Claim Objections
Claims 12-15 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 12 recites the phrase “the applying the insulating liquid for forming the second insulating layer comprising…” (emphasis examiner’s). The phrase would read more naturally if comprising were changed to “comprises”
The balance of claims are objected to for being dependent upon an already allowed claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (US20210159505A1) in view of Takahara et al. (WO2015156213A1, hereinafter Takahara).
Regarding claim 1, Kato teaches an electrode for a lithium secondary battery, comprising:
a current collector (Fig. 4 current collector 32);
an electrode mixture layer disposed on one side or both sides of the current collector (Figs. 3-4 active material layer 34 disposed on both sides of current collector 32); and
an insulating layer, wherein the insulating layer comprises a first insulating layer comprising a first binder and (Fig. 4, par. 38 insulating layer 36a “the binder contained in the insulating layer 36…such as polyfluoride vinylidene (PVdF) can be preferably used as the binder”), wherein
the first binder comprises polyvinylidene fluoride (PVDF) (Par. 38 “the binder contained in the insulating layer 36…such as polyfluoride vinylidene (PVdF) can be preferably used as the binder”), and
the second binder comprises styrene butadiene rubber (SBR) (While Kato does not teach a second insulating layer disposed on the first insulating layer, in par. 41 they do teach the use of “a binder (for example, rubbers such as styrene-butadiene copolymers [SBR])”).
Kato does not appear to teach
a second insulating layer disposed on the first insulating layer.
Takahara teaches in par. 23 that “it is desirable that the insulating layer 16 is also formed on the edge portions of the electrode layer 12” because if it isn’t then “a short circuit is likely to occur at the defective insulation portion 17” and additionally teaches
a second insulating layer disposed on the first insulating layer (Fig. 7 insulating layer 16 disposed on edge of electrode over insulating layer 27).
Being in analogous arts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato with the teachings of Takahara because the inclusion of the second insulating layer “improves the coverage of the insulating material on the edge of the electrode layer and has the effect of reducing short-circuit defects” (Par. 38).
Additionally, as Kato teaches in par. 41 the use of “a binder (for example, rubbers such as styrene-butadiene copolymers [SBR])” as a binder in an insulating layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use SBR as a binder in the second insulating layer as taught by Takahara.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Kato and Takahara teach the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1, wherein
the current collector comprises a non-coated part on which the electrode mixture layer is not formed (Fig. 4 current collector 32 has rightmost portion not coated by active material layer 34), and the first insulating layer disposed on the non-coated part the current collector and the electrode mixture layer (Fig. 4 insulating layer 36a disposed on rightmost portion of current collector 32 and active material layer 34).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Kato and Takahara teach the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 2, wherein
the second insulating layer disposed on the non-coated part of the current collector and the electrode mixture layer (Takahara teaches a second insulating layer disposed over the edge of the electrode mixture layer, see above rejection of claim 1. While the combination of Kato and Takahara does not explicitly disclose the second insulating layer also being disposed on the non-coated part of the current collector, the primary function of the second insulating layer as taught by Takahara is to provide increased electrical isolation. A rearrangement of the second insulating layer to also be disposed on the non-coated part of the current collector would not provide any new or unexpected results as the primary function of providing electrical isolation is maintained. Additionally, as nothing within the disclosure indicates the presence of new or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were effectively filed to therefore rearrange the second insulating layer to also be disposed on the non-coated part of the current collector, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Kato and Takahara teaches the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 2, wherein
a surface of the first insulating layer is completely covered by the second insulating layer (While the combination of Kato and Takahara does not explicitly disclose a surface of the first insulating layer is completely covered by the second insulating layer, the primary function of the second insulating layer as taught by Takahara is to provide increased electrical isolation. A rearrangement of the second insulating layer to have a surface of the first insulating layer be completely covered by the second insulating layer would not provide any new or unexpected results as the primary function of providing electrical isolation is maintained. Additionally, as nothing within the disclosure indicates the presence of new or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were effectively filed to therefore rearrange the second insulating layer to have a surface of the first insulating layer be completely covered by the second insulating layer, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kato and Takahara teach the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1, wherein
the inorganic particles comprise one or more chosen from AlOOH, A1203, y-AlOOH, Al(OH)3, Mg(OH)2, Ti(OH)4, TiO2, MgO, CaO, Cr2O3, MnO2, Fe2O3, CoO4, NiO, ZrO2, BaTiO3, SnO2, CeO2, Y203, SiO2, silicon carbide (SiC), and boron nitride (BN) (Par. 37 “Specific examples of such inorganic filler include…titania (TiO2)”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kato and Takahara teach the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1, wherein
the first insulating layer further comprises an additional binder and second inorganic particles in addition to the first binder (In par. 37 Kato teaches regarding inorganic fillers that “[a]ny one of the materials may be contained alone, or two or more kinds thereof may be included in combination” and in par. 27 when discussing the binders they teach “[t]he materials may be used alone or two or more kinds thereof may be used in combination.”), wherein
the additional binder comprises one or more chosen from polyvinyl alcohol, polyethylene oxide, cellulose acetate, polyacrylonitrile, polyacrylate rubber, polymethacrylate, and polyvinyl acetate (Kato par. 27 “a binder (for example…polyethylene oxide).” As Kato teaches the use of polyethylene as a binder in the active electrode layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use polyethylene as a binder in the insulating layer).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kato and Takahara teaches the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1, wherein
the second insulating layer further comprises an additional binder in addition to the second binder (Kato par. 27 when discussing the binders they teach “[t]he materials may be used alone or two or more kinds thereof may be used in combination.”), wherein
the additional binder comprises one or more chosen from polyvinylidene fluoride copolymer, polyvinyl alcohol, polyethylene oxide, cellulose acetate, polyacrylonitrile, polyacrylate rubber, polymethacrylate, and polyvinyl acetate (Kato par. 27 “a binder (for example…polyethylene oxide).” As Kato teaches the use of polyethylene as a binder in the active electrode layer, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to additionally use polyethylene as a binder in the insulating layer).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kato and Takahara teaches the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 6, wherein
the first insulating layer contains 20wt% to 99wt% of the first binder with respect 100 wt% of the first insulating layer (Kato par. 38 “[t]he binder contained in the insulating layer 36 is, for example, typically 30% by mass or less.” As Kato’s taught range overlaps the claimed range, it is anticipated by Kato, see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kato and Takahara teaches the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 7, wherein
the second insulating layer contains 20wt% to 99wt% of the second binder with respect to 100 wt% of the second insulating layer (Kato par. 38 “[t]he binder contained in the insulating layer 36 is, for example, typically 30% by mass or less.” As Kato’s taught range overlaps the claimed range, it is anticipated by Kato, see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Kato and Takahara teaches the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 1, wherein
each thickness of the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer is 1 μm to 15 μm (Kato par. 39 “the thickness of the insulating layer 36 is…more preferably 4 μm or larger.” As Kato’s taught range overlaps the claimed range, it is anticipated by Kato, see MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Regarding claim 11, Kato teaches a method for manufacturing an electrode for a lithium secondary battery, comprising:
preparing an insulating liquid for forming a first insulating layer by mixing a binder component containing a solvent and a first binder (Fig. 4, par. 38 insulating layer 36a “the binder contained in the insulating layer 36…such as polyfluoride vinylidene (PVdF) can be preferably used as the binder” and par. 44 teaches that solutions for preparing the layers can be “obtained by dissolving or dispersing a supporting salt as an electrolyte in a non-aqueous solvent…can be used without particular limitation”);
applying a slurry for an electrode mixture containing an electrode active material on a current collector (Figs. 3-4 active material layer 34 disposed on both sides of current collector 32);
applying the insulating liquid for forming the first insulating layer (Fig. 4 insulating layer 36a).
Kato does not appear to teach
preparing an insulating liquid for forming a second insulating layer by mixing a binder component containing inorganic particles, a solvent, and a second binder
applying the insulating liquid for forming the second insulating layer.
Takahara teaches in par. 23 that “it is desirable that the insulating layer 16 is also formed on the edge portions of the electrode layer 12” because if it isn’t then “a short circuit is likely to occur at the defective insulation portion 17” and additionally teaches
a second insulating layer disposed on the first insulating layer (Fig. 7 insulating layer 16 disposed on edge of electrode over insulating layer 27).
Being in analogous arts, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato with the teachings of Takahara because the inclusion of the second insulating layer “improves the coverage of the insulating material on the edge of the electrode layer and has the effect of reducing short-circuit defects” (Par. 38).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Kato and Takahara teaches the method for manufacturing the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 11, wherein
the applying the insulating liquid for forming the second insulating layer comprising applying the insulating liquid for forming the second insulating layer on the first insulating layer (Takahara teaches the benefits of applying the second insulating layer over the first on the edge to increase electrical isolation, see above rejection of claim 12).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Kato and Takahara teaches the method for manufacturing the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 12, wherein
the applying the insulating liquid for forming the second insulating layer comprising applying the insulating liquid for forming the second insulating layer on the first insulating layer so that a surface of the first insulating layer is completely covered (While the combination of Kato and Takahara does not explicitly disclose a surface of the first insulating layer is completely covered by the second insulating layer, the primary function of the second insulating layer as taught by Takahara is to provide increased electrical isolation. A rearrangement of the second insulating layer to have a surface of the first insulating layer be completely covered by the second insulating layer would not provide any new or unexpected results as the primary function of providing electrical isolation is maintained. Additionally, as nothing within the disclosure indicates the presence of new or unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time the claims were effectively filed to therefore rearrange the second insulating layer to have a surface of the first insulating layer be completely covered by the second insulating layer, see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Kato and Takahara teaches the method for manufacturing the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 12, wherein
each viscosity of the insulating liquid for forming the first insulating layer and the insulating liquid for forming the second insulating layer is 1,000 cps to 10,000 cps at 25°C, respectively (Kato par. 58 “[t]he viscosity V2 of the insulating layer forming paste may be adjusted to a range of approximately 1000 to 5000 mPa·s” which examiner notes is the range 1000 cps to 5000 cps. Par. 57 teaches that “the “viscosity of paste” refers to a value measured at 25° C. with a rheometer at a shear rate of 21.5 s−1”).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Kato and Takahara teaches the method for manufacturing the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 14, wherein
the viscosity of the insulating liquid for forming the second insulating layer is smaller than the viscosity of the insulating liquid for forming the first insulating layer (Kato par. 59 teaches that “the viscosity V2 of the insulating layer forming paste is set lower than the viscosity V1 of the positive electrode active material layer-forming paste” so that “a contact angle of the insulating layer forming paste to the positive electrode current collector 32 is smaller than the contact angle of the positive electrode active material layer-forming paste to the positive electrode current collector 32, and the insulating layer forming paste can be easily made to be get under the positive electrode active material layer-forming paste.” A person of ordinary skill in the art with these teachings would therefore be motivated when applying a second insulating layer to adjust the relative viscosities as it impacts the end shape and function and so is a result effective variable that may be optimized by a person of ordinary skill, see MPEP 2144.05(II)(B)).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Kato and Takahara teaches the method for manufacturing the electrode for the lithium secondary battery of claim 11, wherein
a solvent of the insulating liquid for forming the first insulating layer and a solvent of the insulating liquid for forming the second insulating layer are the same (Fig. 4, par. 44 teaches that solutions for preparing the layers can be “obtained by dissolving or dispersing a supporting salt as an electrolyte in a non-aqueous solvent…can be used without particular limitation” and so a person of ordinary skill in the art when combining Kato and Takahara would be motivated to use the same solvent for both insulating layers formed).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Kato and Takahara teaches a lithium secondary battery comprising
the electrode according to claim 1 as a positive electrode or a negative electrode (Figs. 1, 4 the electrode as shown in fig. 4 is used in the battery shown in fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Danno (US20210194007A1) teaches electrodes similar to that taught by Kato and provides further details about binders and inorganic fillers.
/COLE LEON LINDSEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812