DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action for US Patent Application No. 18/274183 by Kazutake Taniguchi.
Claims 1-18 and 20 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-12, 15, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Shin et al. (US 2021/0132487 A1), herein referred to as Shin.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Shin teaches ([0016-0018, 0047-0048] and Figure 1 shown below) a blankmask (mask blank) 100 comprising a transparent substrate 102, a reflection film (multilayer reflective film) 104 and an absorbing film (pattern-forming thin film) 108.
Shin further teaches [0064 and 0068-0069] the absorbing film can be configured to contain tantalum (Ta), niobium (Nb) and nitrogen (N). With further regard to claim 10, Shin also teaches the absorber layer of the blankmask can be subsequently patterned after the blankmask is manufactured, thereby forming (Claim 25) a photomask (reflective mask) for extreme ultraviolet lithography applications.
Shin does not explicitly teach the limitations recited in claims 1 and 10 directed to “an X-ray diffraction pattern obtained by analyzing the thin film by Out-of-Plane measurement of X-ray diffraction satisfies the relationship of at least one of Imax1/Iavg1≤7.0 and Imax2/Iavg2≤1.0, where Imax1 is a maximum value of diffraction intensity at a diffraction angle 2θ in a range of 34 to 36 degrees, Iavg1 is an average value of diffraction intensity at a diffraction angle 2θ in a range of 32 to 34 degrees, Imax2 is a maximum value of diffraction intensity at a diffraction angle 2θ in a range of 40 to 42 degrees, and Iavg2 is an average value of diffraction intensity at a diffraction angle 2θ in a range of 38 to 40 degrees”.
However, Examiner relies on MPEP Chapter 2112.01 Section I which states “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. In the instant application, a prima facie case of anticipation has been established because Shin teaches the structural and compositional components of the claimed mask blank and reflective mask as recited in claims 1 and 10 respectively.
Examiner also notes that the step of performing an X-ray diffraction measurement step on the pattern-forming thin film in claim 1 and the thin film with the transfer pattern in claim 10 does not further limit the structure or composition of the mask blank recited in claim 1 or the reflective mask recited in claim 10.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Shin does not appear to explicitly teach the limitations recited in claims 2 and 11 directed to “a diffraction angle 2θ within a range of 30 degrees or more and 50 degrees or less in the X-ray diffraction pattern, the thin film has a maximum diffraction intensity at a diffraction angle 2θ of 38 degrees or less”.
However, Examiner relies on MPEP Chapter 2112.01 Section I which states “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. In the instant application, a prima facie case of anticipation has been established because Shin teaches the structural and compositional components of the claimed mask blank and reflective mask as recited in claims 1 and 10 respectively and therefore would also render the limitations recited in claims 2 and 11 as being anticipated.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Shin teaches [0064] the absorbing film can be configured to include tantalum (Ta), niobium (Nb) and nitrogen (N). Assuming each of the tantalum, niobium and nitrogen elements are present in equal amounts in the absorbing film (33.3 atomic percent), the ratio of niobium content to niobium and tantalum content would be less than 0.6 (33.3 percent Nb/(33.3 percent Nb + 33.3 percent tantalum) = 0.5).
Regarding claims 6 and 15, Shin teaches [0064] the absorbing film can be configured to further include boron (B).
Regarding claims 8, 9, 17 and 18, Examiner relies on MPEP Chapter 2112.01 Section I which states “Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)”. In the instant application, a prima facie case of anticipation has been established because Shin teaches the structural and compositional components of the claimed mask blank and reflective mask as recited in claims 1 and 10 respectively and therefore would also render the limitations recited in claims 8, 9, 17 and 18 as being anticipated.
Regarding claim 20, Shin teaches [0073] a hard mask film (etch mask) can be formed on the absorbing film. The hard mask film may be configured to include chromium (Cr) and at least one of nitrogen (N), oxygen (O), carbon (C) and boron (B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 7, 13, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al. (US 2021/0132487 A1), herein referred to as Shin.
Regarding claims 4 and 13, Shin teaches [0030] the absorbing film may be configured to have a content of nitrogen in the range of 1 to 20 atomic percent, which overlaps Applicant’s claimed nitrogen content range.
Regarding claims 5 and 14, Shin teaches [0064] the absorbing film can be configured to include tantalum (Ta), niobium (Nb) and nitrogen (N). Assuming only those three elements constitute the absorbing film, the total content of tantalum (Ta), niobium (Nb) and nitrogen (N) in the absorbing film would amount to 100 atomic percent, which overlaps Applicant’s claimed atomic percent range.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Shin teaches [0064] the absorbing film can be configured to include tantalum (Ta), niobium (Nb), nitrogen (N) and boron (B). Assuming only those four elements constitute the absorbing film, the total content of tantalum (Ta), niobium (Nb), nitrogen (N) and boron (B) in the absorbing film would amount to 100 atomic percent, which overlaps Applicant’s claimed atomic percent range.
The ranges taught by Shin overlap the claimed ranges in claims 4, 5, 7, 13, 14 and 16. In view of MPEP Chapter 2144.05, Section I states “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)”. Since Shin teaches ranges that overlap the claimed ranges recited in claims 4, 5, 7, 13, 14 and 16, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
/STEWART A FRASER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724