DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that claims 14 and 16 are not indefinite, but instead are simply broad. Applicant explains that one of ordinary skill in the art can determine the bandwidth of a bandpass filter, and that claims 14 and 16 describe a bandpass mass filter that has a particular m/z bandwidth due to its structure and operational parameters. This is persuasive. The indefiniteness rejections of record are withdrawn.
Applicant asserts that Hopfgartner fails to teach a second mass filter, but instead only teaches one mass filter. This is not persuasive. As accepted by the applicant in the arguments, quadrupoles are mass filter. Fig. 2 (226) is a quadrupoles. This is evident in the marking of (226) as Q2. Further, (227) of Hopfgartner can be embodied as a quadrupole per Hopfgartner para 54. Both quadrupoles select ions that have been subject to fragmentation in the electron dissociation chamber (225), i.e., product ions. Further, (227) performs mass analysis on the selected ions, presumably by selective ejection, which is the norm. Applicant’s argument that Hopfgartner fails to teach a second mass filter directly contradicts applicant’s argument with respect to a definiteness of the mass filter of claims 14 and 16. Therein, applicant acknowledges that a mass filter is defined by its structure and operational parameters. Hopfgartner provides quadrupoles, i.e., the structure of a mass filter, and voltages to allow ions to pass through the quadrupoles for detection, i.e., the operational parameters of a mass filter. Since the quadrupoles are both structurally and operationally mass filters, they are also mass filters for the purposes of anticipation.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments significantly alter the scope of claims 1 and 4-6. An additional anticipation rejection is provided below to better represent the state of the art with respect to various understanding of the limitation: “using a [first/second] mass filter to select.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-13, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2021/014379 A1 [Hopfgartner].
Regarding Claim 1:
Hopfgartner discloses a method of performing mass spectrometry (abstract), comprising:
introducing a plurality of precursor ions into a mass spectrometer (Fig. 6 (610)),
using a first mass filter to select a portion (Paras 22, 52) of said precursor ions having m/z ratios within a first desired range (Fig. 6 (620)),
causing fragmentation of at least a portion of said selected precursor ions to generate a plurality of product ions (Fig. 6 (650)),
using a second mass filter (quadrupole of Fig. 2 (227), para 54; or quadrupole of Fig. 2 (226), para 67) to select a portion of said product ions having m/z ratios within a second desired m/z range (para 67), and
performing mass analysis of said selected product ions (para 67).
Regarding Claim 4:
Hopfgartner discloses the method of claim 1, wherein any of said first and second mass filter comprises a plurality of rods arranged in a multipole configuration. Paras 53-54.
Regarding Claim 5:
Hopfgartner discloses the method of claim 4, wherein said rods are configured for application of any DC and/or RF voltage thereto for generating an electromagnetic field within said mass filter for facilitating selection of said portions of any of the precursor and product ions. That is inherently how all quadrupole mass filters and analyzers work. Were they not so configured, then they would not be able to select ions.
Regarding Claim 6:
Hopfgartner discloses the method of claim 4, wherein said multipole configuration comprises a quadrupole configuration. Paras 53-54.
Regarding Claim 7:
Hopfgartner discloses a mass spectrometer, comprising:
an orifice for receiving a plurality of precursor ions from an ion source (Fig. 2 (221)),
a first bandpass mass filter for receiving at least a portion of said ions (Fig. 2 Q1), said first bandpass mass filter being configured for selecting a portion of said precursor ions having m/z ratios within a first desired range (Paras 22, 52),
a collision cell disposed downstream of said first bandpass mass filter for receiving at least a portion of said selected precursor ions to cause fragmentation of at least a portion thereof to generate a plurality of product ions (Fig. 2 (225), para 67), and
a second bandpass mass filter for receiving at least a portion of said product ions, said second bandpass mass filter being configured to select a portion of said product ions having m/z ratios within a second desired range (Fig. 2 (226), para 67).
Regarding Claim 8:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 7, wherein said collision cell and said second bandpass mass filter are positioned in the same chamber. As shown in Fig. 2. (226) and (225) are in the same chamber.
Regarding Claim 10:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 7, further comprising a mass analyzer disposed downstream of said second bandpass mass filter to receive at least a portion of said selected product ions and provide mass analysis thereof. Fig. 2 (227)- is a ToF mass analyzer.
Regarding Claim 11:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 10, wherein said mass analyzer comprises a quadrupole mass analyzer. Para 54.
Regarding Claim 12:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 7, wherein any of said first and second bandpass mass filter comprises a plurality of rods arranged in a multipole configuration and configured for application of any of an RF and/or DC voltage thereto for generating an electromagnetic field within said bandpass mass filter for facilitating selection of said portions of any of the precursor and product ions. Paras 53-54. All quadrupole mass filters and analyzers inherently operate in the claimed fashion. Were they not so configured, then they would not be able to select ions.
Regarding Claim 13:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 12, wherein said multipole configuration comprises a quadrupole configuration. Para 53.
Regarding Claim 17:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 7, further comprising an ion guide positioned upstream of said first bandpass mass filter for receiving ions passing through said orifice and provide focusing of said ions. Fig. 2 (222, 223).
Regarding Claim 18:
Hopfgartner discloses the mass spectrometer of claim 17, wherein said ion guide comprises a plurality of rods arranged in a multi-rod configuration and configured for application of RF and/or DC voltages thereto for generating an electromagnetic field for focusing said ions. Fig. 2 (223) is labeled “Q0”, which is the standard nomenclature in mass spectrometry for a quadrupole. As such, it has four rod electrode that are configured for application of RF and/or DC voltages thereto for generating an electromagnetic field for focusing said ions, like all quadrupoles.
Claims 1, 4, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0178887 A1 [Park].
Regarding Claim 1:
Park discloses a method of performing mass spectrometry (abstract), comprising:
introducing a plurality of precursor ions into a mass spectrometer (claim 10, Fig. 4 (AP ion source))
using a first mass filter to select a portion of said precursor ions having m/z ratios within a first desired range (claim 10 (c))
causing fragmentation of at least a portion of said selected precursor ions to generate a plurality of product ions (claim Fig. 10(d)),
using a second mass filter (claim 10(c), (d)) to select a portion of said product ions having m/z ratios within a second desired m/z range (claim 10(d)), and
performing mass analysis of said selected product ions (claim 10(d)).
Regarding Claim 4:
Park discloses the method of claim 1, wherein any of said first and second mass filter comprises a plurality of rods arranged in a multipole configuration. Abstract- quadrupoles.
Regarding Claim 5:
Park discloses the method of claim 4, wherein said rods are configured for application of any DC and/or RF voltage thereto for generating an electromagnetic field within said mass filter for facilitating selection of said portions of any of the precursor and product ions. That is inherently how all quadrupole mass filters and analyzers work. Were they not so configured, then they would not be able to select ions.
Regarding Claim 6:
Park discloses the method of claim 4, wherein said multipole configuration comprises a quadrupole configuration. abstract
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hopfgartner in view of US 2017/0299550 A1 [Wang].
Regarding Claim 14:
Hopfgartner teaches the mass spectrometer of claim 7, but fails to specify that said first bandpass mass filter has an m/z bandwidth in a range of about 0.7 to about 25.
Wang teaches a mass analyzer (abstract) wherein the quadrupole filters (para 43) can have voltages (RF and DC) applied thereto to provide an m/z bandwidth of 5 m/z (para 39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the window widths taught by Wang in the invention of Hopfgartner, since this would allow one to optimize experimental procedures around given precursor and product ions.
Regarding Claim 16:
Hopfgartner teaches the mass spectrometer of claim 7, wherein said second bandpass mass filter has an m/z bandwidth in a range of about 200 to about 400.
Wang teaches a mass analyzer (abstract) wherein the quadrupole filters (para 43) can have voltages (RF and DC) applied thereto to provide an m/z bandwidth of about 200 m/z (para 39). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to use the window widths taught by Wang in the invention of Hopfgartner, since this would allow one to optimize experimental procedures around given precursor and product ions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
WYATT STOFFA
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2881
/WYATT A STOFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2881