This office action is in response to remarks filed on 11/25/2025.
Claims 46-47, 49-57 and 59-65 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 46, 49, 56 and 59 are amended. Claims 48 and 58 are canceled.
Response to Amendments
Claims 46, 49, 56 and 59 have been considered based on amendments.
Claims 48 and 58 have been canceled
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 46-47, 49-57 and 59-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (US20170265227A1) (hereinafter "Wang") in view of Ding et al (US20210298068A1) (hereinafter "Ding") as supported by provisional application 62993460 filed on March 23, 2020.
Regarding claim 46, Wang discloses a method of enabling a group of wireless devices to perform uplink (UL) transmissions towards a network node in a wireless communications network, performed by a coordinating wireless device, the method comprising:
receiving, from the network node, information configuring the coordinating wireless device to handle Random Access (RA) using Sidelink (SL) resources towards wireless devices in the group of wireless devices ([0005] The method comprises receiving, receiving from the network node, a configuration that the first wireless device and one or more second wireless devices are part of a group, and that the first wireless device shall act as a coordinator for the group, wherein wireless devices in the group are capable of direct mode communication, D2D;).
Wang fails to disclose a method comprising: transmitting, to the wireless devices in the group of wireless devices on SL resources, information for use by the wireless devices in the group of wireless devices to perform RA using SL resources towards the coordinating wireless device; receiving an RA request from a wireless device in the group of wireless devices on SL resources; and transmitting a Random Access Response (RAR) to the wireless device in the group of wireless devices on SL resources.
However, Ding discloses a method comprising:
transmitting, to the wireless devices in the group of wireless devices on SL resources, information ([0031] parameters for performing the random access procedure) for use by the wireless devices in the group of wireless devices to perform RA using SL resources towards the coordinating wireless device ([0031] In an example, the base station can transmit one or more parameters for performing the random access procedure to the first UE and the second UE, such as an identifier of the UEs or a random access sequence corresponding to the UEs, etc. The UEs can use these parameters to transmit and/or receive random access messages as part of the random access procedure over a sidelink. In one example, the random access procedure may include three or four random access messages transmitted over the sidelink between the UEs, which may include first and second random access messages transmitted over random access resources (e.g., which may be determined with assistance from the base station) and a third and/or fourth random access messages transmitted over sidelink channel resources. [0109] FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a system 800 for performing a RA procedure with three RA messages in accordance with aspects described herein. In this example, UE1 transmits a first RA message (msg0) 802 to UE2, UE2 transmits a second RA message (msg1) 804 to UE1, which can be transmitted using power ramping 806 until a third RA message (msg2) 808 is received from UE1.);
receiving an RA request from a wireless device in the group of wireless devices on SL resources; and ([0096] In method 600, at Block 602, a request can be received, from a first UE, to perform a random access procedure with a second UE over a sidelink.)
transmitting a Random Access Response (RAR) ([0109] third RA message (msg2)) to the wireless device in the group of wireless devices on SL resources ([0109] FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a system 800 for performing a RA procedure with three RA messages in accordance with aspects described herein. In this example, UE1 transmits a first RA message (msg0) 802 to UE2, UE2 transmits a second RA message (msg1) 804 to UE1, which can be transmitted using power ramping 806 until a third RA message (msg2) 808 is received from UE1.).
Wang and Ding are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of procedures for performing sidelink random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wang with Ding to create a method comprising: transmitting, to the wireless devices in the group of wireless devices on SL resources, information for use by the wireless devices in the group of wireless devices to perform RA using SL resources towards the coordinating wireless device; receiving an RA request from a wireless device in the group of wireless devices on SL resources; and transmitting a Random Access Response (RAR) to the wireless device in the group of wireless devices on SL resources.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce the number of random access attempts.
Regarding claim 47, Wang discloses the method, wherein the received information comprises information indicating a set of Temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (TC-RNTls) to be assigned to wireless devices in the group of wireless devices by the coordinating wireless device during RA ([0179] the first wireless device is configured for receiving, from the network node, a random access response comprising a resource assignment and a group temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identity, group TC-RNTI, and for dividing the resources between the wireless devices associated with the transmitted random access request by transmitting, via respective D2D link, a respective resource allocation message comprising the group RNTI to the respective wireless devices associated with the random access request.).
Regarding claim 49, Wang discloses the method, further comprising transmitting, to the network node, information indicating that the wireless device has been assigned a TC-RNTI for use by the wireless device in an UL data transmission towards the network node on Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resources granted by the coordinating wireless device ([0085] The method 100 may further comprise, as illustrated in FIG. 1e, transmitting 175 a connection request message to the network node, the connection request comprising the group TC-RNTI and an identifier of the first wireless device in a Media Access Control, MAC, control element [0156] The D2D communication could use resource assigned by the network node if the wireless devices in the group already has an RRC connection to the network node, or choose the resource from a common resource pool that may be preconfigured for D2D communications. The resource assigned by the network refers to resource(s) allocated in the frequency domain and the time domain, e.g. Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, resource(s).).
Regarding claim 50, Wang discloses the method, wherein the RAR comprises information indicating a grant for the UL data transmission towards the network node on the PUSCH resources and the TC-RNTI ([0080] The random access response comprises an uplink grant field indicating the resources to be used on the uplink by the wireless devices including the first device and one or more second devices [0159] The network node includes the resource assignment of the PUSCH channel for the group in the message 2 (RACH access response)).
Regarding claim 51, Wang discloses the method, further comprising:
receiving, from the wireless device on SL resources, information indicating a User Equipment Identifier (UE-ID) of the wireless device ([00086] By the connection request, see also figure 4d action 430, the first wireless device requests a connection to be set up between the first wireless device and the network node. In order for the network node to be able to identify the sender of the connection request message, the first wireless device includes both the group TC-RNTI identifying the group of which the first wireless device is part and the identifier of the first wireless device which identifies the first wireless device in the group.);
transmitting, to the wireless device on SL resources, information indicating a grant for the UL data transmission towards the network node on the PUSCH resources using the UE-ID; and ([0205] the network node 900, 1000 is configured for transmitting a random access response comprising a resource assignment, a group TC-RNTI, and timing advance value, to the first wireless device for distribution via a respective D2D link to the one or more second wireless devices in the group. [0080] The random access response comprises an uplink grant field indicating the resources to be used on the uplink by the wireless devices including the first device and one or more second devices [0159] The network node includes the resource assignment of the PUSCH channel for the group in the message 2 (RACH access response))
converting the TC-RNTI assigned to the wireless device to a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) of the wireless device in the wireless communication network ([0079] The method may further comprise, as illustrated in FIG. 1e, receiving (170), from the network node, a random access response comprising a resource assignment and a group temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identity, group TC-RNTI, and dividing (185) the resources between the wireless devices associated with the transmitted random access request by transmitting, via respective D2D link, a respective resource allocation message comprising a group C-RNTI to the respective wireless devices associated with the random access request.).
Regarding claim 52, Wang discloses the method, further comprising transmitting, to the network node:
information indicating that the wireless device has been provided with a grant for an UL data transmission towards the network node on PUSCH resources; and ([0085] The method 100 may further comprise, as illustrated in FIG. 1e, transmitting 175 a connection request message to the network node, the connection request comprising the group TC-RNTI and an identifier of the first wireless device in a Media Access Control, MAC, control element [0156] The D2D communication could use resource assigned by the network node if the wireless devices in the group already has an RRC connection to the network node, or choose the resource from a common resource pool that may be preconfigured for D2D communications. The resource assigned by the network refers to resource(s) allocated in the frequency domain and the time domain, e.g. Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, resource(s).)
information indicating a mapping of the UE-ID to the C-RNTI. ([0132] the first wireless device divides the resource assignments between the wireless devices that are requesting resources. [0133] Consequently, then those wireless devices each may transmit a connection request message to the network node. The network node thus receives respective connection requests from wireless devices having requested access to the network node. The connection request may comprise the group C-RNTI and their own identifiers, see also FIG. 4d actions 430, 450 and 475.)
Regarding claim 53, Wang discloses the method, wherein the RA request from the wireless device comprises a preamble specifically assigned to the wireless device in the coordinating wireless device ([0062] The first wireless device acting as a group coordinator may randomly select the preamble in the group preamble split. The network node may thus identify whether the received random access preamble is for a group or for a single wireless device. [0141], the random access request comprises a preamble indicating that it is a group of wireless devices and not a single wireless device requesting access to the network node.).
Regarding claim 54, Wang discloses the method, wherein the RAR comprises information indicating:
a grant for transmitting the UE-ID to the coordinating wireless device on SL resources ([0043] The method comprises the first wireless device receiving, from the network node, the configuration that the first wireless device and one or more second wireless devices are part of the group, and that the first wireless device shall act as the coordinator for the group, wherein wireless devices in the group are capable of D2D communication. [0080] The random access response comprises an uplink grant field indicating the resources to be used on the uplink by the wireless devices including the first device and one or more second devices);
the TC-RNTI assigned to the wireless device; and ([0079] The method may further comprise, as illustrated in FIG. 1e, receiving (170), from the network node, a random access response comprising a resource assignment and a group temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identity, group TC-RNTI, and dividing (185) the resources between the wireless devices associated with the transmitted random access request by transmitting, via respective D2D link, a respective resource allocation message comprising a group C-RNTI to the respective wireless devices associated with the random access request.)
a timing advance of the coordinating wireless device ([0080] The random access response may comprise a MAC entity of the first device as well as the group TC-RNTI which may be used by the MAC entity during Random Access, and Timing Advance Information to be used by the first wireless device to control the amount of timing adjustment that the MAC entity has to apply, with regard to the first wireless device and the network node. [0138] the respective response message comprises respective timing advance value for the respective wireless device.).
Regarding claim 55, Wang discloses the method, wherein the transmitting further comprises transmitting system information received from the network node to the wireless devices in the group of wireless devices periodically on SL resources ([0059] The random access request may use a random access preamble indicating that the random access request is a random access request for a group of wireless devices.). [0060] When the first wireless device transmits the random access request, the first wireless device selects a random access preamble out of a number of random access preambles. [0061] The preamble split may be static or semi static depending on the cell load or cell size and number of groups).
Regarding claim 56, Wang discloses a coordinating wireless device operative to enable a group of wireless devices to perform uplink (UL) transmissions towards a network node in a wireless communications network, the coordinating wireless device comprising:
processing circuitry and memory circuitry, the memory circuitry storing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the coordinating wireless device is configured to ([0199] FIG. 9 further illustrates the network node 900 comprising processing means 920, which comprises the memory 922 and the processor 921.):
receive, from the network node, information configuring the coordinating wireless device to handle Random Access (RA) using Sidelink (SL) resources towards wireless devices in the group of wireless devices ([0005] The method comprises receiving, receiving from the network node, a configuration that the first wireless device and one or more second wireless devices are part of a group, and that the first wireless device shall act as a coordinator for the group, wherein wireless devices in the group are capable of direct mode communication, D2D;).
Wang fails to disclose a coordinating wireless device comprising: receive a RA request from a wireless device in the group of wireless devices on SL resources; and transmit a Random Access Response (RAR) to the wireless device in the group of wireless devices on SL resources.
However, Ding discloses a coordinating wireless device comprising:
transmit, to the wireless devices in the group of wireless devices on SL resources, information ([0031] parameters for performing the random access procedure) for use by the wireless devices in the group of wireless devices to perform RA using SL resources towards the coordinating wireless device ([0031] In an example, the base station can transmit one or more parameters for performing the random access procedure to the first UE and the second UE, such as an identifier of the UEs or a random access sequence corresponding to the UEs, etc. The UEs can use these parameters to transmit and/or receive random access messages as part of the random access procedure over a sidelink. In one example, the random access procedure may include three or four random access messages transmitted over the sidelink between the UEs, which may include first and second random access messages transmitted over random access resources (e.g., which may be determined with assistance from the base station) and a third and/or fourth random access messages transmitted over sidelink channel resources. [0109] FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a system 800 for performing a RA procedure with three RA messages in accordance with aspects described herein. In this example, UE1 transmits a first RA message (msg0) 802 to UE2, UE2 transmits a second RA message (msg1) 804 to UE1, which can be transmitted using power ramping 806 until a third RA message (msg2) 808 is received from UE1.).
receive an RA request from a wireless device in the group of wireless devices on SL resources; and ([0096] In method 600, at Block 602, a request can be received, from a first UE, to perform a random access procedure with a second UE over a sidelink.)
transmit a Random Access Response (RAR) ([0109] third RA message (msg2)) to the wireless device in the group of wireless devices on SL resources ([0109] FIG. 8 illustrates an example of a system 800 for performing a RA procedure with three RA messages in accordance with aspects described herein. In this example, UE1 transmits a first RA message (msg0) 802 to UE2, UE2 transmits a second RA message (msg1) 804 to UE1, which can be transmitted using power ramping 806 until a third RA message (msg2) 808 is received from UE1.).
Wang and Ding are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of procedures for performing sidelink random access.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Wang with Ding to create a coordinating wireless device comprising: transmit, to the wireless devices in the group of wireless devices on SL resources, information for use by the wireless devices in the group of wireless devices to perform RA using SL resources towards the coordinating wireless device; receive a RA request from a wireless device in the group of wireless devices on SL resources; and transmit a Random Access Response (RAR) to the wireless device in the group of wireless devices on SL resources.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce the number of random access attempts.
Regarding claim 57, Wang discloses the coordinating wireless device, wherein the received information comprises information indicating a set of Temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifiers (TC-RNTls) to be assigned to wireless devices in the group of wireless devices by the coordinating wireless device during RA ([0179] the first wireless device is configured for receiving, from the network node, a random access response comprising a resource assignment and a group temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identity, group TC-RNTI, and for dividing the resources between the wireless devices associated with the transmitted random access request by transmitting, via respective D2D link, a respective resource allocation message comprising the group RNTI to the respective wireless devices associated with the random access request.).
Regarding claim 59, Wang discloses the coordinating wireless device, further configured to transmit, to the network node, information indicating that the wireless device has been assigned a TC-RNTI for use by the wireless device in an UL data transmission towards the network node on Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resources granted by the coordinating wireless device ([0085] The method 100 may further comprise, as illustrated in FIG. 1e, transmitting 175 a connection request message to the network node, the connection request comprising the group TC-RNTI and an identifier of the first wireless device in a Media Access Control, MAC, control element [0156] The D2D communication could use resource assigned by the network node if the wireless devices in the group already has an RRC connection to the network node, or choose the resource from a common resource pool that may be preconfigured for D2D communications. The resource assigned by the network refers to resource(s) allocated in the frequency domain and the time domain, e.g. Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, resource(s).).
Regarding claim 60, Wang discloses the coordinating wireless device, wherein the RAR comprises information indicating a grant for the UL data transmission towards the network node on the PUSCH resources and the TC-RNTI ([0080] The random access response comprises an uplink grant field indicating the resources to be used on the uplink by the wireless devices including the first device and one or more second devices [0159] The network node includes the resource assignment of the PUSCH channel for the group in the message 2 (RACH access response)).
Regarding claim 61, Wang discloses the coordinating wireless device, further configured to:
receive, from the wireless device on SL resources, information indicating a User Equipment Identifier (UE-ID) of the wireless device ([00086] By the connection request, see also figure 4d action 430, the first wireless device requests a connection to be set up between the first wireless device and the network node. In order for the network node to be able to identify the sender of the connection request message, the first wireless device includes both the group TC-RNTI identifying the group of which the first wireless device is part and the identifier of the first wireless device which identifies the first wireless device in the group.);
transmit, to the wireless device on SL resources, information indicating a grant for the UL data transmission towards the network node on the PUSCH resources using the UE-ID; and ([0205] the network node 900, 1000 is configured for transmitting a random access response comprising a resource assignment, a group TC-RNTI, and timing advance value, to the first wireless device for distribution via a respective D2D link to the one or more second wireless devices in the group. [0080] The random access response comprises an uplink grant field indicating the resources to be used on the uplink by the wireless devices including the first device and one or more second devices [0159] The network node includes the resource assignment of the PUSCH channel for the group in the message 2 (RACH access response))
convert the TC-RNTI assigned to the wireless device to a Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) of the wireless device in the wireless communication network ([0079] The method may further comprise, as illustrated in FIG. 1e, receiving (170), from the network node, a random access response comprising a resource assignment and a group temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identity, group TC-RNTI, and dividing (185) the resources between the wireless devices associated with the transmitted random access request by transmitting, via respective D2D link, a respective resource allocation message comprising a group C-RNTI to the respective wireless devices associated with the random access request.).
Regarding claim 62, Wang discloses the coordinating wireless device, further configured to transmit, to the network node:
information indicating that the wireless device has been provided with a grant for an UL data transmission towards the network node on PUSCH resources; and ([0085] The method 100 may further comprise, as illustrated in FIG. 1e, transmitting 175 a connection request message to the network node, the connection request comprising the group TC-RNTI and an identifier of the first wireless device in a Media Access Control, MAC, control element [0156] The D2D communication could use resource assigned by the network node if the wireless devices in the group already has an RRC connection to the network node, or choose the resource from a common resource pool that may be preconfigured for D2D communications. The resource assigned by the network refers to resource(s) allocated in the frequency domain and the time domain, e.g. Physical Uplink Shared Channel, PUSCH, resource(s).)
information indicating a mapping of the UE-ID to the C-RNTI. ([0132] the first wireless device divides the resource assignments between the wireless devices that are requesting resources. [0133] Consequently, then those wireless devices each may transmit a connection request message to the network node. The network node thus receives respective connection requests from wireless devices having requested access to the network node. The connection request may comprise the group C-RNTI and their own identifiers, see also FIG. 4d actions 430, 450 and 475.)
Regarding claim 63, Wang discloses the coordinating wireless device, wherein the RA request from the wireless device comprises a preamble specifically assigned to the wireless device in the coordinating wireless device ([0062] The first wireless device acting as a group coordinator may randomly select the preamble in the group preamble split. The network node may thus identify whether the received random access preamble is for a group or for a single wireless device. [0141], the random access request comprises a preamble indicating that it is a group of wireless devices and not a single wireless device requesting access to the network node.).
Regarding claim 64, Wang discloses the coordinating wireless device, wherein the RAR comprises information indicating:
a grant for transmitting the UE-ID to the coordinating wireless device on SL resources ([0043] The method comprises the first wireless device receiving, from the network node, the configuration that the first wireless device and one or more second wireless devices are part of the group, and that the first wireless device shall act as the coordinator for the group, wherein wireless devices in the group are capable of D2D communication. [0080] The random access response comprises an uplink grant field indicating the resources to be used on the uplink by the wireless devices including the first device and one or more second devices);
the TC-RNTI assigned to the wireless device; and ([0079] The method may further comprise, as illustrated in FIG. 1e, receiving (170), from the network node, a random access response comprising a resource assignment and a group temporary Cell Radio Network Temporary Identity, group TC-RNTI, and dividing (185) the resources between the wireless devices associated with the transmitted random access request by transmitting, via respective D2D link, a respective resource allocation message comprising a group C-RNTI to the respective wireless devices associated with the random access request.)
a timing advance of the coordinating wireless device ([0080] The random access response may comprise a MAC entity of the first device as well as the group TC-RNTI which may be used by the MAC entity during Random Access, and Timing Advance Information to be used by the first wireless device to control the amount of timing adjustment that the MAC entity has to apply, with regard to the first wireless device and the network node. [0138] the respective response message comprises respective timing advance value for the respective wireless device.).
Regarding claim 65, Wang discloses the coordinating wireless device, wherein to transmit the information for use by the wireless devices, the coordinating wireless device is further configured to transmit system information received from the network node to the wireless devices in the group of wireless devices periodically on SL resources ([0059] The random access request may use a random access preamble indicating that the random access request is a random access request for a group of wireless devices.). [0060] When the first wireless device transmits the random access request, the first wireless device selects a random access preamble out of a number of random access preambles. [0061] The preamble split may be static or semi static depending on the cell load or cell size and number of groups).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 46, 49, 56 and 59 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang et al (US20140314039A1) discloses a method of requesting a device-to-device communication in a wireless access system supportive of the device-to-device communication.
Vivek et al (GB2548374A) discloses a communication system in which a Proximity Service Relay UE allows a remote UE to connect to a base station and core network through the Relay UE.
Kim et al (US20160192420A1) discloses methods for of accessing a reception device on the basis of the probability of attempted access to the reception device.
/D LITTLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419