Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remark:
Visser fails to teach light deflected at a customized angle, as stated in the last limitation of claim 1.
Examiner rebuttal:
Examiner disagrees. In previous rejection, Examiner pointed to par. 29 as reciting the last limitation of claim 1. Par. 29 teaches (abbreviation is done for clarity) "...the nanostructures 130 can...focus the light..." Now, lets compare this teaching of Visser with the limitation, of claim 1, in question.
Visser teachings: It is common knowledge in the art that focusing light refers to a beam of light that is intentionally directed by changing the angle of the rays. Thus, element 130 of Visser can intentionally direct light, this intention being carried out by the fabricator i.e. the fabricator can change the angle of the rays by modifying element 130.
Claim 1 limitation: Looking at the claim 1 limitation in question, light that is deflected at a customizable angle is light that is intentionally directed by modifying the angle of the rays. This modification is carried by the fabricator customizing whatever is interposed between the rays and whatever is receiving the rays.
Based on the descriptions above, it can be concluded that an element that focuses light is indistinguishable from an element that deflects light at a customizable angle.
For at least this reason, previous rejection will be made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 19, 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Visser (20180348548).
Regarding claim 1, Visser teaches an display panel, comprising:
a central display region (fig. 4B: 406) and an angle-customized display region (fig. 4B: 402,404, 406) surrounding the central display region,
wherein the central display region and the angle-customized display region each includes a plurality of sub-pixels (par. 21 and fig. 2 & 3 teach first, second and third sub pixel 106/108/110 being in each pixel 104 and each pixel being in each light emitting structure 122/124/126), a sub-pixel includes a light emitting device (par. 21 and fig. 2 & 3 teach first, second and third sub pixel 106/108/110 being in each pixel 104 and each pixel being in each light emitting structure 122/124/126, the light emitting structure being, for example, an OLED) and a metasurface device (fig. 3: 316/318/320 + 314; please not that ultra-thin, artificially engineered materials with nanoscale structures that manipulate light and other electromagnetic waves) corresponding to the light emitting device, a metasurface device in the angle-customized display region is configured such that light emitted by a corresponding light emitting device is deflected at a customized angle corresponding to the angle-customized display region (par. 27, 29 teaches that 130 being configured to perform this action to EM waves).
Please note that multiple embodiments of prior art are used above. The embodiment seen in fig. 2 and 3 show a pixel with multiple sub pixels, while the embodiment seen in fig. 4B teaches said pixels in various arrangements. It would have been obvious to a PHOSITA at the time of filing to arrange the pixel, seen in fig. 2 and 3, in a manner seen in fig. 4B since Visser teaches that such arrangement afford varying benefits e.g. plurality of nanostructures 412 disposed on the first nanolens 410 are adapted to reduce or eliminate chromatic aberrations and to compensate for an optical path length of red light at an image plane. The second plurality of nanostructures 416 disposed on the second nanolens 414 are adapted to reduce or eliminate chromatic aberrations and to compensate for an optical path length of blue light at the image plane. The third plurality of nanostructures 420 disposed on the third nanolens 418 are adapted to reduce or eliminate chromatic aberrations and compensate for an optical path length of green light at the image plane. Thus, it is possible to form a focused image at the image plane with light of varying wavelengths.
Regarding claim 2, Visser teaches an display panel according to claim 1, wherein, the metasurface device includes a plurality of metasurface units arranged regularly, at least one of the plurality of metasurface units includes a base substrate and a post body disposed on the base substrate, and a refractive index of the base substrate is different from a refractive index of the post body (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Visser teaches an display panel according to claim 2, wherein in the central display region, a pixel opening region of the sub-pixel has a first centerline extending along a first direction or a second centerline extending along a second direction, a plurality of metasurface units of the metasurface device are symmetrically disposed with respect to at least one of a geometric center of the sub-pixel, the first centerline, and the second centerline, the second direction intersects with the first direction, and an intersection point of the first centerline and the second centerline is the geometric center of the sub-pixel (please see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Visser teaches an display panel according to claim 2, wherein pixel opening regions of the sub-pixels in the central display region and the angle-customized display region each include a first region, the first region includes a plurality of sub-regions, a diameter of a metasurface unit in a sub-region farther from a geometric center of the sub-pixel in the plurality of sub-regions is smaller, or a diameter of a metasurface unit in a sub-region farther from a geometric center of the first region in the plurality of sub-regions is smaller (please see figure 3 which shows varying sixed of the nano structures).
Regarding claim 19, Visser teaches an display panel according to claim 1, wherein in a direction perpendicular to a plane of the display panel, the display panel includes a base substrate, a light emitting structure layer located on a side of the base substrate, and a metasurface structure layer disposed on a side of the light emitting structure layer away from the base substrate, the light emitting structure layer includes a plurality of light emitting devices, and the metasurface structure layer includes a plurality of metasurface devices (please see fig. 3 which shows this structure).
Regarding claim 21, Visser teaches an near-eye display apparatus, comprising: a display panel according claim 1 and a light modulation device located on a light exit side of the display panel, wherein a metasurface device in an angle-customized display region of the display panel is configured such that light emitted by a corresponding light emitting device is deflected at a customized angle corresponding to the angle-customized display region and incident to the light modulation device (please see rejection for claim 1 above, as well as par. 4 and 5).
Regarding claim 22, Visser teaches an near-eye display apparatus according to claim 21, wherein the light modulation device comprises a lens (par. 42 and 43).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 (please note this claims dependencies) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 (please note this claims dependencies) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 (please note this claims dependencies) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 (please note this claims dependencies) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 (please note this claims dependencies) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 (please note this claims dependencies) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 (please note this claims dependencies) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 14 (please note this claims dependencies) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 (please note this claims dependencies) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 (please note this claims dependencies) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 17 (please note this claims dependencies) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 18 (please note this claims dependencies) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 (please note this claims dependencies) objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818