DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because of the following reason:
Applicant's first argument: Applicant argues that Gorokhov determines whether an incremental power adjustment is needed and sends an up-or-down power command. Applicant maintains that this does not teach determining that the UE should change to another power control loop when the first adjustment exceeds a predefined threshold (see remarks and pages 11-12).
Examiner respectfully disagrees: Gorokhov supports the required determination of a first adjustment. Paragraph [0080] describes evaluating received SRS transmissions and determining incremental changes in transmission power. Paragraph [0098] and Fig. 9, steps 902-906, describe obtaining information from cooperating cells, identifying a power adjustment, and sending a command specifying that adjustment to the UE. Examiner respectfully submits that claim only requires a determined increment is an adjustment by which the UE changes its previous transmission power, however, claim 1 does not require a particular calculation or formula for determining that adjustment. Claim 1 states what must be determined if the adjustment exceeds the threshold (emphasis added). It does not expressly state that the adjustment must exceed the threshold in every performance of the method. Therefore, Under the conditional term (i.e., if) applied here, the claim therefore includes a performance in which the adjustment stays below the threshold, provided the remaining requirements in the claims are met. Those remaining requirements, including identification of the other parameter set, are addressed below.
Applicant's second argument: Applicant argues that Gorokhov selects a group of offset values according to cooperating-set size. Applicant maintains that this selection differs from changing power control loops based on the first adjustment exceeding a threshold (see remarks and page 12).
Examiner respectfully disagrees: Applicant identifies one disclosed selection mechanism, but Gorokhov provides additional choices. Paragraph [0059] permits possible offset values to be independent of cooperating-set size. Paragraph [0080] permits an optimal offset to be selected according to channel characteristics or cell loading. Accordingly, Examiner respectfully submits that Gorokhov's power configuration is not confined to selecting a group by counting cooperating cells. It can respond to information about the radio conditions. This matters because the serving node already has a mechanism for using information from cooperating cells to determine an appropriate power configuration. These passages support that function without requiring the groups of offsets themselves to be treated as different power control loops. The proposed combination adds Miao's beam-specific process selection to this existing feedback and configuration mechanism.
Applicant's third argument: Applicant argues that Miao's beam-specific parameter sets and signaling of a power control process index do not establish the claimed change to another parameter set corresponding to another power control loop (see remarks and page 12).
Examiner respectfully disagrees: Miao explains both the association between a process and its parameters and how the network communicates the selected process. Paragraphs [0036] and [0040] associate power control processes with beam-specific parameter sets. Paragraphs [0050]-[0051] and [0060] describe signaling a process index and calculating transmission power using its associated closed-loop process. The index therefore gives the UE a way to identify the applicable configured set without receiving every parameter again. In the proposed combination, when the network selects a process different from the process used for the initial transmission, the signaled index identifies the other set. That selection is the proposed application of Miao's mechanism to Gorokhov. Further, paragraph [0042] describes beam-dependent required uplink power, while paragraph [0053], Equation (2) and its following explanation, describes beam-specific maximum transmission power. These are different power characteristics, and the selected alternative satisfy the power-level relationship actually recited in claim 1.
Applicant's fourth argument: Applicant argues that Miao compares received power with a threshold to determine whether transmission power should increase, decrease, or remain unchanged. Applicant maintains that this differs from comparing the first adjustment with a threshold and using that comparison to determine a change of power control loops (see remarks and page 12).
Examiner respectfully disagrees: Applicant's argument does not address the full wording of claim 1. Miao's paragraphs [0070] and [0076] describe using received-power information to determine a power adjustment. The proposed rejection does not depend on treating Miao's received-power threshold as the same threshold recited in claim 1. Instead, the claimed language suggest which steps are required. Claim 1 requires the node to determine that the UE should change power control loops if the first adjustment exceeds the threshold. It does not require the adjustment to exceed that threshold every time the method is used. Under this reading, when the adjustment is at or below the threshold, that conditional determination is not required. The claim also does not state that another parameter set may be selected only if the threshold is exceeded. Another set may therefore be selected for a different reason, such as using a beam that requires less uplink power, as described in Miao's paragraph [0042]. The other claim requirements still apply, including the other parameter set, its corresponding loop and beam, the claimed power-level relationship, and the second message identifying that set. Those requirements must be considered using Gorokhov's power-adjustment and signaling teachings together with Miao's beam-associated parameter sets and process-index signaling. Applicant's argument on the missing threshold-triggered loop change therefore does not, by itself, distinguish the claimed method from the proposed combination.
Applicant's fifth argument: Applicant argues that combining Gorokbov with Miao would still fail to provide the claimed relationship between the determined first adjustment, the predefined threshold, and the determination to change power control loops. Applicant also maintains that beam selection based on power control procedures does not supply that relationship (see remarks and page 13).
Examiner respectfully disagrees: The proposed combination connects the adjustment and selection functions. Gorokhov supplies feedback from cooperating cells, determination of an adjustment, and signaling to the UE. Miao supplies the selection and identification of the beam-specific process used for subsequent transmissions. Miao's paragraph [0078] expressly connects beam determination with power control procedures. Applying these functions together, the serving node would use the available power and channel information to determine the adjustment and select an appropriate beam-specific process. If another beam is selected, the node would signal that beam's process index, allowing the UE to use its associated parameter set for later transmissions. Under the conditional term in the claim, the relevant performance can use selection for another reason, provided that the alternative-set and different-power-level relationships are satisfied.
Applicant's sixth argument: Applicant argues that the stated reason for combining the references - efficient beam-specific power control - does not explain why a first adjustment exceeding a threshold would cause the UE to change power control loops (see remarks and page 13).
Examiner respectfully disagrees: The reason for adding Miao's selection mechanism could have been stated more clearly in the previous office action. Miao’s paragraph [0042] describes selecting a beam that reduces the required uplink power and UE power consumption. Applying that selection to Gorokhov would allow its feedback-based control to use parameters suited to the chosen beam. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have a reason to make that modification: the network could respond to the measured conditions while using a more favorable beam and its associated control process. The process index provides the way to communicate that choice. Under the conditional term used in the claim, this reasoning address a performance in which the first adjustment does not exceed the threshold and the alternative set is selected for its power-control benefit. It also explains incorporating the selection and signaling functions without treating the two different threshold comparisons as equivalent.
Accordingly, Applicant's arguments to above-threshold loop-switching sequence does not, by itself, address the full scope of method claim 1 under this condition. The required first adjustment and the separately recited alternative-set, beam, and message relationships must also be considered, under broadest reasonable interpretation.
Therefore, contrary to Applicant’s arguments, the combination of
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 10, 12, 13, 15, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorokhov et al. (US 20110098054, hereinafter “Gorokhov”), and further in view of Miao (US 20210204229, hereinafter “Miao”).
Regarding claim 1, Gorokhov discloses,
A computer implemented method (Fig. 2 and FIG. 3 illustrates of an example system that facilitates configuration and power management of sounding reference signals) performed by a first node (serving base station 210) in a communications network (system 200 in Fig. 2 and system 300 in Fig. 3) for setting a power control configuration parameter with which a user equipment, UE (Serving base station 210 can include a power control module 312 that generates power control configuration parameters and/or power control commands which can be signaled to UE 230 to establish transmit power of the SRS, [0072]), should send further transmissions to a second node (neighbor base station 220) in the communications network, the method comprising:
obtaining the power control configuration parameter with which the UE should send the further transmissions to be received by the second node (Serving base station 210 can include a power control module 312 that generates power control configuration parameters and/or power control commands which can be signaled to UE 230 to establish transmit power of the SRS, [0072]), the power control configuration parameter being based on an estimated received power of an initial transmission sent from the UE and received by the second node, as measured at the second node (UE 230 can transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to serving base station 210 and/or neighbor base station 220. The sounding reference signal enables estimation of an uplink channel to facilitate uplink power control, uplink link adaptation, time tracking, adaptive uplink antenna switching, and/or downlink link adaption and scheduling through channel reciprocity, [0062]); and
sending a second message to the UE indicating the obtained power control configuration parameter (UE 230 can receive downlink transmissions on separate downlinks associated with serving base station 210 and neighbor base station 220. Accordingly, UE 230 can obtain configuration information and power control information independently from both stations. In another example, UE 230 can receive configuration information and power control information explicitly from a serving cell (e.g., serving base station 210), while similar information is implicitly received from neighbor cells (e.g., neighbor base station 220), [0074]-[0076]),
wherein the obtaining a power control configuration parameter comprises: determining a first adjustment by which the UE should change the transmission power compared to a power used by the UE to send the initial transmission; and if the first adjustment is larger than a predefined threshold, determining that the UE should change to another set of power control parameters corresponding to another power control loop, in order to change the transmission power for the future transmissions; wherein the power control configuration parameter in the second message indicates the other set of power control parameters (power control module 312 can monitor and evaluate received SRS transmissions to identify if closed-loop power adjustments are required. Such closed-loop power adjustments can be power commands (e.g., up or down) that increase or decrease transmit power by an increment. Power control module 312 can generate power control commands based in part on cell information received from neighbor base station 220 by cell information evaluation module 316. For example, neighbor base station 220 can provide channel characteristics, loading information, interference information and/or preferred power configurations to power control module 312, [0077]-[0081]).
However, Gorokhov does not explicitly disclose, wherein the other power control loop corresponds to a beam having a different power level than a beam associated with the transmission of the initial transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, Miao discloses, wherein the other power control loop corresponds to a beam having a different power level than a beam associated with the transmission of the initial transmission (Each power control process may be associated with a power control parameter set that includes, for example, a path loss scaling factor, a command to perform a closed-loop PC process, a path loss change variable for triggering PHR, etc. Moreover, each PC process may also be configured with a DL reference signal or a BPL that includes a DL reference signal and an uplink sounding reference signal (“SRS”). As a result, each PC process may be DL-beam-specific or BPL-specific, [0036]-[0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gorokhov by specifically providing wherein the other power control loop corresponds to a beam having a different power level than a beam associated with the transmission of the initial transmission, as taught by Miao for the purpose of providing a technique to realize efficient beam-specific power control to cope with different situations where different types of beam-specific signals can be associated with PC processes [0023].
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Gorokhov discloses,
determining a second adjustment by which the UE should change the transmission power compared to the power level of the other power control loop, and wherein the power control configuration parameter in the second message further indicates the second adjustment (power control module 312 can monitor and evaluate received SRS transmissions to identify if closed-loop power adjustments are required. Such closed-loop power adjustments can be power commands (e.g., up or down) that increase or decrease transmit power by an increment. Power control module 312 can generate power control commands based in part on cell information received from neighbor base station 220 by cell information evaluation module 316. For example, neighbor base station 220 can provide channel characteristics, loading information, interference information and/or preferred power configurations to power control module 312, [0077]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Gorokhov discloses,
wherein, preceding the obtaining the power control configuration parameter, the method further comprises sending a configuration message to the UE to cause the UE to send the initial transmission (In addition to configuring power control and/or conveying explicit power commands, base station 112 can further configure additional parameters that influence transmission of SRS 132 by UE 130 in a single cell configuration. The additional parameters can include a plurality of cell-specific and/or UE-specific settings. In one example, base station 112 establishes a cell-specific timing parameter, which indicates to UE 130, as well as other UEs in cell 110, a periodicity of sounding reference signal transmissions, as well as a subframe offset that specifies a subframe within a radio frame that should contain the sounding reference signal transmission, [0047]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), further Gorokhov discloses,
wherein the second message comprises a Transmit Power Control, TPC, command (UE 230 can receive downlink transmissions on separate downlinks associated with serving base station 210 and neighbor base station 220. Accordingly, UE 230 can obtain configuration information and power control information independently from both stations. In another example, UE 230 can receive configuration information and power control information explicitly from a serving cell (e.g., serving base station 210), while similar information is implicitly received from neighbor cells (e.g., neighbor base station 220), [0074]-[0076]).
Regarding claim 15, Gorokhov discloses,
A computer implemented method (Fig. 2 and FIG. 3 illustrates of an example system that facilitates configuration and power management of sounding reference signals) performed by a second node (neighbor base station 220) in a communications network (system 200 in Fig. 2 and system 300 in Fig. 3) for setting a power control configuration parameter with which a user equipment, UE, should send further transmissions that are to be received by the second node (Serving base station 210 can include a power control module 312 that generates power control configuration parameters and/or power control commands which can be signaled to UE 230 to establish transmit power of the SRS, [0072]), the method comprising:
determining an estimated received power of an initial transmission sent by the UE and received by the second node (UE 230 can transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to serving base station 210 and/or neighbor base station 220. The sounding reference signal enables estimation of an uplink channel to facilitate uplink power control, uplink link adaptation, time tracking, adaptive uplink antenna switching, and/or downlink link adaption and scheduling through channel reciprocity, [0062]); and
sending a first message to a first node, to cause the first node to send a second message to the UE indicating a power control configuration parameter with which the UE should send the further transmissions (UE 230 can receive downlink transmissions on separate downlinks associated with serving base station 210 and neighbor base station 220. Accordingly, UE 230 can obtain configuration information and power control information independently from both stations. In another example, UE 230 can receive configuration information and power control information explicitly from a serving cell (e.g., serving base station 210), while similar information is implicitly received from neighbor cells (e.g., neighbor base station 220), For instance, serving base station 210 can explicitly signal configuration information and power control commands to UE 230, wherein the configuration information and power control commands are generated in part on data provided by neighbor base station 220 to serving base station 210 over the backhaul, [0074]-[0076]), wherein the power control configuration parameter is determined based on the estimated received power (UE 230 can transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to serving base station 210 and/or neighbor base station 220. The sounding reference signal enables estimation of an uplink channel to facilitate uplink power control, uplink link adaptation, time tracking, adaptive uplink antenna switching, and/or downlink link adaption and scheduling through channel reciprocity, [0062]).
wherein the determination of the power control configuration parameter comprises: determining a first adjustment by which the UE should change the transmission power compared to a power used by the UE to send the initial transmission; andif the first adjustment is larger than a predefined threshold, determining that the UE should change to another set of power control parameters corresponding to another power control loop, in order to change the transmission power for the future transmissions, wherein the second message indicates the other set of power control parameters (power control module 312 can monitor and evaluate received SRS transmissions to identify if closed-loop power adjustments are required. Such closed-loop power adjustments can be power commands (e.g., up or down) that increase or decrease transmit power by an increment. Power control module 312 can generate power control commands based in part on cell information received from neighbor base station 220 by cell information evaluation module 316. For example, neighbor base station 220 can provide channel characteristics, loading information, interference information and/or preferred power configurations to power control module 312, [0077]-[0081]).
However, Gorokhov does not explicitly disclose, wherein the other power control loop corresponds to a beam having a different power level than a beam associated with the transmission of the initial transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, Miao discloses, wherein the other power control loop corresponds to a beam having a different power level than a beam associated with the transmission of the initial transmission (Each power control process may be associated with a power control parameter set that includes, for example, a path loss scaling factor, a command to perform a closed-loop PC process, a path loss change variable for triggering PHR, etc. Moreover, each PC process may also be configured with a DL reference signal or a BPL that includes a DL reference signal and an uplink sounding reference signal (“SRS”). As a result, each PC process may be DL-beam-specific or BPL-specific, [0036]-[0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gorokhov by specifically providing wherein the other power control loop corresponds to a beam having a different power level than a beam associated with the transmission of the initial transmission, as taught by Miao for the purpose of providing a technique to realize efficient beam-specific power control to cope with different situations where different types of beam-specific signals can be associated with PC processes [0023].
Regarding claim 19, Gorokhov discloses,
A computer implemented method (Fig. 2 and FIG. 3 illustrates of an example system that facilitates configuration and power management of sounding reference signals) performed by a user equipment, UE (UE 230), in a communications network for setting a power control configuration parameter with which the UE should send further transmissions to be received by a second node in the communications network (Serving base station 210 can include a power control module 312 that generates power control configuration parameters and/or power control commands which can be signaled to UE 230 to establish transmit power of the SRS, [0072]), the method comprising:
sending an initial transmission to be received by the second node, to enable the second node to estimate the received power of the initial transmission (UE 230 can transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to serving base station 210 and/or neighbor base station 220. The sounding reference signal enables estimation of an uplink channel to facilitate uplink power control, uplink link adaptation, time tracking, adaptive uplink antenna switching, and/or downlink link adaption and scheduling through channel reciprocity, [0062]); and
receiving a second message from a first node, indicating a determined power control configuration parameter with which the UE should send further transmissions to be received by the second node, based on the estimated received power of the initial transmission (UE 230 can receive downlink transmissions on separate downlinks associated with serving base station 210 and neighbor base station 220. Accordingly, UE 230 can obtain configuration information and power control information independently from both stations. In another example, UE 230 can receive configuration information and power control information explicitly from a serving cell (e.g., serving base station 210), while similar information is implicitly received from neighbor cells (e.g., neighbor base station 220), [0074]-[0076]).
wherein the determination of the power control configuration parameter comprises: determining a first adjustment by which the UE should change the transmission power compared to a power used by the UE to send the initial transmission; and if the first adjustment is larger than a predefined threshold, determining that the UE should change to another set of power control parameters corresponding to another power control loop, in order to change the transmission power for the future transmissions, wherein the second message indicates the other set of power control parameters (power control module 312 can monitor and evaluate received SRS transmissions to identify if closed-loop power adjustments are required. Such closed-loop power adjustments can be power commands (e.g., up or down) that increase or decrease transmit power by an increment. Power control module 312 can generate power control commands based in part on cell information received from neighbor base station 220 by cell information evaluation module 316. For example, neighbor base station 220 can provide channel characteristics, loading information, interference information and/or preferred power configurations to power control module 312, [0077]-[0081]).
However, Gorokhov does not explicitly disclose, wherein the other power control loop corresponds to a beam having a different power level than a beam associated with the transmission of the initial transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, Miao discloses, wherein the other power control loop corresponds to a beam having a different power level than a beam associated with the transmission of the initial transmission (Each power control process may be associated with a power control parameter set that includes, for example, a path loss scaling factor, a command to perform a closed-loop PC process, a path loss change variable for triggering PHR, etc. Moreover, each PC process may also be configured with a DL reference signal or a BPL that includes a DL reference signal and an uplink sounding reference signal (“SRS”). As a result, each PC process may be DL-beam-specific or BPL-specific, [0036]-[0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gorokhov by specifically providing wherein the other power control loop corresponds to a beam having a different power level than a beam associated with the transmission of the initial transmission, as taught by Miao for the purpose of providing a technique to realize efficient beam-specific power control to cope with different situations where different types of beam-specific signals can be associated with PC processes [0023].
Regarding claim 22, Gorokhov discloses,
a first node (serving base station 210) in a communications network (system 200 in Fig. 2 and system 300 in Fig. 3) for setting a power control configuration parameter with which a user equipment, UE (Serving base station 210 can include a power control module 312 that generates power control configuration parameters and/or power control commands which can be signaled to UE 230 to establish transmit power of the SRS, [0072]), should send further transmissions to a second node (neighbor base station 220) in the communications network, the first node comprising:
a memory comprising instruction data representing a set of instructions; and a processor configured to communicate with the memory and to execute the set of instructions (As further illustrated in system 200, serving base station 210 can include a processor 216 and/or a memory 218, which can be utilized to implement some or all the functionality of RRC module 212, SRS evaluation module 214, and/or other functionality of serving base station 210, Fig. 2 and [0070]), wherein the set of instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the processor to:
obtain the power control configuration parameter with which the UE should send the further transmissions to be received by the second node (Serving base station 210 can include a power control module 312 that generates power control configuration parameters and/or power control commands which can be signaled to UE 230 to establish transmit power of the SRS, [0072]), the power control configuration parameter being based on an estimated received power of an initial transmission sent from the UE and received by the second node, as measured at the second node (UE 230 can transmit a sounding reference signal (SRS) to serving base station 210 and/or neighbor base station 220. The sounding reference signal enables estimation of an uplink channel to facilitate uplink power control, uplink link adaptation, time tracking, adaptive uplink antenna switching, and/or downlink link adaption and scheduling through channel reciprocity, [0062]); and
send a second message to the UE indicating the obtained power control configuration parameter (UE 230 can receive downlink transmissions on separate downlinks associated with serving base station 210 and neighbor base station 220. Accordingly, UE 230 can obtain configuration information and power control information independently from both stations. In another example, UE 230 can receive configuration information and power control information explicitly from a serving cell (e.g., serving base station 210), while similar information is implicitly received from neighbor cells (e.g., neighbor base station 220), [0074]-[0076]).
wherein the obtaining a power control configuration parameter comprises: determining a first adjustment by which the UE should change the transmission power compared to a power used by the UE to send the initial transmission; and if the first adjustment is larger than a predefined threshold, determining that the UE should change to another set of power control parameters corresponding to another power control loop, in order to change the transmission power for the future transmissions; wherein the power control configuration parameter in the second message indicates the other set of power control parameters (power control module 312 can monitor and evaluate received SRS transmissions to identify if closed-loop power adjustments are required. Such closed-loop power adjustments can be power commands (e.g., up or down) that increase or decrease transmit power by an increment. Power control module 312 can generate power control commands based in part on cell information received from neighbor base station 220 by cell information evaluation module 316. For example, neighbor base station 220 can provide channel characteristics, loading information, interference information and/or preferred power configurations to power control module 312, [0077]-[0081]).
However, Gorokhov does not explicitly disclose, wherein the other power control loop corresponds to a beam having a different power level than a beam associated with the transmission of the initial transmission.
In the same field of endeavor, Miao discloses, wherein the other power control loop corresponds to a beam having a different power level than a beam associated with the transmission of the initial transmission (Each power control process may be associated with a power control parameter set that includes, for example, a path loss scaling factor, a command to perform a closed-loop PC process, a path loss change variable for triggering PHR, etc. Moreover, each PC process may also be configured with a DL reference signal or a BPL that includes a DL reference signal and an uplink sounding reference signal (“SRS”). As a result, each PC process may be DL-beam-specific or BPL-specific, [0036]-[0041]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gorokhov by specifically providing wherein the other power control loop corresponds to a beam having a different power level than a beam associated with the transmission of the initial transmission, as taught by Miao for the purpose of providing a technique to realize efficient beam-specific power control to cope with different situations where different types of beam-specific signals can be associated with PC processes [0023].
Claims 2-8, 11, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorokhov, in view of Miao and further in view of Speight et al. (US 8948078, hereinafter “Speight”).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Gorokhov and Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the second node is configured to receive uplink transmissions from the UE, but is not configured to transmit in the downlink to the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Speight disclose, wherein the second node is configured to receive uplink transmissions from the UE, but is not configured to transmit in the downlink to the UE (relay device 212 is configured to receive a wireless communication signal 220 from UE 225 and selectively relay this wireless communication signal 216 to eNodeB 210. In some instances, relay device 212 may receive wireless communication signals 218 from eNodeB 210. In some example embodiments, relay devices 212 may modify a received wireless communication signal 220 before relaying 216 to eNodeB 210, Col. 5; lines 54-Col. 6; lines 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gorokhov and Miao by specifically providing wherein the second node is configured to receive uplink transmissions from the UE, but is not configured to transmit in the downlink to the UE, as taught by Speight for the purpose of providing a terminal device and a base station supporting an uplink-only relaying system to be able to better control communications between the terminal device, such as an MTC device, and the base station, such as an eNodeB (Col. 2; lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Gorokhov, Miao and Speight discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 2), in addition Speight discloses, wherein the second node acts as an intermediary node and forwards transmissions from the UE to the first node (relay device 212 is configured to receive a wireless communication signal 220 from UE 225 and selectively relay this wireless communication signal 216 to eNodeB 210. In some instances, relay device 212 may receive wireless communication signals 218 from eNodeB 210. In some example embodiments, relay devices 212 may modify a received wireless communication signal 220 before relaying 216 to eNodeB 210, Col. 5; lines 54-Col. 6; lines 5).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Gorokhov and Miao does not explicitly disclose receiving a first message from the second node, comprising an indication of the estimated received power of the initial transmission sent from the UE and received by the second node, as measured at the second node; and wherein the step of obtaining the power control configuration parameter comprises: determining the power control configuration parameter, based on the estimated received power of the initial transmission as indicated in the first message.
In the same field of endeavor, Speight disclose, receiving a first message from the second node, comprising an indication of the estimated received power of the initial transmission sent from the UE and received by the second node, as measured at the second node (relay device 212 is configured to receive a wireless communication signal 220 from UE 225 and selectively relay this wireless communication signal 216 to eNodeB 210. In some instances, relay device 212 may receive wireless communication signals 218 from eNodeB 210. In some example embodiments, relay devices 212 may modify a received wireless communication signal 220 before relaying 216 to eNodeB 210. In other example embodiments, relay devices 212 may be controlled via eNodeB 210 via, say, wireless communication signal 218, In yet further example embodiments, relay devices 212 may be operable to determine information independently of eNodeB 210, Col. 2; lines 27-31); and wherein the step of obtaining the power control configuration parameter comprises: determining the power control configuration parameter, based on the estimated received power of the initial transmission as indicated in the first message (relay devices 212 are asynchronous relay devices, allowing information to, at least, be relayed from UEs 225 to eNodeBs 210, without necessarily providing the reverse communication link of forwarding communication from the eNodeBs 210 to the UEs 225. In part, this relay device asynchronous mode of operation is a result of the transmit power and receiver sensitivity of the eNodeBs 210 being greater than the transmit power and receiver sensitivity of the UEs 225. In this manner, the eNodeBs may transmit signals on the downlink (DL) path to the UEs 225 located at the edge of its communication coverage direct, Col. 5; lines 24-Col. 6; lines 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gorokhov and Miao by specifically providing receiving a first message from the second node, comprising an indication of the estimated received power of the initial transmission sent from the UE and received by the second node, as measured at the second node; and wherein the step of obtaining the power control configuration parameter comprises: determining the power control configuration parameter, based on the estimated received power of the initial transmission as indicated in the first message, as taught by Speight for the purpose of providing a terminal device and a base station supporting an uplink-only relaying system to be able to better control communications between the terminal device, such as an MTC device, and the base station, such as an eNodeB (Col. 2; lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Gorokhov and Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the obtaining a power control configuration parameter comprises: receiving the power control configuration parameter from the second node.
In the same field of endeavor, Speight disclose, wherein the obtaining a power control configuration parameter comprises: receiving the power control configuration parameter from the second node (. The relay device comprises: a transceiver; and a control processor operably coupled to the transceiver and arranged to: process a received access request message from the terminal device; extract information and determine therefrom a power delta value that is not based on a determination of pathloss between the relay device and the terminal device; generate a control element comprising the power delta value; and relay at least the control element to the base station, Col. 6; lines 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gorokhov and Miao by specifically providing wherein the obtaining a power control configuration parameter comprises: receiving the power control configuration parameter from the second node, as taught by Speight for the purpose of providing a terminal device and a base station supporting an uplink-only relaying system to be able to better control communications between the terminal device, such as an MTC device, and the base station, such as an eNodeB (Col. 2; lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Gorokhov and Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the power control configuration parameter indicates a power with which the UE should send the further transmissions that are to be received by the second node.
In the same field of endeavor, Speight disclose, wherein the power control configuration parameter indicates a power with which the UE should send the further transmissions that are to be received by the second node (relay device 212 is configured to receive a wireless communication signal 220 from UE 225 and selectively relay this wireless communication signal 216 to eNodeB 210. In some instances, relay device 212 may receive wireless communication signals 218 from eNodeB 210. In some example embodiments, relay devices 212 may modify a received wireless communication signal 220 before relaying 216 to eNodeB 210. In other example embodiments, relay devices 212 may be controlled via eNodeB 210 via, say, wireless communication signal 218, In yet further example embodiments, relay devices 212 may be operable to determine information independently of eNodeB 210, Col. 2; lines 27-31).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gorokhov and Miao by specifically providing wherein the power control configuration parameter indicates a power with which the UE should send the further transmissions that are to be received by the second node, as taught by Speight for the purpose of providing a terminal device and a base station supporting an uplink-only relaying system to be able to better control communications between the terminal device, such as an MTC device, and the base station, such as an eNodeB (Col. 2; lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Gorokhov and Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the power control configuration parameter indicates an adjustment to the power with which the UE should send the further transmissions, compared to a power used by the UE to send the initial transmission, in order for the further transmissions to be received at the second node at a target received power level.
In the same field of endeavor, Speight disclose, wherein the power control configuration parameter indicates an adjustment to the power with which the UE should send the further transmissions, compared to a power used by the UE to send the initial transmission, in order for the further transmissions to be received at the second node at a target received power level (Calculating Power Offset:One example of a calculation of the aforementioned power offset is now described. The power offset, which in this example embodiment is a power delta, is based on a reception power level of the RACH transmission from a UE to a corresponding relay device. This value is then compared with a pre-defined maximum receive power level that the relay device is able to receive without saturating its receiver, Col. 10; lines 4-Col. 12; lines11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gorokhov and Miao by specifically providing wherein the power control configuration parameter indicates an adjustment to the power with which the UE should send the further transmissions, compared to a power used by the UE to send the initial transmission, in order for the further transmissions to be received at the second node at a target received power level, as taught by Speight for the purpose of providing a terminal device and a base station supporting an uplink-only relaying system to be able to better control communications between the terminal device, such as an MTC device, and the base station, such as an eNodeB (Col. 2; lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Gorokhov and Miao does not explicitly discloses wherein the power control configuration parameter in the second message indicates the determined first adjustment.
In the same field of endeavor, Speight discloses, wherein the power control configuration parameter in the second message indicates the determined first adjustment (Calculating Power Offset:One example of a calculation of the aforementioned power offset is now described. The power offset, which in this example embodiment is a power delta, is based on a reception power level of the RACH transmission from a UE to a corresponding relay device. This value is then compared with a pre-defined maximum receive power level that the relay device is able to receive without saturating its receiver, Col. 10; lines 4-Col. 12; lines11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gorokhov and Miao by specifically providing wherein the obtaining a power control configuration parameter comprises: determining a first adjustment by which the UE should change the transmission power compared to a power used by the UE to send the initial transmission; and wherein the power control configuration parameter in the second message indicates the determined first adjustment, as taught by Speight for the purpose of providing a terminal device and a base station supporting an uplink-only relaying system to be able to better control communications between the terminal device, such as an MTC device, and the base station, such as an eNodeB (Col. 2; lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Gorokhov and Miao does not explicitly disclose receiving a third message from a third node, comprising an estimated received power of the initial transmission sent from the UE, as measured at the third node; and wherein the step of obtaining a power control configuration parameter is further based on the estimated received power at the third node..
In the same field of endeavor, Speight discloses, receiving a third message from a third node, comprising an estimated received power of the initial transmission sent from the UE, as measured at the third node; and wherein the step of obtaining a power control configuration parameter is further based on the estimated received power at the third node (a terminal device (such as UE 225), for wirelessly communicating data to a base station via a relay device comprises: a transmitter arranged to transmit an access request message to the base station; a receiver arranged to receive an access request grant response from the base station; and a control processor 213 arranged to process the access request grant response; extract transmit power control information therefrom for transmissions to the relay device; generate and transmit a message-3 transmission at a first power level based on the transmit power control information (Col. 7; lines 1-23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gorokhov and Miao by specifically providing receiving a third message from a third node, comprising an estimated received power of the initial transmission sent from the UE, as measured at the third node; and wherein the step of obtaining a power control configuration parameter is further based on the estimated received power at the third node, as taught by Speight for the purpose of providing a terminal device and a base station supporting an uplink-only relaying system to be able to better control communications between the terminal device, such as an MTC device, and the base station, such as an eNodeB (Col. 2; lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), however the combination of Gorokhov and Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the second node is configured to receive uplink transmissions from the UE, but is not configured to transmit in the downlink to the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Speight disclose, wherein the second node is configured to receive uplink transmissions from the UE, but is not configured to transmit in the downlink to the UE (relay device 212 is configured to receive a wireless communication signal 220 from UE 225 and selectively relay this wireless communication signal 216 to eNodeB 210. In some instances, relay device 212 may receive wireless communication signals 218 from eNodeB 210. In some example embodiments, relay devices 212 may modify a received wireless communication signal 220 before relaying 216 to eNodeB 210, Col. 5; lines 54-Col. 6; lines 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gorokhov and Miao by specifically providing wherein the second node is configured to receive uplink transmissions from the UE, but is not configured to transmit in the downlink to the UE, as taught by Speight for the purpose of providing a terminal device and a base station supporting an uplink-only relaying system to be able to better control communications between the terminal device, such as an MTC device, and the base station, such as an eNodeB (Col. 2; lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), however the combination of Gorokhov and Miao does not explicitly disclose the second node: determining the power control configuration parameter with which the UE should send the further transmissions that are to be received by the second node, based on the estimated received power; and sending the determined power control configuration parameter in the first message.
In the same field of endeavor, Speight disclose, the second node: determining the power control configuration parameter with which the UE should send the further transmissions that are to be received by the second node, based on the estimated received power; and sending the determined power control configuration parameter in the first message (relay device 212 is configured to receive a wireless communication signal 220 from UE 225 and selectively relay this wireless communication signal 216 to eNodeB 210. In some instances, relay device 212 may receive wireless communication signals 218 from eNodeB 210. In some example embodiments, relay devices 212 may modify a received wireless communication signal 220 before relaying 216 to eNodeB 210. In other example embodiments, relay devices 212 may be controlled via eNodeB 210 via, say, wireless communication signal 218, In yet further example embodiments, relay devices 212 may be operable to determine information independently of eNodeB 210, Col. 2; lines 27-31 and relay devices 212 are asynchronous relay devices, allowing information to, at least, be relayed from UEs 225 to eNodeBs 210, without necessarily providing the reverse communication link of forwarding communication from the eNodeBs 210 to the UEs 225. In part, this relay device asynchronous mode of operation is a result of the transmit power and receiver sensitivity of the eNodeBs 210 being greater than the transmit power and receiver sensitivity of the UEs 225. In this manner, the eNodeBs may transmit signals on the downlink (DL) path to the UEs 225 located at the edge of its communication coverage direct, Col. 5; lines 24-Col. 6; lines 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gorokhov and Miao by specifically providing the second node: determining the power control configuration parameter with which the UE should send the further transmissions that are to be received by the second node, based on the estimated received power; and sending the determined power control configuration parameter in the first message, as taught by Speight for the purpose of providing a terminal device and a base station supporting an uplink-only relaying system to be able to better control communications between the terminal device, such as an MTC device, and the base station, such as an eNodeB (Col. 2; lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 15), however the combination of Gorokhov and Miao does not explicitly disclose sending the estimated received power in the first message, for use by the first node in determining the power control configuration parameter with which the UE should send the further transmissions that are to be received by the second node, based on the estimated received power.
In the same field of endeavor, Speight disclose, sending the estimated received power in the first message, for use by the first node in determining the power control configuration parameter with which the UE should send the further transmissions that are to be received by the second node, based on the estimated received power (relay device 212 is configured to receive a wireless communication signal 220 from UE 225 and selectively relay this wireless communication signal 216 to eNodeB 210. In some instances, relay device 212 may receive wireless communication signals 218 from eNodeB 210. In some example embodiments, relay devices 212 may modify a received wireless communication signal 220 before relaying 216 to eNodeB 210. In other example embodiments, relay devices 212 may be controlled via eNodeB 210 via, say, wireless communication signal 218, In yet further example embodiments, relay devices 212 may be operable to determine information independently of eNodeB 210, Col. 2; lines 27-31 and relay devices 212 are asynchronous relay devices, allowing information to, at least, be relayed from UEs 225 to eNodeBs 210, without necessarily providing the reverse communication link of forwarding communication from the eNodeBs 210 to the UEs 225. In part, this relay device asynchronous mode of operation is a result of the transmit power and receiver sensitivity of the eNodeBs 210 being greater than the transmit power and receiver sensitivity of the UEs 225. In this manner, the eNodeBs may transmit signals on the downlink (DL) path to the UEs 225 located at the edge of its communication coverage direct, Col. 5; lines 24-Col. 6; lines 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gorokhov and Miao by specifically providing sending the estimated received power in the first message, for use by the first node in determining the power control configuration parameter with which the UE should send the further transmissions that are to be received by the second node, based on the estimated received power, as taught by Speight for the purpose of providing a terminal device and a base station supporting an uplink-only relaying system to be able to better control communications between the terminal device, such as an MTC device, and the base station, such as an eNodeB (Col. 2; lines 27-31).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19), however the combination of Gorokhov and Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the second node is configured to receive uplink transmissions from the UE, but is not configured to transmit in the downlink to the UE.
In the same field of endeavor, Speight disclose, wherein the second node is configured to receive uplink transmissions from the UE, but is not configured to transmit in the downlink to the UE (relay device 212 is configured to receive a wireless communication signal 220 from UE 225 and selectively relay this wireless communication signal 216 to eNodeB 210. In some instances, relay device 212 may receive wireless communication signals 218 from eNodeB 210. In some example embodiments, relay devices 212 may modify a received wireless communication signal 220 before relaying 216 to eNodeB 210, Col. 5; lines 54-Col. 6; lines 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gorokhov and Miao by specifically providing wherein the second node is configured to receive uplink transmissions from the UE, but is not configured to transmit in the downlink to the UE, as taught by Speight for the purpose of providing a terminal device and a base station supporting an uplink-only relaying system to be able to better control communications between the terminal device, such as an MTC device, and the base station, such as an eNodeB (Col. 2; lines 27-31).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorokhov, in view of Miao and further in view of Freda et al. (US 20150181546, hereinafter “Freda”).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1), however the combination of Gorokhov and Miao does not explicitly disclose wherein the initial transmission from the UE to the second node comprises a power headroom report, PHR.
In the same field of endeavor, Freda discloses, wherein the initial transmission from the UE to the second node comprises a power headroom report, PHR ( To aid the eNB in making power allocation decisions and computing the optimal uplink transmit power, the UE will periodically send power headroom reports via MAC Control Elements (CE). The power headroom reports indicate the difference (positive or negative) between the nominal UE maximum transmit power and the estimated power for a serving cell, [351]-[358]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gorokhov and Miao by specifically providing wherein the initial transmission from the UE to the first node comprises a power headroom report, PHR, as taught by Freda for the purpose of implementing power control and synchronization in an LTE component carrier functioning in UL-only mode or device-to-device (D2D) mode, including a UL-only cell in LTE [0005].
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorokhov, in view of Miao and further in view of Langer et al. (US 20200037263, hereinafter “Langer”).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Gorokhov and Miao discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 19), however the combination of Gorokhov and Miao does not explicitly disclose, wherein the UE is configured to turn off open loop uplink power control.
In the same field of endeavor, wherein the UE is configured to turn off open loop uplink power control (In one example of a transmission power controller 200 the open loop control 214 may also be coupled to the second input 204 (not shown in FIG. 2). In this case the open loop control 214 may be configured to receive a signal via the second input 204 activating the open loop control 214 in the open loop power control mode and deactivating the open loop control 214 in the closed loop power control mode, [0037]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Gorokhov and Miao by specifically providing wherein the UE is configured to turn off open loop uplink power control, as taught by Langer for the purpose of employing an improved transmission power control system in order to obtain satisfactory transmission power control [0002].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 34 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding 34, The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: “wherein the predefined threshold corresponds to a difference in power between the beam associated with the transmission of the initial transmission and the beam corresponding to the other power control loop”, in combination with the other limitations in claim 1.
Prior Art of the Record:
The prior art made of record not relied upon and considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure:
US 20200396764: A method, a terminal device, and a base station for power control in random access procedure. The method implemented at a terminal device includes: obtaining at least one power control parameter to be used for a request message for a random access; and transmitting, to a base station, the request message for the random access.
US 20200351798: This application provides a communication method, a communications apparatus, and a communications system. The method includes: receiving first indication information, where the first indication information indicates at least two first parameters, and the at least two first parameters are used for determining at least one of an uplink data channel power, an uplink control channel power.
US 20160183203: A network node, a wireless device and methods therein are provided for handling transmit power control for contemporaneous links related to multi-connectivity. A method in a network node involves obtaining a separate maximum transmit power value for a wireless device per contemporaneous link; and transmitting at least one of the obtained maximum transmit power values to another network node.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GOLAM SOROWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641