DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 29-32 and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 2018/0054827; hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 1, Chen teaches a computer-implemented method performed by a first node, the first node operating in a communications network, the method comprising (Paragraph [0006] describes a first mesh node):
obtaining, from another node operating in the communications network, a respective indication of a respective efficiency measure of power use of a plurality of nodes operating in the communications network along at least two paths (Paragraphs [0039]; [0042]; [0043]; [0046]-[0048] describes a first mesh node obtaining energy consumption information (efficiency measures of power use) from other nodes about multiple second mesh nodes);
and selecting a path for a first packet in the communications network, among the at least two paths, based on the obtained respective indication (Paragraphs [0034]; [0043]; [0046]; [0053]; [0065]-[0066]; [0079]-[0081] describes selecting among multiple routes (paths) based on the energy consumption information obtained from other nodes to data exchange).
Regarding claim 29, Chen teaches a first node, the first node being configured to operate in a communications network, the first node being further configured to (Paragraph [0006] describes a first mesh node):
obtain, from another node configured to operate in the communications network, a respective indication of a respective efficiency measure of power use of a plurality of nodes configured to operate in the communications network along at least two paths (Paragraphs [0039];[0042]; [0043]; [0046]-[0048] describes a first mesh node obtaining energy consumption information (efficiency measures of power use) from other nodes about multiple second mesh nodes);
and select a path for a first packet in the communications network, among the at least two paths, based on the respective indication configured to be obtained (Paragraphs [0034]; [0043]; [0046]; [0053]; [0065]-[0066]; [0079]-[0081] describes selecting among multiple routes (paths) based on the energy consumption information obtained from other nodes to data exchange).
Regarding claim 30, Chen teaches wherein the respective efficiency measure of power use is configured to comprise a first efficiency measure of a power supply unit of a respective node of the plurality of nodes and a second efficiency measure of a battery unit of the respective node of the plurality of nodes (Paragraphs [0041]; [0053];[0065]; [0097] describes evaluating “power supply manner for each of the second mesh nodes” and distinguishing between “non-battery power supply” (first efficiency measure of power supply unit) and “battery power supply (second efficiency measure of battery unit)).
Regarding claim 31, Chen teaches wherein the respective indication is further configured to indicate a respective third efficiency measure of radio resources of the respective node of the plurality of nodes (Paragraphs [0066]-[0067]; [0073]; [0079] describes a third efficiency measure (signal strength) representing radio resources, obtained for each of a plurality of nodes, and used in route selection decisions).
Regarding claim 32, Chen teaches wherein the respective indication is configured to be one of: an observed respective efficiency measure of power use configured to be obtained from the respective nodes in the plurality of nodes, wherein the another node is configured to be a second node ,a predicted respective efficiency measure of power use configured to be obtained via a machine-learning model to predict the respective efficiency measure of power use of the plurality of nodes, wherein the another node is configured to be a third node, or an alarm with respect to one of the observed respective efficiency measure and the predicted respective efficiency measure (Paragraphs [0047]; [0053]; [0093] disclose obtaining observed energy consumption information from the second mesh node).
Regarding claim 37, Chen teaches wherein to obtain is configured to be performed based on at least one of: a periodicity (Paragraphs [0056]; [0061] describes at a specific time frequency such as once a day actively transmit energy consumption information ), and change in the respective efficiency measure exceeding a threshold (Paragraph [0086];[0089]; [0091] describes obtaining efficiency measures based on threshold changes (power below/above preset thresholds).
Claim(s) 12, 40, 42 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by O’Toole (US 2019/0107877; hereinafter O’Toole).
Regarding claim 12, O’Toole teaches a computer-implemented method performed by a third node, the third node operating in a communications network, the method comprising (Paragraphs [0028]; [0034] describes a “processing node and/or other cloud-based or external control module” and network node 116 operating within “system 100”, which is a communication network. This constitutes the “third node” operating in a communication network):
determining, using a machine-learning model, a respective indication of a predicted respective efficiency measure of power use of a plurality of nodes operating in the communications network along at least two paths (Paragraphs [0038]; [0054];[0057] describes using a machine-learning mechanisms to predict power usage patterns and efficiency measures for multiple nodes in the network. The machine learning generates “unique network usage models” and predicts “current usage window and /or current power state. Paragraphs [0027]-[0028]; [0078] describes a network topology with multiple power delivery paths. For example, path1 includes power node 106 (PDU/MDU 105A) network devices 102A; Path 2 includes power node 108 (PDU/MDU 105B ) network devices 102B. the system monitors and manages power efficiency across the different paths);
and sending, to a first node operating in the communications network, a respective indication of the determined respective efficiency measure of power use (Paragraphs [0040]; [0045]; [0056] describes sending notifications and power state information (including critical usage window information, power status, and battery charge remaining) from the third node (Processing node/control module) to first nodes (power nodes 106, 108, network devices, user interfaces) in the communications network).
Regarding claim 42, O’Toole teaches wherein the respective indication is further configured to indicate a predicted respective third efficiency measure of radio resources of the respective node of the plurality of nodes (Paragraphs [0027]; [0029]; [0034]; [0038]; [0057] describes predicting efficiency measures for wireless access points (nodes with radio resources). The machine learning mechanism predicts network usage patterns at “variable time instants,” which for wireless access points 110, 112 includes predicting the efficiency of radio resource utilization. The “network usage models” for wireless nodes inherently encompass radio resource efficiency, as wireless communication fundamentally depends on radio spectrum usage).
Regarding claim 43, O’Toole teaches wherein the respective indication is configured to be an alarm with respect to one of the observed respective efficiency measure and the predicted respective efficiency measure (Paragraphs [0040]; [0045]; [0055]-[0057]; [0066]; [0069] describes sending notifications or alerts based on both observed current efficiency measures and predicted future efficiency measures generated by the machine learning mechanism).
Claim 40 is rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 12 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 33 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Cheng et al. (US 2020/0245223; hereinafter Cheng).
Regarding claim 33, Chen doesn’t teach further configured to: route the first packet via the path configured to be selected by mapping bearer data to a backhaul Radio Link Control, (RLC) channel.
However, in analogous art Cheng teaches further configured to: route the first packet via the path configured to be selected by mapping bearer data to a backhaul Radio Link Control, (RLC) channel (Paragraphs [0032]; [0034]; [0036]-[0037]; [0046] describes routing configurations that store UE, next-hop, QoS, and backhaul RLC channel identification, enabling packets to be routed along a selected path by assigning them to a specific backhaul RLC channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Chen to incorporate the teachings of Cheng to provide a backhaul Radio Link Control, (RLC) and Backhaul Adaptation Protocol, (BAP) header structure for carrying energy efficiency indications in packet routing decisions within an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) network architecture. Doing so would enable energy-efficient routing in modern cellular backhaul networks while leveraging the standardized IAB protocol stack, thereby reducing overall network power consumption and extending network operational lifetime while maintaining compatibility with 5G NR infrastructure (Chen, Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 38, Chen in view of Cheng, Cheng teaches wherein the communications network is configured to be an Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB) network (Paragraphs [0032] describes IAB-donor and IAB nodes).
Claim(s) 34 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Cho et al. (US 2021/0045168; hereinafter Cho).
Regarding claim 34, Chen doesn’t teach wherein the respective indication is configured to be comprised in a second packet configured to comprise a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol, (BAP) header.
However, in analogous art Cho teaches wherein the respective indication is configured to be comprised in a second packet configured to comprise a Backhaul Adaptation Protocol, (BAP) header (Paragraphs [0210]; [0214] describes packet configured to comprise BAP)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Chen with Cho’s selecting a next-hop node for data transmission according to both of routing table configured on the IAB node and routing ID carried in Backhaul Adaptation Protocol (BAP) header of the packet to decrease header overheads (Cho, Paragraph [0263]).
Regarding claim 35, Chen in view of Cho, Cho teaches wherein the header is configured to comprise a BAP routing ID of parent nodes in the path configured to be selected (Paragraphs [0210]-[0214] describes BAP based routing in which each packet carries a routing ID in a BAP header, the routing ID identifying a selected path and enabling hop by hop forwarding via parent IAB nodes using routing tables).
Claim(s) 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Zhu et al. (US 2023/0180090; hereinafter Zhu).
Regarding claim 36, Chen doesn’t teach wherein the respective indication is configured to be comprised in a non-F1-U packet .
However, in analogues art Zhu teaches wherein the respective indication is configured to be comprised in a non-F1-U packet (Paragraph [0184] describes transmitting a non-F1 interface message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Chen with Zhu’s method of transmitting a non-F1 interface message to improve transmission reliability (Zhu, Paragraph [0089]).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Cheng in further view of Geng et al. (US 2023/0209467; hereinafter Geng).
Regarding claim 39, Chen in view of Cheng teaches, wherein the first node is configured to be one of a donor IAB node and an intermediate IAB node, and wherein the third node is configured to be one of the donor IAB node (Paragraphs [0032] describes IAB-donor and IAB nodes).
Chen in view of Cheng doesn’t teach and another node in a cloud.
However, in analogous art Geng teaches and another node in a cloud (Paragraph [0092] describes IAB) node in a cloud radio access network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined Chen and Cheng with Geng’s another node in a cloud to reduces complexity of energy and improve flexibility of an energy saving mechanism (Geng, Paragraph [0142]).
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Toole in view of Chen et al. (US 2018/0054827; hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 41, O’Toole in view of Chen, Chen teaches wherein the respective efficiency measure of power use is configured to comprise a first efficiency measure of a power supply unit of a respective node of the plurality of nodes and a second efficiency measure of a battery unit of the respective node of the plurality of nodes (Paragraphs [0041]; [0053];[0065]; [0097] describes evaluating “power supply manner for each of the second mesh nodes” and distinguishing between “non-battery power supply” (first efficiency measure of power supply unit) and “battery power supply (second efficiency measure of battery unit)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified O’Toole to incorporate the teachings of Chen to reduce overall network power consumption (Chen, Paragraph [0004]).
Regarding claim 44, O’Toole in view of Chen, Chen teaches wherein to send is configured to be performed based on at least one of: a periodicity, and a change in the respective efficiency measure exceeding a threshold(Paragraphs [0056]; [0061] describes at a specific time frequency such as once a day actively transmit energy consumption information ), and change in the respective efficiency measure exceeding a threshold (Paragraph [0086];[0089]; [0091] describes obtaining efficiency measures based on threshold changes (power below/above preset thresholds).
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Toole in view of Cheng et al. (US 2020/0245223; hereinafter Cheng).
Regarding claim 45, O’Toole in view of Cheng, Cheng teaches wherein the communications network is configured to be an Integrated Access Backhaul (IAB) network (Paragraphs [0032] describes IAB-donor and IAB nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified O’Toole to incorporate the teachings of Cheng to provide a backhaul Radio Link Control, (RLC) and Backhaul Adaptation Protocol, (BAP) header structure for carrying energy efficiency indications in packet routing decisions within an Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) network architecture. Doing so would enable to route data packet across the IAB network topology (Cheng, Paragraph [0003]).
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Toole in view of Cheng in further view of Geng et al. (US 2023/0209467; hereinafter Geng).
Regarding claim 46, O’Toole in view of Cheng and Geng, Cheng teaches wherein the first node is configured to be one of a donor IAB node and an intermediate IAB node, and wherein the third node is configured to be one of the donor IAB node (Paragraphs [0032] describes IAB-donor and IAB nodes).
O’Toole in view of Cheng doesn’t teach and another node in a cloud.
However, in analogous art Geng teaches and another node in a cloud (Paragraph [0092] describes IAB) node in a cloud radio access network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have combined O’Toole in view of Cheng with Geng’s another node in a cloud to reduces complexity of energy and improve flexibility of an energy saving mechanism (Geng, Paragraph [0142]).
Conclusion
/Chandrahas B Patel/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464
/M.W.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2464