Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 26 May 2026, with respect to the objection to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant has amended claim 1 to remove extraneous language. The objection to claim 1 has been withdrawn. Applicant has also amended claim 17 to remove the broader method of producing a photosensitive resin composition.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, filed 26 May 2026, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant has amended claims 1 and 5 to resolve the issues arising from a lack of antecedent basis. The rejections of claims 1 and 5, as well as their corresponding dependent claims, under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 11-16, filed 26 May 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1,3-11, and 13-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of KR 102054611 B1 (hereby referred to as KR ‘611) and US 5616448 A (hereby referred to as Kato).
Applicant has amended independent claim 1 to remove formula (3) as one of the terminal structures of the polyimide precursor resin. Applicant argues that the previously cited art (Yorisue) fails to disclose or suggest the photosensitive resin composition according to instant claim 1, as amended. In particular, Applicant argues that Yorisue fails to teach formulas (1) and/or (2) as terminal structures. Upon review of Yorisue, the Examiner finds this argument persuasive. Per the instant application, the terminal structures of formulas (1) and/or (2) are obtained by reacting the dianhydride monomer with a compound having an isocyanate group, followed by reacting with alcohols having a photopolymerizable group. Whilst Yorisue teaches reactions of isocyanate compounds with the precursor (see Example 1, for instance), the reaction is between the isocyanate group and the terminal amine (when the diamine is used in molar excess). Thus, the resulting structure cannot be that of formulas (1) and/or (2). Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are found to be persuasive and the previous rejection is withdrawn. However, a new rejection is presented in view of KR 102054611 B1 (hereby referred to as KR ‘611), as explained below.
Regarding the Applicant’s arguments regarding Yorisue’s polymer teaching the features of claims 1, 11, 15, and 17, Applicant argues that the polymers produced by Yorisue do not disclose said features explicitly. The Examiner does not contest this point. However, the features of instant claim 1 are directly obtained from the chemical structure. The rejection presented below (made in response to the Applicant’s claim amendment) combines the teachings of Yorisue and KR ‘611. The polyimide precursor obtained from said combination does not appear, as far as the Examiner can tell, be structurally different from at least one of the precursors taught by the instant application’s specification. Thus, the polyimide precursor obtained from the combination of Yorisue and KR ‘611 must satisfy the concentration T and/or the concentration S required by instant claim 1. Regarding claim 11, the molecular weight of the precursor obtained by combining Yorisue and KR ‘611 overlaps with the range disclosed by the instant application’s specification, and the terminal structure is equivalent to that of formula (2). Thus, it would be expected that end-capping ratio is satisfied. The same rationale applied to claims 1 and 11 is applied to claim 15, as it would be expected that a substantially identical polymer has the same properties. Regarding claim 17, the Applicant’s amended claim language does not appear to be obvious in view of Yorisue or KR ‘611. Claim 17 is now rejected in view of US 5616448 A (hereby referred to as Kato), as explained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 5616448 A (hereby referred to as Kato).
Regarding Claim 17, Kato teaches a photosensitive resin composition and a process for forming a patterned polyimide film using the same. The photosensitive resin composition comprises a polyimide precursor containing an ethylenically unsaturated group and a photopolymerization initiator or sensitizer (Kato, Col. 2 Line 14-58). The diamine compound may be one selected from formulas (13) to (15) (Kato, Col. 6 Line 54 to Col. 7 Line 10). Formulas 14 and 15 include one or two monovalent organic groups containing a (meth)acrylate functional group, respectively (Kato, Col. 6 Line 60 to Col. 7 Line 10; see formula (2) in Col. 5 of Kato). The diamine compounds according to Formulas 14 and 15 are produced by reacting the diamine compound according to Formula 13 with at least one compound selected from glycidyl acrylate and glycidyl methacrylate (Kato, Col. 9 Line 18-27). To produce the polyimide precursor, a tetracarboxylic acid dianhydride represented by general formula (9) is reacted with a diamine compound represented by general formula (10) to obtain the structural unit represented by general formula (11) and then reacting the structural unit with a 2-isocyanatoethyl (meth)acrylate represented by general formula (12) (Kato, Col. 6 Line 13-49). Specific examples of such a process are presented in Col. 11-16 of Kato, showing the process for various monomers and reactant molar ratios. The method disclosed by Kato is the method according to instant claim 17, wherein monomer preparation is performed by option (ii).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20180373147 A1 (hereby referred to as Yorisue) in view of KR 102054611 B1 (hereby referred to as KR ‘611).
Regarding Claims 1, 3-5, 10-11, and 14-16, Yorisue teaches a photosensitive resin composition and a method for producing a cured relief pattern. The photosensitive resin composition comprises 100 parts by mass of a polyimide precursor and 0.1 to 20 parts by mass of a photopolymerization initiator (Yorisue, paragraph 0095). A solvent may further be included in an amount of preferably 125 to 500 parts by mass, based on 100 parts by mass of the polyimide precursor (Yorisue, paragraph 0165). The polyimide precursor is of the form of a polyamic acid ester or a polyamic acid salt (Yorisue, paragraph 0096). The ester-type polyimide precursor is obtained by reacting a tetracarboxylic dianhydride containing a tetravalent organic group with an alcohol having a photopolymerizable unsaturated double bond, and the resulting reaction product is reacted with a diamine to obtain the polyimide precursor (Yorisue, paragraph 0112). The structure of the polyimide precursor is represented by formula (1), which is reproduced below (Yorisue, paragraph 0099).
In the above structure, X1 represents a tetravalent organic group, Y1 represents a divalent organic group, and R1 and R2 are each independently hydrogen or one of the groups represented by formulas (2) and (3) (Yorisue, paragraph 0099). The structure of formula (2) is reproduced below.
In formula (2), R3 to R5 are each independently a hydrogen atom or a monovalent organic group of 1 to 3 carbon atoms, and m is an integer of 2 to 10 (Yorisue, paragraph 0099). The structures of formula (1) and formula (2) correspond to formulas (4) and (5), as recited by instant claim 3. Yorisue further teaches that the divalent group represented by Y1 may be one of those represented by formula (31) (Yorisue, paragraph 0102), wherein at least one or more of the structures depicted by formula (31) correspond to formula (6), as recited by instant claim 5. Regarding the terminal groups of the polyimide precursor resin, Yorisue teaches that at least one of the ends of the main chain of the photosensitive polyimide precursor has a structure represented by formula (E1) or (F1) (Yorisue, paragraph 0266). Formulas (E1) and (F1) are reproduced below.
In the above structure (E1), a1 includes at least one bond that is an amide bond, imide bond, urea bond, or urethane bond, b1 is a reactive substituent that crosslinks by heat or light, e1 is a monovalent organic group, and R11 to R14 are hydrogen atoms or monovalent organic groups (Yorisue, paragraph 0266). In structure (F1), f1 includes at least one bond that is an amide bond, imide bond, urea bond, urethane bond, or ester bond, g1 is a reactive substituent that crosslinks by heat or light, and R15 to R19 are hydrogen atoms or monovalent organic groups (Yorisue, paragraph 0266). The method of preparing a polyimide precursor is shown in paragraph 0276 of Yorisue, and following the main chain formation, the end groups are introduced (Yorisue, paragraph 0277).
However, Yorisue does not teach the terminal groups recited by instant claim 1. KR ‘611 teaches modified polyimides and curable resin compositions comprising the same. The resin composition includes the modified polyimide resin, a polymerization initiator (either thermal or photo), and a solvent (KR ‘611, paragraph 0071 of the English translation). The polyimide polymer has a structure represented by Formula 4 (KR ‘611, paragraph 0031 of the English translation), which is reproduced below.
In Formula 4, the value of p, q, r, and v are each independently greater than or equal to zero, but not simultaneously zero (KR ‘611, paragraph 0038 of the English translation). The group represented by D is a thermosetting or photocurable functional group (KR ‘611, paragraph 0024 of the English translation). The various X and Y groups in Formula 4 are derived from the dianhydride and diamine, respectively, used to synthesize the polymer (KR ‘611, paragraph 0036-0037 of the English translation). It is taught that the terminal group of the polymer may be derived from the reaction between the dianhydride monomer, which is the terminal group of the polyimide, and an isocyanate compound (KR ‘611, paragraph 0026-0027 of the English translation; refer to Chemical Formula 2 on page 9 of the original publication). Preferably, the isocyanate compound is an acryloyl group-containing isocyanate (KR ‘611, paragraph 0115 of the English translation), such as 2-methacryloyloxyethyl isocyanate (see Formula 2a on page 15 of KR ‘611). The inventive examples (see, for instance, paragraphs 0230-0232 of the English translation of KR ‘611) use this particular isocyanate to modify the terminal group of the polymer. The resulting polymer thus has a terminal structure equivalent to that of formula (2), as recited by instant claim 1.
Yorisue and KR ‘611 are analogous art because both references pertain to photosensitive resin compositions comprising polyimide polymers and/or precursors. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to produce a polyimide precursor, as disclosed by Yorisue, and modify the terminal structure of the precursor to have the form of formula (2), as taught by KR ‘611, because such a terminal structure offers improved transmittance and a higher crosslinking density of the photosensitive resin composition (KR ‘611, paragraph 0207 of the English translation.
The Examiner notes that Yorisue and KR ‘611 do not explicitly disclose the aliphatic hydrocarbon group concentration, the ratio of the total molecular weight of photosensitive groups to the molecular weight of repeating units in the polyimide precursor resin, the end-capping ratio, or the dielectric loss tangent of the cured film. That being said, the combination of Yorisue and KR ‘611 renders obvious the photosensitive polyimide precursor resin recited by instant claims 1, 3-5, 10-11, and 14-16. Particularly, Yorisue teaches similar or identical dianhydride compounds (see Yorisue, paragraph 0113-0114) as the instant application (see paragraph 0044-0047 of the instant application’s specification); similar or identical diamine compounds (see Yorisue, paragraph 0117-0119) as the instant application (see paragraph 0050-0052 of the instant application’s specification); and KR ‘611 teaches similar or identical end-capping compounds (see KR ‘611, Formula 2a on page 15) as the instant application (see Table 9 of the instant application’s specification). As noted above, Yorisue teaches a similar or identical production method of the polyimide precursor resin, and KR ‘611 teaches the terminal group according to formula (2) of instant claim 1, wherein the structure contains an imide group and a reactive substituent. Furthermore, the polyimide precursor molecular weight disclosed by Yorisue is preferably between 3,000 and 16,000 (Yorisue, paragraph 0127), which overlaps with the molecular weight range of the instant application’s polyimide precursor (refer to paragraph 0054 of the instant application’s specification). Thus, it is apparent that one having ordinary skill in the art, when presented with the disclosures of Yorisue and KR ‘611, would be able to obtain a polyimide precursor resin identical to those taught by the instant application, given appropriate choices of components to produce the polyimide precursor resin. Refer to MPEP 2143 B. and/or MPEP 2143 E. By making appropriate choices, particularly in the end capping group, a polyimide precursor resin having improved chemical resistance and crosslinking efficiency can be obtained (Yorisue, paragraph 0270 and KR ‘611, paragraph 0207 of the English translation). Furthermore, the ratios shown in Table 4 of Yorisue are similar or identical to those shown in Table 9 of the instant application. Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art would expect that the obvious variant of Yorisue’s polymer satisfies the aliphatic hydrocarbon group concentration, the ratio of the total molecular weight of photosensitive groups to the molecular weight of repeating units in the polyimide precursor resin, and the end-capping ratio recited by instant claims 1, 4, and 10-11. Additionally, the polymer obtained from the combination of Yorisue and KR ‘611 would be structurally similar or identical to the polymer of the instant application, and thus one having ordinary skill in the art would expect that the dielectric loss tangent recited by instant claims 14-16 is also satisfied by the polymer obtained from the combination of Yorisue and KR ‘611.
Regarding Claims 6-9, Yorisue discloses that the photosensitive resin composition may contain additional components other than the polyimide precursor, photopolymerization initiator, and solvent (Yorisue, paragraph 0166). Particularly, the photosensitive resin composition may comprise adhesion aids such as silane coupling agents (Yorisue, paragraph 0189-0190), a monomer containing a photopolymerizable unsaturated bond (i.e. a radically polymerizable compound) (Yorisue, paragraph 0196-0197), a thermal crosslinking agent (Yorisue, paragraph 0339-0343), and a filler such as organic titanium compounds (Yorisue, paragraph 0177).
Regarding Claim 13, Yorisue discloses a method for producing a polyimide cured film, wherein the photosensitive resin composition is coated onto a substrate to form a photosensitive layer on the substrate (Yorisue, paragraph 0349 and 0354), heat drying the photosensitive resin layer (Yorisue, paragraph 0357), exposing the dried photosensitive resin layer (Yorisue, paragraph 0350 and 0358-0359), developing the exposed photosensitive resin layer (Yorisue, paragraph 0351 and 0360-0361), and heat-treating the developed photosensitive layer to form a polyimide cured film (Yorisue, paragraph 0352 and 0362-0364).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAYSON D COSGROVE/Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734