DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment and response filed on August 03, 2023 has been entered. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on January 27, 2026 is acknowledged. Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, and 5-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/024,894. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims overlap or varying slightly in scope.
Claims 1 and 2 are anticipated by claims 1 and 3 of US ‘894. Likewise, claims 5 and 8 are anticipated by claims 5 and 8, respectively, of US ‘894.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to have discovered the workable ranges of resin of the first and second resins to be at least 60% of the member or filling through routine experimentation. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, "where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 9, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have added a colorant to the first and/or second member layers, motivated by the desire to obtain a layered structure having desired appearance properties.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Okumura et al. (US Pub 2019/0232886).
Regarding claim 1, Okumura discloses a layered structure (Figure 3) for an automobile emblem comprising a first member (#41) comprising a first resin material [0089], a second member (#32) comprising the first resin material [0083] and facing the first member, and a filling member (#36) comprising a second resin material [0089] provided between the first and second members.
Regarding claim 2, Okumura discloses that the first resin material can be polycarbonate ([0083], [0089]).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the first and second members and filling member are made entirely of the resin materials.
Regarding claim 8, Okumura discloses a decorative layer (#50) located between the second member and the filling member .
Regarding claim 9, Okumura discloses a colored layer or paint layer can be provided as part of the second member ([0114], [0115]).
Claims 1-3 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2016141355. The English language translation provided in the IDS of 08/03/2023 is relied upon in the below rejection.
Regarding claim 1, JP ‘355 discloses a layered structure (Figure 3) for an automobile emblem comprising a first member (#2) comprising a first resin material [0013], a second member (#3) comprising the first resin material [0014] and facing the first member, and a filling member (#50 or adhesive material [0024]) comprising a second resin material ([0041] or [0024]) provided between the first and second members.
Regarding claim 2, JP ‘355 discloses that the first resin material can be polycarbonate ([0013], [0014]).
Regarding claim 3, JP ‘355 discloses that a thermoset adhesive, such as an epoxy or urethane resin [0024], can be used to join the members.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the first and second members and filling member are made entirely of the resin material.
Regarding claim 8, JP ‘355 discloses a decorative layer (#5: #51/#50) located between the second member and the filling member .
Regarding claim 9, JP ‘355 discloses that the first member can contain coloring pigments and fillers [0013].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okumura et al. (US Pub 2019/0232886).
Okumura does not specifically disclose the thickness of the filling member. However, Okumura is directed to the same type of articles as the present invention, i.e., automobile emblems. It would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to have discovered the workable ranges, including using a filling member within the claimed range of from 0.1 mm to 3.0 mm, motivated by the desire to obtain an automobile emblem having a desired aesthetic or appearance properties. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2016141355.
Regarding claim 4, JP ‘355 does not disclose that the second resin material is a bisphenol A type epoxy resin or a polyol-based urethane resin. However, JP ‘355 discloses that the thermoset adhesive used can be an epoxy or urethane resin [0024]. As bisphenol A type epoxy resins and polyol-based urethane resins are common thermoset adhesives, it would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to have selected either of these resins based on the generic disclosure in JP ‘355.
Regarding claim 5, JP ‘355 does not specifically disclose the thickness of the filling member. However, JP ‘355 is directed to the same type of articles as the present invention, i.e., automobile emblems. It would have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to have discovered the workable ranges, including using a filling member within the claimed range of from 0.1 mm to 3.0 mm, motivated by the desire to obtain an automobile emblem having a desired aesthetic or appearance properties. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okumura et al. (US Pub 2019/0232886) in view of JP 2016141355.
Okumura does not disclose a second resin selected from an epoxy or urethane resin. However, Okumura suggests that an adhesive could be used to join the bases [0146]. As set forth above, JP ‘355 discloses that a thermoset adhesive, such as an epoxy resin, can be used to join the members of the layered structure. It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to have joined the members of Okumura using an epoxy resin, as taught in JP ‘355, motivated by the desire to use an adhesive that has a low dielectric loss tangent and is unlikely to be decamped by heat during molding (JP ‘355 [0024]).
/BLAINE COPENHEAVER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781