DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: DISPLAY APPARATUS RECESSED REGIONS AND PROTRUSIONS, AND DISPLAY PANEL OF THE DISPLAY APPARATUS AND MANUFACTURING METHOD THEREFOR.
Preliminary Amendment
Applicant's 8/4/2023 Preliminary Amendment to: 1. Replace the Abstract. 2. Amend the instant Specification for matters of form in the priority claim. 3. Amend the Claims is acknowledged.
Claims Status
Claims 1-18 and 20-21 are currently pending and being examined. Claims 7 and 16 have been amended. Claims 19 and 22-23 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A. Claim 8 recites the limitation "the protrusions" in lines 2-3 and in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
For examination purposes, "the protrusions" in lines 2-3 and in lines 3-4 will be interpreted to read as "the plurality of protrusions".
In Re claims 9-10 and 12, they are rejected due to their dependence from claim 8.
B. Claim 11 recites the limitation "the protrusions" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "the protrusions" in line 2 will be interpreted to read as "the plurality of protrusions".
C. Claim 13 recites the limitation "the protrusions" in line 4 and “a protrusion” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
For examination purposes, "the protrusions" in line 4 and “a protrusion” in line 5 will be interpreted to read as "the plurality of protrusions" and “a protrusion of the plurality of protrusions”.
D. Claim 14 recites the limitation "a protrusion" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, "a protrusion" in line 1 will be interpreted to read as "a protrusion of the plurality of protrusions".
E. Claim 15 recites the limitation "by a plurality of the protrusions" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, "by a plurality of the protrusions" in line 2 will be interpreted to read as "by a plurality of the plurality of protrusions".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-7, 16-17; 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LEE et al (US 2021/0210582 A1, hereafter Lee).
Re claim 1, Lee discloses in FIG. 9 (with references to FIGS. 3-4, 6 and 10-11) a display panel (10), comprising:
a substrate (100; [0077]) having a first pixel area (regions DA/NDA1; [0077]; [0107] and [0138]) and a second pixel area (rest of DA);
a driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200; [0062]) arranged on a side (upper surface) of the substrate (100), wherein an orthographic projection (2D shadow) of the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200) on the substrate covers (FIG. 3) the first pixel area (regions DA/NDA1) and the second pixel area (rest of DA), and the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200) located in the first pixel area (regions DA/NDA1) is provided with a recessed area (G1-Gn; [0093]-[0095]);
a plurality of first electrodes (221 of each pixel P; [0078] and [0133]), distributed in an array (between SL/DL crossings in FIG. 3) on a side (upper surface) of the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200) away from (above) the substrate (100), wherein the first pixel area (regions DA/NDA1) and the second pixel area (rest of DA) are both provided with the first electrodes (221 of each pixel P), and the first electrodes (221 of each pixel P) are spaced apart (separated) from the recessed area (G1-Gn);
a light-emitting functional layer (222 of pixels P; [0127] and [0133]) covering each of the first electrodes (221 of each pixel P);
a second electrode (223 of pixels P; [0133]) covering the light-emitting functional layer (222), wherein an orthographic projection (2D shadow) of the second electrode (223) on the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200) covers at least a part of an area (area A; [0106]) other than the first electrodes (221 of each pixel P).
Re claim 2, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the recessed area (G1-Gn) comprises a plurality of isolation holes (grooves; [0093]-[0095]) distributed at intervals (spaced apart; [0094]), and the isolation holes (grooves) extend from a surface (upper surface) of the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200) away from (above) the substrate (100) to the substrate (100).
Re claim 5, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 2, wherein an orthographic projection (2D shadow) of the second electrode (223) on the substrate (100) at most partially overlaps (at DA/NDA1 interface) with an orthographic projection (2D shadow) of the isolation holes (G1-Gn) on the substrate (100).
Re claim 6, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 2, wherein an angle between the substrate (100) and a boundary (vertical planes) of an orthographic projection (2D shadow) of a sidewall (left/right vertical planes) of the isolation holes (G1-Gn) on a plane (upper horizon) perpendicular (normal) to the substrate is 65°~125° (~90°).
Re claim 7, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 2, wherein the display panel (10) further comprises: a buffer layer (201; [0112]) located between the substrate (100) and the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200); the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200) comprises a pixel driving circuit (PC in FIG. 4; [0113]), and the pixel driving circuit (PC) comprises a plurality of transistors (T1/T2; [0113]) distributed in an array (between SL/DL crossings in FIG. 3), and the transistors (T1/T2) comprises: an active layer (ACT; [0113]) located on a side (upper surface) of the substrate (100) close to the first electrodes (each 221 of pixels P); a first gate insulating layer (203; [0113]) covering the active layer (ACT); a first gate electrode (GE; [0113]), disposed on a side (upper surface) of the first gate insulating layer (203) away from (above) the substrate (100); a second gate insulating layer (205; [0119]) covering the first gate electrode (GE) and the first gate insulating layer (203); an interlayer dielectric layer (207; [0119]) covering a second gate electrode (CE2; [0119]) and the second gate insulating layer (205); a source-drain layer (SE/DE; [0118]) formed on a side of the interlayer dielectric layer (207) away from (above) the substrate (100), and comprising a source electrode (SE) and a drain electrode (DE), wherein the source electrode (SE) and the drain electrode (DE) are respectively connected to both (left/right) ends of the active layer (ACT); the isolation holes (G1-Gn) penetrate through the interlayer dielectric layer (207), the second gate insulating layer (205), the first gate insulating layer (203) and the buffer layer (201).
Re claim 16, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein a number (1 shown in FIG. 9) of the first electrodes (221 of each pixel P) located in the first pixel area (regions DA/NDA1) per unit area (pixels P/per unit area) is less than a number of the first electrodes (unspecified number of 221 of each pixel P not shown in FIG. 3) located in the second pixel (rest of DA) area per unit area (pixels P/per unit area).
Re claim 17, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 16, wherein the display panel (10) further comprises: an encapsulation layer (300; [0134]) located on a side (upper surface) of the second electrode (223) and the recessed area (G1-Gn) away from (above) the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200).
Re claim 18, Lee discloses in FIGS. 3-4, 6 and 9-11 a method for manufacturing a display panel, comprising:
providing a substrate (see claim 1) having a first pixel area (see claim 1) and a second pixel area (see claim 1);
forming a driving layer (see claim 1) on a side of the substrate (100), wherein an orthographic projection (2D shadow) of the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200) on the substrate (100) covers the first pixel area (regions DA/NDA1) and the second pixel area (rest of DA), and the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200) located in the first pixel area (regions DA/NDA1) is provided with a recessed area (see claim 1);
forming a plurality of first electrodes (see claim 1) distributed in an array (see claim 1) on a side of the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200) away from (above) the substrate (100), wherein the first pixel area (regions DA/NDA1) and the second pixel area (rest of DA) are both provided with the first electrodes (221 of each pixel P), and the first electrodes (221 of each pixel P) are spaced apart (separated) from the recessed area (G1-Gn);
forming a light-emitting functional layer (see claim 1) covering each of the first electrodes (221 of each pixel P);
forming a second electrode (see claim 1) covering the light-emitting functional layer (222 of pixels P), wherein an orthographic projection (2D shadow) of the second electrode (223) on the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200) covers at least a part of an area (see claim 1) other than the first electrodes (221 of each pixel P).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of CHOI et al (US 2020/0119304 A1, hereafter Choi).
Re claim 3, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 2.
But, fails to disclose wherein the isolation holes (G1-Gn) have a depth of 0~3.5µm.
However,
Choi discloses in FIG. 8A or 8B a display panel (10), comprising: wherein an isolation hole (G1; [0169]) has a depth of 0~3.5µm (2.0 or 3.0µm; [0169]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Lee by using the isolation holes depths of Choi for the isolation holes depths of Lee, to provide a depth profile that promotes disconnection of the light-emitting functional layer and the second electrode in non-display regions of the display), and reduction of moisture penetrating toward the organic light-emitting diodes of the first display area ([0120]).
Re claim 4, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 2.
But, fails to disclose wherein a thickness of the second electrode (223) at a bottom of the isolation holes (G1-Gn) is smaller than a thickness of the second electrode (223) at a surface of the light-emitting functional layer (222).
However,
Choi further discloses in FIG. 8A or 8B wherein a thickness (vertical extension of left/right tips) of the second electrode (223) at a bottom of the isolation hole (G1) is smaller (less) than a thickness (vertical extension of the center) of the second electrode (223) at a surface (upper plane) of the light-emitting functional layer (222), as part of the moisture reduction structures discussed for claim 3.
Claims 8-13; and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of CHUNG et al (US 2020/0295300 A1, hereafter Chung).
Re claims 8-10, Lee discloses the display panel according to claim 1.
But, fails to disclose wherein the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200) has a plurality of protrusions distributed at intervals on a side away from the substrate (100), and the plurality of protrusions are located in the first pixel area (regions DA/NDA1); the recessed area (G1-Gn) is an area other than the plurality of protrusions and not covered by the first electrodes (221 of each pixel P); and wherein a thickness of the second electrode (223) at a gap between two adjacent protrusions is smaller than a thickness of the second electrode (223) at a surface of the light-emitting functional layer (222); and wherein an orthographic projection of the second electrode (223) on the substrate (100) at most partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of a gap between two adjacent protrusions on the substrate (100).
However,
Chung discloses in FIGS. 11A and 12 (with references to FIGS. 3-4) a display panel (10), comprising: wherein a driving layer (IL including TFT; [0075]) has a plurality of protrusions (portions of 119 forming H3 at TA of SA; [0108]) on a side away from a substrate (100), and the plurality of protrusions (portions of 119 forming H3 at TA of SA) are located a the first pixel area (SA of DA in FIG. 11A); a recessed area (OA) is an area other than the plurality of protrusions (portions of 119 forming H3 at TA of SA) and not covered by first electrodes (221’; [0108]); and wherein a thickness (lateral extension) of a second electrode (223p; [0112]) at a gap (Wt; [0194]) between two adjacent protrusions (left/right portions of 119 forming H3 at TA of SA) is smaller (less) than a thickness (vertical extension) of the second electrode (223p) at a surface (upper plane) of a light-emitting functional layer (222’ [0109]); and wherein an orthographic projection (2D shadow) of the second electrode (223p) on the substrate (100) at most partially overlaps with an orthographic projection (2D shadow) of a gap (Wt; [0194]) between two adjacent protrusions (left/right portions of 119 forming H3 at TA of SA) is smaller (less) than a thickness (vertical extension) on the substrate (100).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Lee by adding the SA region and its components of Chung to the first pixel area of Lee, such that the driving layer (lower TFT portion of 200) has a plurality of protrusions distributed at intervals on a side away from the substrate (100), and the protrusions are located in the first pixel area (regions DA/NDA1); the recessed area (G1-Gn) is an area other than the protrusions and not covered by the first electrodes (221 of each pixel P); and wherein a thickness of the second electrode (223) at a gap between two adjacent protrusions is smaller than a thickness of the second electrode (223) at a surface of the light-emitting functional layer (222); and wherein an orthographic projection of the second electrode (223) on the substrate (100) at most partially overlaps with an orthographic projection of a gap between two adjacent protrusions on the substrate (100), to provide regions for a camera and a sensor (Chung; [0189]).
Re claim 11, Lee and Chung disclose the display panel according to claim 8.
But, fail to disclose wherein an angle between the substrate (Lee/Chung: 100) and a boundary of an orthographic projection (2D shadow) of a sidewall (inner walls) of the plurality of protrusions (Chung: left/right portions of 119 forming H3 at TA of SA) on a plane perpendicular to the substrate (100) is 65°~90°.
However, Chung discloses the opening (H3) formed by the protrusions (Chung: portions of 119 forming H3 at TA of SA) is formed to have a degree of transmission ([0068]; [0188]-[0190] and [0194]-[0197]) relative to its associated sensor (20).
Thus, it would have been obvious, through routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05), to use protrusions wherein an angle between the substrate and a boundary of an orthographic projection of a sidewall (inner walls) of the protrusions on a plane perpendicular to the substrate is 65°~90°, to provide a pixel portion and a transmission portion having an improved light transmittance are arranged in a sensor area corresponding to a component such as a sensor, and thus an environment where the component is operable may be established and also an image may be realized in an area that overlaps the component (Chung; [0197]).
Re claims 12-13, Lee and Chung disclose the display panel according to claim 8, wherein the protrusions (Chung: portions of 119 forming H3 at TA of SA) are transparent protrusions (due to overlap with light sensor 20 and being made of SiN, SiON or SiOx; [0088]); and wherein the display panel (10) further comprises: a planarization layer (Chung; 117; [0108]) disposed on a surface (upper plane) of the driving layer (Chung: IL including TFT) away from the substrate (Lee/Chung: 100); the plurality of protrusions (portions of 119 forming H3 at TA of SA) are disposed on (directly contacting) the same layer (Chung: portion of 117 at TA) as the planarization layer (117), and a surface (upper plane) of a protrusion of the plurality of protrusions (left/right portions of 119 forming H3 at TA of SA) away from the driving layer (IL including TFT) protrudes (extends) from a surface (upper plane) of the planarization layer (117) away from the driving layer (IL including TFT), as part of the provided regions for the camera and the sensor discussed for claims 8-10.
Re claim 20, Lee and Chung disclose the method according to claim 18, wherein the driving layer has a plurality of protrusions distributed at intervals on a side away from the substrate, the protrusions are located in the first pixel area, and the recessed area is an area other than the protrusions and not covered by the first electrodes (see claim 8).
Claims 14; and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Chung as applied to claim 8; and claim 20 above, and further in view of Wu et al (US 2007/0008421 A1, hereafter Wu).
Re claim 14; and 21, Lee and Chung disclose the display panel according to claim 8; and the method according to claim 20.
But, fail to disclose wherein a surface of a protrusion of the plurality of protrusions (Chung: portions of 119 forming H3 at TA of SA) away from the driving layer (of Lee/Chung) is an arc surface.
However,
Wu discloses in FIGS. 2A-2C a method for manufacturing an optical panel, comprising: forming a plurality of protrusions (260d/260e/260f in FIGS. 2A-2C; [0026]), wherein a surface (upper curvature) of a protrusion (260d or 260e or 260f) of the plurality of protrusions (260d/260e/260f) away from (above) a driving layer (100; [0023]) is an arc surface (curved); and
wherein the method further comprises: baking (heated in FIGS. 2B-2C; [0026]) surfaces (upper planes in FIG. 2B) of the protrusions (260d/260e/260f) at a preset temperature (for softening; [0026]), so that the surfaces (upper planes) of the protrusions (260d/260e/260f) away from (above) the driving layer (100) are curved ([0026]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Lee and Chung by adding the plurality of protrusions of Wu, in the gap between adjacent protrusions of Chung, acting as microlenses of different curvatures, focusing light of different colors for maximum absorption (Wu; [0027]) by the sensor(s) of Chung.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Chung as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Wu and Huang (US 2022/0415978 A1).
Re claim 15, Lee and Chung disclose the display panel according to claim 8.
But, fail to disclose wherein each of the first electrodes (Lee: 221 of each pixel P) is surrounded by a plurality of the plurality of protrusions (Chung: portions of 119 forming H3 at TA of SA).
However,
A. Lee discloses first electrodes in the first and the second pixel areas (see claim 1), and Chung and Wu disclose a plurality of protrusions surrounding first electrodes in the first pixel area (see claims 8 and 14).
And,
B. Huang discloses in FIG. 5 (with references to FIG. 1) a display panel (10), comprising: wherein each first electrode (110; [0072]) is surrounded by a plurality of recesses (1202; [0069] and [0073]) in a plurality of protrusions (120; [0073]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Lee and Chung by adding the recesses of Huang to the protrusions of Chung, then further adding the protrusions of Wu to the recesses of Huang in the protrusions of Chung, wherein each of the first electrodes is surrounded by a plurality of the plurality of protrusions, increasing the absorption area of the sensors of Chung overlapping the plurality of protrusions of the displays discussed for claims 8-14.
Conclusion
/ERIC W JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2892