Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the primary reference, Tsuyuno (WO 2020/105463) being used in the current rejection based upon Applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 6, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3, line 2; and Claim 6, line 3 require “the at least two first alignment holes” lacks antecedent basis. Claim 2, lines 10-13 requires “a respective first alignment hole” relating to “each of at least two power terminals.” How does “at least one of the at least two first alignment hole” relate to “a respective first alignment hole” of claim 2?
Claim 4, line 2 requires “two first alignment hole” and Claim 2, lines 10-13 requires “a respective first alignment hole” relating to “each of at least two power terminals.” Does “two first alignment hole” of claim 4 have any antecedence in “a respective first alignment hole” of claim 2?
Claim 15, line 4 requires “the first alignment hole” lacks antecedent basis. Claim 1, lines 10-11 requires “a respective first alignment hole” relating to “each of at least two power terminals.” Does “the first alignment hole” relate to just one of the respective first alignment hole, or to all of respective first alignment holes? Further if relates to one of the respective first alignment hole, does the one of respective first alignment hole have to be in the same one of the power terminals as the additional hole?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) / 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tsuyuno (WO 2020/105463, using US 11,961,780 as English translation).
With respect to Claim 1, Tsuyuno teaches a power semiconductor module (fig. 1, 300,800), with at least one semiconductor chip (fig. 3, 155,156,157,158) being connected to a cooling structure (800,800a) comprising a plurality of pin fins (800a) at a first main side (fig. 1, near side of 800) of a base plate (800), at least two power terminals (319B,320B) being in electrical contact (see fig. 3) to the at least one semiconductor chip, and a housing (301) for the at least one power semiconductor chip and the at least two power terminals, wherein each of the at least two power terminals has a respective protruding part (protruding portions of 319B,320B extending out of 301) protruding beyond (see fig. 1) the housing in a respective one of lateral directions (upper-left and lower-right directions of fig. 1), and each of the at least two protruding parts is provided with a respective first alignment hole (holes in 319B,320B) and at least one (319B) of the at least two protruding parts are provided on a first lateral side (fig. 1, upper-left side) of the power semiconductor module and at least another one (320B) of the at least two protruding parts are provided on a second lateral side (fig. 1, lower-right side) of the power semiconductor module being opposite the first lateral side.
With respect to Claim 2, Tsuyuno teaches a power semiconductor device (fig. 16B), comprising: at least one power semiconductor module (fig. 1, 300,800), comprising: at least one semiconductor chip (fig. 3, 155,156,157,158) being connected to a cooling structure (800,800a) comprising a plurality of pin fins (800a) at a first main side (fig. 1, near side of 800) of a base plate (800), at least two power terminals (319B,320B) being in electrical contact (see fig. 3) to the at least one semiconductor chip, and a housing (301) for the at least one power semiconductor chip and the at least two power terminals, wherein each of the at least two power terminals has a respective protruding part (protruding portions of 319B,320B extending out of 301) protruding beyond (see fig. 1) the housing in a respective one of lateral directions (upper-left and lower-right directions of fig. 1), and each of the at least two protruding parts is provided with a respective first alignment hole (holes in 319B,320B), and at least one (319B) of the at least two protruding parts are provided on a first lateral side (fig. 1, upper-left side) of the power semiconductor module and at least another one (320B) of the at least two protruding parts are provided on a second lateral side (fig. 1, lower-right side) of the power semiconductor module being opposite the first lateral side; and a cooler (fig. 16, 600B) on which the at least one power semiconductor module is arranged (see fig. 16), wherein the cooler is provided with at least two second alignment holes (fig. 15(a), holes in corner of 600B).
With respect to Claims 5, 6, 16-18, and 20, Tsuyuno further teaches the cooling structure is formed integrally (integrally is understood as forming a unit) with the cooler, or the cooler is provided with at least one opening (opening in 620 for pin-fins of three 800s in top row), and the at least one power semiconductor module is provided on (see fig. 16) one (opening in 620 for pin-fins of three 800s in top row) of the at least one opening such that the cooling structure protrudes into a cooling cavity (612) of the cooler (claim 5) and at least one of: at least one of the at least two first alignment holes has at least one side surface extending in a vertical direction (see fig. 15(a), and at least one of the at least two second alignment holes has at least one side surface extending in the vertical direction (see fig. 15(a)) (claim 6), the housing comprises a mold compound (fig. 7(b), 850) arranged on (see fig. 9(a)) the at least one power semiconductor chip, the at least two power terminals, and the base plate, and wherein the at least one semiconductor chip is encapsulated completely (see fig. 9(a)) by the mold compound and the base plate (claim 16), at least two auxiliary terminals (325C,325K,325L,325M,325S,325U) configured to provide electrical signals (col. 4, ll. 13-23) to the at least one semiconductor chip, wherein the at least two auxiliary terminals are embedded (see fig. 1) in the housing at least in regions and extend at least in regions in a vertical direction (see fig. 1, upward extending portions of 325C,325K,325L,325M,325S,325U) (claim 17), the cooler comprises an inlet port (fig. 16, 14 [written description at col. 16, ll. 55-56 describes 13 as inlet and 14 as outlet]) and an outlet port (fig. 16, 13), and wherein one (fig. 15, hole in upper-right corner) of the at least two second alignment holes is located in a region (right side of fig. 15(a)) of the inlet port and another one (fig. 15, hole in upper-left corner) of the at least two second alignment holes is located in a region (fig. 15, hole in upper-right corner) of the outlet port (claim 18) and the cooler comprises a cooling cavity (fig. 16, inside of 600B) for receiving a cooling medium (col 18, l. 11), an inlet port (fig. 16, 14 [written description at col. 16, ll. 55-56 describes 13 as inlet and 14 as outlet]), and an outlet port (fig. 16, 13), and wherein the cooler is adapted for a flow direction (see flow arrows of fig. 16) of the cooling medium within the cooling cavity from the inlet port to the outlet port (claim 20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuyuno (WO 2020/105463, using US 11,961,780 as English translation) and Juncosa (US 6,309,601).
With respect to Claim 3, Tsuyuno discloses the claimed invention except for at least one of the at least two first alignment holes has a shape being different to at least another one of the at least two first alignment holes. Juncosa teaches at least one (fig. 5, 222, col. 9, ll. 49-50circular) of the at least two first alignment holes (222,224) has a shape (see fig. 5) being different to at least another one (224, col. 9, l. 50, slot) of the at least two first alignment holes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first alignment holes of Tsuyuno with the first alignment holes of Juncosa for the purpose of that one of the first alignment holes indexes and another of the first alignment holes has latitude in the wide direction in slot 224 to compensate for manufacturing variations between the two in the distance between the first alignment holes and the corresponding holes of a mating part.
With respect to Claim 4, Tsuyuno discloses the claimed invention except for at least one of the at least two first alignment holes has a circular shape, and at least another one of the at least two first alignment holes has a slotted hole shape. Juncosa teaches at least one (fog. 5, 222) of the at least two first alignment holes (222,224) has a circular shape (col. 9, ll. 49-50), and at least another one (224) of the at least two first alignment holes has a slotted hole shape (col. 9, l. 50). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the first alignment holes of Tsuyuno with the first alignment holes of Juncosa for the purpose of that one of the first alignment holes indexes and another of the first alignment holes has latitude in the wide direction in slot 224 to compensate for manufacturing variations between the two in the distance between the first alignment holes and the corresponding holes of a mating part.
Claim 15 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuyuno (WO 2020/105463, using US 11,961,780 as English translation) and Xu (WO 2019/041292, using US 11,127,659 as English translation).
Tsuyuno discloses the claimed invention except for at least one of the at least two power terminals has an additional hole configured for a screwed interconnection with an external busbar, wherein dimensions in lateral directions of the additional hole are larger than dimensions in lateral directions of the first alignment hole. Xu (WO 2019/041292, using US 11,127,659 as English translation) teaches at least one (fig. 5, 116) of the at least two power terminals has an additional hole (one of 1161s) configured for a screwed interconnection (col. 7, ll. 6-7) with an external busbar (fig. 3, 114) (“for a screwed interconnection with an external busbar” is intended use and is not positively claimed; further there is not requirement that even if positively claimed that the screwed interconnection uses the additional hole to provide an electrical connection between the protruding portion and the external busbar), wherein dimensions (dimensions of the one of 1161s) in lateral directions of the additional hole are larger (col. 6, l. 51) than dimensions (dimensions of one of 1162s) in lateral directions of the first alignment hole (the one of 1162s). It would be obvious to modify the module of Tsuyuno with the additional hole of Xu for the purpose of allowing interconnection of a protruding portion to an external bus bar when there are stacked power terminals without shorting these power terminals.
Alternately, Tsuyuno discloses the claimed invention except for at least one of the at least two power terminals has an additional hole configured for a screwed interconnection with an external busbar, wherein dimensions in lateral directions of the additional hole are larger than dimensions in lateral directions of the first alignment hole. Xu (WO 2019/041292, using US 11,127,659 as English translation) teaches at least one (fig. 5, 137) of the at least two power terminals has an additional hole (one of holes in 137) configured for a screwed interconnection with an external busbar (“for a screwed interconnection with an external busbar” is intended use and is not positively claimed) and the first alignment hole (fig. 5, another of holes in 137). It would have been an obvious matter of choice to the size of one of the first alignment hole and the additional hole so that the additional hole is larger than the alignment hole so that a fastener of a size to fit in the additional hole cannot fit into the alignment hole, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 19 is rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuyuno (WO 2020/105463, using US 11,961,780 as English translation) and Tsuyuno (US 2019/0157185).
Tsuyuno ‘463 discloses the claimed invention including a seal (fig. 10, 650 and col. 13, l. 9, “Adhesion . . . using resin”) is arranged between the cooler (fig. 16, 600B) and the at least one power semiconductor module (300,800), and wherein the seal comprises a material (material of 650) being impermeable to a cooling medium (col 18, l. 11). Tsuyuno fails to disclose a flexible material. Tsuyuno ‘185 (US 2019/0157185) discloses a flexible (¶[0062, ll. 1-3, 2 MPa is flexible silicon resin) material (901) as a seal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Tsuyuno ‘463 with the flexible seal of Tsuyuno ‘185 for the purpose of allow the compression of the flexible seal to seal and prevent cooling medium from passing between Tsuyuno ‘463’s cooler and the at power semiconductor module to prevent any loss of the cooling medium.
Conclusion
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 9,088,226, 9,351,423, 10,143,099, 11,139,278, 11,367,671 and US 2023/0077964 disclose a power semiconductor having opposite extending power terminals, and a hole in each of the opposite extending power terminals. US 10,763,190 is the issued US patent of 2019/0157185.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
RJH 2/26/2026
/ROBERT J HOFFBERG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835