Of thDETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the application 18/275,839 filed on August 4th, 2023.
Claim Status
This office action is based upon claims received on 12/22/2025, which replace all prior or other submitted versions of the claims.
Claims 1 – 19 and 27 are pending.
Claims 1 – 7, 9 – 14, 16 – 19 and 27 are rejected.
Claims 8 and 15 are objected to.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Claim Objection: Claim 17 was objected to because of informalities. The appropriate corrections have been made and acknowledged. The claim objection is hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejection 35 USC § 112(b): Claims 1-11, 12-19, and 27 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Corrections have been made to the claim limitations and are acknowledged. The claim rejection under 35 USC § 112(b) is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 6 – 9 of the Remarks, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to the rejections of independent claims 1, 12, and 27, and dependent claims 2 – 11, and 13 – 19, under applied prior art references of record in the office action dated 10/01/2025, particularly as regards the amended limitations, have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Zhang et al. [US 20170012684 A1]. Therefore, the rejection has been revised as set forth below according to the amended claims. See office action below.
It should be noted that the scope of the previous claim 1 has been changed with the current amendment. The previous claim limitation recited “a larger frequency band comprising the subband…” however, the amended claim limitation recites “a contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger that the subband”. The term “contiguous has synonyms such as adjacent, in contact, neighboring, adjoining, bordering, next-door, abutting, joining, connecting, meeting, touching, proximate, near, and nearby among other synonyms (as seen in Thesaurus). None of these synonyms imply a comparison of size between two things, nor do they share synonyms with the previous limitation “larger” as presented in the previous claim limitations. Therefore, this amendment changes the scope of the limitation as recited in amended claim 1, and it necessitates a new ground(s) of rejection.
All remaining arguments presented by Applicant not specifically addressed herein and directed to various dependent claims are found unpersuasive for the same reasons as stated herein, with regard to independent claims. The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
The specification fails to provide the support for antecedent basis of the following amended claims limitation: “…a contiguous frequency band comprising the subband the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband”.
Applicant stated that the supports for the amended limitation can be found in specification paragraphs [0015], [0096] – [0097], and [0098].
Paragraph [0015] of the Published Specification states, "In a first aspect of the disclosure, there is provided a method performed by a network device. The method comprises determining at least one channel parameter for a subband related to a terminal device. The at least one channel parameter for the subband is calculated based on at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband." Corresponding language can be found in claim 1 prior to the present amendments. This language discloses that the channel parameter is calculated based on a frequency band larger than the subband.
The larger band can be of any appropriate size that comprises the subband, as explained in paragraphs [0096]-[0097] of the Published Specification.
Paragraph [0098] further explains, "In an embodiment, the large frequency band may comprise the subband and at least other subband. Each subband of the large frequency band may have respective at least channel parameters. The at least one channel parameter for the subband may be calculated based on the respective at least channel parameters for subbands comprised in the large frequency band." This discloses that the larger frequency band comprising the subband can include other subbands.
Further support for "a contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband" can be seen in Fig. 4.
For at least the above reasons, Applicant believes that the phrase "contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband" is supported by the specification. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that all pending claims satisfy the requirements of 35 USC § 112.
However, nowhere in the specification discloses the amended limitation.
Paragraphs [0015], [0096] – [0097], and [0098] only state as follows:
[0015] In a first aspect of the disclosure, there is provided a method performed by a network device. The method comprises determining at least one channel parameter for a subband related to a terminal device. The at least one channel parameter for the subband is calculated based on at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband.
…
[0096] The subband may be of any suitable size of frequency band. For example, a full frequency band channel may be segmented into two or more subbands with the same or similar length. The subband size may be a preset value. For example, in an embodiment, the subband may comprise 4 PRBs. The large frequency band may be of any suitable size of frequency band only of it comprises the subband.
[0097] The at least one channel parameter for the subband may be calculated based on at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband in various ways. For example, the at least one channel parameter for the subband may be calculated by the terminal device based on at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband and then the terminal device may report it to the network device. The at least one channel parameter for the subband may be calculated by network device based on at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband.
[0098] In an embodiment, the large frequency band may comprise the subband and at least other subband. Each subband of the large frequency band may have respective at least channel parameters. The at least one channel parameter for the subband may be calculated based on the
respective at least channel parameters for subbands comprised in the large frequency band. (Applicant, US 2024/0121766 A1, as seen in Specification dated 08/04/2023).
However, nowhere in these paragraphs does the applicant’s disclosure disclose the limitations as presented in the amended claim.
Applicant also stated that support for "… a contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband" can be seen in Fig. 4". However, nowhere in the specification paragraph [0125] which corresponds to Fig. 4 of the applicant’s disclosure does it disclose these limitations as amended. Accordingly, the limitation is not supported by the specification.
Paragraphs [0125] only states:
FIG. 4 shows an example of the precoder calculation based on the adaptive coherent bandwidth according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 4, f() represents a function form for the coherent bandwidth. g() represents a function form for the precoder. H represents a channel estimation for a subcarrier.” (Applicant, US 2024/0121766 A1, as seen in Specification dated 08/04/2023).
The written disclosure fails to define “… a contiguous frequency band comprising the subband the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband” in claims 1, 12, and 27. Accordingly, the limitation is not supported by the specification.
For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret as best understood.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 11, 12 – 19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites “… a contiguous frequency band comprising the subband the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband”. According to the Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks made in amendment dated December 22, 2025, Applicant stated that the support for the amended limitations can be found in the specification paragraphs [0015], [0096] – [0097], and [0098].
Paragraph [0015] of the Published Specification states, "In a first aspect of the disclosure, there is provided a method performed by a network device. The method comprises determining at least one channel parameter for a subband related to a terminal device. The at least one channel parameter for the subband is calculated based on at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband." Corresponding language can be found in claim 1 prior to the present amendments. This language discloses that the channel parameter is calculated based on a frequency band larger than the subband.
The larger band can be of any appropriate size that comprises the subband, as explained in paragraphs [0096]-[0097] of the Published Specification.
Paragraph [0098] further explains, "In an embodiment, the large frequency band may comprise the subband and at least other subband. Each subband of the large frequency band may have respective at least channel parameters. The at least one channel parameter for the subband may be calculated based on the respective at least channel parameters for subbands comprised in the large frequency band." This discloses that the larger frequency band comprising the subband can include other subbands.
Further support for "a contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband" can be seen in Fig. 4.
For at least the above reasons, Applicant believes that the phrase "contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband" is supported by the specification. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that all pending claims satisfy the requirements of 35 USC § 112.
Nowhere in the specification discloses “… a contiguous frequency band comprising the subband the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband”.
[Note: Applicant specifically stated: “For at least the above reasons, Applicant believes that the phrase "contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband" is supported by the specification” (Applicant, Page 7, Remarks dated December 22, 2025). Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nowhere in the specification discloses the amended limitation.
Paragraphs [0015], [0096] – [0097], and [0098] only state as follows:
[0015] In a first aspect of the disclosure, there is provided a method performed by a network device. The method comprises determining at least one channel parameter for a subband related to a terminal device. The at least one channel parameter for the subband is calculated based on at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband.
…
[0096] The subband may be of any suitable size of frequency band. For example, a full frequency band channel may be segmented into two or more subbands with the same or similar length. The subband size may be a preset value. For example, in an embodiment, the subband may comprise 4 PRBs. The large frequency band may be of any suitable size of frequency band only of it comprises the subband.
[0097] The at least one channel parameter for the subband may be calculated based on at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband in various ways. For example, the at least one channel parameter for the subband may be calculated by the terminal device based on at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband and then the terminal device may report it to the network device. The at least one channel parameter for the subband may be calculated by network device based on at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband.
[0098] In an embodiment, the large frequency band may comprise the subband and at least other subband. Each subband of the large frequency band may have respective at least channel parameters. The at least one channel parameter for the subband may be calculated based on the
respective at least channel parameters for subbands comprised in the large frequency band. (Applicant, US 2024/0121766 A1, as seen in Specification dated 08/04/2023).
However, nowhere in these paragraphs does the applicant’s disclosure disclose the limitations as presented in the amended claim.
Applicant also stated that support for "… a contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband" can be seen in Fig. 4". However, nowhere in the specification paragraph [0125] which corresponds to Fig. 4 of the applicant’s disclosure does it disclose these limitations as amended.
Paragraphs [0125] only states:
FIG. 4 shows an example of the precoder calculation based on the adaptive coherent bandwidth according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 4, f() represents a function form for the coherent bandwidth. g() represents a function form for the precoder. H represents a channel estimation for a subcarrier.” (Applicant, US 2024/0121766 A1, as seen in Specification dated 08/04/2023).
Accordingly, the limitation is not supported by the specification.
Per MPEP 2163, “newly added claims or claim limitations must be supported in the specification through express, implicit, or inherent disclosure.” (emphasis added). To satisfy the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2163 (citing to Moba, B.V. v. Diamond Automation, Inc., 325 F.3d 1306, 1319, 66 USPQ2d 1429, 1438 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Vas- Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1116 (Fed. Cir. 1991)). What is conventional or well known to one of ordinary skill in the art need not be disclosed in detail. See Hybritech Inc. v. Monoclonal Antibodies, Inc., 802 F.2d 1367, 1384, 231 USPQ 81, 94 (Fed. Cir. 1986). See also Capon v. Eshhar, 418 F.3d 1349, 1357, 76 USPQ2d 1078, 1085 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
Accordingly, the amended limitation “… a contiguous frequency band comprising the subband the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband” is not supported by the specification. Thus, it cannot be ascertained by a person skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed limitation.
[Note: If Applicant can identify the amended limitation “… a contiguous frequency band comprising the subband the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband” in the spec, Examiner requests the Applicant to identify the exact location. If the Applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already expressly/implicitly/inherently discloses the corresponding acts that perform the claimed function, the Applicant should clarify the record by “stating on the record what corresponding acts, which are expressly/implicitly/inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function”.]
Claims 12 and 27 recite parallel limitations, and these are rejected for the same reasoning. The rest of the dependent claims are also rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
For the purpose of examination, the examiner will interpret the claims as best understood.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5, 9 – 12, 16 – 19, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. [US 20200274603 A1] hereinafter Zhang-R, and further in view of Zhang et al. [US 20170012684 A1] hereinafter Zhang-L, and Azizi et al., [US 20150280777 A1] hereinafter Azizi.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang-R teaches a method performed by a network device (Zhang-R: Fig. 2, ¶ 136 – 137; Access network device 20), comprising:
determining at least one channel parameter for a subband related to a terminal device (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, ¶ 170 – 176, Fig. 6a, ¶ 185 – 192, Fig. 6b, ¶ 193 – 201; wherein the access network device determines the M.sub.1 frequency domain subbands in the T frequency domain subbands based on the first frequency domain indication information (i.e., the first frequency domain indication information is generated by the terminal device), where the M.sub.1 frequency domain subbands include the L.sub.1 frequency domain subbands (i.e., both the M.sub.1 and the L.sub.1 are subbands within the T subbands), then the access network device determines the M.sub.1 first elements in the T first elements based on the M.sub.1 pieces of first precoding indication information (i.e., the first precoding indication information is the at least one channel parameter, hence the channel parameter is related to a terminal device), where the M.sub.1 first elements are in a one-to-one correspondence with the M.sub.1 frequency domain subbands),
wherein the at least one channel parameter for the subband is calculated based on at least one channel parameter for a contiguous frequency band (Zhang-R: Fig. 7, ¶ 214, ¶ 217; wherein “the adjacent subbands herein are adjacent frequency domain subbands in frequency domain subbands indicated by the first frequency domain indication information” (i.e., wherein adjacent is a synonym of contiguous), and in Fig. 7, and the phase graph shows the subbands numbered in order from 0 – 12) comprising the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, Fig. 6a, ¶ 170 – 176, ¶ 185 – 192; wherein a terminal device generates a first frequency domain indication (i.e., the first frequency domain indication information is used to indicate L.sub.1 frequency domain subbands (i.e., smaller subband(s)) in T frequency domain subbands (i.e., a larger frequency band comprising the subband(s)), the T frequency domain subbands are a system bandwidth or a part of the system bandwidth. The T frequency domain subbands are in a one-to-one correspondence with T precoding matrices (i.e., the at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband) and M1 pieces of first precoding indication information, wherein the precoding matrix is recommended by the terminal device to the access network device by using precoding indication information (i.e., the precoding indication information is used to calculate and generate the precoding matrix indication (the channel parameter for a subband))), the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 7, ¶ 175, ¶ 201, ¶ 214, ¶ 217; wherein “the T frequency domain subbands are a system bandwidth” and “the system bandwidth includes 13 subbands, and the 13 subbands are numbered 0 to 12”, “the adjacent subbands herein are adjacent frequency domain subbands in frequency domain subbands indicated by the first frequency domain indication information” (i.e., wherein adjacent is a synonym of contiguous). Therefore, the T frequency domain subbands is a large system bandwidth (i.e., contiguous frequency band) that comprises multiple adjacent (i.e., contiguous) subbands).
Assuming arguendo that Zhang-R does not explicitly disclose or strongly suggest that the frequency band is a “contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband”, Zhang-L from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses a “contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband” (Zhang-L: Fig. 2 – Fig. 3, ¶ 146, ¶ 150 – 152; wherein the system transmission bandwidth is the large frequency band (i.e., the large frequency band that comprises contiguous subbands) comprising N first subbands (i.e., subbands 0 - 9) that are further divided into M second subbands (i.e., subbands A - D), and wherein bandwidths corresponding to each two neighboring first subbands included in each second subband of the subbands A, B, C and D are contiguous (as shown in Fig. 2), or they can also be non-contiguous (as shown in Fig. 3). Therefore, in a specific implementation process, after determining the value of M, the UE may divide the N first subbands into the M second subbands in a continuous bandwidth division manner or a discontinuous bandwidth division manner, where when the UE performs division in the continuous bandwidth division manner, frequencies corresponding to two neighboring first subbands in each second subband are contiguous; or when the UE performs division in the discontinuous bandwidth division manner, there is at least one group of two neighboring first subbands corresponding to non-contiguous frequencies in each second subband).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the system transmission bandwidth divided into a plurality of contiguous subbands teachings of Zhang-L into the T system bandwidth teachings of Zhang-R in order to achieve spectral efficiency, reduce latency, and increase data throughput.
Assuming arguendo that Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L still do not explicitly disclose or strongly suggest “contiguous frequency band”, Azizi teaches that multiple subbands can be used to create a contiguous large frequency bandwidth (i.e., a contiguous frequency band) (Azizi: ¶ 21; wherein frequency segments are used as building blocks to generate large bandwidth transmissions in multiples of 80 MHz and/or 160 MHz such as 450 MHz or 480 MHz bandwidths. Thus, in an example, three—160 MHz subbands (can be used) to create a contiguous 480 MHz bandwidth communication.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the contiguous large system transmission bandwidth building block approach of Azizi into the combined system bandwidth teachings of both Zhang-R and Zhang-L in order to achieve more efficient transmission, increase data throughput, lower power consumption due to less data traffic on both the transmitter and receiver sides of communications, less traffic conflicts, less latency awaiting transmission or receipt of packets, and the like (Azizi: ¶ 138).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
determining a precoder for the subband based on the at least one channel parameter for the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, ¶ 170 – 176; wherein the precoding matrix is recommended by the terminal device to the access network device by using precoding indication information. When the access network device sends data to the terminal device on a frequency domain subband, the terminal device expects the access network device to precode the data by using a precoding matrix corresponding to the frequency domain subband, (and wherein the precoding matrix indication is the channel parameter for the subband)). Therefore, the access network device determines the precoder for the subband based on the channel parameter and sends data to the terminal device based on the precoder for the subband; and
transmitting data to the terminal device based on the precoder for the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, ¶ 170 – 176; wherein when the access network device sends data to the terminal device on a frequency domain subband, the terminal device expects the access network device to precode the data by using a precoding matrix corresponding to the frequency domain subband).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining at least one channel parameter for a subband comprises:
receiving the at least one channel parameter for the subband from the terminal device (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, ¶ 170 – 176; wherein the precoding matrix is recommended by the terminal device to the access network device by using precoding indication information (and wherein the precoding matrix indication is the channel parameter for the subband)),
wherein the at least one channel parameter for the subband is calculated by the terminal device based on the at least one channel parameter for the contiguous frequency band comprising the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, Fig. 6a, ¶ 170 – 176, ¶ 185 – 192; wherein a terminal device generates a first frequency domain indication (i.e., the first frequency domain indication information is used to indicate L.sub.1 frequency domain subbands (i.e., smaller subband(s)) in T frequency domain subbands (i.e., a larger frequency band comprising the subband(s)), the T frequency domain subbands are a system bandwidth or a part of the system bandwidth. The T frequency domain subbands are in a one-to-one correspondence with T precoding matrices (i.e., the at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband)) and M1 pieces of first precoding indication information (i.e., the precoding indication information is used to calculate and generate the precoding matrix indication (the channel parameter for a subband))).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining at least one channel parameter for a subband comprises:
receiving the at least one channel parameter for the contiguous frequency band comprising the subband from the terminal device (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, Fig. 6a, ¶ 170 – 176, ¶ 185 – 192; wherein the terminal device generates a first frequency domain indication (i.e., the first frequency domain indication information is used to indicate L.sub.1 frequency domain subbands (i.e., smaller subband(s)) in T frequency domain subbands (i.e., a larger frequency band comprising the subband(s)), the T frequency domain subbands are a system bandwidth or a part of the system bandwidth. The T frequency domain subbands are in a one-to-one correspondence with T precoding matrices (i.e., the at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband)) and M1 pieces of first precoding indication information (i.e., the precoding indication information is used to calculate and generate the precoding matrix indication (the channel parameter for a subband))); and
calculating the at least one channel parameter for the subband based on the at least one channel parameter for the contiguous frequency band comprising the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, Fig. 6a, ¶ 170 – 176, ¶ 185 – 192; wherein the M1 pieces of first precoding indication information is used by the access network device to calculate and generate the precoding matrix indication (the channel parameter for a subband)).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein determining at least one channel parameter for a subband comprises:
receiving at least one reference signal for the contiguous frequency band comprising the subband from the terminal device (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, Fig. 6a, ¶ 160, ¶ 170 – 176, ¶ 185 – 192; wherein the terminal device generates a first frequency domain indication and M1 pieces of first precoding indication information and sends them to the access network device (i.e., the precoding indication information is a type of channel state information which is a reference signal))); and
calculating the at least one channel parameter for the subband based on the at least one reference signal for the contiguous frequency band comprising the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, Fig. 6a, ¶ 170 – 176, ¶ 185 – 192; wherein the M1 pieces of first precoding indication information is used by the access network device to calculate and generate the precoding matrix indication (the channel parameter for a subband)).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the contiguous frequency band comprising the subband is determined based on at least one of:
downlink channel quality for the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, Fig. 6a, ¶ 170 – 176, ¶ 185 – 192, ¶ 253 – 256; wherein the terminal device generates fourth frequency domain indication information and M.sub.3 CQIs (the T CQIs are in a one-to-one correspondence with the T frequency domain subbands), the fourth frequency domain indication information and the M.sub.3 CQIs are used to determine the T CQIs, then The terminal device sends the fourth frequency domain indication information and the M.sub.3 CQIs. After receiving the M.sub.3 CQIs sent by the terminal device, the access network device obtains the CQIs for all the T frequency domain subbands in an interpolation manner. And the terminal device obtains channel quality indicators (channel quality indicator, CQI) for the T frequency domain subbands. The CQIs for the T subbands are obtained based on the T precoding matrices corresponding to the T frequency domain subbands),
uplink signal-to-noise ratio, SNR, for the subband, or
rank indicator, RI, for the subband.
Regarding claim 10, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the subband is used for transmission from the network device to the terminal device (Zhang-R: ¶ 176; wherein the precoding matrix is recommended by the terminal device to the access network device by using precoding indication information. When the access network device sends data to the terminal device on a frequency domain subband, the terminal device expects the access network device to precode the data by using a precoding matrix corresponding to the frequency domain subband).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one channel parameter comprises at least one of:
channel quality indication, or
precoding matrix indication (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, Fig. 6a, ¶ 170 – 176, ¶ 185 – 192; wherein the T frequency domain subbands are in a one-to-one correspondence with T precoding matrices (i.e., the at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband)) and M1 pieces of first precoding indication information (i.e., the precoding indication information is used to calculate and generate the precoding matrix indication (the channel parameter for a subband))).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang-R teaches a method performed by a terminal device (Zhang-R: Fig. 1, Fig. 5, ¶ 170; terminal device), comprising:
calculating at least one channel parameter for a subband based on at least one channel parameter for a contiguous frequency band (Zhang-R: Fig. 7, ¶ 214, ¶ 217; wherein “the adjacent subbands herein are adjacent frequency domain subbands in frequency domain subbands indicated by the first frequency domain indication information” (i.e., wherein adjacent is a synonym of contiguous), and in Fig. 7, and the phase graph shows the subbands numbered in order from 0 – 12) comprising the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, Fig. 6a, ¶ 170 – 176, ¶ 185 – 192; wherein a terminal device generates a first frequency domain indication (i.e., the first frequency domain indication information is used to indicate L.sub.1 frequency domain subbands (i.e., smaller subband(s)) in T frequency domain subbands (i.e., a larger frequency band comprising the subband(s)), the T frequency domain subbands are a system bandwidth or a part of the system bandwidth. The T frequency domain subbands are in a one-to-one correspondence with T precoding matrices (i.e., the at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband) and M1 pieces of first precoding indication information, wherein the precoding matrix is recommended by the terminal device to the access network device by using precoding indication information (i.e., the precoding indication information is used to calculate and generate the precoding matrix indication (the channel parameter for a subband))), the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 7, ¶ 175, ¶ 201, ¶ 214, ¶ 217; wherein “the T frequency domain subbands are a system bandwidth” and “the system bandwidth includes 13 subbands, and the 13 subbands are numbered 0 to 12”, “the adjacent subbands herein are adjacent frequency domain subbands in frequency domain subbands indicated by the first frequency domain indication information” (i.e., wherein adjacent is a synonym of contiguous). Therefore, the T frequency domain subbands is a large system bandwidth (i.e., contiguous frequency band) that comprises multiple adjacent (i.e., contiguous) subbands); and
transmitting the at least one channel parameter for the subband to a network device (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, ¶ 184; wherein the terminal device sends the first frequency domain indication information and the M.sub.1 pieces of first precoding indication information to an access network device).
Assuming arguendo that Zhang-R does not explicitly disclose or strongly suggest that the frequency band is a “contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband”, Zhang-L from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses a “contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband” (Zhang-L: Fig. 2 – Fig. 3, ¶ 146, ¶ 150 – 152; wherein the system transmission bandwidth is the large frequency band (i.e., the large frequency band that comprises contiguous subbands) comprising N first subbands (i.e., subbands 0 - 9) that are further divided into M second subbands (i.e., subbands A - D), and wherein bandwidths corresponding to each two neighboring first subbands included in each second subband of the subbands A, B, C and D are contiguous (as shown in Fig. 2), or they can also be non-contiguous (as shown in Fig. 3). Therefore, in a specific implementation process, after determining the value of M, the UE may divide the N first subbands into the M second subbands in a continuous bandwidth division manner or a discontinuous bandwidth division manner, where when the UE performs division in the continuous bandwidth division manner, frequencies corresponding to two neighboring first subbands in each second subband are contiguous; or when the UE performs division in the discontinuous bandwidth division manner, there is at least one group of two neighboring first subbands corresponding to non-contiguous frequencies in each second subband).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the system transmission bandwidth divided into a plurality of contiguous subbands teachings of Zhang-L into the T system bandwidth teachings of Zhang-R in order to achieve spectral efficiency, reduce latency, and increase data throughput.
Assuming arguendo that Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L still do not explicitly disclose or strongly suggest “contiguous frequency band”, Azizi teaches that multiple subbands can be used to create a contiguous large frequency bandwidth (i.e., a contiguous frequency band) (Azizi: ¶ 21; wherein frequency segments are used as building blocks to generate large bandwidth transmissions in multiples of 80 MHz and/or 160 MHz such as 450 MHz or 480 MHz bandwidths. Thus, in an example, three—160 MHz subbands (can be used) to create a contiguous 480 MHz bandwidth communication.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the contiguous large system transmission bandwidth building block approach of Azizi into the combined system bandwidth teachings of both Zhang-R and Zhang-L in order to achieve more efficient transmission, increase data throughput, lower power consumption due to less data traffic on both the transmitter and receiver sides of communications, less traffic conflicts, less latency awaiting transmission or receipt of packets, and the like (Azizi: ¶ 138).
Regarding claim 16, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the contiguous frequency band comprising the subband is determined based on at least one of:
downlink channel quality for the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, Fig. 6a, ¶ 170 – 176, ¶ 185 – 192, ¶ 253 – 256; wherein the terminal device generates fourth frequency domain indication information and M.sub.3 CQIs (the T CQIs are in a one-to-one correspondence with the T frequency domain subbands), the fourth frequency domain indication information and the M.sub.3 CQIs are used to determine the T CQIs, then The terminal device sends the fourth frequency domain indication information and the M.sub.3 CQIs. After receiving the M.sub.3 CQIs sent by the terminal device, the access network device obtains the CQIs for all the T frequency domain subbands in an interpolation manner. And the terminal device obtains channel quality indicators (channel quality indicator, CQI) for the T frequency domain subbands. The CQIs for the T subbands are obtained based on the T precoding matrices corresponding to the T frequency domain subbands); or
rank indicator, RI, for the subband.
Regarding claim 17, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the at least one channel parameters comprises at least one of:
channel quality indication, or
precoding matrix indication (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, Fig. 6a, ¶ 170 – 176, ¶ 185 – 192; wherein the T frequency domain subbands are in a one-to-one correspondence with T precoding matrices (i.e., the at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband)) and M1 pieces of first precoding indication information (i.e., the precoding indication information is used to calculate and generate the precoding matrix indication (the channel parameter for a subband))).
Regarding claim 18, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the subband is used for transmission from the network device to the terminal device (Zhang-R: ¶ 176; wherein the precoding matrix is recommended by the terminal device to the access network device by using precoding indication information. When the access network device sends data to the terminal device on a frequency domain subband, the terminal device expects the access network device to precode the data by using a precoding matrix corresponding to the frequency domain subband).
Regarding claim 19, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the at least one channel parameter for the subband is used for determination of a precoder for the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, ¶ 170 – 176; wherein the precoding matrix is recommended by the terminal device to the access network device by using precoding indication information. When the access network device sends data to the terminal device on a frequency domain subband, the terminal device expects the access network device to precode the data by using a precoding matrix corresponding to the frequency domain subband, (and wherein the precoding matrix indication is the channel parameter for the subband)).
Regarding claim 27, Zhang-R teaches a network device (Zhang-R: Fig. 2, ¶ 136 – 137; Access network device 20), comprising:
a processor (Zhang-R: Fig. 2, ¶ 136 – 137; controller/processor 201); and
a memory coupled to the processor (Zhang-R: Fig. 2, ¶ 136 – 137; memory 203), said memory containing instructions executable by said processor (Zhang-R: Fig. 2, ¶ 136 – 137; memory 203 Is coupled with controller/processor 201 and configured to store program code and/or data of the access network device), whereby said network device is operative to:
determine at least one channel parameter for a subband related to a terminal device (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, ¶ 170 – 176, Fig. 6a, ¶ 185 – 192, Fig. 6b, ¶ 193 – 201; wherein the access network device determines the M.sub.1 frequency domain subbands in the T frequency domain subbands based on the first frequency domain indication information (i.e., the first frequency domain indication information is generated by the terminal device), where the M.sub.1 frequency domain subbands include the L.sub.1 frequency domain subbands (i.e., both the M.sub.1 and the L.sub.1 are subbands within the T subbands), then the access network device determines the M.sub.1 first elements in the T first elements based on the M.sub.1 pieces of first precoding indication information (i.e., the first precoding indication information is the at least one channel parameter, hence the channel parameter is related to a terminal device), where the M.sub.1 first elements are in a one-to-one correspondence with the M.sub.1 frequency domain subbands),
wherein the at least one channel parameter for the subband is calculated based on at least one channel parameter for a contiguous frequency band (Zhang-R: Fig. 7, ¶ 214, ¶ 217; wherein “the adjacent subbands herein are adjacent frequency domain subbands in frequency domain subbands indicated by the first frequency domain indication information” (i.e., wherein adjacent is a synonym of contiguous), and in Fig. 7, and the phase graph shows the subbands numbered in order from 0 – 12) comprising the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 5, Fig. 6a, ¶ 170 – 176, ¶ 185 – 192; wherein a terminal device generates a first frequency domain indication (i.e., the first frequency domain indication information is used to indicate L.sub.1 frequency domain subbands (i.e., smaller subband(s)) in T frequency domain subbands (i.e., a larger frequency band comprising the subband(s)), the T frequency domain subbands are a system bandwidth or a part of the system bandwidth. The T frequency domain subbands are in a one-to-one correspondence with T precoding matrices (i.e., the at least one channel parameter for a larger frequency band comprising the subband) and M1 pieces of first precoding indication information, wherein the precoding matrix is recommended by the terminal device to the access network device by using precoding indication information (i.e., the precoding indication information is used to calculate and generate the precoding matrix indication (the channel parameter for a subband))), the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband (Zhang-R: Fig. 7, ¶ 175, ¶ 201, ¶ 214, ¶ 217; wherein “the T frequency domain subbands are a system bandwidth” and “the system bandwidth includes 13 subbands, and the 13 subbands are numbered 0 to 12”, “the adjacent subbands herein are adjacent frequency domain subbands in frequency domain subbands indicated by the first frequency domain indication information” (i.e., wherein adjacent is a synonym of contiguous). Therefore, the T frequency domain subbands is a large system bandwidth (i.e., contiguous frequency band) that comprises multiple adjacent (i.e., contiguous) subbands).
Assuming arguendo that Zhang-R does not explicitly disclose or strongly suggest that the frequency band is a “contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband”, Zhang-L from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses a “contiguous frequency band comprising the subband, the contiguous frequency band being larger than the subband” (Zhang-L: Fig. 2 – Fig. 3, ¶ 146, ¶ 150 – 152; wherein the system transmission bandwidth is the large frequency band (i.e., the large frequency band that comprises contiguous subbands) comprising N first subbands (i.e., subbands 0 - 9) that are further divided into M second subbands (i.e., subbands A - D), and wherein bandwidths corresponding to each two neighboring first subbands included in each second subband of the subbands A, B, C and D are contiguous (as shown in Fig. 2), or they can also be non-contiguous (as shown in Fig. 3). Therefore, in a specific implementation process, after determining the value of M, the UE may divide the N first subbands into the M second subbands in a continuous bandwidth division manner or a discontinuous bandwidth division manner, where when the UE performs division in the continuous bandwidth division manner, frequencies corresponding to two neighboring first subbands in each second subband are contiguous; or when the UE performs division in the discontinuous bandwidth division manner, there is at least one group of two neighboring first subbands corresponding to non-contiguous frequencies in each second subband).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the system transmission bandwidth divided into a plurality of contiguous subbands teachings of Zhang-L into the T system bandwidth teachings of Zhang-R in order to achieve spectral efficiency, reduce latency, and increase data throughput.
Assuming arguendo that Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L still do not explicitly disclose or strongly suggest “contiguous frequency band”, Azizi teaches that multiple subbands can be used to create a contiguous large frequency bandwidth (i.e., a contiguous frequency band) (Azizi: ¶ 21; wherein frequency segments are used as building blocks to generate large bandwidth transmissions in multiples of 80 MHz and/or 160 MHz such as 450 MHz or 480 MHz bandwidths. Thus, in an example, three—160 MHz subbands (can be used) to create a contiguous 480 MHz bandwidth communication.)
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the contiguous large system transmission bandwidth building block approach of Azizi into the combined system bandwidth teachings of both Zhang-R and Zhang-L in order to achieve more efficient transmission, increase data throughput, lower power consumption due to less data traffic on both the transmitter and receiver sides of communications, less traffic conflicts, less latency awaiting transmission or receipt of packets, and the like (Azizi: ¶ 138).
Claims 6 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang-R et al., Zhang-L et al., and Azizi et al., as applied to claims 1 and 12 above, and further in view of Zhu et al. [US 20160329942 A1] hereinafter Zhu.
Regarding claim 6, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one channel parameter for the subband is calculated based on the at least one channel parameter for a contiguous frequency band comprising the subband.
Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi does not explicitly teach when a channel quality for the subband is smaller than a threshold.
Referring to the invention of Zhu, Zhu teaches when a channel quality for the subband is smaller than a threshold (Zhu: Fig. 1, Fig. 2, ¶ 41, ¶ 50; wherein after the parameter indicative of reception quality (i.e., channel quality for the subband) on the downlink channel from the base station to the UE is obtained, the obtained parameter is compared with a predetermined reception quality threshold, and the reception quality may be poor or the obtained parameter may be lower than the predetermined reception quality threshold (i.e., the reception quality is smaller than the threshold)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the channel quality teachings of Zhu into the channel parameter teachings of Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi, in order to ensure a good reception quality for the UE and to help improve the system performance (Zhu: ¶ 42).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi teaches the method according to claim 12, wherein the at least one channel parameter for the subband is calculated based on the at least one channel parameter for a contiguous frequency band comprising the subband.
Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi does not explicitly teach when a channel quality for the subband is smaller than a threshold.
Referring to the invention of Zhu, Zhu teaches when a channel quality for the subband is smaller than a threshold (Zhu: Fig. 1, Fig. 2, ¶ 41, ¶ 50; wherein after the parameter indicative of reception quality (i.e., channel quality for the subband) on the downlink channel from the base station to the UE is obtained, the obtained parameter is compared with a predetermined reception quality threshold, and the reception quality may be poor or the obtained parameter may be lower than the predetermined reception quality threshold (i.e., the reception quality is smaller than the threshold)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the channel quality teachings of Zhu into the channel parameter teachings of Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi, in order to ensure a good reception quality for the UE and to help improve the system performance (Zhu: ¶ 42).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang-R et al., Zhang-L et al., Azizi et al., and Zhu et al., as applied to claims 6 and 13 above, and further in view of Kühne et al. [US 20180351690 A1] hereinafter Kühne.
Regarding claim 7, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi in view of Zhu teaches the method according to claim 6.
Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi in view of Zhu does not explicitly teach wherein the threshold comprises a median of channel qualities of all subbands of a scheduling bandwidth.
Referring to the invention of Kühne, Kühne teaches that a threshold value can be calculated as the median value or the averaged value of a parameter of all frequency bins of the averaged received signals in a frequency domain (Kühne: ¶ 30, ¶ 106; wherein a threshold calculation unit may be e.g. be configured to calculate the predetermined threshold value as the median value or the averaged value of the energy level of all frequency bins of the averaged received signals in the frequency domain).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the threshold calculation based on median value of the frequency teachings of Kühne into the combined threshold teachings of Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L, Azizi, and Zhu, in order to determine an effective threshold upon which to measure the channel quality against.
Regarding claim 14, Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi in view of Zhu teaches the method according to claim 13.
Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L and Azizi in view of Zhu does not explicitly teach wherein the threshold comprises a median of channel qualities of all subbands of a scheduling bandwidth.
Referring to the invention of Kühne, Kühne teaches that a threshold value can be calculated as the median value or the averaged value of a parameter of all frequency bins of the averaged received signals in a frequency domain (Kühne: ¶ 30, ¶ 106; wherein a threshold calculation unit may be e.g. be configured to calculate the predetermined threshold value as the median value or the averaged value of the energy level of all frequency bins of the averaged received signals in the frequency domain).
Thus, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the threshold calculation based on median value of the frequency teachings of Kühne into the combined threshold teachings of Zhang-R in view of Zhang-L, Azizi, and Zhu, in order to determine an effective threshold upon which to measure the channel quality against.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein the worse the channel quality for the subband is, the larger the contiguous frequency band comprising the subband is”.
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record fail to disclose, alone or in any reasonable combination, as required by the dependent claim “wherein the worse the channel quality for the subband is, the larger the contiguous frequency band comprising the subband is”.
The Examiner notes the above limitation(s) are not taken alone but in view of the entirety of the claim language including any preceding claim limitations, any proceeding claim limitations, and any intervening claim limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. [US 20210127408 A1]: Subband Precoding Signaling in a Wireless Communications Network.
Jung et al. [US 20200145062 A1]: Method and Apparatus for Saving User Equipment Power with MIMO Operation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HD/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414