CTNF 18/274,019 CTNF 94085 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/25/2023 has been considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 10 recites “have have” which should be replaced with “have”, and “lengths on widths” which should be replaced with “lengths or widths” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 7 and 10 recite, “the anodes.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation. Examiner suggests replacing with “anodes, formed from the plurality of electrodes” or “the plurality of electrodes” to establish proper antecedent basis. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1 – 7 and 11 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanatzidis et al. (US 2020/0225367) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2012/0080414) . Regarding claim 1, Kanatzidis discloses a method of forming a radiation detector (“ detector is configured to measure a signal generated by the electron-hole pairs that are formed when the material is exposed to incident radiation” [Abstract]), the method comprising: forming a continuous metal film a first surface of a photoactive semiconductor substrate, the photoactive semiconductor substrate (Fig. 1B [0011] shows wherein a continuous metal film of Au (gold) has been formed on an upper surface of Cs 2 TeI 6 , which is a photoactive semiconductor substrate; [0011]) comprising a semiconductor comprising at three elements (Cs, Te, I), wherein at least one of the at least three elements is an element selected from period five (Te or I) or period six (Cs) of the Periodic Table of the Elements and another of the three elements is selected from S, Se, Te, Cl, F, I and Br (Te or I); forming an electrically conductive continuous electrode (Fig. 1B, FTO; “Electrodes may comprise, for example, an electrically conductive oxide, such as FTO, or a metal, such as gold or aluminum” [0037]) on a second, opposing surface of the photoactive semiconductor substrate (Fig. 1B, the electrode comprising FTO is on the bottom side of the Cs 2 TeI 6 layer; “An embodiment of a device for the detection of incident radiation, such as incident X-rays, gamma rays, or alpha-particles, generally includes: (a) the material comprising alkali metal chalcohalides having the chemical formula A.sub.2TeX.sub.6, wherein A is Cs or Rb and X is I or Br; (b) a first electrode in electrical communication with the material; (c) a second electrode in electrical communication with the material, wherein the first and second electrodes are configured to apply an electric field across the material. At least one of the first and second electrodes is desirably transparent to the incident radiation. Electrodes may comprise, for example, an electrically conductive oxide, such as FTO, or a metal, such as gold or aluminum. When the incident radiation is absorbed by the alkali metal chalcohalide, electron-hole pairs are generated and drift toward their respective electrodes under an applied electric field. Electron or hole photocurrents can be measured separately by changing the bias direction” [0037]). Kanatzidis does not expressly disclose forming a pixelated radiation detector, or cutting the continuous metal film on the first surface of the photoactive semiconductor substrate into a plurality of electrodes using picosecond or femtosecond timescale laser pulses, wherein the electrodes in the plurality of electrodes are separated and electrically isolated by gaps formed by the laser pulses. Zhang is directed to a method and system for laser patterning a semiconductor substrate [Title], to form a radiation detector [0002]. Zhang discloses forming a pixelated radiation detector (“The method also includes patterning the sample based on the configured scanning pattern using the one or more laser beams to generate one or more pixelated devices from the sample” [0006]), and cutting a continuous metal film (Fig. 3, “coating 60 may include a metal” [0034]) on a first surface of a photoactive semiconductor substrate (Fig. 3, “semiconductor substrate 54” [0034]) into a plurality of electrodes (“Reference numeral 72 is generally representative of one or more pixels that are formed subsequent to the patterning of the sample 66 by the one or more laser beams 26” [0053]) using picosecond or femtosecond timescale laser pulses (“the one or more laser beams may include ultraviolet laser beams, nanosecond laser beams, picosecond laser beams, or femtosecond laser beams” [0021]), wherein the electrodes in the plurality of electrodes are separated and electrically isolated by gaps (Fig. 3, “one or more roads are generally represented by reference numeral 74. This patterning of the one or more roads 74 facilitates interpixel isolation” [0053]) formed by the laser pulses (fig. 3). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include forming a pixelated radiation detector, or cutting the continuous metal film on the first surface of the photoactive semiconductor substrate into a plurality of electrodes using picosecond or femtosecond timescale laser pulses, wherein the electrodes in the plurality of electrodes are separated and electrically isolated by gaps formed by the laser pulses. This is a known method of producing a radiation detector, applied to a known method of forming a radiation detector having a particular composition, to achieve predictable results. Regarding claim 2, Kanatzidis discloses wherein the semiconductor comprising at least three elements is a halide perovskite (“halide perovskite” [Title]). Regarding claim 3, Kanatzidis discloses wherein the halide perovskite is an inorganic metal halide perovskite film (“all-inorganic Cs 2 TeI 6 ” [0041]; Cs 2 TeI 6 is a metal halide perovskite). Regarding claim 4, Kanatzidis does not expressly disclose wherein the gaps extend into the semiconductor substrate. Zhang discloses wherein the gaps extend into the semiconductor substrate (see Fig. 3, in particular the inset portion of Fig. 3, showing wherein gap 74 extends into semiconductor substrate 54). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the gaps extend into the semiconductor substrate. This is a known method of producing a radiation detector, applied to a known method of forming a radiation detector having a particular composition, to achieve predictable results. Regarding claim 5, Kanatzidis does not expressly disclose wherein the gaps have widths of 100 µm or less. Zhang discloses wherein the gaps have widths of 100 µm or less (“The focal spot size of the one or more laser beams 26 is representative of a scribe width of the one or more laser beams” [0047]; “ the focal spot size has a diameter of 30 µm” [0048]; the laser scribing forms the gaps / roads 74). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the gaps have widths of 100 µm or less. “[I]n accordance with aspects of the present technique, pixel dimensions, the width of the roads, and pixel distance to edge with guard ring are optimized for charge collection efficiency, including photopeak fraction” [0040]. Regarding claim 6, Kanatzidis does not expressly disclose wherein the gaps have widths of 50 µm or less. Zhang discloses wherein the gaps have widths of 50 µm or less (“The focal spot size of the one or more laser beams 26 is representative of a scribe width of the one or more laser beams” [0047]; “ the focal spot size has a diameter of 30 µm” [0048]; the laser scribing forms the gaps / roads 74). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the gaps have widths of 50 µm or less. This is a known method of producing a radiation detector, applied to a known method of forming a radiation detector having a particular composition, to achieve predictable results. Additionally, “in accordance with aspects of the present technique, pixel dimensions, the width of the roads, and pixel distance to edge with guard ring are optimized for charge collection efficiency, including photopeak fraction” [0040]. Regarding claim 7, Kanatzidis does not expressly disclose wherein the anodes have at least one lateral dimension of 1000 µm or shorter. Zhang discloses wherein the anodes have at least one lateral dimension of 1000 or shorter (at least one dimension of the anode / formed pixel is 50 µm: “the surface of the semiconductor substrate may be prepared such that the surface of the semiconductor substrate is about 5 nm for a 50 µm x 50 µm area” [0024]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the anodes have at least one lateral dimension of 1000 µm or shorter. This is a known method of producing a radiation detector, applied to a known method of forming a radiation detector having a particular composition, to achieve predictable results. Additionally, “in accordance with aspects of the present technique, pixel dimensions, the width of the roads, and pixel distance to edge with guard ring are optimized for charge collection efficiency, including photopeak fraction” [0040]. Regarding claim 11, Kanatzidis discloses wherein the continuous metal film is a gold film (Fig. 1B [0011] shows wherein a continuous metal film of Au (gold) has been formed on an upper surface of Cs 2 TeI 6 ). Regarding claim 12, Kanatzidis discloses wherein the radiation detector is a gamma-ray detector (“gamma-ray” [0007]). Regarding claim 13, Kanatzidis discloses wherein the radiation detector is an x-ray detector (“X-ray” [0007]). Regarding claim 14, Kanatzidis discloses wherein the radiation detector is an alpha-particle detector (“alpha particle radiation” [0007]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 8 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kanatzidis et al. (US 2020/0225367) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2012/0080414), further in view of Xin et al. (US 2022/0190182) . Regarding claim 8, Kanatzidis does not expressly disclose wherein the metal halide perovskite is CsPbBr 3 . Xin is directed to an X-ray detector [Title]. Xin discloses wherein the metal halide perovskite is CsPbBr 3 (“CsPbBr 3 “ [0036]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the metal halide perovskite is CsPbBr 3 . Using CsPbBr 3 as the semiconductor substrate / metal halide perovskite advantageously results in “high X-ray sensitivity and low visible/UV light interference” [0065]. Regarding claim 9, Kanatzidis discloses wherein the continuous metal film is a gold film (Fig. 1B [0011] shows wherein a continuous metal film of Au (gold) has been formed on an upper surface of Cs 2 TeI 6 ). Regarding claim 10, Kanatzidis does not expressly disclose wherein the gaps have widths of 50 µm or less and the anodes have lengths on widths of 1000 µm or shorter. Zhang discloses wherein the gaps have widths of 50 µm or less (“The focal spot size of the one or more laser beams 26 is representative of a scribe width of the one or more laser beams” [0047]; “ the focal spot size has a diameter of 30 µm” [0048]; the laser scribing forms the gaps / roads 74) and the anodes have lengths on widths of 1000 µm or shorter (at least one dimension of the anode / formed pixel is 50 µm: “the surface of the semiconductor substrate may be prepared such that the surface of the semiconductor substrate is about 5 nm for a 50 µm x 50 µm area” [0024]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the gaps have widths of 50 µm or less and the anodes have lengths on widths of 1000 µm or shorter. This is a known method of producing a radiation detector, applied to a known method of forming a radiation detector having a particular composition, to achieve predictable results. Additionally, “in accordance with aspects of the present technique, pixel dimensions, the width of the roads, and pixel distance to edge with guard ring are optimized for charge collection efficiency, including photopeak fraction” [0040]. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ELIZABETH KERR whose telephone number is (571)272-3073. The examiner can normally be reached M - F, 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Steven Crabb can be reached at 571-270-5095. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/274,019 Page 2 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/274,019 Page 3 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/274,019 Page 4 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/274,019 Page 5 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/274,019 Page 6 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/274,019 Page 7 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/274,019 Page 8 Art Unit: 3761 Application/Control Number: 18/274,019 Page 9 Art Unit: 3761