DETAILED ACTION
Claim and Specification Status
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1-7, 10-17 and 20-22 in the Applicant’s response dated 25 June 2026. The claim amendments have been addressed below.
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the specification in the Applicant’s response dated 25 June 2026 in lieu of the drawing objections presented in the previous office action. The drawing objections have therefore been withdrawn.
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to the specification in the Applicant’s response dated 25 June 2026 in lieu of the objection to the abstract presented in the previous office action. The objection to the abstract has therefore been withdrawn.
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 11 and 16 in the Applicant’s response dated 25 June 2026 in lieu of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection presented in the previous office action. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection presented in the previous office action has therefore been withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 24 June 2026 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5 recites in line 2 of the claim “a plurality of light blocking portion” wherein the Examiner believes this is a typographical error wherein claim 5 is intended to recite “a plurality of light blocking portions”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "wherein each of the plurality of lead frames has a frame disposed on a bottom of the cavity " in lines 18-19 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. A plurality of lead frames have not been established prior to the recitation of “each of the plurality of lead frames” in line 18 of claim 16. For the purpose of examination, “wherein each of the plurality of lead frames has a frame disposed on a bottom of the cavity” is interpreted to be “a plurality of lead frames include a frame disposed on a bottom of the cavity”. Claims 17-20 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong Jin Hwang et al. (US 2019/0137046 A1; hereinafter “Hwang”) in view of Eun Hyun Park et al. (US 2017/0104141 A1; hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hwang teaches a lighting device comprising:
a circuit board (401, Fig. 53, para [0365] describes a circuit board 401);
a plurality of light emitting device packages disposed on the circuit board (100, Fig. 53, para [0380] describes light emitting devices 100 disposed on the circuit board 401);
a resin layer covering the plurality of light emitting device packages (650, Fig. 53, para [0380] describes a resin member 650 disposed on the light emitting device packages 100); and
a diffusion layer that diffuses light on the resin layer (230, Fig. 53, para [0372] describes an optical member 230 that may diffuse and transmit incident light wherein the diffusion layer 230 is located over the resin layer 650),
wherein each of the plurality of light emitting device packages (100) includes:
a body having a first side portion facing an upper surface of the circuit board (11, Fig. 90, para [0475] describes a first side portion 11 which may be a side surface corresponding to the circuit board), a second side portion opposite to the first side portion (12, Fig. 90, para [0475] describes a second side portion 12 opposite to the first side portion 11), third and fourth side portions on both sides of the first and second side portions (13 and 14, Fig. 90, para [0475] describes third side portion 13 and fourth side portion 14 adjacent to the first side portion 11 and second side portion 12), a front side portion (15, Fig. 90, para [0476] describes a front side portion 15), a rear side portion (16, Fig. 90, para [0476] describes a rear side portion 16), and a cavity in which a part of the front side portion is opened (20, Fig. 90, para [0476] describes a cavity 20 which may be disposed in the front side portion 15);
a plurality of lead frames (30 and 40, Fig. 90-Fig.92, para [0477 and para [0478] describe first lead frame 30 and second lead frame 40) each having a plurality of frames disposed on a bottom of the cavity (31 and 41, Fig. 90-Fig. 92, para [0477] describes wherein first lead frame 30 includes a first lead portion 31 disposed at the bottom of the cavity 20 and para [0479] describes wherein second lead frame 40 includes a second lead portion 41 disposed at the bottom of the cavity 20) and a bonding portion bent from each of the plurality of frames toward the first side portion (32 and 42, Fig. 90-Fig. 92, para [0477] describes wherein first lead frame 30 includes a first bonding portion 32 bent from the first lead portion 31 and protrudes to the first side portion 11 and para [0479] describes wherein second lead frame 40 includes a second bonding portion 42 bent from the second lead portion 41 and protrudes to the first side portion 11); and
a plurality of light emitting chips electrically connected to the plurality of frames on the bottom of the cavity (71, Fig. 90-Fig. 92, para [0480] describes a plurality of light emitting chips 71 that may be connected to the first and second lead frames 41 and 41 by wires 72 and 73);
wherein the third side portion and the fourth side portion of the body are disposed on both sides of the body in a first direction (13 and 14, Fig. 90, para [0475] describes the third side portion 13 and fourth side portion 14 being disposed on opposite sides of the body in a first X direction),
wherein the front and rear side portions of the body are disposed on both sides of the body in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (15 and 16, Fig. 90, para [0476] describes the front side portion 15 and read side portion 16 being on both sides of the body in a second Y direction orthogonal to the first X direction),
wherein the length of the body in the first direction is a distance between the third and fourth side portions (D2, Fig. 90, para [0475] describes wherein a length of the body D2 in the first direction is a length of the first and second side portion 11 and 12 wherein the first and second side portions are disposed between the third and fourth side portions 13 and 14 resulting in a length D2 being the distance between the third and fourth side portions),
wherein the plurality of light emitting chips comprises a first light emitting chip (FLC, annotated Fig. 91 depicts a first light emitting chip FLC) and a second light emitting chip spaced apart in the first direction (SLC, annotated Fig. 91 depicts a second light emitting chip SLC spaced apart from the first light emitting chip FLC in the first X direction),
wherein the body includes a first bottom supporting portion disposed on any one frame adjacent to the third side portion (23, Fig. 91, para [0481] describes a bottom supporting portion 23 disposed around the cavity adjacent to the third side portion 13 and disposed on a portion of the lead frame 30) and a second bottom supporting portion disposed on any other frame adjacent to the fourth side portion (24, Fig. 91, para [0481] describes a bottom supporting portion 24 disposed around the cavity adjacent to the fourth side portion 14 and disposed on a portion of the lead frame 40),
wherein the cavity has a first region open between the first bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between the first and second side portions (FR, annotated Fig. 91 II depicts wherein the cavity 20 has a first region FR open between the first bottom supporting portion 23 and the front side portion 15 and between the first side portion 11 and second side portion 12 wherein such a first region FR can also be seen open from a front view as shown in Fig. 90), and a second region open between the second bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between the first and second side portions (SR, annotated Fig. 91 II depicts wherein the cavity 20 has a second region SR open between the second bottom supporting portion 24 and the front side portion 15 and between the first side portion 11 and second side portion 12 wherein such a second region SR can also be seen open from a front view as shown in Fig. 90).
Hwang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the cavity at the front side portion of the body has a length equal to a length of the body in the first direction, wherein the cavity has a first region open between the first bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between the first and second side portions, and a second region open between the second bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between the first and second side portions, wherein the first region of the cavity has a first side emission surface open from an inside of the cavity to the third side portion of the body, wherein the second region of the cavity has a second side emission surface open from the inside of the cavity to the fourth side portion of the body, wherein each of the first bottom supporting portion and the first side emission surface overlaps with different regions of the first light emitting chip in the second direction, and wherein the second bottom supporting portion and the second side emission surface overlap with different regions of the second light emitting chip in the second direction.
However, Park teaches a similar lighting device wherein the cavity at the front side portion of the body has a length equal to a length of the body in the first direction (FRS2, annotated Fig. 20(a), para [0076] describes an encapsulating member 5300 formed in a cavity wherein the encapsulating member and cavity are carried through to Fig. 20 wherein the cavity at the front side portion FRS2 of the body 6100 has a length equal to a length of the body 6100 in a first horizontal direction as shown by the planar surfaces at the third side portion TS2 and fourth side portion FOS2 with the open zones 6112 and 6111 and the body 6100),
wherein the cavity has a first region open between the first bottom supporting portion and the front side portion (FR and FBSP, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes a light emitting device 600 that comprises a cavity having a first region FR open between a first bottom supporting portion FBSP and a front side portion FRS2 on a side of the device opposite the front bottom supporting portion FBSP in a vertical direction) and between the first and second side portions (FS2 and SS2, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes body 6100 having a first side portion FS2 and a second side portion SS2 wherein the first region FR is between the first side portion FS2 and the second side portion SS2), and a second region open between the second bottom supporting portion and the front side portion (SR and SBSP, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes the light emitting device 600 that comprises the cavity having a second region SR open between a second bottom supporting portion SBSP and a front side portion FRS2 on a side of the device opposite the second bottom supporting portion SBSP in a vertical direction) and between the first and second side portions (FS2 and SS2, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes the body 6100 having the first side portion FS2 and the second side portion SS2 wherein the second region SR is between the first side portion FS2 and the second side portion SS2),
wherein the first region of the cavity has a first side emission surface open from an inside of the cavity to the third side portion of the body (FR and 6112, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes an open zone 6112 of a third side portion TS2 of the body 6100 wherein the first region FR of the cavity has a first side emission surface 6112 open from an inside of the cavity to the third side portion of the body),
wherein the second region of the cavity has a second side emission surface open from the inside of the cavity to the fourth side portion of the body (SR and 6111, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes an open zone 6111 of a fourth side portion FOS2 of the body 6100 wherein the second region SR of the cavity has a second side emission surface 6111 open from an inside of the cavity to the fourth side portion of the body),
wherein each of the first bottom supporting portion and the first side emission surface overlaps with different regions of the first light emitting chip in the second direction (FBSP and 6112, annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein each of the first bottom supporting portion FBSP and the first side emission surface 6112 overlap with different regions of a light emitting chip in a second vertical direction orthogonal to the first horizontal direction wherein upon combining Hwang with Park, the light emitting chip 5200 of Park may comprise a first light emitting chip and a second light emitting chip as shown in Hwang and also depicted in an embodiment of Park in Fig. 8 wherein the first light emitting chip would be disposed on a side adjacent to the first bottom supporting portion FBSP and the first side emission surface 6112), and
wherein the second bottom supporting portion and the second side emission surface overlap with different regions of the second light emitting chip in the second direction (SBSP and 6111, annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein each of the second bottom supporting portion SBSP and the second side emission surface 6111 overlap with different regions of a light emitting chip in the second vertical direction wherein upon combining Hwang with Park, the light emitting chip 5200 of Park may comprise a first light emitting chip and a second light emitting chip as shown in Hwang and also depicted in an embodiment of Park in Fig. 8 wherein the second light emitting chip would be disposed on a side adjacent to the second bottom supporting portion SBSP and the second side emission surface 6111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang with Park to further disclose a lighting device wherein a cavity at the front side portion of the body has a length equal to a length of the body in the first direction in order to provide the well-known advantage of providing an emission surface planar with a reflective supporting surface to light to be emitted from the emission surface in a predictable manner and to further disclose wherein the cavity has a first region open between a first bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between a first and second side portions, and a second region open between a second bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between the first and second side portions, wherein the first region of the cavity has a first side emission surface open from an inside of the cavity to a third side portion of the body, wherein the second region of the cavity has a second side emission surface open from the inside of the cavity to a fourth side portion of the body in order to provide the advantage of enabling a semiconductor light emitting device to be capable of emitting light from three sides increasing the potential light output of the device and diversifying the potential use cases of the light emitting device (Park, para [0078]) and to further disclose wherein each of the first bottom supporting portion and the first side emission surface overlaps with different regions of the first light emitting chip in the second direction, and wherein the second bottom supporting portion and the second side emission surface overlap with different regions of the second light emitting chip in the second direction in order to provide the advantage of enabling an angle or intensity of light escaping through the lateral faces of the light emitting device to be adjusted to the intended use of the device (Park, para [0078]).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 1,
wherein the first and second bottom supporting portions are disposed concave from the front side portion on both bottoms of the cavity in the first direction (Hwang, Fig. 91 depicts wherein first bottom supporting portion 23 and second bottom supporting portion 24 are disposed concave from the front side portion 15 on both bottoms of the cavity 20 in the first X direction),
wherein a height of the first bottom supporting portion with respect to the bottom of the cavity is positioned lower than upper surfaces of the first and second light emitting chips (Park, FBSP, annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein a height of the first bottom supporting portion FBSP is positioned lower than upper surfaces of the light emitting chip 5200 wherein upon combining Hwang with Park, the light emitting chip 5200 of Park may comprise a first light emitting chip and a second light emitting chip as shown in Hwang and also depicted in an embodiment of Park in Fig. 8 wherein the first light emitting chip would be at a same height as depicted by light emitting chip 5200 in annotated Fig. 20(b)) and is positioned higher than upper surfaces of the plurality of lead frames in the second direction (Park, FBSP, Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein the first bottom supporting portion FBSP is positioned higher than a lower surface of the light emitting chip 5200 wherein an upper surface of the leadframe of Hwang is disposed at a lowest surface of the light emitting chips 71 wherein upon combining Hwang with Park the combination would result in the first bottom supporting portion FBSP of Park being positioned higher than upper surfaces of the plurality of lead frames 30 and 40 of Hwang in a second vertical/Y direction).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 2, comprising a molding member in the cavity (Park, 5300, Fig. 19 and Fig. 20, para [0076] describes an encapsulant 5300 in the cavity wherein the same encapsulant can be seen in the embodiment of Fig. 20),
wherein a length of the molding member is equal to a length of the cavity in the first direction (Park, 5300, Fig. 19 and Fig. 20 depicts wherein the encapsulant 5300 is equal to a length of the cavity in the first horizontal direction as a result of a cutting process along cutting lines 6200 as described in para [0078]),
wherein a lower surface of the molding member in the first region of the cavity is positioned lower than the upper surface of the first light emitting chip (Park, FR, 5300 and 5200, Fig. 19 and annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein a lower surface of the molding member 5300 in the first region FR of the cavity is positioned lower than an upper surface of the light emitting chip 5200) and higher than the upper surfaces of the lead frames in the second direction (Park, FR, 5300 and 5200, Fig. 19 and annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein the lower surface of the molding member 5300 in the first region FR is positioned higher than a lower surface of the light emitting chip 5200 wherein an upper surface of the leadframe of Hwang is disposed at a lowest surface of the light emitting chips 71 wherein upon combining Hwang with Park the combination would result in the lower surface of the molding member 5300 in the first region FR of Park being positioned higher than upper surfaces of the plurality of lead frames 30 and 40 of Hwang in a second vertical/Y direction), and
wherein a lower surface of the molding member in the second region of the cavity is positioned lower than the upper surface of the second light emitting chip (Park, SR, 5300 and 5200, Fig. 19 and annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein a lower surface of the molding member 5300 in the second region SR of the cavity is positioned lower than an upper surface of the light emitting chip 5200) and higher than the upper surfaces of the lead frames in the second direction (Park, SR, 5300 and 5200, Fig. 19 and annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein the lower surface of the molding member 5300 in the second region SR is positioned higher than a lower surface of the light emitting chip 5200 wherein an upper surface of the leadframe of Hwang is disposed at a lowest surface of the light emitting chips 71 wherein upon combining Hwang with Park the combination would result in the lower surface of the molding member 5300 in the second region SR of Park being positioned higher than upper surfaces of the plurality of lead frames 30 and 40 of Hwang in a second vertical/Y direction).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 3, wherein a front surface of the molding member is exposed to the front side portion (Park, 5300 and FRS2, annotated Fig. 20(a) and Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein a front surface of the molding member 5300 is exposed to the front side portion FRS2) and both side surface of the molding member in the first direction are exposed to outside of the third and fourth side portions of the body, respectively (Park, 5300, TS2 and FOS2, annotated Fig. 20(a) and Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein the side surfaces of the molding member 5300 in the first horizontal direction are exposed to outside of the third side portion TS2 and fourth side portion FOS2 at open zones 6111 and 6112, respectively).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 1, further comprising: a light transmitting layer (Hwang, 440, Fig. 39, para [0232] describes an exit portion comprising an upper surface of the resin member 450 wherein the exit portion 440 may comprise a light extraction structure) and a plurality of light blocking portion (Hwang, 442, Fig. 39, para [0232] describes a reflective portion 442 comprising an upper surface of the resin member 450 wherein the reflective portions comprise a plurality of reflective portions as shown in Fig. 38 and Fig. 39) between the resin layer and the diffusion layer (Hwang, 442, Fig. 38, para [0232] describes the reflective portion 442 wherein Fig. 28 depicts reflective portion 442 as an upper layer on the resin member 450 separating resin member 450 from diffusion layer 230 shown in Fig. 53),
Wherein each of the light blocking portion vertically overlaps each of the light emitting device package in a third direction orthogonal to the first and second directions (Hwang, Fig. 38 and Fig. 39 depicts light blocking portions 442 overlapped with light emitting device packages 100 in a vertical Z direction which is orthogonal to the first X direction and the second y direction), and
wherein the light blocking portions are spaced apart from the resin layer (442, 450, 446 and 447, Fig. 38 and Fig. 39, para [0270] describes wherein the resin layer 450 may comprise side reflective portions 446 and 447 wherein the light blocking portions 442 are spaced apart from outer sides of the side reflective portions 446 and 447 as shown in Fig. 38).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 5, wherein each of the light blocking portions covers a front of each of the light emitting device package (Hwang, 442, Fig. 39 depicts each of the light blocking portion 442 covering a front surface of each of the light emitting package 100 wherein this is further illustrated through light blocking portion reflecting light transmitted from the front surface of the light emitting device in Fig. 39 and further wherein para [0236] further describes that reflective portion may cover a minimum distance K0 extending beyond the emitting region 101 from the front surface of the light emitting device 100), and
Wherein each of the light blocking portions includes first (Hwang, 446, Fig. 38, para [0270] and para [0271] describes wherein light blocking portion 442 may include a first side reflective portion 446) and second sub-light blocking portions (Hwang, 447, Fig. 38, para [0270] and para [0271] describes wherein light blocking portion 442 may include a second side reflective portion 447) respectively covering third and fourth side portions of the body of each of the light emitting device package (Hwang, 446 and 447, Fig. 38 and Fig. 39 depicts first sub-light blocking portion 446 and second sub-light blocking portion 447 covering respective sides of each of the light emitting device package 100 in an X direction wherein the sides in the X direction represent the third side 13 and fourth side 14 of the light emitting device package 100).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 6, wherein the first (Hwang, 446) and second sub-light blocking portions (Hwang, 447) are spaced apart from each other in the first direction and extend further to both sides in the first direction (Hwang, S, annotated Fig. 39 depicts wherein first and second light blocking portions 446 and 447 are spaced apart from each S in the first X direction and extend further than the X direction sides third and fourth sides 13 and 14 of the light emitting device) and rearward in the second direction than the third and fourth side portions of each of the light emitting device package (Hwang, Fig. 39 and Fig. 40, para [0183] describes wherein a first side surface S11 extends beyond a rear surface of each of the light emitting device 100 wherein reflective portion 442 can be seen extending to the first side surface S11 wherein para [0272] describes wherein first and second light blocking portions 446 and 447 may be disposed on both sides of the reflecting portion 442 and extend in a -Y direction towards the rear of the light emitting device package 100).
Regarding Claim 11, Hwang teaches a lighting device comprising:
a circuit board (401, Fig. 53, para [0365] describes a circuit board 401); and
a plurality of light emitting device packages disposed on the circuit board (100, Fig. 53, para [0380] describes light emitting devices 100 disposed on the circuit board 401),
wherein each of the light emitting device packages (100) includes:
a body having a first side portion facing an upper surface of the circuit board (11, Fig. 90, para [0475] describes a first side portion 11 which may be a side surface corresponding to the circuit board), a second side portion opposite to the first side portion (12, Fig. 90, para [0475] describes a second side portion 12 opposite to the first side portion 11), front and rear side portions (15, Fig. 90, para [0476] describes a front side portion 15 and a rear side portion 16), third and fourth side portions on both sides of the first and second side portions (13 and 14, Fig. 90, para [0475] describes third side portion 13 and fourth side portion 14 adjacent to the first side portion 11 and second side portion 12), and a cavity in which a part of the front side portion is opened (20, Fig. 90, para [0476] describes a cavity 20 which may be disposed in a front side portion 15);
a plurality of lead frames (30 and 40, Fig. 90-Fig.92, para [0477 and para [0478] describe first lead frame 30 and second lead frame 40) each having a plurality of frames disposed on a bottom of the cavity (31 and 41, Fig. 90-Fig. 92, para [0477] describes wherein first lead frame 30 includes a first lead portion 31 disposed at the bottom of the cavity 20 and para [0479] describes wherein second lead frame 40 includes a second lead portion 41 disposed at the bottom of the cavity 20) and a bonding portion bent from each of the plurality of frames toward the first side portion (32 and 42, Fig. 90-Fig. 92, para [0477] describes wherein first lead frame 30 includes a first bonding portion 32 bent from the first lead portion 31 and protrudes to the first side portion 11 and para [0479] describes wherein second lead frame 40 includes a second bonding portion 42 bent from the second lead portion 41 and protrudes to the first side portion 11);
a plurality of light emitting chips electrically connected to the plurality of frames on the bottom of the cavity (71, Fig. 90-Fig. 92, para [0480] describes a plurality of light emitting chips 71 that may be connected to the first and second lead frames 41 and 41 by wires 72 and 73); and
a molding member in the cavity (81, Fig. 91, para [0488] describes a molding member 81 disposed in the cavity 20),
wherein the third side portion and the fourth side portion of the body are disposed at both sides in a first direction of the body (13 and 14, Fig. 90, para [0475] describes the third side portion 13 and fourth side portion 14 being disposed on opposite sides of the body in an X direction),
wherein the front and rear side portions of the body are disposed on both sides in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (15 and 16, Fig. 90, para [0476] describes the front side portion 15 and read side portion 16 being on opposite sides of the body wherein they can be seen as orthogonal to the direction as they protrude into the Y direction as shown in Fig. 90),
wherein the length of the body in the first direction is a distance between the third and fourth side portions (D2, Fig. 90, para [0475] describes wherein a length of the body D2 in the first direction is a length of the first and second side portion 11 and 12 wherein the first and second side portions are disposed between the third and fourth side portions 13 and 14 resulting in a length D2 being the distance between the third and fourth side portions),
wherein the plurality of light emitting chips comprises a first light emitting chip (FLC, annotated Fig. 91 depicts a first light emitting chip FLC) and a second light emitting chip spaced apart in the first direction (SLC, annotated Fig. 91 depicts a second light emitting chip SLC spaced apart from the first light emitting chip FLC in the first X direction),
wherein the body includes a first bottom supporting portion disposed on any one frame adjacent to the third side portion (23, Fig. 91, para [0481] describes a bottom supporting portion 23 disposed around the cavity adjacent to the third side portion 13 and disposed on a portion of the lead frame 30) and a second bottom supporting portion disposed on any other frame adjacent to the fourth side portion (24, Fig. 91, para [0481] describes a bottom supporting portion 24 disposed around the cavity adjacent to the fourth side portion 14 and disposed on a portion of the lead frame 40).
Hwang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the cavity at the front side portion of the body has a same length as a length of the body in the first direction, wherein a length of the molding member is equal to the length of the cavity in the first direction, wherein the cavity of the body is open on both sides of the body in the first direction, wherein the cavity has a first region open between the first bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between the first and second side portions, and a second region open between the second bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between the first and second side portions, wherein the first region of the cavity has a first side emission surface open from an inside of the cavity to the third side portion of the body, wherein the second region of the cavity has a second side emission surface open from the inside of the cavity to the fourth side portion of the body, wherein each of the first bottom supporting portion and the first side emission surface overlaps with different regions of the first light emitting chip in the second direction, and wherein the second bottom supporting portion and the second side emission surface overlap with different regions of the second light emitting chip in the second direction.
However, Park teaches a similar lighting device wherein the cavity at the front side portion of the body has a same length as a length of the body in the first direction (FRS2, annotated Fig. 20(a), para [0076] describes an encapsulating member 5300 formed in a cavity wherein the encapsulating member and cavity are carried through to Fig. 20 wherein the cavity at the front side portion FRS2 of the body 6100 has a length equal to a length of the body 6100 in a first horizontal direction as shown by the planar surfaces at the third side portion TS2 and fourth side portion FOS2 with the open zones 6112 and 6111 and the body 6100),
wherein a length of the molding member is equal to the length of the cavity in the first direction (5300, Fig. 19 and Fig. 20 depicts wherein the encapsulant 5300 is equal to a length of the cavity in the first horizontal direction as a result of a cutting process along cutting lines 6200 as described in para [0078]),
wherein the cavity of the body is open on both sides of the body in the first direction (6100, 6111 and 6112, Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes wherein the cavity of the body 6100 is open on both sides of the body in the first horizontal directions at open zones 6111 and 6112),
wherein the cavity has a first region open between the first bottom supporting portion and the front side portion (FR and FBSP, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes a light emitting device 600 that comprises a cavity having a first region FR open between a first bottom supporting portion FBSP and a front side portion FRS2 on a side of the device opposite the front bottom supporting portion FBSP in a vertical direction) and between the first and second side portions (FS2 and SS2, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes body 6100 having a first side portion FS2 and a second side portion SS2 wherein the first region FR is between the first side portion FS2 and the second side portion SS2), and a second region open between the second bottom supporting portion and the front side portion (SR and SBSP, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes the light emitting device 600 that comprises the cavity having a second region SR open between a second bottom supporting portion SBSP and a front side portion FRS2 on a side of the device opposite the second bottom supporting portion SBSP in a vertical direction) and between the first and second side portions (FS2 and SS2, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes the body 6100 having the first side portion FS2 and the second side portion SS2 wherein the second region SR is between the first side portion FS2 and the second side portion SS2),
wherein the first region of the cavity has a first side emission surface open from an inside of the cavity to the third side portion of the body (FR and 6112, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes an open zone 6112 of a third side portion TS2 of the body 6100 wherein the first region FR of the cavity has a first side emission surface 6112 open from an inside of the cavity to the third side portion of the body),
wherein the second region of the cavity has a second side emission surface open from the inside of the cavity to the fourth side portion of the body (SR and 6111, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes an open zone 6111 of a fourth side portion FOS2 of the body 6100 wherein the second region SR of the cavity has a second side emission surface 6111 open from an inside of the cavity to the fourth side portion of the body),
wherein each of the first bottom supporting portion and the first side emission surface overlaps with different regions of the first light emitting chip in the second direction (FBSP and 6112, annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein each of the first bottom supporting portion FBSP and the first side emission surface 6112 overlap with different regions of a light emitting chip in a second vertical direction orthogonal to the first horizontal direction wherein upon combining Hwang with Park, the light emitting chip 5200 of Park may comprise a first light emitting chip and a second light emitting chip as shown in Hwang and also depicted in an embodiment of Park in Fig. 8 wherein the first light emitting chip would be disposed on a side adjacent to the first bottom supporting portion FBSP and the first side emission surface 6112), and
wherein the second bottom supporting portion and the second side emission surface overlap with different regions of the second light emitting chip in the second direction (SBSP and 6111, annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein each of the second bottom supporting portion SBSP and the second side emission surface 6111 overlap with different regions of a light emitting chip in the second vertical direction wherein upon combining Hwang with Park, the light emitting chip 5200 of Park may comprise a first light emitting chip and a second light emitting chip as shown in Hwang and also depicted in an embodiment of Park in Fig. 8 wherein the second light emitting chip would be disposed on a side adjacent to the second bottom supporting portion SBSP and the second side emission surface 6111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang with Park to further disclose a lighting device wherein a cavity at the front side portion of the body has a length equal to a length of the body in the first direction and wherein a length of the molding member is equal to the length of the cavity in the first direction in order to provide the well-known advantage of providing an emission surface planar with a reflective supporting surface to light to be emitted from the emission surface in a predictable manner and to further disclose wherein the cavity of the body is open on both sides of the body in the first direction and wherein the cavity has a first region open between a first bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between a first and second side portions, and a second region open between a second bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between the first and second side portions, wherein the first region of the cavity has a first side emission surface open from an inside of the cavity to a third side portion of the body, wherein the second region of the cavity has a second side emission surface open from the inside of the cavity to a fourth side portion of the body in order to provide the advantage of enabling a semiconductor light emitting device to be capable of emitting light from three sides increasing the potential light output of the device and diversifying the potential use cases of the light emitting device (Park, para [0078]) and to further disclose wherein each of the first bottom supporting portion and the first side emission surface overlaps with different regions of the first light emitting chip in the second direction, and wherein the second bottom supporting portion and the second side emission surface overlap with different regions of the second light emitting chip in the second direction in order to provide the advantage of enabling an angle or intensity of light escaping through the lateral faces of the light emitting device to be adjusted to the intended use of the device (Park, para [0078]).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 11,
wherein the first and second bottom supporting portions are concavely disposed on bottoms of both sides of the cavity in the first direction from the front side portion (Hwang, Fig. 91 depicts wherein first bottom supporting portion 23 and second bottom supporting portion 24 are disposed concave from the front side portion 15 on both bottoms of the cavity 20 in the first X direction), and are in contact with the molding member (Hwang, 23 and 24, Fig. 91 depicts wherein first bottom supporting portion 23 and second bottom supporting portion 24 are in contact with molding member 81).
wherein a lower surface of the molding member in the first region of the cavity is positioned lower than the upper surface of the first light emitting chip (Park, FR, 5300 and 5200, Fig. 19 and annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein a lower surface of the molding member 5300 in the first region FR of the cavity is positioned lower than an upper surface of the light emitting chip 5200) and higher than the upper surfaces of the lead frames in the second direction (Park, FR, 5300 and 5200, Fig. 19 and annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein the lower surface of the molding member 5300 in the first region FR is positioned higher than a lower surface of the light emitting chip 5200 wherein an upper surface of the leadframe of Hwang is disposed at a lowest surface of the light emitting chips 71 wherein upon combining Hwang with Park the combination would result in the lower surface of the molding member 5300 in the first region FR of Park being positioned higher than upper surfaces of the plurality of lead frames 30 and 40 of Hwang in a second vertical/Y direction), and
wherein a lower surface of the molding member in the second region of the cavity is positioned lower than the upper surface of the second light emitting chip (Park, SR, 5300 and 5200, Fig. 19 and annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein a lower surface of the molding member 5300 in the second region SR of the cavity is positioned lower than an upper surface of the light emitting chip 5200) and higher than the upper surfaces of the lead frames in the second direction (Park, SR, 5300 and 5200, Fig. 19 and annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein the lower surface of the molding member 5300 in the second region SR is positioned higher than a lower surface of the light emitting chip 5200 wherein an upper surface of the leadframe of Hwang is disposed at a lowest surface of the light emitting chips 71 wherein upon combining Hwang with Park the combination would result in the lower surface of the molding member 5300 in the second region SR of Park being positioned higher than upper surfaces of the plurality of lead frames 30 and 40 of Hwang in a second vertical/Y direction).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 11, wherein an entire upper surface of the first bottom supporting portion in the first region is lower than the upper surface of the first light emitting chip in the second direction (Park, FBSP and FR, Fig. 19 and annotated Fig. 20 (b) depicts wherein an entire upper surface of the first bottom supporting portion FBSP in the first region FR is lower than an upper surface of the light emitting chip 5200 in the second vertical direction wherein upon combining Hwang with Park, the light emitting chip 5200 of Park may comprise a first light emitting chip and a second light emitting chip as shown in Hwang and also depicted in an embodiment of Park in Fig. 8 wherein the first light emitting chip would be at a same height as depicted by light emitting chip 5200 in annotated Fig. 20(b)), and
wherein an entire upper surface of the second bottom supporting portion in the second region is disposed lower than the upper surface of the second light emitting chip in the second direction (Park, SBSP and FR, Fig. 19 and annotated Fig. 20 (b) depicts wherein an entire upper surface of the second bottom supporting portion SBSP in the second region SR is lower than an upper surface of the light emitting chip 5200 in the second vertical direction wherein upon combining Hwang with Park, the light emitting chip 5200 of Park may comprise a first light emitting chip and a second light emitting chip as shown in Hwang and also depicted in an embodiment of Park in Fig. 8 wherein the second light emitting chip would be at a same height as depicted by light emitting chip 5200 in annotated Fig. 20(b)).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 13,
wherein a height of the first and second side emission surfaces of the cavity based on upper surfaces of the first and second bottom supporting portions (Park, H1, annotated Fig. 20 (b) and annotated Fig. 20 (b) II depicts a first height H1 of the first and second emission surfaces 6112 and 6111 of the cavity based on upper surfaces of the first and second bottom supporting portions FBSP and SBSP) is greater than a distance from an upper surface of each of the first and second light emitting chips to the front side portion of the body in the second direction (Park, H2, annotated Fig. 20 (b) and annotated Fig. 20 (b) II depicts a second height H2 of a distance from an upper surface of the light emitting chip 5200 wherein upon combining Hwang with Park, the light emitting chip 5200 of Park may comprise a first light emitting chip and a second light emitting chip as shown in Hwang and also depicted in an embodiment of Park in Fig. 8 wherein the second light emitting chip would be at a same height as depicted by light emitting chip 5200 in annotated Fig. 20(b) and further wherein the height H1 is greater than the height H2 in the second vertical direction), and
wherein the height of the first and second side emission surfaces of the cavity based on the upper surfaces of the first and second bottom supporting portions (Park, H1, annotated Fig. 20 (b) and annotated Fig. 20 (b) II depicts the first height H1 of the first and second emission surfaces 6112 and 6111 of the cavity based on upper surfaces of the first and second bottom supporting portions FBSP and SBSP) is smaller than a distance from the bottom of the cavity to the front side portion of the body in the second direction (H3, annotated Fig. 20(a), annotated Fig. 20 (b) and annotated Fig. 20 (b) II depicts the third height H3 from the bottom of the cavity to the front side portion FRP3 of the body is greater than the first height H1).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 11,
wherein the light emitted from the first and second light emitting chips is emitted through the front side portion, and the first and second side emission surfaces (Park, annotated Fig. 20(a) and Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes wherein the light emitting device 6000 is capable of emitting light from the front side portion FRP and the first and second side emission surfaces 6112 and 6111 wherein upon combining Hwang with Park, the light emitting chip 5200 of Park may comprise a first light emitting chip and a second light emitting chip as shown in Hwang and also depicted in an embodiment of Park in Fig. 8).
Regarding Claim 16, Hwang teaches a lighting device comprising:
a circuit board with a length in a second direction longer than a width in a first direction (401, Fig. 53, para [0354] describes a circuit board 401 and para [0247] describes wherein the circuit board 401 may have a length in a second Y direction longer than a width in a first X direction);
a plurality of light emitting device packages disposed on the circuit board and emitting light in the second direction (100, Fig. 53, para [0380] describes light emitting devices 100 disposed on the circuit board 401 and para [0160] describes an optical axis Y0 in the second Y direction parallel to an upper surface of the substrate as shown in at least Fig. 25);
a resin layer covering an upper surface of the circuit board and the plurality of light emitting device packages (650, Fig. 53, para [0380] describes a resin member 650 disposed on the light emitting device packages 100 and an upper surface of the circuit board 401);
a diffusion layer diffusing light on the resin layer (230, Fig. 53, para [0372] describes an optical member 230 that may diffuse and transmit incident light wherein the diffusion layer 230 is located over the resin layer 650); and
a plurality of light blocking portions disposed between the diffusion layer and the resin layer (442 and 444, Fig. 38, para [0232] describes a plurality of reflective portions 442 and 444 wherein Fig. 38 depicts reflective portion 442 as an upper layer on the resin member 450 separating resin member 450 from diffusion layer 230 shown in Fig. 53);
wherein each of the plurality of light emitting device packages (100) includes a body (10, Fig. 90 and Fig. 91, para [0473] describes a body 10) having a cavity concave from a front surface toward a rear surface (20, Fig. 90 and Fig. 91, para [0469] describes a cavity 20 which has a concave shape from a front surface 15 towards a read surface 16 as shown in Fig. 91), and a plurality of light emitting chips disposed on a bottom of the cavity (71, Fig. 90-Fig. 92, para [0480] describes a plurality of light emitting chips 71 that may be connected to the first and second lead frames 41 and 41 by wires 72 and 73),
wherein the body has a first side portion facing an upper surface of the circuit board (11, Fig. 90, para [0475] describes a first side portion 11 which may be a side surface corresponding to the circuit board), a second side portion opposite to the first side portion (12, Fig. 90, para [0475] describes a second side portion 12 opposite to the first side portion 11), third and fourth side portions on both sides of the first and second side portions (13 and 14, Fig. 90, para [0475] describes third side portion 13 and fourth side portion 14 adjacent to the first side portion 11 and second side portion 12), a front side portion having the front surface (15, Fig. 90, para [0476] describes a front side portion 15 having the front surface) and a rear side portion having the rear surface (16, Fig. 90, para [0476] describes a rear side portion 16 having the rear surface),
wherein each of the plurality of lead frames has a frame disposed on a bottom of the cavity (30, 40, 32 and 42, Fig. 90-Fig.92, para [0477] and para [0478] describes a plurality of lead frames 30 and 40 including a first frame 31 and second frame 41 disposed on a bottom of the cavity) and a bonding portion bent from the frame toward the first side portion (32 and 42, Fig. 91, para [0477] describes a bonding portion 32 and 42 of the lead frames bent from the frames 31 and 41 towards a first side portion 11),
wherein the plurality of light emitting chips comprises a first light emitting chip (FLC, annotated Fig. 91 depicts a first light emitting chip FLC) and a second light emitting chip spaced apart in the first direction (SLC, annotated Fig. 91 depicts a second light emitting chip SLC spaced apart from the first light emitting chip FLC in the first X direction),
wherein the body includes a first bottom supporting portion disposed on any one frame adjacent to the third side portion (23, Fig. 91, para [0481] describes a bottom supporting portion 23 disposed around the cavity adjacent to the third side portion 13 and disposed on a portion of the lead frame 30) and a second bottom supporting portion disposed on any other frame adjacent to the fourth side portion (24, Fig. 91, para [0481] describes a bottom supporting portion 24 disposed around the cavity adjacent to the fourth side portion 14 and disposed on a portion of the lead frame 40).
Hwang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the cavity includes first and second side emission surfaces in which both sides of the body in the first direction are open on the front surface of the body, and wherein each of the light emitting device packages emits light through the front surface and the first and second side emission surfaces, wherein the cavity has a first region open between the first bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between the first and second side portions, and a second region open between the second bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between the first and second side portions, wherein the first region of the cavity has a first side emission surface open from an inside of the cavity to the third side portion of the body, wherein the second region of the cavity has a second side emission surface open from the inside of the cavity to the fourth side portion of the body, wherein each of the first bottom supporting portion and the first side emission surface overlaps with different regions of the first light emitting chip in the second direction, and wherein the second bottom supporting portion and the second side emission surface overlap with different regions of the second light emitting chip in the second direction.
However, Park teaches a similar lighting device wherein the cavity includes first and second side emission surfaces (6112 and 6111, Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes a first side emission surface 6112 and a second side emission surface 6111) in which both sides of the body in the first direction are open on the front surface of the body (6112, 6111, TS2, FOS2 and FRS2, annotated Fig. 20(a) and Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein both sides of the body TS2 and FOS2 in the first horizontal direction) are open to the front surface of the body FRS2 due to the first side emission surface 6112 and second side emission surface 6111), and
wherein each of the light emitting device packages emits light through the front surface and the first and second side emission surfaces (annotated Fig. 20(a) and Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes wherein the light emitting device 6000 is capable of emitting light from the front side portion FRP and the first and second side emission surfaces 6112 and 6111),
wherein the cavity has a first region open between the first bottom supporting portion and the front side portion (FR and FBSP, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes a light emitting device 600 that comprises a cavity having a first region FR open between a first bottom supporting portion FBSP and a front side portion FRS2 on a side of the device opposite the front bottom supporting portion FBSP in a vertical direction) and between the first and second side portions (FS2 and SS2, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes body 6100 having a first side portion FS2 and a second side portion SS2 wherein the first region FR is between the first side portion FS2 and the second side portion SS2), and a second region open between the second bottom supporting portion and the front side portion (SR and SBSP, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes the light emitting device 600 that comprises the cavity having a second region SR open between a second bottom supporting portion SBSP and a front side portion FRS2 on a side of the device opposite the second bottom supporting portion SBSP in a vertical direction) and between the first and second side portions (FS2 and SS2, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes the body 6100 having the first side portion FS2 and the second side portion SS2 wherein the second region SR is between the first side portion FS2 and the second side portion SS2),
wherein the first region of the cavity has a first side emission surface open from an inside of the cavity to the third side portion of the body (FR and 6112, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes an open zone 6112 of a third side portion TS2 of the body 6100 wherein the first region FR of the cavity has a first side emission surface 6112 open from an inside of the cavity to the third side portion of the body),
wherein the second region of the cavity has a second side emission surface open from the inside of the cavity to the fourth side portion of the body (SR and 6111, annotated Fig. 20(a) and annotated Fig. 20(b), para [0078] describes an open zone 6111 of a fourth side portion FOS2 of the body 6100 wherein the second region SR of the cavity has a second side emission surface 6111 open from an inside of the cavity to the fourth side portion of the body),
wherein each of the first bottom supporting portion and the first side emission surface overlaps with different regions of the first light emitting chip in the second direction (FBSP and 6112, annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein each of the first bottom supporting portion FBSP and the first side emission surface 6112 overlap with different regions of a light emitting chip in a second vertical direction orthogonal to the first horizontal direction wherein upon combining Hwang with Park, the light emitting chip 5200 of Park may comprise a first light emitting chip and a second light emitting chip as shown in Hwang and also depicted in an embodiment of Park in Fig. 8 wherein the first light emitting chip would be disposed on a side adjacent to the first bottom supporting portion FBSP and the first side emission surface 6112), and
wherein the second bottom supporting portion and the second side emission surface overlap with different regions of the second light emitting chip in the second direction (SBSP and 6111, annotated Fig. 20(b) depicts wherein each of the second bottom supporting portion SBSP and the second side emission surface 6111 overlap with different regions of a light emitting chip in the second vertical direction wherein upon combining Hwang with Park, the light emitting chip 5200 of Park may comprise a first light emitting chip and a second light emitting chip as shown in Hwang and also depicted in an embodiment of Park in Fig. 8 wherein the second light emitting chip would be disposed on a side adjacent to the second bottom supporting portion SBSP and the second side emission surface 6111).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang with Park to further disclose a lighting device wherein a cavity includes first and second side emission surfaces in which both sides of the body in the first direction are open on the front surface of the body, and wherein each of the light emitting device packages emits light through the front surface and the first and second side emission surfaces, and wherein the cavity has a first region open between a first bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between a first and second side portions, and a second region open between a second bottom supporting portion and the front side portion and between the first and second side portions, wherein the first region of the cavity has a first side emission surface open from an inside of the cavity to a third side portion of the body, wherein the second region of the cavity has a second side emission surface open from the inside of the cavity to a fourth side portion of the body in order to provide the advantage of enabling a semiconductor light emitting device to be capable of emitting light from three sides increasing the potential light output of the device and diversifying the potential use cases of the light emitting device (Park, para [0078]) and to further disclose wherein each of the first bottom supporting portion and the first side emission surface overlaps with different regions of the first light emitting chip in the second direction, and wherein the second bottom supporting portion and the second side emission surface overlap with different regions of the second light emitting chip in the second direction in order to provide the advantage of enabling an angle or intensity of light escaping through the lateral faces of the light emitting device to be adjusted to the intended use of the device (Park, para [0078]).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 16,
wherein the cavity at the front surface of the body has a same length as a length of the body in the first direction (Park, FRS2, annotated Fig. 20(a), para [0076] describes an encapsulating member 5300 formed in a cavity wherein the encapsulating member and cavity are carried through to Fig. 20 wherein the cavity at the front surface FRS2 of the body 6100 has a length equal to a length of the body 6100 in a first horizontal direction as shown by the planar surfaces at the third side portion TS2 and fourth side portion FOS2 with the open zones 6112 and 6111 and the body 6100), and
wherein the length of the body in the first direction is a distance between the third and fourth side portions on both side surface of the body in the first direction (Park, 6100, TS2 and FOS2, annotated Fig. 20(a) depicts wherein a length of the body 6100 in the first horizontal direction is a distance between the third side portion TS2 and fourth side portion FOS2 on both side surfaces of the body 6100 in the first horizontal direction).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 17, comprising:
a molding member disposed within the cavity (Park, 5300, Fig. 19 and Fig. 20(a), para [0076] describes an encapsulating member 5300 formed in the cavity wherein the encapsulating member and cavity are carried through to Fig. 20),
wherein a length of the molding member is equal to the length of the cavity in the first direction (Park, 5300, Fig. 19 and Fig. 20 depicts wherein the encapsulant 5300 is equal to a length of the cavity in the first horizontal direction as a result of a cutting process along cutting lines 6200 as described in para [0078]),
wherein both side surfaces of the molding member in the first direction are exposed to both sides of the light emitting device package in the first direction (5300, TS2 and FOS2, annotated Fig. 20(a) and Fig. 20(b) depict wherein both side surfaces of the molding member 5300 at emission surfaces 6112 and 6112 are exposed to both sides TS2 and FOS2 of the light emitting device package 6000 in the first horizontal direction).
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 17,
wherein each of the plurality of light blocking portions overlaps each of the plurality of light emitting device packages in a third direction orthogonal to the first and second directions (Hwang, Fig. 38 and Fig. 39 depicts light blocking portion 442 and 444 overlapped with light emitting device package 100 in a vertical Z direction which is orthogonal to the first X direction and the second y direction).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Hwang and Park teaches the lighting device of claim 19,
wherein each of the light blocking portions includes first (Hwang, 446, Fig. 38, para [0270] and para [0271] describes wherein light blocking portion 442 may include a first side reflective portion 446) and second sub-light blocking portions (Hwang, 447, Fig. 38, para [0270] and para [0271] describes wherein light blocking portion 442 may include a second side reflective portion 447) respectively covering the third and fourth side portions of a body of the light emitting device package (Hwang, 446 and 447, Fig. 38 depicts first sub-light blocking portion 446 and second sub-light blocking portion 447 covering respective sides of the light emitting device package 100 in an X direction wherein the sides in the X direction represent the third side 13 and fourth side 14 of the light emitting device package 100), and
wherein the first (Hwang, 446) and second sub-light blocking portions (Hwang, 446) are spaced apart from each other in the first direction on each light emitting device package (Hwang, S, annotated Fig. 39 depicts wherein first and second light blocking portions 446 and 447 are spaced apart from each S in the first X direction and extend further than the X direction sides third and fourth sides 13 and 14 of the light emitting device).
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong Jin Hwang et al. (US 2019/0137046 A1; hereinafter “Hwang”) in view of Eun Hyun Park et al. (US 2017/0104141 A1; hereinafter “Park”) in further view of Kang Sung Jae (KR 2014-0046733 A; hereinafter “Jae”).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Hwang and Park disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Hwang and Park fail to explicitly disclose the lighting device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of lead frames includes a first lead frame and second and third lead frames on both sides of the first lead frame, wherein the first light emitting chip is mounted in a flip shape on the first and second lead frames, wherein the second light emitting chip is mounted in a flip shape on of the first and third lead frames, wherein a frame of the first lead frame includes a groove region and are disposed between the first and second light emitting chips, and wherein the groove region of the first lead frame is positioned lower than the bottom of the cavity in the second direction.
However, Jae discloses a similar lighting device wherein the plurality of lead frames includes a first lead frame (FLF, annotated Fig. 2 of Jae depicts a first lead frame FLF) and second (SLF, annotated Fig. 2 of Jae depicts a second lead frame SLF) and third lead frames (TLF, annotated Fig. 2 of Jae depicts a third lead frame TLF) on both sides of the first lead frame (SLF and TLF, annotated Fig. 2 depicts wherein second lead frame SLF and third lead frame TLF are disposed on both sides of the first lead frame FLF),
wherein the first light emitting chip is mounted in a flip shape on the first and second lead frames (71, annotated Fig. 2, para [0017] describes a first light emitting chip 71 mounted to the first lead frame FLF and second lead frame SLF wherein the chip may be mounted in a flip shape as a result of being in a rectangular shape and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the first light emitting chip could be flip-chip mounted with a reasonable expectation of success as a flip-chip mounting process for LED chips is well-known in the art),
wherein the second light emitting chip is mounted in a flip shape on of the first and third lead frames (72, annotated Fig. 2, para [0017] describes a second light emitting chip 71 mounted to the first lead frame FLF and third lead frame FLF wherein the chip may be mounted in a flip shape as a result of being in a rectangular shape and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the second light emitting chip could be flip-chip mounted with a reasonable expectation of success as the flip-chip mounting process for LED chips is well-known in the art),
wherein a frame of the first lead frame includes a groove region and are disposed between the first and second light emitting chips (19, annotated Fig. 2, para [0025] describes a gap portion 19 between in a middle portion of a frame of the first lead frame FLF between the first light emitting chip 71 and second light emitting chip 72), and
wherein the groove region of the first lead frame is positioned lower than the bottom of the cavity in the second direction (10 and 19, annotated Fig. 2, para [0028] wherein Fig. 2 depicts the groove region 19 is positioned lower than the bottom of a cavity of a body 10 in a second vertical direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang and Park with Jae to further disclose a lighting device comprising a first, second and third lead frame upon which first and second light emitting devices are disposed and a groove in the first lead frame between the first and second light emitting devices in order to provide the advantage of forming a connecting region from which the light emitting diodes may be connected to separated form the lead frames in order to prevent an electrical short between each of the lead frames and a connecting portion (Jae, page 2 of PE2E machine translation).
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong Jin Hwang et al. (US 2019/0137046 A1; hereinafter “Hwang”) in view of Eun Hyun Park et al. (US 2017/0104141 A1; hereinafter “Park”) in further view of Buem Yeon Lee (US 2013/0062632 A1; hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 21, combination of Hwang and Park disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
The combination of Hwang and Park fail to explicitly disclose wherein each distance between the third side portion and the first light emitting chip adjacent to the third side portion and between the fourth side portion and the second light emitting chip adjacent to the fourth side portion is less than a distance between the first and second light emitting chips.
However, Lee teaches a similar lighting device, wherein each distance between the third side portion and the first light emitting chip adjacent to the third side portion (D2, Fig. 3, para [0042] describes a length D2 of a first lead frame 121 comprises a distance between a first light emitting chip 151 and a lateral side portion 111 representing a third side portion) and between the fourth side portion and the second light emitting chip adjacent to the fourth side portion (D4, Fig. 3, para [0042] describes a length D4 of a second lead frame 141 comprises a distance between a second light emitting chip 152 and a lateral side portion 112 representing a fourth side portion) is less than a distance between the first and second light emitting chips (D3, Fig. 3, para [0042] describes wherein length D2 and length D4 may be less than a length D3 between a first light emitting chip 151 and second light emitting chip 152).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang and Park with Lee to further disclose a lighting device comprising a distance between a first light emitting chip and an adjacent third portion and a distance between a second light emitting chip and an adjacent fourth portion is less than a distance between the first and second light emitting chips in order to provide the well-known advantage of providing sufficient space between adjacent light emitting chips so that a minimum amount of light emitting chips may be disposed in order to provide a desired amount of light in the lighting device further lowering manufacturing costs and simplifying the manufacturing process.
Regarding Claim 22, combination of Hwang and Park disclose all the limitations of claim 11.
The combination of Hwang and Park fail to explicitly disclose wherein each distance between the third side portion and the first light emitting chip adjacent to the third side portion and between the fourth side portion and the second light emitting chip adjacent to the fourth side portion is less than a distance between the first and second light emitting chips.
However, Lee teaches a similar lighting device, wherein each distance between the third side portion and the first light emitting chip adjacent to the third side portion (D2, Fig. 3, para [0042] describes a length D2 of a first lead frame 121 comprises a distance between a first light emitting chip 151 and a lateral side portion 111 representing a third side portion) and between the fourth side portion and the second light emitting chip adjacent to the fourth side portion (D4, Fig. 3, para [0042] describes a length D4 of a second lead frame 141 comprises a distance between a second light emitting chip 152 and a lateral side portion 112 representing a fourth side portion) is less than a distance between the first and second light emitting chips (D3, Fig. 3, para [0042] describes wherein length D2 and length D4 may be less than a length D3 between a first light emitting chip 151 and second light emitting chip 152).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hwang and Park with Lee to further disclose a lighting device comprising a distance between a first light emitting chip and an adjacent third portion and a distance between a second light emitting chip and an adjacent fourth portion is less than a distance between the first and second light emitting chips in order to provide the well-known advantage of providing sufficient space between adjacent light emitting chips so that a minimum amount of light emitting chips may be disposed in order to provide a desired amount of light in the lighting device further lowering manufacturing costs and simplifying the manufacturing process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 and 10-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER MICHAEL MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898