DETAILED ACTION
1-4,6,8-10,12-17,21-23 and 25 have been examined and are pending.
Status of Claims
In the Final Rejection mailed January 28, 2026 the status of the claims was as follows: Claim(s) 13, 14, and 15, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multicast-broadcast services (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; SP-200964.ZIP 23757-120, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, 30 November 2020 (2020-11-30), ХP051963796, cited in IDS received August 1, 2023 ) in view of DAI (US 20240056901 A1). Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 17, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multicast-broadcast services (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; SP-200964.ZIP 23757-120, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, 30 November 2020 (2020-11-30), ХP051963796, cited in IDS received August 1, 2023 ) in view of KADIRI (US 20240022968 A1) in view of DAI (US 20240056901 A1). Claim(s) 24 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multicast-broadcast services (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; SP-200964.ZIP 23757-120, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, 30 November 2020 (2020-11-30), ХP051963796, cited in IDS received August 1, 2023 ) in view of LEE (US 20180324646 A1). Claim(s) 18 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multicast-broadcast services (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; SP-200964.ZIP 23757-120, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, 30 November 2020 (2020-11-30), ХP051963796, cited in IDS received August 1, 2023 ) in view of KADIRI (US 20240022968 A1) in view of DAI (US 20240056901 A1) in view of LEE (US 20180324646 A1). However, there was typographic error as claim 18 should have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of KADIRI (US 20240022968 A1) in view of LEE (US 20180324646 A1). Claim(s) 20 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multicast-broadcast services (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; SP-200964.ZIP 23757-120, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, 30 November 2020 (2020-11-30), ХP051963796, cited in IDS received August 1, 2023 ) in view of KADIRI (US 20240022968 A1) in view of DAI (US 20240056901 A1) in view of LEE (US 20180324646 A1) and further in view of WANG (“US 20230292227 A1”). However, there was typographic error as claim 20 should have been rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of KADIRI (US 20240022968 A1) in view of LEE (US 20180324646 A1) and further in view of WANG (“US 20230292227 A1”). Claim 10, 12, 16, 21-23 and 25 were allowed.
Responsive to the Final Rejection, independent claim(s) 1 and 13 were amended. Applicants further in light of amended independent claim(s) 1 and 13, presented arguments in order overcome the prior art rejections of said claims. Applicants have amended independent claim 24. Applicants further presented arguments with respect to independent claim 18 and amended independent claim 24, in order overcome the prior art rejection(s) of said claims. All remaining claims rejected under prior art of record, were argued as overcoming the prior art of record by virtue of dependency on any one of claim(s) 1, 13, 18, and 24. Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8-10, 12-18, and 20-25 are pending. The arguments and amendments are addressed below.
Response to Remarks/Comments
Claim(s) 1 and 13
In the Final Rejection, Claim(s) 1 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multicast-broadcast services (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; SP-200964.ZIP 23757-120, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, 30 November 2020 (2020-11-30), ХP051963796, cited in IDS received August 1, 2023 ) in view of KADIRI (US 20240022968 A1) in view of DAI (US 20240056901 A1). Claim(s) 13 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of DAI (US 20240056901 A1). Applicants amended each of independent claim(s) 1 and 13, to include a limitation, “..determining a packet having a sequence number preceding the sequence number of the first information as the last packet to be forwarded..” and presented arguments in light of the amendments in order to overcome the prior art rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 13. The arguments and amendments were found to be effective in overcoming the prior art rejections of said claims. Accordingly, the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 13, 14, and 15, were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPPin view of DAI (US 20240056901 A1) are withdrawn. The rejections of claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 17, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of KADIRI (US 20240022968 A1) in view of DAI (US 20240056901 A1) are also withdrawn.
Claim(s) 18 and 24
In the Final Rejection, claim(s) 24 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multicast-broadcast services (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; SP-200964.ZIP 23757-120, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, 30 November 2020 (2020-11-30), ХP051963796, cited in IDS received August 1, 2023 ) in view of LEE (US 20180324646 A1). Claim(s) 18 was rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of KADIRI (US 20240022968 A1) in view of DAI (US 20240056901 A1) in view of LEE (US 20180324646 A1).
Responsive to the Final Rejection, Applicants argue that the prior art of record fails to teach and/or suggest the features of claim(s) 18 and 24. More specifically, Applicants refer to claim 24, where it recites, “…determining, by the target radio access node, that the communication device has been configured to receive the multicast or broadcasting service…”, arguing that the prior art combination of 3GPP in view of LEE fails to teach and/or suggest said feature.
In the Final Rejection, 3GPP was found to teach a feature for “…determining that the communication device has been configured to receive the multicast or broadcasting service…”, See pages 18-19 of the Final Rejection
“determining that the communication device has been configured to receive the multicast or broadcast service and transmitting a request to stop delivery of the unicast packet (See [6.27.2.3, Lossless packet transferring] “Depending on 3GPP RAN WG decision: If the Target RAN supports MBS, the MBS Session packets are forwarded to the Target RAN. This enables the Target RAN to address potential data loss or duplication for the UE being handed over, e.g. by a temporary unicast transmission of MBS data to the UE entering the cell until it is in synch with the multicast transmission in that cell. To enable the Target RAN to behave accordingly, a sequence number is inserted in for each data packet of the MBS session by MB-UPF and forwarded to NG-RAN.
During the handover procedure the Target NG-RAN compares the data packet sequence number of the forwarded MBS data from Source NG-RAN and the data packet sequence number of the MBS data received directly from 5GC. Based on the comparison the Target NG-RAN determines when to sends the MBS data received directly from 5GC to the UE. For example, when the data packet sequence number of the forwarded MBS data from Source gNB is equal to the data packet sequence number of the MBS data received directly from 5GC, the Target NG-RAN switches from unicast to multicast, the Source RAN set starts a timer when it starts to forward MBS packets to the Target RAN. When the timer expires, the Source RAN terminates the data forwarding. It is assumed when this timer is expired, the data packet gap of the MBS data between the two different gNB has been filled via the forwarding data path...”).
”
In order to distinguish the claimed invention from 3GPP, Applicants further limited the determining step of claim 24, such that is performed by the target radio access node, and argue that 3GPP is silent on said feature, see Remarks received May 19, 2026, page(s) 13-14 where,
“Applicant respectfully submits that a combination of 3GPP and Lee fails to disclose or suggest all of the elements of the claims. For example, 3GPP and Lee fail to disclose or suggest, at least, determining, by the target radio access node, that the communication device has been configured to receive the multicast or broadcasting service and transmitting a request to stop delivery of the unicast packet.”
Applicants point to where 3GPP discloses where a source RAN uses a timer to terminate data forwarding and conclude that the source RAN and not the target RAN determines that the communication device has been configured to receive the multicast or broadcasting service. See Remarks received, May 19, 2026, page(s) 13-14 where,
“As cited above, 3GPP discloses that the source RAN terminates the data forwarding when its own timer expires. The source RAN of 3GPP assumes that data forwarding can be terminated based on the timer; thus, 3GPP discloses a pre-defined time interval to infer that the condition for terminating data forwarding (i.e., the UE is now configured to receive MBS data) has been met. However, this is not equivalent with the target RAN (and not the source RAN) determining that the communication device has been configured to receive the multicast or broadcasting service, as recited in claim 24.”
In response to the Applicants arguments is noted that the Examiner agrees that the source RAN determines that the communication device has been configured to receive the multicast or broadcasting service. However, the Examiner disagrees with the conclusion that the target RAN does not make the determination. Further refer to 3GPP where it recites,
“ [6.27.2.3, Lossless packet transferring] “Depending on 3GPP RAN WG decision: If the Target RAN supports MBS, the MBS Session packets are forwarded to the Target RAN. This enables the Target RAN to address potential data loss or duplication for the UE being handed over, e.g. by a temporary unicast transmission of MBS data to the UE entering the cell until it is in synch with the multicast transmission in that cell. To enable the Target RAN to behave accordingly, a sequence number is inserted in for each data packet of the MBS session by MB-UPF and forwarded to NG-RAN.
During the handover procedure the Target NG-RAN compares the data packet sequence number of the forwarded MBS data from Source NG-RAN and the data packet sequence number of the MBS data received directly from 5GC. Based on the comparison the Target NG-RAN determines when to sends the MBS data received directly from 5GC to the UE. For example, when the data packet sequence number of the forwarded MBS data from Source gNB is equal to the data packet sequence number of the MBS data received directly from 5GC, the Target NG-RAN switches from unicast to multicast, the Source RAN set starts a timer when it starts to forward MBS packets to the Target RAN. When the timer expires, the Source RAN terminates the data forwarding. It is assumed when this timer is expired, the data packet gap of the MBS data between the two different gNB has been filled via the forwarding data path...”
3GPP discloses that the target NG-RAN switches from unicast to multicast. This switching feature is regarded as determining that the communication device is configured to receive a multicast service, by virtue of switching from unicast to multicast. Thus, the argument that the prior art of record, the combination of 3GPP in view of LEE fails to render obvious claim 24, because 3GPP fails to teach and/or suggest a feature for determining, by the target radio access node, that the communication device has been configured to receive the multicast or broadcasting service is unpersuasive. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 24 under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of LEE Is maintained. Furthermore with respect to claim 18, the rejection of said claim under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP in view of KADIRI (US 20240022968 A1) in view of DAI (US 20240056901 A1) in view of LEE (US 20180324646 A1) is also maintained as well, as it was argued to overcome the prior art of record for substantially the same reasons provided with respect to claim 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multicast-broadcast services (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; SP-200964.ZIP 23757-120, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, 30 November 2020 (2020-11-30), ХP051963796, cited in IDS received August 1, 2023 ) in view of LEE (US 20180324646 A1).
In regards to claim 24, 3GPP ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multicast-broadcast services (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; SP-200964.ZIP 23757-120, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, 30 November 2020 (2020-11-30), ХP051963796,) teaches a method comprising: receiving, in a target radio access node, unicast packets having a respective sequence number, the unicast packet being associated with a unicast from a source radio access node to a communication device, the communication device being handed over from the source radio access node to the target radio access node, said target radio access node providing a multicast or broadcasting service to the communications device; receiving, by the target radio access node, multicast packets having a respective sequence number for the communication device; using, by the target radio access node, the sequence number of the unicast packets and the multicast packets to determine duplicate packets; and (See [6.27.2.3 , Lossless packet transferring] “Depending on 3GPP RAN WG decision: If the Target RAN supports MBS, the MBS Session packets are forwarded to the Target RAN. This enables the Target RAN to address potential data loss or duplication for the UE being handed over, e.g. by a temporary unicast transmission of MBS data to the UE entering the cell until it is in synch with the multicast transmission in that cell. To enable the Target RAN to behave accordingly, a sequence number is inserted in for each data packet of the MBS session by MB-UPF and forwarded to NG-RAN.
During the handover procedure the Target NG-RAN compares the data packet sequence number of the forwarded MBS data from Source NG-RAN and the data packet sequence number of the MBS data received directly from 5GC. Based on the comparison the Target NG-RAN determines when to sends the MBS data received directly from 5GC to the UE. For example, when the data packet sequence number of the forwarded MBS data from Source gNB is equal to the data packet sequence number of the MBS data received directly from 5GC, the Target NG-RAN switches from unicast to multicast, the Source RAN set starts a timer when it starts to forward MBS packets to the Target RAN. When the timer expires, the Source RAN terminates the data forwarding. It is assumed when this timer is expired, the data packet gap of the MBS data between the two different gNB has been filled via the forwarding data path...”);
determining, by the target radio access node, that the communication device has been configured to receive the multicast or broadcast service and (See [6.27.2.3, Lossless packet transferring] “Depending on 3GPP RAN WG decision: If the Target RAN supports MBS, the MBS Session packets are forwarded to the Target RAN. This enables the Target RAN to address potential data loss or duplication for the UE being handed over, e.g. by a temporary unicast transmission of MBS data to the UE entering the cell until it is in synch with the multicast transmission in that cell. To enable the Target RAN to behave accordingly, a sequence number is inserted in for each data packet of the MBS session by MB-UPF and forwarded to NG-RAN.
During the handover procedure the Target NG-RAN compares the data packet sequence number of the forwarded MBS data from Source NG-RAN and the data packet sequence number of the MBS data received directly from 5GC. Based on the comparison the Target NG-RAN determines when to sends the MBS data received directly from 5GC to the UE. For example, when the data packet sequence number of the forwarded MBS data from Source gNB is equal to the data packet sequence number of the MBS data received directly from 5GC, the Target NG-RAN switches from unicast to multicast, the Source RAN set starts a timer when it starts to forward MBS packets to the Target RAN. When the timer expires, the Source RAN terminates the data forwarding. It is assumed when this timer is expired, the data packet gap of the MBS data between the two different gNB has been filled via the forwarding data path...”).
3GPP differs from claim 24, in that 3GPP is silent on the target radio access node, transmitting a request to stop delivery of the unicast packet. However, similar features have been seen in other prior art involving handling of communication channel that is no longer required (i.e. channel for unicast packet when multicast and broadcast service is supported).
LEE (US 20180324646 A1) in [Fig. 4A, Par. 57] teaches a feature where a target RAN is configured to transmit a request (i.e. the handover request ack w/ session disallowed indicator) that leads to a stop of a delivery of packets (i.e. request to release N9 tunnel resources)(“[0056] Thereafter, the SMF may provide the anchor UPF with information for the N9 tunnel setup with the intermediate UPF (e.g., an identification address of the intermediate UPF and tunnel identification information) through the N4 session modification procedure. Then, at step 6 (418), the SMF may transmit, to the AMF, a PDU session handover response message including the PDU session identification information and CN tunnel information for the N3 tunnel setup with the target RAN at the intermediate UPF. At step 7a (420), the AMF transmits, to the target RAN, a handover request message including the PDU session handover response message received from the SMF. If a plurality of PDU session handover response messages are generated, the AMF may wait for a specific time to collect all the PDU session handover response messages and then deliver all the collected messages to the target RAN at a time. Upon receiving the handover request message, the target RAN allocates a resource for the N3 tunnel setup with the intermediate UPF with respect to a PDU session allowed by the target RAN. Then, at step 7b (420), the target RAN transmits, to the AMF, a handover request ACK message including RAN tunnel information of the session (e.g., an identification address of the target RAN and tunnel identification information) together with identification information of the session (e.g. PDU session ID). The handover request ACK message may further include session identification information and a cause indicator with respect to a PDU session disallowed by the target RAN.
[0057] Upon receiving the handover request ACK message, the AMF generates and transmits, using the identification information of a PDU session at step 8 (422), a modify PDU session request message to the SMF that controls the PDU session. At this time, the modify PDU session request message may include different information, depending on whether the target RAN allows or not a session. In case of a session allowed by the target RAN, the RAN tunnel information set up for the N3 tunnel by the target RAN may be included. In this case, the SMF may provide the RAN tunnel information to the intermediate UPF at step 9 (424) to complete the N3 tunnel setup. In case of a session disallowed by the target RAN, the SMF may request the intermediate UPF to release the N3 and N9 tunnel resources set up at step 4 above. At this time, for the session disallowed by the target RAN, the SMF may further perform a PDU session release procedure.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of LEE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feature for the handling of a communication channel taught by 3GPP, to adopt a feature for transmitting a request to stop a communication channel, which would result in stopping the delivery of the unicast packet, as similarly seen in LEE, in order to provide a benefit of efficient use of communication resource, by stopping delivery of packets and/or release a communication channel when the communication resources are no longer needed.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multicast-broadcast services (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; SP-200964.ZIP 23757-120, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, 30 November 2020 (2020-11-30), ХP051963796, cited in IDS received August 1, 2023 ) in view of KADIRI (US 20240022968 A1) in view of LEE (US 20180324646 A1).
In regards to claim 18, 3GPP ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multicast-broadcast services (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; SP-200964.ZIP 23757-120, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, 30 November 2020 (2020-11-30), ХP051963796,) teaches an apparatus in a target radio access node, said apparatus comprising:
receiving unicast packets having a respective sequence number, the unicast packet being associated with a unicast from a source radio access node to a communication device, the communication device being handed over from the source radio access node to the target radio access node, said target radio access node providing a multicast or broadcasting service to the communications device;
receiving multicast packets having a respective sequence number for the communication device;
using the sequence number of the unicast packets and the multicast packets to determine duplicate packets; and (See [6.27.2.3 , Lossless packet transferring] “Depending on 3GPP RAN WG decision: If the Target RAN supports MBS, the MBS Session packets are forwarded to the Target RAN. This enables the Target RAN to address potential data loss or duplication for the UE being handed over, e.g. by a temporary unicast transmission of MBS data to the UE entering the cell until it is in synch with the multicast transmission in that cell. To enable the Target RAN to behave accordingly, a sequence number is inserted in for each data packet of the MBS session by MB-UPF and forwarded to NG-RAN.
During the handover procedure the Target NG-RAN compares the data packet sequence number of the forwarded MBS data from Source NG-RAN and the data packet sequence number of the MBS data received directly from 5GC. Based on the comparison the Target NG-RAN determines when to sends the MBS data received directly from 5GC to the UE. For example, when the data packet sequence number of the forwarded MBS data from Source gNB is equal to the data packet sequence number of the MBS data received directly from 5GC, the Target NG-RAN switches from unicast to multicast, the Source RAN set starts a timer when it starts to forward MBS packets to the Target RAN. When the timer expires, the Source RAN terminates the data forwarding. It is assumed when this timer is expired, the data packet gap of the MBS data between the two different gNB has been filled via the forwarding data path...”)
determining that the communication device has been configured to receive the multicast or broadcast service and (See [6.27.2.3, Lossless packet transferring] “Depending on 3GPP RAN WG decision: If the Target RAN supports MBS, the MBS Session packets are forwarded to the Target RAN. This enables the Target RAN to address potential data loss or duplication for the UE being handed over, e.g. by a temporary unicast transmission of MBS data to the UE entering the cell until it is in synch with the multicast transmission in that cell. To enable the Target RAN to behave accordingly, a sequence number is inserted in for each data packet of the MBS session by MB-UPF and forwarded to NG-RAN.
During the handover procedure the Target NG-RAN compares the data packet sequence number of the forwarded MBS data from Source NG-RAN and the data packet sequence number of the MBS data received directly from 5GC. Based on the comparison the Target NG-RAN determines when to sends the MBS data received directly from 5GC to the UE. For example, when the data packet sequence number of the forwarded MBS data from Source gNB is equal to the data packet sequence number of the MBS data received directly from 5GC, the Target NG-RAN switches from unicast to multicast, the Source RAN set starts a timer when it starts to forward MBS packets to the Target RAN. When the timer expires, the Source RAN terminates the data forwarding. It is assumed when this timer is expired, the data packet gap of the MBS data between the two different gNB has been filled via the forwarding data path...”).
3GPP differs from claim 18, in that 3GPP is silent on the apparatus comprising at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, causes the apparatus to perform the features of claim 18. 3GPP further differs from claim 18, in that 3GPP is silent on the target radio access node, transmitting a request to stop delivery of the unicast packet Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving wireless communication.
KADIRI (US 20240022968 A1) teaches where an apparatus comprises at least one processor and at least one memory storing instructions that when executed by the processor cause the apparatus to perform features pertaining to wireless communication (“[0010] In some aspects, a source base station for wireless communication at least one processor and at least one memory, communicatively coupled with the at least one processor, that stores processor-readable code. The processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, may be configured to cause the source base station may to …The processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, may be configured to cause the source base station to perform a handover to a target base station based at least in part on the indication.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of KADIRI it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify 3GPP such that apparatus uses a processor and memory with machine-readable code as described in claim 18, in order to provide a benefit of a physical structure that can implement the features described in 3GPP.
The combined teachings of 3GPP in view of KADIRI further differ from claim 18, in that the combined teachings are silent on where the target radio access node is caused to perform a step of transmitting a request to stop delivery of the unicast packet. However, similar features have been seen in other prior art involving handling of communication channel that is no longer required (i.e. channel for unicast packet when multicast and broadcast service is supported).
LEE (US 20180324646 A1) in [Fig. 4A, Par. 57] teaches a feature where a target RAN is configured to transmit a request (i.e. the handover request ack w/ session disallowed indicator) that leads to a stop of a delivery of packets (i.e. request to release N9 tunnel resources)(“[0056] Thereafter, the SMF may provide the anchor UPF with information for the N9 tunnel setup with the intermediate UPF (e.g., an identification address of the intermediate UPF and tunnel identification information) through the N4 session modification procedure. Then, at step 6 (418), the SMF may transmit, to the AMF, a PDU session handover response message including the PDU session identification information and CN tunnel information for the N3 tunnel setup with the target RAN at the intermediate UPF. At step 7a (420), the AMF transmits, to the target RAN, a handover request message including the PDU session handover response message received from the SMF. If a plurality of PDU session handover response messages are generated, the AMF may wait for a specific time to collect all the PDU session handover response messages and then deliver all the collected messages to the target RAN at a time. Upon receiving the handover request message, the target RAN allocates a resource for the N3 tunnel setup with the intermediate UPF with respect to a PDU session allowed by the target RAN. Then, at step 7b (420), the target RAN transmits, to the AMF, a handover request ACK message including RAN tunnel information of the session (e.g., an identification address of the target RAN and tunnel identification information) together with identification information of the session (e.g. PDU session ID). The handover request ACK message may further include session identification information and a cause indicator with respect to a PDU session disallowed by the target RAN.
[0057] Upon receiving the handover request ACK message, the AMF generates and transmits, using the identification information of a PDU session at step 8 (422), a modify PDU session request message to the SMF that controls the PDU session. At this time, the modify PDU session request message may include different information, depending on whether the target RAN allows or not a session. In case of a session allowed by the target RAN, the RAN tunnel information set up for the N3 tunnel by the target RAN may be included. In this case, the SMF may provide the RAN tunnel information to the intermediate UPF at step 9 (424) to complete the N3 tunnel setup. In case of a session disallowed by the target RAN, the SMF may request the intermediate UPF to release the N3 and N9 tunnel resources set up at step 4 above. At this time, for the session disallowed by the target RAN, the SMF may further perform a PDU session release procedure.”)
Thus based upon the teachings of LEE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feature for the handling of a communication channel taught by 3GPP in view of KADIRI, to adopt a feature for transmitting a request to stop a communication channel, which would result in stopping the delivery of the unicast packet, as similarly seen in LEE, in order to provide a benefit of efficient use of communication resource, by stopping delivery of packets and/or release a communication channel when the communication resources are no longer needed.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP ("3rd Generation Partnership Project; Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on architectural enhancements for 5G multicast-broadcast services (Release 17)", 3GPP DRAFT; SP-200964.ZIP 23757-120, 3RD GENERATION PARTNERSHIP PROJECT (3GPP), MOBILE COMPETENCE CENTRE; 650, ROUTE DES LUCIOLES; F-06921 SOPHIA-ANTIPOLIS CEDEX; FRANCE, 30 November 2020 (2020-11-30), ХP051963796, cited in IDS received August 1, 2023 ) in view of KADIRI (US 20240022968 A1) in view of LEE (US 20180324646 A1) and further in view of WANG (“US 20230292227 A1”).
In regards to claim 20, 3GPP in view of KADIRI in view of LEE is silent on the apparatus as claimed in claim 18, wherein the source radio access node does not support a multicast or broadcast service. However, similar features have been seen in other prior art involving 5G handover. WANG (“US 20230292227 A1”) teaches a 5G handover feature where a source radio access node doesn’t support a multicast or broadcast service in a handover process (“[0145] In an embodiment, a UE camping in a source RAN which does not support the MBS receives multicast data via the unicast PDU session. When the UE moves to a target RAN which supports the MBS, the unicast PDU session may be converted to the multicast session. The following embodiments illustrate a multicast service join procedure and the procedure for delivery method switch from unicast to multicast due to inter-RAN handover based on at least two different architecture alternatives.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of WANG it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify 3GPP in view of KADIRI in view of LEE, such that the source radio access node doesn’t support MBMS, thus arriving at claim 20, in order to provide a benefit of support of a MBMS service in a handover situation when the source RAN node isn’t MBMS capable and the target RAN node is MBMS capable.
Allowable Subject Matter
The allowed claim(s) is/are: 1-4, 6, 8-10, 12-17 and 21-23 and 25.
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476