DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 7/28/2023.
Claims 1-31 are canceled.
Claims 32-57 are new.
Claims 32-57 have been examined and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 32-37, 42-47, 54-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shi (US 20200413301 A1, from IDS).
Regarding Claim 32, Shi discloses a method, in a first node in a radio access network (RAN), for managing quality-of- experience (QoE) measurements by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a second node in the RAN, status information for measurements associated to one or more QoE measurements configured for the UE by the first node (see paras 73-74, to assist the target radio network node, during the handover preparation, the source radio network node could inform the target radio network node if the QoE measurement has been configured for the concerned wireless device… Upon the reception of this information element, the target radio network node may perform the action(s) as described above. The source radio network node may also include some of the QoE measurement configuration parameters, such as the scope of the QoE measurement area (e.g. a choice of cell list/TA list/PLMN list where the QoE measurement applies); also see FIG. 3, paras 76-77, the wireless device has been configured for QoE measurements and may be performing, or otherwise collecting, QoE measurements (e.g., for a streaming service). The wireless device may be performing these QoE measurements after being configured to do so, e.g., by the source radio network node… after having received a measurement report (e.g., an RRC Measurement Report message) from the wireless device, the source radio network node determines to hand over the wireless device to a target radio network node. In preparation of the handover, the source radio network node transmits a handover request message (e.g., an X2AP Handover Request message) to the target radio network node… the handover request message may include an indication that QoE measurements have been configured/i.e., status information for measurements associated with QoE, at the wireless device. For example, the handover request message may include the “QoE measurement configured” indication).
Regarding Claims 33, 43, Shi discloses: the second node is associated with the first node with respect to at least one of the following: In preparation of the handover/i.e., representing mobility of the UE, the source radio network node transmits a handover request message (e.g., an X2AP Handover Request message) to the target radio network node… the handover request message may include an indication that QoE measurements have been configured at the wireless device. For example, the handover request message may include the “QoE measurement configured” indication);
Regarding Claim 34, Shi discloses the method of claim 32, wherein the method comprises, prior to said transmitting, configuring the UE for the one or more QoE measurements (see para 76, the wireless device has been configured for QoE measurements and may be performing, or otherwise collecting, QoE measurements (e.g., for a streaming service). The wireless device may be performing these QoE measurements after being configured to do so, e.g., by the source radio network node).
Regarding Claims 35, 45, Shi discloses: the status information comprises one or more of any of the following: (see paras 73-74, to assist the target radio network node, during the handover preparation, the source radio network node could inform the target radio network node if the QoE measurement has been configured for the concerned wireless device… Upon the reception of this information element, the target radio network node may perform the action(s) as described above. The source radio network node may also include some of the QoE measurement configuration parameters, such as the scope of the QoE measurement area (e.g. a choice of cell list/TA list/PLMN list where the QoE measurement applies); and a reference to an ongoing radio related measurement coupled to the ongoing QoE measurements (see para 77).
Regarding Claims 36, 46, Shi discloses: the status information comprises one or more of any of the following: a configuration of radio related measurements coupled to the ongoing QoE measurements (see para 77, after having received a measurement report (e.g., an RRC Measurement Report message)/i.e., representing radio related measurements, from the wireless device, the source radio network node determines to hand over the wireless device to a target radio network node. In preparation of the handover, the source radio network node transmits a handover request message (e.g., an X2AP Handover Request message) to the target radio network node… the handover request message may include an indication that QoE measurements have been configured at the wireless device. For example, the handover request message may include the “QoE measurement configured” indication);
Regarding Claims 37, 47, Shi discloses the method of claim 32, wherein the method comprises transmitting the status information to the second node along with status information pertaining to one or (see paras 73-74, to assist the target radio network node, during the handover preparation, the source radio network node could inform the target radio network node if the QoE measurement has been configured for the concerned wireless device; and at para 62, the RRC message (an RRCConnectionReconfiguration encapsulated in a Handover Command) from the target radio network node an explicit indication, e.g. “QoE measurement reporting allowed”, “QoE measurement reporting supported”, etc., to allow the wireless device to report the QoE measurements after the handover. An explicit indication of “QoE measurement reporting not allowed” or “QoE measurement reporting not supported” can also be introduced; also see FIG. 1 depicting two wireless devices).
Regarding Claim 42, Shi discloses a method, in a second node in a radio access network (RAN), for managing quality- of-experience (QoE) measurements by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a first node in the RAN, status information for measurements associated to one or more QoE measurements configured for the UE by the first node (see paras 73-74, to assist the target radio network node, during the handover preparation, the source radio network node could inform the target radio network node if the QoE measurement has been configured for the concerned wireless device… Upon the reception of this information element, the target radio network node may perform the action(s) as described above. The source radio network node may also include some of the QoE measurement configuration parameters, such as the scope of the QoE measurement area (e.g. a choice of cell list/TA list/PLMN list where the QoE measurement applies); also see FIG. 3, paras 76-77, the wireless device has been configured for QoE measurements and may be performing, or otherwise collecting, QoE measurements (e.g., for a streaming service). The wireless device may be performing these QoE measurements after being configured to do so, e.g., by the source radio network node… after having received a measurement report (e.g., an RRC Measurement Report message) from the wireless device, the source radio network node determines to hand over the wireless device to a target radio network node. In preparation of the handover, the source radio network node transmits a handover request message (e.g., an X2AP Handover Request message) to the target radio network node… the handover request message may include an indication that QoE measurements have been configured/i.e., status information for measurements associated with QoE, at the wireless device. For example, the handover request message may include the “QoE measurement configured” indication).
Regarding Claim 44, Shi discloses the method of claim 42, wherein the method comprises refraining from configuring or changing a configuration of QoE measurements by the UE, in response to the status information (see paras 62-63, when a wireless device which has been configured for QoE measurements (and is possibly performing QoE measurements) is handed over to a target radio network node, the target radio network node may not support QoE measurement reporting. Hence, according to some embodiments, one solution is to introduce, in the RRC message (an RRCConnectionReconfiguration encapsulated in a HandoverCommand) from the target radio network node an explicit indication, e.g. “QoE measurement reporting allowed”, “QoE measurement reporting supported”, etc., to allow the wireless device to report the QoE measurements after the handover. An explicit indication of “QoE measurement reporting not allowed” or “QoE measurement reporting not supported” can also be introduced… if the target radio network node does not indicate anything with respect to the QoE measurement reporting, the wireless device may infer that QoE measurement reporting is not supported by the target radio network node and may refrain from reporting QoE measurements after handover).
Regarding Claim 54, Shi discloses a radio access network (RAN) node arranged to configure a user equipment (UE) to perform quality-of-experience (QoE) measurements, the RAN node comprising: communication interface circuitry configured to communicate with UEs and with a network node or function outside the RAN; and processing circuitry operatively coupled to the communication interface circuitry, whereby the processing circuitry and the communication interface circuitry are configured to carry out a method according to claim 32 (see FIG. 1 and FIG. 2).
Regarding Claim 55, Shi discloses a computer program product comprising computer-executable instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry of a radio access network (RAN) node arranged to configure user equipment (UEs) to perform quality-of-experience (QoE) measurements, configure the RAN node to carry out a method according to claim 32 (see para 25).
Claim(s) 56-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu (US 20230308925 A1).
Regarding Claim 56, Shi discloses a method for a user equipment (UE), for handling configurations of quality-of- experience (QoE) measurements in a radio access network (RAN),the method comprising:
receiving, from a RAN node, a QoE measurement configuration (QMC) for one or more service types or applications (see para 148, The QoE measurement service type may include QMC used for a streaming service, QMC used for an MTSI service, and the like. A method for a base station to select UE for performing QoE measurement is basically the same as a method for selecting UE in common MDT measurement. The base station sends a QoE measurement configuration to the UE by using an RRC reconfiguration message; also see FIG. 5, para 166, S502: The RAN sends the application layer measurement configuration information to UE… at para 169, The RAN sends, by using an RRC message, the application layer measurement configuration information obtained from the CN, the OAM, or the EM to the UE, where the message may also carry a service type corresponding to the application layer measurement configuration information. The application layer measurement configuration information is sent to the UE in a form of a container);
determining that the UE already has a QoE configuration for the same service type or application (see para 187, When UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state, the UE stores configuration information/i.e., representing the scenario where QoE configuration is stored, for example, a cell radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) of the UE, received from a network side in UE inactive access stratum context (UE inactive AS context), where an application layer measurement configuration received from the network side may be kept at an AS layer and/or an application layer); and
upon said determining, taking one or more of the following actions:
(see para 187, when the UE is resumed from RRC_INACTIVE to RRC_CONNECTED, in some scenarios, the UE can release a previous application layer measurement configuration. For example, for management-based QoE measurement, a new base station may not receive a QoE measurement configuration from a network management system, for example, an OAM or an EM. In this case, the UE can release the previous application layer measurement configuration);
Regarding Claim 57, Shi discloses a user equipment (UE) configured to perform quality-of-experience (QoE) measurements in a radio access network (RAN), the UE comprising: radio transceiver circuitry configured to communicate with at least one RAN node; and processing circuitry operatively coupled to the radio transceiver circuitry, whereby the processing circuitry and the radio transceiver circuitry are configured to perform a method according to claim 56 (see FIG. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 38-41, 48-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi (US 20200413301 A1, from IDS) in view of Jung (US 20210274587 A1, from IDS).
Regarding Claims 38, 48, Shi does not disclose: the method further comprises sending, to the second node, a request regarding the one or more QoE measurements, wherein the request comprises any one of: a request to suspend one or a list of the activated QoE measurements; a request to resume one or a list of the suspended QoE measurements; a request to release or to pause one or a list of the activated QoE measurements; a request to reconfigure or replace a measurement configuration, or a list of such reconfigurations/replacements
In the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches: a request to suspend one or a list of the activated QoE measurements; a request to resume one or a list of the suspended QoE measurements; a request to release or (see para 143, The MN 1g-02 may transmit an SN modification request message to the SN 1g-03 to initiate the SN modification procedure (operation 1g-15). The SN modification request message 1g-15 may include the following information: see paras 152-153, The SN modification request message may include information to request whether there is data activity of the terminal in the SCG RLC bearer or the split bearer among the MN-terminated bearers. For example, when identifying whether there are PDU session/QoS flows, which are mapped to the SCG RLC bearer(s) among the MN-terminated bearer(s) and activated/i.e., representing the activated QOS/QoE, the corresponding information may be included in the new indicator or the new IE. The SN modification request message include information to request whether to maintain, suspend, or release the configuration information of the SCG RLC bearer(s) or the split bearer(s) among the MN-terminated bearer(s) in the case where the SCG RLC bearer or the split bearer among the MN-terminated bearers includes or does not include the information to request whether there is data activity of the terminal; also see paras 170-179, According to the SN modification procedure 1g-15 and 1g-20, the MN 1g-02 and the SN 1g-03 may maintain or release N2/N3 connection for the MR-DC terminal or the NR-DC terminal. When the N2/N3 connection is maintained, the MN 1g-02 and the SN 1g-03 may perform operations below: The MN and the SN may maintain, suspend, or release MR-DC configuration information or NR-DC configuration information; and at para 159, FIG. 1G., The SN modification request message may include information to request whether it is possible to change only a part of configuration (delta configuration) information from within current SCG configuration and apply the changed information. For example, information to request whether delta configuration is applicable when the MN performs handover within the same MN while keeping the SN may be included.).
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Shi, to suspend or release the activated QOS measurements as taught by Jung, to support dual connectivity of a terminal which operates in an RRC inactive mode. (see Jung, para 2), and based on the KSR rational F - Known work in one field of endeavor (QoS) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (QoE) based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claims 39, 50, Shi does not disclose details regarding: receiving, from the second node, a message acknowledging the request or
In the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches this limitation: see paras 159-160, FIG. 1G., The SN modification request message may include information to request whether it is possible to change only a part of configuration (delta configuration) information from within current SCG configuration and apply the changed information. For example, information to request whether delta configuration is applicable when the MN performs handover within the same MN while keeping the SN may be included. The SN having received the SN modification request message may transmit an SN modification request acknowledge message to the MN.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Shi, to modify configuration information relating to measurement from the SN as taught by Jung, to support dual connectivity of a terminal which operates in an RRC inactive mode. (see Jung, para 2), and based on the KSR rational F - Known work in one field of endeavor (QoS) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (QoE) based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claims 40, 51, Shi discloses does not disclose details regarding: sending, to the second node, a second request, the second request being modified based on the message received from the second node.
In the same field of endeavor, Jung teaches this limitation: see FIG. 1G. paras 269-267, In operation 1g-60, when the terminal receives only cell group information of the MN, without cell group information of the SN, the terminal may resume all DRBs and SRB2, except for RLC bearers of the SN … a new indicator for indicating to release the SN cell group information or the SCG (release SN cellGroupConfig or release the SCG) may be defined and included in the RRCResume message; para 298, In operation 1g-70, when it is determined that the MR-DC or the NR-DC is to be applied to the terminal, the MN transmits the SN modification request message, which is described in operation 1g-15, to the terminal. The SN having received the SN modification request message may transmit the SN modification request acknowledgment message.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Shi, to modify configuration information relating to measurement from the SN using RRC resume as taught by Jung, to support dual connectivity of a terminal which operates in an RRC inactive mode. (see Jung, para 2), and based on the KSR rational F - Known work in one field of endeavor (QoS) may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one (QoE) based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding Claims 41, 52, Shi discloses: the request pertains to multiple Ues (see paras 73-74, to assist the target radio network node, during the handover preparation, the source radio network node could inform the target radio network node if the QoE measurement has been configured for the concerned wireless device; and at para 62, the RRC message (an RRCConnectionReconfiguration encapsulated in a Handover Command) from the target radio network node an explicit indication, e.g. “QoE measurement reporting allowed”, “QoE measurement reporting supported”, etc., to allow the wireless device to report the QoE measurements after the handover. An explicit indication of “QoE measurement reporting not allowed” or “QoE measurement reporting not supported” can also be introduced; also see FIG. 1 depicting two wireless devices).
Regarding Claim 49, Shi discloses the method of claim 48, the method further comprising responding with an indication of a status of execution of the request (see para 77, after having received a measurement report (e.g., an RRC Measurement Report message)/i.e., representing radio related measurements, from the wireless device, the source radio network node determines to hand over the wireless device to a target radio network node. In preparation of the handover, the source radio network node transmits a handover request message (e.g., an X2AP Handover Request message) to the target radio network node… the handover request message may include an indication that QoE measurements have been configured at the wireless device. For example, the handover request message may include the “QoE measurement configured” indication).
Regarding Claim 53, Shi discloses the method of claim 42, further comprising sending, to the first node, a request to configure the UE with one or more radio measurements to be linked to the QoE measurement of the UE (see para 77, after having received a measurement report (e.g., an RRC Measurement Report message)/i.e., representing radio related measurements, from the wireless device, the source radio network node determines to hand over the wireless device to a target radio network node. In preparation of the handover, the source radio network node transmits a handover request message (e.g., an X2AP Handover Request message) to the target radio network node… the handover request message may include an indication that QoE measurements have been configured at the wireless device. For example, the handover request message may include the “QoE measurement configured” indication).
.
Conclusion
/DEEPA BELUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472