DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
This Office Action is in response to application and preliminary amendment filed on 7/27/2023, where claims 1 and 3-7 are amended; claims 8-13 are added; and claims 1-13 are currently pending.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 10, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claims 4, 10, and 13, the primary reason that the claimed invention is allowable over the WIPO document 2022024317 (Ikegaya), the Non-Patent Literature “Monitoring Method for Improving Observability in Autonomous Management Loop” (Ikegaya), the US Patent No. 12,014,179 (Rochette), the US Patent Application Pub. No. 20210266238 (Tanji), the US Patent No. 9,002,691 (Richards), and the US Patent Application Pub. No. 20110107392 (Meijer), is because neither alone nor in combination, the cited prior art teach extracting observability data of a type with high priority and correlate other types of observability data with the observability data type with high priority in the context of maintenance system comprising plurality of autonomously operated operating components. As such, the cited prior art do not teach the specific combination of limitations as currently presented.
Claim Objection
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1 has been amended to recite “one or more processors configured to:…impact an item common to different types of observability data…”. The word “impact” is out of place in the context of functionality performed by a processor. The previous iteration of the instant claim recites “a data transfer unit which imparts…” The word “impart”, seems to be more appropriate given the context of the claim limitations. Further, claim 6, which recites substantially similar limitations as the instant claim, also recites the word “imparting”, thus it appears to be a typographical error when amending the claim language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikegaya et al., (WO 2022024317 A1) (hereinafter Ikegaya).
Referring to claim 1, Ikegaya teaches a maintenance system comprising a plurality of operating components which autonomously operate by transmitting and receiving messages (Pg. 3 lines 33-37, “The maintenance system shown in the figure includes a plurality of operation parts 10 and a data processing device 20. The operation component 10 is a device or process that operates autonomously by transmitting and receiving messages.”), and an information processing device (Pg. 5 lines 20-26, data processing device 20), wherein each operating component includes one or more processors configured to:
acquire observability data for grasping a state of the operating component (Pg. 4 line 13, “acquires observability data for grasping the state of the operation component 10”); and
impact an item common to different types of observability data (Pg. 5 lines 69-78, “1.1. For each operational component 10, the first set of logging and tracing of common services and operations is correlated. 2.For each operational component 10, the tracing of common services and operations is correlated with the second set of Metrics. 3.Correlate first and second sets of common services and operations, or first and second sets, between operational components.”) and send the data (Pg. 4 lines 13-15, “sends the acquired observability data”), and the information processing device includes one or more processors configured to:
receive and store the observability data (Pg. 4 lines 1-3, “When the type of received data is observable data, the data transfer unit 16 transmits and stores the observable data in the storage unit 21 of the data processing device 20.”);
correlate different types of observability data on the basis of a common item included in the observability data (Pg. 5 line 69-pg. 6 line 4, “1.1. For each operational component 10, the first set of logging and tracing of common services and operations is correlated. 2.For each operational component 10, the tracing of common services and operations is correlated with the second set of Metrics. 3.Correlate first and second sets of common services and operations, or first and second sets, between operational components. By correlating the observable data in this way, the user (operator, etc.) of the data processing device 20 can perform what kind of operation at any time for the automatic processing of failure detection and service recovery by the maintenance system”); and
display the correlated observability data (Pg. 6 line 8, “The display unit 24 displays the observable data correlated by the correlation unit 23”).
Referring to claim 2, Ikegaya further teaches the maintenance system according to claim 1, wherein the observability data is a log that indicates an operation situation of the operating component (Pg. 4 lines 15-21, “Observable data includes at least one of Logging, Metrics, and Tracing, which indicates coordination between operational components. Logging is an operation log of its own operation component 10. Logging includes, for example, an operation history such as when and what kind of message was sent or received, when and what kind of action was executed, when and what kind of error was output, and so on.”), a metric that indicates a state of the operating component (Pg. 4 lines 24-26, “Metrics include, for example, information such as CPU usage, memory usage, and traffic volume.”), and tracing which indicates cooperation between the operating components (Pg. 4 line 29, “Tracing is information that indicates cooperation between operational parts.”)
Referring to claim 3, Ikegaya further teaches the maintenance system according to claim 2, wherein the observability data includes information indicating the operating component (Pg. 4 lines 40-42, “the observability data of this embodiment includes information on the service to be processed and information on the operation performed by its own operation component 10.”), and the log includes information on cooperation between the operating components included in the tracing or the metrics (Pg. 4 lines 29-38, “In the present embodiment, the acquisition unit 17 cooperates with the message transmission / reception unit 11, and uses the messages transmitted / received by the message transmission / reception unit 11 to use information indicating what kind of operation cooperation has occurred between the operating components as tracing. get. The source and destination operation components 10 are set in the messages sent and received between the operation components. Therefore, the acquisition unit 17 can acquire the operation linkage between the operation parts (for example, the cooperation in the order of the operation component A .fwdarw. the operation component B .fwdarw. the operation component C).” Examiner notes, the specification does not provide any disclosure with regards to this specific limitation. The closest disclosure is found in para. [0039] of the specification. As such, it has been interpreted based on the disclosure in para. [0039].)
Referring to claim 5, Ikegaya teaches an information processing device which processes observability data for understanding a state of a plurality of operating components sent by each of the plurality of operating components that operate autonomously by transmitting and receiving a message (Pg. 7 lines 30-34, “The maintenance system of the present embodiment described above includes a plurality of operation components 10 that operate autonomously by transmitting and receiving messages, and a data processing device20, and each operation component 10 grasps the state of the operation component 10.”), the information processing device (Pg. 5 lines 20-26, data processing device 20) comprising one or more processors configured to:
receive and store the observability data (Pg. 4 lines 1-3, “When the type of received data is observable data, the data transfer unit 16 transmits and stores the observable data in the storage unit 21 of the data processing device 20.”);
correlate different types of observability data on the basis of a common item included in the observability data (Pg. 5 line 69-pg. 6 line 4, “1.1. For each operational component 10, the first set of logging and tracing of common services and operations is correlated. 2.For each operational component 10, the tracing of common services and operations is correlated with the second set of Metrics. 3.Correlate first and second sets of common services and operations, or first and second sets, between operational components. By correlating the observable data in this way, the user (operator, etc.) of the data processing device 20 can perform what kind of operation at any time for the automatic processing of failure detection and service recovery by the maintenance system”); and
display the correlated observability data (Pg. 6 line 8, “The display unit 24 displays the observable data correlated by the correlation unit 23”).
Referring to claim 7, Ikegaya further teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing one or more instructions causing a computer to function as each part of the information processing device according to claim 5 (Pg. 7 lines 57-58, “In this computer system, each function of each device is realized by executing a predetermined program loaded on the memory 902”).
Referring to claim 8, Ikegaya further teaches the information processing device according to claim 5, wherein the observability data is a log that indicates an operation situation of the operating component (Pg. 4 lines 15-21, “Observable data includes at least one of Logging, Metrics, and Tracing, which indicates coordination between operational components. Logging is an operation log of its own operation component 10. Logging includes, for example, an operation history such as when and what kind of message was sent or received, when and what kind of action was executed, when and what kind of error was output, and so on.”), a metric that indicates a state of the operating component (Pg. 4 lines 24-26, “Metrics include, for example, information such as CPU usage, memory usage, and traffic volume.”), and tracing which indicates cooperation between the operating components (Pg. 4 line 29, “Tracing is information that indicates cooperation between operational parts.”)
Referring to claim 9, Ikegaya further teaches the information processing device according to claim 8, wherein the observability data includes information indicating the operating component (Pg. 4 lines 40-42, “the observability data of this embodiment includes information on the service to be processed and information on the operation performed by its own operation component 10.”), and the log includes information on cooperation between the operating components included in the tracing or the metrics (Pg. 4 lines 29-38, “In the present embodiment, the acquisition unit 17 cooperates with the message transmission / reception unit 11, and uses the messages transmitted / received by the message transmission / reception unit 11 to use information indicating what kind of operation cooperation has occurred between the operating components as tracing. get. The source and destination operation components 10 are set in the messages sent and received between the operation components. Therefore, the acquisition unit 17 can acquire the operation linkage between the operation parts (for example, the cooperation in the order of the operation component A .fwdarw. the operation component B .fwdarw. the operation component C).” Examiner notes, the specification does not provide any disclosure with regards to this specific limitation. The closest disclosure is found in para. [0039] of the specification. As such, it has been interpreted based on the disclosure in para. [0039].)
Regarding claims 6, 11, and 12, these claims recite the method steps performed by the maintenance system of claims 1-3 respectively; therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 12014179 (Rochette) – discloses an observability pipeline system.
US 20210266238 (Tanji) – discloses operation apparatus and method for maintenance of services provided on a network.
US 9002691 (Richards) – discloses systems and methods for analyzing equipment failures and maintenance schedules.
/MONG-SHUNE CHUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118