DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The 112(b) rejection to claim 25 has been withdrawn because of the amendment made.
Regarding claims 11 and 26, applicant argues on page 11 of the arguments that Nagai et al. (US 7,683,393) does not disclose the first sub, second sub, and connection through electrode because fig. 2 of Nagai has each portion at different vertical levels. However, fig. 1 of Nagai discloses that the recessed conductor 15 is disposed on the same level as the substrate body 2. Fig. 1 of Nagai discloses that the first-second through electrode 15 includes a first sub through electrode (top end portion of left 15 in fig. 1) including an outer surface (edge of 2) located on the same plane as a first outer surface (left edge of 2 in fig. 1) of the first insulating layer 2, a second sub through electrode (bottom end portion of left 15 in fig. 1) including an outer surface (outer surface of left middle 15 in fig. 1) located on the same plane as the first outer surface (outer edge of 2) of the first insulating layer 2 and spaced apart from the first sub through electrode (top end portion of left 15 in fig. 1) in the horizontal direction (top to bottom in fig. 1), and a connection through electrode (middle 1/3 portion of left 15 connecting the two ends of the u shaped 15 in fig. 1) disposed in the first insulating layer 2 and connecting the first sub through electrode (top end of left 15 in fig. 1) and the second sub through electrode (bottom end of left 15, fig. 1), wherein the connection through electrode (middle 1/3 portion of left 15 connecting the two ends of the u shaped 15) is spaced apart from the outer surface (outer edge of left side of 2) of the first insulating layer 2, and wherein the first sub through electrode (top end portion of left 15 in fig. 1), the second sub through electrode (bottom end of left 15, fig. 1), and the connection through electrode (middle 1/3 portion of left 15 connecting the two ends of the u shaped 15 in fig. 1) overlap each other in the horizontal direction (top to bottom in fig. 1).
Applicant argues on page 12 of the arguments that the Nagai does not have the structural relationships of the first sub, second sub, and connection through electrode. However, fig. 1 of Nagai discloses that the left recessed conductor 15 can have three parts. Tig. 1 of Nagai discloses top end 1/3 portion of recessed conductor 15 correspond to the first sub through electrode, the inward positioned middle 1/3 portion of 15 correspond to the connection through electrode, and the bottom end 1/3 portion correspond to the second through electrode.
Applicant argues that on page 12 of the arguments that Nagai does not disclose the plan-view arrangement of the first sub, second sub, and connection through electrode. However, the U shaped 15 in fig. 1 of Nagai discloses this plan-view arrangement with the inward positioned middle 1/3 portion of 15 connecting the two 1/3 ends of 15.
Thus, claim 11 remains rejected. Claim 26 recites the same limitation as claim 11 and also remains rejected for the same reasons as above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11, 13-17, 19, 22, 25-28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagai et al. (US 7,683,393) (“Nagai”).
With regard to claim 11, figs. 1-2 of Nagai discloses a circuit board comprising: a first insulating layer (“substrate body 2 was integrally laminated of ceramic (or insulating) layers s1 to s7”, col. 4 ll. 27-28); a first pad 17 disposed on an upper surface 4 of the first insulating layer 2; a second pad 16 disposed on a lower surface 3 of the first insulating layer 2 opposite to the upper surface 4; and a first through part 15 passing through the first insulating layer 2, wherein the first through part (18, 15) comprises a first-first through electrode 18 and a first-second through electrode 15 spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction (left to right in fig. 2), wherein the first-second through electrode 15 is provided closer to an outer side surface (outer edge of 2) of the first insulating layer 2 than the first-first through electrode 18, wherein an outer side surface of the first-second through electrode 15 is positioned on the same plane as the outer side surface (edge of 2) of the first insulating layer 2, and wherein the first pad 17 extends from the upper surface 4 of the first insulating layer 2 toward the outer side surface (edge of 2) of the first insulating layer 2 to connect between the first-first through electrode 18 and the first-second through electrode 15, wherein the first-second through electrode 15 includes a first sub through electrode (top end portion of left 15 in fig. 1) including an outer surface (edge of 2) located on the same plane as a first outer surface (left edge of 2 in fig. 1) of the first insulating layer 2, a second sub through electrode (bottom end portion of left 15 in fig. 1) including an outer surface (outer surface of left middle 15 in fig. 1) located on the same plane as the first outer surface (outer edge of 2) of the first insulating layer 2 and spaced apart from the first sub through electrode (top end portion of left 15 in fig. 1) in the horizontal direction (top to bottom in fig. 1), and a connection through electrode (middle 1/3 portion of left 15 connecting the two ends of the u shaped 15 in fig. 1) disposed in the first insulating layer 2 and connecting the first sub through electrode (top end of left 15 in fig. 1) and the second sub through electrode (bottom end of left 15, fig. 1), wherein the connection through electrode (middle 1/3 portion of left 15 connecting the two ends of the u shaped 15) is spaced apart from the outer surface (outer edge of left side of 2) of the first insulating layer 2, and wherein the first sub through electrode (top end portion of left 15 in fig. 1), the second sub through electrode (bottom end of left 15, fig. 1), and the connection through electrode (middle 1/3 portion of left 15 connecting the two ends of the u shaped 15 in fig. 1) overlap each other in the horizontal direction (top to bottom in fig. 1).
With regard to claim 13, figs. 1-2 of Nagai discloses one first pad 17 connects between an upper surface 4 of the first-first through electrode 18 and an upper surface of the first-second through electrode 15, and wherein the second pad (16, 12) comprises: a second-first pad 12 connected to the first-first through electrode 18; and a second-second pad 16 connected to the first-second through electrode 15 and spaced apart from the second-first pad 12.
With regard to claims 14, figs. 1-2 of Nagai discloses an outer side surface of the first pad 17, an outer side surface of the second-second pad 16, the outer side surface of the first-second through electrode 15, and the outer side surface of the first insulating layer 2 are positioned on the same plane.
With regard to claim 15, figs. 1-2 of Nagai discloses a shape of the first-first through electrode 18 is different from a shape (15 is u shaped while 18 is not) of the first-second through electrode 15. With regard to claim 16, figs. 1-2 of Nagai discloses that the outer side surface of the first-second through electrode (side edge of ends of 15, fig. 1) is perpendicular to the upper surface of the first insulating layer 2.
With regard to claim 17, figs. 1-2 of Nagai discloses an inner side surface of the first-second through electrode 15 has an inclination (90 degree inclination) with respect to the upper surface of the first insulating layer 2.
With regard to claim 19, figs. 1-2 of Nagai discloses at least one of the first-first through electrode 18 and the first-second through electrode 15 has a bar shape extending in a longitudinal direction (top to bottom in fig. 2).
With regard to claim 22, figs. 1-2 of Nagai discloses an overall planar shape of the plurality of sub through electrodes (top and bottom end portions of left middle 15 in fig. 1) and the connection through electrode (middle portion of left middle 15 in fig. 1) has a U-shape (left middle 15 has u-shape in fig. 1).
With regard to claim 25, figs. 1-2 of Nagai discloses that the second-second through electrode 7 is connected to the first-first through electrode 18 and the first-second through electrode 15 through the first pad 17.
With regard to claim 26, figs. 1-2 of Nagai discloses a semiconductor package comprising: a substrate 2; an adhesive member 8 disposed on the substrate 2; and a chip 9 disposed on the adhesive member 8; wherein the substrate 2 comprises: a first insulating layer 2; a first pad 17 disposed on an upper surface 4 of the first insulating layer 2; a second pad 16 disposed on a lower surface 3 of the first insulating layer 2 opposite to the upper surface 4; and a first through part (15, 18) passing through the first insulating layer 2, wherein the first through part (15, 18) comprises a first-first through electrode 18 and a first-second through electrode 15 spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction (left to right in fig. 2), wherein the first-second through electrode 15 is provided closer to an outer side surface (edge of 2) of the first insulating layer 2 than the first-first through electrode 18, wherein an outer side surface of the first-second through electrode 15 is positioned on the same plane (edge of 15 aligned with edge of 2 in fig. 1) as the outer side surface of the first insulating layer 2, and wherein the first pad 17 extends from the upper surface 4 of the first insulating layer 2 toward the outer side surface (edge of 2) of the first insulating layer 2 to connect between the first-first through electrode 18 and the first-second through electrode 15, wherein the first-second through electrode 15 includes a first sub through electrode (top end portion of left 15 in fig. 1) including an outer surface (edge of 2) located on the same plane as a first outer surface (left edge of 2 in fig. 1) of the first insulating layer 2, a second sub through electrode (bottom end portion of left 15 in fig. 1) including an outer surface (outer surface of left middle 15 in fig. 1) located on the same plane as the first outer surface (outer edge of 2) of the first insulating layer 2 and spaced apart from the first sub through electrode (top end portion of left 15 in fig. 1) in the horizontal direction (top to bottom in fig. 1), and a connection through electrode (middle 1/3 portion of left 15 connecting the two ends of the u shaped 15 in fig. 1) disposed in the first insulating layer 2 and connecting the first sub through electrode (top end of left 15 in fig. 1) and the second sub through electrode (bottom end of left 15, fig. 1), wherein the connection through electrode (middle 1/3 portion of left 15 connecting the two ends of the u shaped 15) is spaced apart from the outer surface (outer edge of left side of 2) of the first insulating layer 2, and wherein the first sub through electrode (top end portion of left 15 in fig. 1), the second sub through electrode (bottom end of left 15, fig. 1), and the connection through electrode (middle 1/3 portion of left 15 connecting the two ends of the u shaped 15 in fig. 1) overlap each other in the horizontal direction (top to bottom in fig. 1).
With regard to claim 27, figs. 1-2 of Nagai discloses one first pad 17 connects between an upper surface 4 of the first-first through electrode 18 and an upper surface of the first-second through electrode 15, and wherein the second pad (16, 12) comprises: a second-first pad 12 connected to the first-first through electrode 18; and a second-second pad 16 connected to the first-second through electrode 15 and spaced apart from the second-first pad 12.
With regard to claim 28, figs. 1-2 of Nagai discloses an outer side surface of the first pad 17, an outer side surface of the second-second pad 16, the outer side surface of the first-second through electrode 15, and the outer side surface of the first insulating layer 2 are positioned on the same plane.
With regard to claim 30, figs. 1-2 of Nagai discloses that the first-second through electrode 15 includes a plurality of sub through electrodes (top and bottom ends of left middle 15 in fig. 1) spaced apart from each other and a connection through electrode (middle portion of left middle 15 in fig. 1) connecting the plurality of sub through electrodes (top and bottom ends of left middle 15 in fig. 1), wherein an outer surface of each of the plurality of sub through electrodes (top and bottom ends of left middle 15 in fig. 1) is positioned on the same plane as the outer surface of the first insulating layer 2, and wherein the connection through electrode (middle portion of left middle 15 in fig. 1) is spaced apart from the outer surface of the first insulating layer 2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 18, 23-24, and 29 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 12, fig. 2 of Nagai discloses the first-first through electrode 18 and first-second through electrode 15 but not that a width of the first- second through electrode has a range of 0.3 times and 2 times a width of the first-first through electrode.
Regarding claim 18, fig. 2 of Nagai discloses that the inner side surface of the first-second through electrode 15 has a slope in which a width is that same from an upper surface to a lower surface of the first-second through electrode 15 but not a slope in which a width gradually decreases from an upper surface to a lower surface of the first-second through 15.
Regarding claim 23, fig. 2 of Nagai does not disclose a second insulating layer disposed on the first insulating layer; a third pad disposed on the second insulating layer. Claims 23-24 depend on allowable claim 23.
Regarding claim 29, fig. 2 of Nagai discloses that the outer side surface of the first-second through electrode 15 has an inclination perpendicular to the upper surface of the first insulating layer 2, and wherein an inclination of a side surface of the first-first through electrode 18 is the same from the inclination of the outer surface of the first-second through electrode 18 but not that an inclination of a side surface of the first-first through electrode 18 is different from the inclination of the outer surface of the first-second through electrode 15.
.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN TZU-HUNG LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893