DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-9, 11, 13-17, & 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bower et al. (US 20210043816).
Regarding claim 1, Bower discloses that a display device using a light emitting device, the display device comprising:
a wiring substrate 92 & 90 with a plurality of unit pixel regions defined thereon;
a pair of wiring electrodes 29 arranged in a unit pixel region on the wiring substrate 90;
a pair of electrode pads connected to the pair of wiring electrodes (Fig. 16), respectively; and
a light emitting device 22 (para. 0049, note: LED structure) electrically connected to and installed on the pair of electrode pads to define a sub pixel, wherein the light emitting device 22 has a tilt angle with a side surface inclined to one side and the pair of electrode pads have different thicknesses, wherein the different thicknesses are configured to correct asymmetric light distribution with respect to a light emitting surface of the light emitting device, the asymmetric light distribution being caused by the tilt angle (Fig. 16).
Reclaim 3, Bower discloses that the tilt angle is an angle with respect to a perpendicular direction of a main plane of the wiring substrate 90 (Fig. 16).
Reclaim 4, Bower discloses that a thickness difference of the electrode pads is disposed to decrease the tilt angle (Fig. 16 & Fig. 6A-D).
Reclaim 5, Bower discloses that the electrode pad pair of electrode pads includes a first electrode pad and a second electrode pad, and at least one of the first electrode pad or the second electrode pad includes a thickness compensator (Fig. 16 & Fig. 6A-D).
Reclaim 6, Bower discloses that the thickness compensator is to compensate for the tilt angle (Fig. 16 & Fig. 6A-D).
Reclaim 7, Bower discloses that a thickness difference between the first electrode pad and the second electrode pad corresponds to the tilt angle of the light emitting device (Fig. 16 & Fig. 6A-D).
Reclaim 8, Bower discloses that the tilt angle is due to crystallinity of a semiconductor material of the light emitting device (Fig. 16 & Fig. 6A-D).
Reclaim 9, Bower discloses that the light emitting device has a cross section or side surface of a parallelogram (Fig. 16).
Regarding claim 11, Bower discloses that a display device using a light emitting device, the display device comprising:
a wiring substrate 90 & 92 with a plurality of unit pixel regions defined thereon;
a first wiring electrode and a second wiring electrode 29 arranged in a unit pixel region on the wiring substrate;
a first electrode pad and a second electrode pad 29 (Fig. 16 & 6A-6D, at the top of element 19) connected to the first wiring electrode and the second wiring electrode, respectively; and
a light emitting device 22 (para. 0049, note: a horizontal LED structure) electrically connected to and installed on the first electrode pad and the second electrode pad 29 to define a sub pixel, wherein the light emitting device has a tilt angle with a side surface inclined to one side and the first electrode pad and the second electrode pad have a thickness difference corresponding to the tilt angle of the light emitting device, wherein the thickness difference is configured to correct asymmetric light distribution with respect to a light emitting surface of the light emitting device, the asymmetric light distribution being caused by the tilt angle (Fig. 16 & Fig. 6A-D).
Reclaim 13, Bower discloses that the tilt angle is an angle with respect to a perpendicular direction of a main plane of the wiring substrate (Fig. 16 & Fig. 6A-D).
Reclaim 14, Bower discloses that a thickness difference of the first electrode pad and the second electrode pad is disposed to decrease the tilt angle (Fig. 16 & Fig. 6A-D).
Reclaim 15, Bower discloses that at least one of the first electrode pad or the second electrode pad includes a thickness compensator (Fig. 16 & Fig. 6A-D).
Reclaim 16, Bower discloses that the thickness compensator is to compensate for the tilt angle (Fig. 16 & Fig. 6A-D).
Reclaim 17, Bower discloses that the tilt angle is due to crystallinity of a semiconductor material of the light emitting device (Fig. 16 & Fig. 6A-D).
Reclaim 19, Bower discloses that a plurality of light emitting devices that emit light of the same color are located in adjacent pixel areas (Fig. 16 & Fig. 6A-D).
Reclaim 20, Bower discloses that the light emitting device has a cross section or side surface of a parallelogram (Fig. 16 & Fig. 6A-D).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SU C KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899