DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS), dated 08/07/2026, comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, they have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Status of the application
Receipt of Applicant’s claim amendments and arguments filed 08/07/2026 is acknowledged.
In light of applicants arguments, previous 103 rejection is withdrawn.
A new 103 rejections are made, see below and so, applicants arguments are moot.
Claim Rejection - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sur (US2009/0099077A1) in view of Bon (Molecular Psychiatry, 2016, 21, 126-132), Arranz (Neurobiology of Disease, 2019, 127, 210) and Duan (Molecular Psychiatry, 2018, 23, 747-758).
Sur teaches a method of treating autism or autism spectrum disorders by administering (1-3)IGF-1 [0008, 0030-0031].
In the above teachings, the (1-3)IGF-1 is identical to applicants elected species. Since the ‘product’ is identical in both cases and ‘autism or autism spectrum disorders’ are associated with neurodevelopmental condition rooted in the brain, administration of (1-3)IGF-1 is expected to increase cortical mass, absent evidence to the contrary.
The above is supported by the following case laws:
The products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Feb. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicants disclose and/or claims are necessarily present.
A compound and all of its properties are generally inseparable. In re Papsech, 315 F2d. 381, 137 USPQ 43, (CCPA 1963).
“[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer.” Atlas Powder Co. v. Ireco Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
See, e.g., In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (anticipation rejection affirmed based on Board’s factual finding that the reference dispenser (a spout disclosed as useful for purposes such as dispensing oil from an oil can) would be capable of dispensing popcorn in the manner set forth in appellant’s claim 1 (a dispensing top for dispensing popcorn in a specified manner)) and cases cited therein. (MPEP § 2114)
“Under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986)… See also In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)” (MPEP § 2112.02)
Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
“Once a reference teaching product appearing to be substantially identical is made the basis of a rejection, and the examiner presents evidence or reasoning tending to show inherency, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.”
“[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on ‘inherency’ under 35 U.S.C. 102, on ‘prima facie obviousness’ under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same...[footnote omitted].” The burden of proof is similar to that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (quoting In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-34 (CCPA 1977)).” (MPEP 2112 V) (MPEP 2100-48).
Further, there is a nexus between mutant DYRK1A and autism and other neurological disorders, see the following art:
Bon teaches that disruptive de novo mutations of DYRK1A lead to a syndromic form of autism and ID [see abstract].
Arranz teaches a link between mutations in DYRK1A and autism and down syndrome [see abstract].
Duan also teaches autism-associated Dyrk1a truncation mutants impair neuronal dendritic and spine growth and interfere with postnatal cortical development [see abstract].
Since autism and Dyrk1 are related, as evidenced from the above teachings, lower levels of cortical mass can be expected. It may be a one of the marker or property of autism.
Based on the above established facts from the cited prior art, it appears that all the claimed elements, i.e, applicants elected species and its utility in treating autism, and link between DYRK1A and autism etc., were known in the prior art, and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known relationships, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The motivation to modify and/or combine the art can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their common known purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Conclusion
/SUDHAKAR KATAKAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658