DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10, 11, 12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yeh et al. (US 20140266280) .
Regarding claim 10, Yeh teach An electro-conductive contact pin module, (Note Fig. 5) comprising:
a support frame including connecting portions; (22, Fig. 5, par. 0040) and
electro-conductive contact pins (11, par. 0041, Fig. 4B) provided in the support frame through the connecting portions, (Note holding structure 22) wherein each of the electro-conductive contact pins comprises:
a pin body (10, Fig. 3) including first and second end portions and an intermediate portion between the first and second end portions;
an insulating coating formed on a surface of the intermediate portion of the pin body; (Note annotated Fig. 3 below) and a functional coating formed on a surface of the first end portion of the pin body.(Note annotated Fig. 3 below)
Regarding claim 12, Yeh et al. teach An electro-conductive contact pin, (Note 11, Fig. 3 below) comprising:
a pin body including first and second end portions and an intermediate portion between the first and second end portions; (Note annotated Fig. 3 below) an insulating coating formed on a surface of the intermediate portion of the pin body; (Note annotated Fig. 3 below) and a functional coating formed on a surface of the first end portion of the pin body. (Note annotated Fig. 3 below)
Regarding claim 20, Yeh et al. teach An electro-conductive contact pin, (Note 11, Fig. 3 below) comprising a pin body including first and second end portions and an intermediate portion between the first and second end portions, (Note 11, Fig. 3 below) wherein the first end portion is further provided with a functional coating on a surface thereof in addition to a material constituting the second end portion, (Note 11, Fig. 3 below) and the intermediate portion is further provided with an insulating coating on a surface thereof in addition to a material constituting the first end portion. (Note 11, Fig. 3 below)
Regarding claim 11, Yeh et al. teach wherein the functional coating is formed on at least a portion of the support frame. (Note probe 11 containing functional coating is connected to the holding structure 22 which is interpreted as being formed on a portion of the support frame.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 20140266280) in view of Campbell et al. (US 20050134298)
Yeh et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 13, Yeh et al. does not teach wherein the functional coating is continuously formed on the surfaces of the intermediate portion and the first end portion of the pin body, and is not formed on a surface of the second end portion.
Campbell et al. teach wherein the functional coating is continuously formed on the surfaces of the intermediate portion and the first end portion of the pin body, and is not formed on a surface of the second end portion. (Note annotated Fig. 10 below and par. 0038)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yeh et al. to include the teaching of wherein the functional coating is continuously formed on the surfaces of the intermediate portion and the first end portion of the pin body, and is not formed on a surface of the second end portion to reduce cost by using less material.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 20140266280) in view of Tunaboylu et al. (US 20060027747).
Yeh et a. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 14, Yeh et al. does not teach wherein the functional coating is formed only on the first end portion.
Tunaboylu et al. teach wherein the functional coating is formed only on the first end portion. (A method of processing a probe element includes (a) providing a probe element comprising a first conductive material, and (b) coating only a tip portion of the probe element with a second conductive material.) Note abstract.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yeh et al. to include the teaching of wherein the functional coating is formed only on the first end portion provide increased hardness and wear protection while minimizing cost. (Note Tunaboylu et al. par. 0017)
Regarding claim 15, Yeh et al. does not teach wherein the functional coating is made of Au.
Tunaboylu et al. teach wherein the functional coating is made of Au. (Note par. 0003)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yeh et al. to include the teaching of wherein the functional coating is made of Au to increase the hardness and decrease wear of the probe. (Note Tunaboylu et al. par. 0003)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 20140266280) in view of Eldridge et al. (US 20180299486).
Yeh et al. teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 16, Yeh et al. does not teach wherein a fine trench extending in a thickness direction of the electro-conductive contact pin is provided on a side surface of the second end portion.
Eldridge et al. teach wherein a fine trench (Note gap 132, par. 0036, Fig. 1C) extending in a thickness direction of the electro-conductive contact pin is provided on a side surface of the second end portion.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yeh et al. to include the teaching of a fine trench extending in a thickness direction of the electro-conductive contact pin is provided on a side surface of the second end portion to electrically insulate the secondary structure from the signal structure but sufficiently small to maintain a relatively small loop inductance in applications in which the signal path is utilized as a delivery path for a signal from a signal source. (Note Eldridge et al. par. 0037)
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh et al. (US 20140266280) in view of Tanioka et al. (US 20060082380).
Yeh teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 17, Yeh et al. does not teach wherein a side surface of the second end portion is different in roughness range from a side surface of the first end portion.
Tanioka et al. teach wherein a side surface of the second end portion is different in roughness range from a side surface of the first end portion. (a roughness pattern comprising fine marks is provided on the surfaces of the probe pins on the side having the electric contacts for contacting the electrodes of the semiconductor device to be inspected.) Note abstract. Examiner’s position is that one side of the probe is rough and the other side is not .
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yeh et a. to include the teaching of wherein a side surface of the second end portion is different in roughness range from a side surface of the first end portion to provide higher friction, which helps the probe maintain consistent contact with the workpiece
Regarding claim 18, Yeh et al. does not teach wherein a side surface of the second end portion is different in roughness range from a side surface of the intermediate portion.
Tanioka et al. teach wherein a side surface of the second end portion is different in roughness range from a side surface of the intermediate portion. (a roughness pattern comprising fine marks is provided on the surfaces of the probe pins on the side having the electric contacts for contacting the electrodes of the semiconductor device to be inspected.) Note abstract. Examiner’s position is that the probes has intermediate portion and that one side of the probe is rough (contact side) and the opposite side which also has an intermediate portion is not.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yeh et al. to include the teaching of a side surface of the second end portion is different in roughness range from a side surface of the intermediate portion to provide higher friction, which helps the probe maintain consistent contact with the workpiece.
Conclusion
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858