DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hess et al. (US PGPub 2010/0261159, hereinafter Hess).
Regarding claim 1, Hess discloses an analysis plate (platen containing cells, see paragraph [0119]) configured to allow characterization of microorganisms (e.g. bacteria, see paragraph [0332]) by mass spectrometry (mass spectrometry, see paragraph [0070]), the analysis plate comprising at least one analysis zone (platen has at least one of 500,000 through holes, see paragraph [0336]) configured for a biological sample (e.g. biological compositions, see paragraph [0119]) containing a population of at least one microorganism (e.g. a dilute culture enterococcus faecium bacteria is applied to the platen, see paragraph [0336]), wherein part or the whole of the analysis zone is made of a porous material (membrane comprises pores that are no more than half the through hole diameter, see paragraph [0047], porous material inside the through-holes ([0011])), the analysis zone comprising at least one antimicrobial agent (antibiotic activity, see paragraph [0027]; bacteria applied to platen is observed for reduction in growth, see paragraphs [0336-0337]).
Regarding claim 4, Hess discloses the plate comprises a plurality of analysis zones (platen includes 500,000 through holes for, see paragraph [0336]), each analysis zone bearing at least one antimicrobial agent (bacteria applied to platen is observed for reduction in growth, see paragraphs [0336-0337]).
Regarding claim 5, Hess discloses at least one first analysis zone from the plurality bears a first antimicrobial agent (one of 500,000 member combinatorial peptide library on the platen), and a second analysis zone from the plurality bears a second antimicrobial agent (another one of 500,000 member combinatorial peptide library on the platen) different than the first antimicrobial agent (screening for antibiotics by determining reduction in growth, see paragraphs [0336-0337]).
Regarding claim 6, Hess discloses a system comprising an analysis plate (platen having a plurality of through holes, see paragraph [0022]) on which a population of at least one microorganism (e.g. bacterial cells, see paragraph [0073]) and a culture medium (cell culture, see paragraph [0022]) are deposited on at least one analysis zone (through holes in the platen, see paragraph [0022]) and an incubation element configured to maintaining the humidity of the at least one analysis zone (array is incubated in an enclosed humidity chamber, see paragraph [0204]), the incubation element being positioned under the analysis plate (e.g. platen is incubated in an enclosed humidity chamber, see paragraph [0204]).
Regarding claim 7, Hess discloses a method for characterizing a population of at least one microorganism (e.g. bacteria, see paragraph [0332]), the characterization comprising at least determination of the possible resistance (antibiotic activity, see paragraph [0027]; screening for antibiotics by reduction in growth, see paragraphs [0336-0337]) of a population of a microorganism to at least one antimicrobial agent (antibiotics, see paragraph [0027]), wherein the method comprises:
a step of supplying an analysis plate as claimed in claim 1 (see claim 1 above), for characterization of the population of at least one microorganism (e.g. bacteria, see paragraph [0336]),
a step of depositing the population of the at least one microorganism (e.g. Enterococcus faecium bacteria, see paragraph [0336]) in liquid form (dilute culture, see paragraph [0336]) on the at least one analysis zone (platen includes 500,000 through holes, see paragraph [0336]) in contact with the antimicrobial agent (screening for antibiotics by reduction of growth, see paragraphs [0336-0337]; 500,000 member combinatorial peptide dissolved in a sterile cell culture medium in the through holes, see paragraph [0336]) previously deposited on the analysis zone,
an incubation step, consisting of storing the analysis plate in conditions (e.g. incubation at 30 degrees Celsius for 5 hours, see paragraph [0336]) and for a sufficient period (e.g. 5 hours) to allow interaction of the at least one antimicrobial agent and of the at least one microorganism present (screening for antibiotics by reduction of growth, see paragraph [0337]),
a step of removing the liquid containing the population of the at least one microorganism by aspiration through the pores of the analysis zone (controlling evaporation and facilitating the aspirating of individual samples from an array of through holes, see paragraph [0288]),
a step of analysis, by mass spectrometry using a MALDI ionization technique (matrix added to the samples for analysis by MALDI, see paragraph [0290]), of a population of the at least one microorganism deposited on the analysis zone, making it possible to conclude whether a population of a microorganism resistant to the antimicrobial agent is present in the analysis zone (screening for antibiotics by reduction of growth, see paragraph [0337]).
Regarding claim 8, Hess discloses the system comprises an incubation support, made of porous material (porous membrane on platen, see paragraph [0043]; platen incubated in a controlled environment, see paragraph [0336]).
Regarding claim 9, Hess discloses the incubation support is moistened by a culture medium (dilute culture for incubation with a dissolved peptide, see paragraph [0336]) or by the incubation element (platen is incubated in an enclosed humidity chamber, see paragraph [0204]).
Regarding claim 10, Hess discloses the incubation step is carried out by an incubation chamber (platen is incubated in an enclosed humidity chamber, see paragraph [0204]).
Regarding claim 11, Hess discloses the incubation step is carried out for at least 2 hours (e.g. 5 hours of incubation time, see paragraph [0336]).
Regarding claim 12, Hess discloses a step of determining the resistance of the microorganism to the antimicrobial agent is observing the presence of proteins of the microorganism in quantity (e.g. holes showing a greater than 99% reduction in growth are identified, see paragraph [0337]) such that it can be concluded that there is growth of the microorganism despite the presence of the antimicrobial agent during the incubation step (e.g. analysis where growth was not reduced, see paragraph [0337]).
Regarding claim 13, Hess discloses a population of a single microorganism to be characterized is deposited (average 1 to 2 bacteria per through hole, see paragraph [0332]).
Regarding claim 14, Hess discloses the population of microorganisms is obtained after a step of concentration (e.g. dilute culture added to platen, see paragraph [0336]), enrichment (e.g. incubation) corresponds to a colony or to a fraction of a colony obtained after growth (through holes showing a greater than 99% reduction in growth are identified, see paragraph [0337]) on a suitable medium (platen with 500,000 through holes, see paragraph [0336]).
Regarding claim 15, Hess discloses the characterization comprises, in addition, identification of the genus, or of the species of a population of a microorganism (e.g. Enterococcus faecium bacteria, see paragraph [0336]) deposited on the analysis zone (platen with 500,000 through holes, see paragraph [0336]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hess as evidenced by Dahal (“Enterococcus faecalis: A Comprehensive Guide”, www.microbenotes.com/enterococcus-faecalis-overview/#, hereinafter Dahal).
Regarding claim 2, Hess discloses the pore size of the analysis zone is less than the size of the at least one microorganism to be characterized (membrane comprises pores ranging from 0.2 μm to 1 μm, see paragraph [0047]; microorganism to be characterized is Enterococcus faecium bacteria, see paragraph [0336]).
As evidenced by Dalah, the Enterococcus faecalis bacteria typically has cells in the range of 0.5 to 2 μm in diameter and elongate up to 0.6 to 2.5 μm (see Morphology of Enterococcus faecalis, first bullet point), and would therefore be larger than the disclosed pore size of Hess.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hess in view of Ramjeet et al. (US PGPub 2017/0211123, hereinafter Ramjeet).
Regarding claim 3, Hess fails to teach the plate is made at least partially of polymer covered with a layer of stainless steel.
Ramjeet teaches a MALDI analysis plate being formed by a polymer (e.g. polypropylene) coated with a layer of stainless steel (see paragraph [0067]) as a conductive surface.
Ramjeet modifies Hess by suggesting the analysis plate be made of a polymer and coated with stainless steel.
Since both inventions are drawn to MALDI analysis plates, it would have been obvious to the ordinary artisan before the effective filing date to modify Hess by using the analysis plate of Ramjeet as a simple substitution to achieve predictable results.
Conclusion
Hanway Chang
/HC/ Examiner, Art Unit 2881
/MICHAEL J LOGIE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881