Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,3-4,6-17,19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Meylan; Arnaud (US20090207794 A1 ) in view of Wang et al (US 11700627 B2) hereinafter as Wang.
Regarding claim(s) 1, 16, Meylan discloses a method for handling release of semi-persistent scheduling SPS, resources configured for one or more user equipment’s (UEs) ) (See Fig(s). 1, 5 step 504 generates SPS release information for UEs 116, 122), in a wireless communication network (See Fig(s). 1,2, wireless network node 202 and UE 204), the method being performed by a network node, wherein the method comprises:
generating information indicating the release of one or more SPS resources (See Fig(s). 5 step 504, See ¶ 69, At 504, a resource release indicator that specifies release of one or more semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) resources previously assigned to the access terminal can be generated.),
wherein the one or more SPS resources are a subset of SPS resources associated with a single SPS identifier ID or multiple SPS IDs configured for the one or more UEs (See ¶ 52, the resource release indicator can identify whether or not SPS resource(s) are released….. (See Fig(s). 2) the resource release indicator can signify that a predetermined subset or all SPS resources allocated to access terminal 204 are released.);
and transmitting the generated information to the one or more UEs for causing the one or more UEs to release the one or more SPS resources (See Fig(s). 5, step 506, See ¶ 69-70, At 506, the DRX indicator and the resource release indicator can be transmitted to the access terminal within a single transaction. See Fig(s). 6 step 606, See ¶ 72, The resource release indicator can indicate that the one or more SPS resources are released);
determining that the one or more SPS resources within a set of SPS resources configured for the one or more UEs is to be released (See ¶ 69, At 504, a resource release indicator that specifies release of one or more semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) resources previously assigned to the access terminal can be generated.).
Meylan fails to disclose determining that the one or more SPS resources within a set of SPS resources configured for the one or more UEs is to be released, wherein determining the one or more SPS resources within the set of SPS resources configured for the one or more UEs is to be released comprises: determining whether the one or more UEs is configured with a single SPS ID, or multiple SPS IDs.
Wang discloses determining that the one or more SPS resources within a set of SPS resources configured for the one or more UEs is to be released, wherein determining the one or more SPS resources within the set of SPS resources configured for the one or more UEs is to be released comprises: determining whether the one or more UEs is configured with a single SPS ID, or multiple SPS IDs (See Fig(s). 8, See ¶ 60,83, The operations 800 may begin, at 805, by configuring (e.g., via RRC signaling) one or more groups of UEs with one or more SPS resources (e.g., common SPS resources). In some examples, the one or more SPS resources are configured with one or more associated group IDs. The node may configure (e.g., via RRC signaling) Group-SPS-RNTI for activation (or release) of SPS resources).
Specific SPS identifiers for specific UEs ensures appropriate resources are released from each UE as needed.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Wang within Meylan, so as to have an appropriate amount of resources be released from each UE as needed.
Further with regards to claim 16, Meylan discloses a mirrored method of claim 1 performed by UE of claim 16, (See Fig(s). 2, 6).
Regarding claim(s) 3, Wang discloses if the one or more UEs is configured with the single SPS ID, determining one or more SPS resources associated with the single SPS identifier (ID); and if the one or more UEs is configured with multiple SPS IDs, determining one or more SPS resources associated with the multiple SPS IDs (See Fig(s). 8, See ¶ 60,83-84, The operations 800 may begin, at 805, by configuring (e.g., via RRC signaling) one or more groups of UEs with one or more SPS resources (e.g., common SPS resources). In some examples, the one or more SPS resources are configured with one or more associated group IDs. The node may configure (e.g., via RRC signaling) Group-SPS-RNTI for activation (or release) of SPS resources (See ¶ 84 group SPS radio network temporary identifier (Group-SPS-RNTI) to activate the SPS resource for the group of UEs.). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 4,17, Meylan discloses any of the preceding claims, wherein the generated information indicating the release of the one or more SPS resources comprises one or more of: a SPS ID (See ¶ abstract, A DRX indicator that provides a command to an access terminal to transition to DRX mode and a resource release indicator that identifies one or more SPS resources (e.g., uplink, downlink, . . . )
Regarding claim(s) 6, Wang discloses wherein the generated information is transmitted to the one or more UEs (102a-102n) in one or more of: a Downlink Control Information(DCI), DCI (See ¶ abstract, The node sends a downlink control information (DCI) to activate one of the SPS resources for one of the groups of UEs and transmits data to the group of UEs using the activated SPS resource.), message and a Medium Access Control (MAC), MAC, Control Element[[,]] (MAC-CE). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 7, Meylan discloses wherein the generated information is transmitted to each UE (102a-102n) based on a UE capability information received from each UE (102a 102n), for causing each UE (102a 102n) to release the one or more SPS resources, and wherein the UE capability information being indicative of one or more of: releasing capability for release of the one or more SPS resources, processing capability for processing the received information, memory capacity for storing the received information (See ¶ 67, apparatus that enables employing indicators obtained from a base station in a wireless communication environment. The wireless communications apparatus can include means for obtaining a discontinuous reception (DRX) indicator and a resource release indicator from a base station within a single transaction.)
Regarding claim(s) 8, Wang discloses wherein the generated information is transmitted to a plurality of UEs (102a-102n) in a group for causing the plurality of UEs (102a-102n) to release the one or more SPS resources, wherein the plurality of UEs (102a-102n) in a group is identified using a group ID See ¶ 66, See Fig(s). 9 step 910, the one or more identifiers are CS-RNTIs or SPS-C-RNTIs.) , determining one or more SPS resources associated with the single SPS identifier Id; and if the one or more UEs is configured with multiple SPS IDs, determining one or more SPS resources associated with the multiple SPS IDs (See ¶ 84 group SPS radio network temporary identifier (Group-SPS-RNTI) to activate the SPS resource for the group of UEs.) Reasons for combining same as claim 3.
Regarding claim(s) 9, Wang discloses wherein a DCI message is transmitted to each UE to release the one or more SPS resources or a group-common DCI message is transmitted to the plurality of UEs to release the one or more SPS resources See ¶ abstract, The node sends a downlink control information (DCI) to activate one of the SPS resources for one of the groups of UEs and transmits data to the group of UEs using the activated SPS resource.),. Reasons for combining same as claim 3.
Regarding claim(s) 10,20 Meylan discloses wherein the one or more SPS resources within the set of SPS resources represent downlink (DL[[, DL,]] SPS resources or uplink (UL)[[, UL,]] SPS resources configured for the one or more UEs (See ¶ abstract, 13, A DRX indicator that provides a command to an access terminal to transition to DRX mode and a resource release indicator that identifies one or more SPS resources (e.g., uplink, downlink, . . . )).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Meylan discloses wherein the one or more SPS resources represent time-frequency resources supporting one or more resource configurations, and wherein the one or more resource configurations is one of a slot-based, a sub-slot based, a mini-slot based or a time symbol based resource configuration (See Fig(s). 1, See ¶ 45, indicate such release of SPS resources to the particular access terminal while concurrently sending the particular access terminal to DRX mode (e.g., causing a receiver to switch off, . . . ). SPS resources can be times and frequencies utilized for sending or receiving signals.).
Regarding claim(s) 12, Wang discloses wherein the method further comprises: receiving an acknowledgement (ACK), ACK, message or a negative acknowledgement(NACK), a NACK, message, related to the release of the one or more SPS resources from each of the one or more UEs (102a 102n); and if the NACK is received from each of the one or more UEs (102a-102n), retransmitting the DCI message for causing the one or more UEs (102a-102n) to release the one or more SPS resources (See Fig(s). 1, 7 step 712, See ¶ 57-58.., the BS 110a may identify, after a certain time period, that the BS 110a has not received an acknowledgement (ACK) or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) from the target UE 120b. …. the DCI at 706, whether the UEs 120a, 120b are requested to acknowledge the SPS resource change.). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 13, Wang discloses wherein the ACK message is received through one of hybrid automatic repeat request(HARQ), HARQ, ACK (See ¶ 57-58.., the BS 110a may identify, after a certain time period, that the BS 110a has not received an acknowledgement (ACK) or a negative acknowledgement (NACK) from the target UE 120b. …. the DCI at 706, whether the UEs 120a, 120b are requested to acknowledge the SPS resource change.),
Regarding claim(s) 14,19, Wang discloses wherein the ACK message is received through medium access control (MAC) MAC, control elements, MAC CEs over PUSCH, wherein the MAC CEs comprises a bit field indicating a release of the one or more SPS resources or a complete release of the SPS resources (See ¶ 29 A medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE) is a MAC layer communication structure that may be used for control command exchange between wireless nodes. For example, the BS 110a may transmit a MAC-CE to a UE 120a to put the UE 120a into a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode to reduce the UE's power consumption. The MAC-CE may be carried in a shared channel such as a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), ). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 15, Wang discloses wherein the method further comprises: transmitting (308) new information to the one or more UEs for re-assigning the one or more SPS resources released by the one or more UEs (See ¶ 58, the configured common SPS resource(s) may be updated (or reconfigured). In some examples, when the resource allocation for the SPS is changed, the BS 110a may indicate the change in the DCI that is used for SPS activation (or release) at 706.). Reasons for combining same as claim 3.
Claims 5,18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being unpatentable over Meylan (US20090207794 A1 ) in view of Wang et al (US 11700627 B2) hereinafter as Wang further in view of Sorrentino et al (US 20190045507 A1) hereinafter as Sorrentino. The applied reference (Sorrentino) has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Sorrentino discloses wherein the number of repetitions of the periodic SPS resources defining a period over which the SPS resources reoccur, wherein the number of repetitions for each period are associated with one or more of a start time interval and an end time interval (See Fig(s). 4, See ¶ 49, 90, may be repeated for each repetition of periodic control/data resources allocation, for each SPS configuration. The repetition may be based on a determination that the SPS configuration is active, such as shown by decision block 450. The process may be terminated, for one or more SPS configurations, by the sending of a deactivation or release message by the eNB) ,
Periodic SPS transmissions allows devices to reserve resources for a continuous, predictable data stream, reducing the overhead of individual grant requests and latency.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Sorrentino within Meylan, so as to allows devices to reserve resources for a continuous, predictable data stream, reducing the overhead of individual grant requests and latency.
Regarding claim(s) 18, Sorrentino discloses wherein the number of repetitions of the periodic SPS resources defining a period over which the SPS resources reoccur, wherein the number of repetitions for each period are associated with one or more of a start time interval and an end time interval (See Fig(s). 4, See ¶ 49, 90, may be repeated for each repetition of periodic control/data resources allocation, for each SPS configuration. The repetition may be based on a determination that the SPS configuration is active, such as shown by decision block 450. The process may be terminated, for one or more SPS configurations, by the sending of a deactivation or release message by the eNB) ,
Periodic SPS transmissions allows devices to reserve resources for a continuous, predictable data stream, reducing the overhead of individual grant requests and latency.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Sorrentino within Meylan, so as to allows devices to reserve resources for a continuous, predictable data stream, reducing the overhead of individual grant requests and latency.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,3-20 have been considered but are moot based on new grounds of rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411