DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2006-346898 A with a machine translation (submitted 27 May 2025) (hereinafter “Hiroki”) being used as the English language equivalent translation.Regarding claim 1 Hiroki teaches a foamed resin molded product or door trim lower (resin molded product) 30 comprising a general portion (main body) 32 comprising a design face and an opposite face opposite to the design face and having a cell-structured foam layer (first foamed layer) 30b formed inside the general portion (main body) 32, and a flange portion (protruding portion) 33 located at a periphery of the general portion (main body) 32, having a cell-structured foam layer (second foamed layer) 30b formed inside the flange portion (protruding portion) 33, and protruding to a thickness direction of the general portion (main body) 32 and a side opposite to the design face, wherein the flange portion (protruding portion) 33 comprises a thin portion (tip end portion) 34 disposed so that a protruding tip portion on the design face extends to a protruding direction of the flange portion (protruding portion) 33 more than a protruding tip portion on the opposite face (abstract, paragraph [0025], and Annotated Figure 3, shown below). Hiroki teaches a thickness d3 of the thin portion (tip end portion) 34 may be 1.0 mm (paragraph [0025] and Figure 3), which falls within the claimed range.
Hiroki teaches the cell-structured foam layer (first foamed layer) 30b, having a thickness A1, formed inside the general portion (main body) 32 is covered with a pair of first skin layers, having a total thickness of B1, covering both sides of the cell-structured foam layer (first foamed layer) 30b formed inside the general portion (main body) 32 (Annotated Figure 3, shown above). Hiroki also teaches the cell-structured foam layer (second foamed layer) 30b, having a thickness A2, formed inside the flange portion (protruding portion) 33 is covered with a pair of second skin layers, having a total thickness of B2, covering both sides of the cell-structured foam layer (second foamed layer) 30b (Annotated Figure 3, shown above). Hiroki teaches the foamed resin molded product is made by providing a foaming space with a predetermined thickness and inducing a foaming reaction to form a foamed resin molded product composed of a solid layer and a foamed layer into a required shape (paragraph [0018]). Hiroki does not explicitly teach: a thickness A1 of the first foamed layer is thicker than a total thickness B1 of the pair of first skin layers; a thickness A2 of the second foamed layer is thinner than a total thickness B2 of the pair of second skin layers; a ratio (A1/B1) between the thickness A1 of the first foamed layer and the total thickness B1 of the pair of first skin layers is from 1.3 to 2.3; and a ratio (A2/B2) between the thickness A2 of the second foamed layer and the total thickness B2 of the pair of second skin layers is from 0.6 to 0.9.Supporting Rationale #1: It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to determine: an appropriate thickness A1 for the cell-structured foam layer (first foamed layer) relative to the total thickness B1 of the pair of first skin layers; an appropriate thickness A2 for the cell-structured foam layer (second foamed layer) relative to the total thickness B2 of the pair of second skin layers; and the resulting ratios therebetween (A1/B1 and A2/B2) using nothing more than routine experimentation to achieve a desired balance between weight reduction and deformation resistance for each of the general portion (main body) 32 and the flange portion (protruding portion) 33 constituent parts of the foamed resin molded product. It has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art unless such a range is shown to be critical. Please see MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A).Supporting Rationale #2: Alternatively, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to determine: an appropriate thickness A1 for the cell-structured foam layer (first foamed layer) relative to the total thickness B1 of the pair of first skin layers; an appropriate thickness A2 for the cell-structured foam layer (second foamed layer) relative to the total thickness B2 of the pair of second skin layers; and the resulting ratios therebetween (A1/B1 and A2/B2), since such a modification would have involved nothing more than a mere change in the relative dimensions of the foamed resin molded product. Furthermore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that the foamed resin molded product having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the foamed resin molded product disclosed in the prior art; therefore, the claimed foamed resin molded product is not patentably distinct from the foamed resin molded product from the prior art. See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A). Regarding claim 2 In addition, Hiroki teaches the thin portion (tip end portion) 34 is formed only of a solid layer 30a (paragraph [0025]), which corresponds to an inside of the tip end portion is not foamed.
Response to Arguments
Due to their cancellation, the rejection of claims 4 and 6-8 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 3, filed 26 November 2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-3 and 5 under 35 USC §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hiroki have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made under 35 USC §103, as detailed in the updated rejection of record.
Applicant's arguments filed 26 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant’s arguments as presented in pages 4-5 are not commensurate in scope with the updated rejection of record because the examiner relies on a different rationale to reject the claims. Additionally, the dimensions taught by Hiroki, as relied upon in the previous Office action, are disclosed as being part of a particular embodiment. Therefore, the totality of Hiroki’s teachings is not considered to be limited by the dimensions disclosed in paragraph [0025].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN HANDVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783