DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant's election with traverse of Group 2, claims 23-32 in the reply filed on 2/2/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no search burden is present because subject matter is related. This is not found persuasive because being related subject matter when different types of invention are present does not mean that a search burden is not present as different searches strategies and references are required.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 13-22 are withdrawn from prosecution.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/18/2023, 6/6/2024, 2/6/2025, 7/11/2025 and 12/23/2025 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 23-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2017/0288055 A1) to Aktas et al. (hereinafter Aktas) in view of the teachings of (US 2020/0350410 A1) to Lin et al. (hereinafter Lin) in further view of (JP H08291232 A) to Kotaka et al. (hereinafter Kotaka).
Aktas is directed toward a method of producing a nitride ceramic for a semiconductor. Atkas discloses at paragraph [0024] that the core can be a nitride, such as aluminum nitride or gallium nitride. Atkas discloses at paragraph [0006] that the core is a polycrystalline ceramic core. Atkas discloses at paragraph [0041] that the core is encapsulated by an adhesion layer. Atkas discloses at paragraph [0058] that a single crystal is joined to the bonding layer forming a planarization layer. Atkas discloses at paragraph [0059] that the planarization layer is milled to 1.5 microns, which reads on Applicants range of 0.5 to 3 microns. Atkas discloses at paragraph [0033] that layer is formed by epitaxial growth. Atkas discloses at paragraph [0082] that a silicon oxynitride layer may be present over the core that may be 500 angstroms thick (0.05 microns) that reads on Applicants range of 0.05 to 1.5 microns.
Lin is directed toward a method of producing a nitride ceramic for a semiconductor. Aktas and Lin are both directed toward a method of producing a nitride ceramic for a semiconductor and therefore are analogous art. Lin teaches at paragraph [0005] that a ceramic core having a first adhesion layer that includes a silicon oxynitride.
Kotaka is directed toward a method of producing a nitride ceramic for a semiconductor. Aktas and Kotaka are both directed toward a method of producing a nitride ceramic for a semiconductor and therefore are analogous art. Kotaka teaches in the Abstract that a carbon generation source is used to form a carbon layer from a mixture of hydrocarbon and ammonia gasses. Kotaka teaches that the encapsulating layer is forms a layer that reads on Applicants formulas.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of Aktas in view of the teachings of Lin and Kotaka to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 23-32.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766