DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A1 and B1 in the reply filed on 11/10/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 9 and 15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/10/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Both claims 14 and 16 recite, “[the] bandpass mass filter has an m/z bandwidth in a range of about [x] to about [y].” It is unclear what is meant by these limitations. A mass filter is inherently capable of transmitting both extremely wide m/z ranges and extremely narrow m/z ranges. This is because the transmission range is explained by the Matthieu equations, which allow any given quadrupole to be adjusted to any number of bandpass widths by changing the RF and DC voltages applied thereto.1 As such, it is unclear whether the instant limitations regarding m/z bandwidth are intended to describe the voltages applied to the filters, the power sources that apply said voltages, the filters themselves with particular voltages applied thereto, or something else entirely. Accordingly, the claims are indefinite. For purposes of examination, the ranges claimed will be treated as capabilities of the quadrupoles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-13, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/014379 A1 [Hopfgartner].
Regarding Claim 1:
Hopfgartner discloses a method of performing mass spectrometry (abstract), comprising:
introducing a plurality of precursor ions into a mass spectrometer (Fig. 6 (610)),
selecting a portion of said precursor ions having m/z ratios within a first desired range (Fig. 6 (620)),
causing fragmentation of at least a portion of said selected precursor ions to generate a plurality of product ions (Fig. 6 (650)),
selecting a portion of said product ions having m/z ratios within a second desired range (para 67), and
performing mass analysis of said selected product ions (para 67).
Regarding Claim 2:
Hopfgartner discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the step of selecting a portion of said precursor ions comprises introducing said precursor ions into a first mass filter. Paras 22, 52.
Regarding Claim 3:
Hopfgartner discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the step of selecting a portion of said product ions comprises introducing the product ions into a second mass filter. Para 67.
Regarding Claim 4:
Hopfgartner discloses the method of claim 3, wherein any of said first and second mass filter comprises a plurality of rods arranged in a multipole configuration. Paras 53-54.
Regarding Claim 5:
Hopfgartner discloses the method of claim 4, wherein said rods are configured for application of any DC and/or RF voltage thereto for generating an electromagnetic field within said mass filter for facilitating selection of said portions of any of the precursor and product ions. That is inherently how all quadrupole mass filters and analyzers work. Were they not so configured, then they would not be able to select ions.
Regarding Claim 6:
Hopfgartner discloses the method of claim 4, wherein said multipole configuration comprises a quadrupole configuration. Paras 53-54.
Regarding Claim 7:
Hopfgartner discloses a mass spectrometer, comprising:
an orifice for receiving a plurality of precursor ions from an ion source (Fig. 2 (221)),
a first bandpass mass filter for receiving at least a portion of said ions (Fig. 2 Q1), said first bandpass mass filter being configured for selecting a portion of said precursor ions having m/z ratios within a first desired range (Paras 22, 52),
a collision cell disposed downstream of said first bandpass mass filter for receiving at least a portion of said selected precursor ions to cause fragmentation of at least a portion thereof to generate a plurality of product ions (Fig. 2 (225), para 67), and
a second bandpass mass filter for receiving at least a portion of said product ions, said second bandpass mass filter being configured to select a portion of said product ions having m/z ratios within a second desired range (Fig. 2 (226), para 67).
Regarding Claim 8:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 7, wherein said collision cell and said second bandpass mass filter are positioned in the same chamber. As shown in Fig. 2. (226) and (225) are in the same chamber.
Regarding Claim 10:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 7, further comprising a mass analyzer disposed downstream of said second bandpass mass filter to receive at least a portion of said selected product ions and provide mass analysis thereof. Fig. 2 (227)- is a ToF mass analyzer.
Regarding Claim 11:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 10, wherein said mass analyzer comprises a quadrupole mass analyzer. Para 54.
Regarding Claim 12:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 7, wherein any of said first and second bandpass mass filter comprises a plurality of rods arranged in a multipole configuration and configured for application of any of an RF and/or DC voltage thereto for generating an electromagnetic field within said bandpass mass filter for facilitating selection of said portions of any of the precursor and product ions. Paras 53-54. All quadrupole mass filters and analyzers inherently operate in the claimed fashion. Were they not so configured, then they would not be able to select ions.
Regarding Claim 13:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 12, wherein said multipole configuration comprises a quadrupole configuration. Para 53.
Regarding Claim 17:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 7, further comprising an ion guide positioned upstream of said first bandpass mass filter for receiving ions passing through said orifice and provide focusing of said ions. Fig. 2 (222, 223).
Regarding Claim 18:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 17, wherein said ion guide comprises a plurality of rods arranged in a multi-rod configuration and configured for application of RF and/or DC voltages thereto for generating an electromagnetic field for focusing said ions. Fig. 2 (223) is labeled “Q0”, which is the standard nomenclature in mass spectrometry for a quadrupole. As such, it has four rod electrode that are configured for application of RF and/or DC voltages thereto for generating an electromagnetic field for focusing said ions, like all quadrupoles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hopfgartner in view of US 2017/0299550 A1 [Wang].
Regarding Claim 14:
Hopfgartner teaches the mass spectrometer of claim 7, but fails to specify that said first bandpass mass filter has an m/z bandwidth in a range of about 0.7 to about 25.
Wang teaches a mass analyzer (abstract) wherein the quadrupole filters (para 43) can have voltages (RF and DC) applied thereto to provide an m/z bandwidth of 5 m/z (para 39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the window widths taught by Wang in the invention of Hopfgartner, since this would allow one to optimize experimental procedures around given precursor and product ions.
Regarding Claim 16:
Hopfgartner teaches the mass spectrometer of claim 7, wherein said second bandpass mass filter has an m/z bandwidth in a range of about 200 to about 400.
Wang teaches a mass analyzer (abstract) wherein the quadrupole filters (para 43) can have voltages (RF and DC) applied thereto to provide an m/z bandwidth of about 200 m/z (para 39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the window widths taught by Wang in the invention of Hopfgartner, since this would allow one to optimize experimental procedures around given precursor and product ions.
Conclusion
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881
1 Pedder, Randall E. "Practical quadrupole theory: graphical theory." Excel Core Mass Spectrometers, Pittsburgh, PA, Extrel Application Note RA_2010 A (2001).