layer over the charge-generation layer.
However, Seo is a pertinent art that teaches that the first light-emitting device (Fig. 2B) comprises a first light-emitting unit (Fig. 2B, 203a, ¶ [0114] teaches an EL layer that contain a light emitting layer 213. ¶ [0114] also teaches that a plurality of substances can be included in 213 in order to emit a desired color. Therefore, one of ordinary skill could modify Park’s red subpixels according to the teaching of Seo and still output a red color) comprising the first light-emitting layer, and wherein the second light-emitting device comprises another first light-emitting unit, a charge-generation layer over the second light- emitting unit, and a second light-emitting unit comprising the second light-emitting layer over the charge-generation layer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park modified by Lius modified by Rausch modified by Ke’s subpixels to have a tandem structure according to the teaching of Seo (Fig. 2B) in order to reduce power consumption (Seo ¶ [0110]).
Cited Prior Art
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant.
Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub No. 2023/0413639 by Kim et al discloses a display device.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Pub No. 2022/0075981 by Park et al discloses a display device.
/R.P.S./
Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813