DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 raises the issue of indefiniteness because it attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process (see MPEP section 2173.05(q)). Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
Claim 11 raises the issue of indefiniteness because it attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process (see MPEP section 2173.05(q)). Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
Claim 14 raises the issue of indefiniteness because it attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process (see MPEP section 2173.05(q)). Clarification and/or correction are/is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White, US 2007/0090516 in view of Awazu et al., US 2007/0056953 or Komatsu et al., JP 2007-180091.
With respect to independent claim 1, White shows the invention substantially as claimed including a stage 138/1700 installed in a chamber 102 for heating and cooling an object 140, the stage comprising: a stage body 124 with a mount surface for mounting the object; a first tubular part (left 1412) that causes a first fluid to flow for temperature adjustment of the mount surface; and a first tube support part (left 1718) for supporting the first tubular part, wherein the stage body includes: a first groove part 1704/1804 for accommodating the first tubular part (left 1412); the stage body further includes: a second tubular part (right 1412) that causes a second fluid to flow for lowering a temperature of the mount surface; a second groove part 1702/1802 for accommodating the second tubular part (right 1412); and a second tube support part (right 1718) for supporting the second tubular part (right 1412), the second tube support part being separate from the first tube support part; (see, for example, Figs. 1, 14, and 17-18, and their descriptions, Figs. 1 and 18 are shown below).
White does not expressly disclose the claimed paired notches, the first tube support part including a connection part for connecting the paired notches, the claimed second paired notches, and the second tube support part including a second connection part for connecting the second paired notches. Awazu et al. discloses a stage comprising a tubular part 7 that causes a fluid to flow for temperature adjustment of a mount surface; a tube support part 8 for supporting the first tubular part, wherein a stage body includes: a groove part (see, Figs. 2-4) for accommodating the tubular part; and paired notches facing each other across the groove part (notches in structure 4 to which the screws 9 are fixed to, see Fig. 4), the tube support part 8 including connection parts 9 for connecting the paired notches; (see, for example, Figs. 2-4 and their descriptions, Figs. 2 and 4 are shown below).
Also, Komatsu et al. discloses a stage comprising a tubular part 8/40 that causes a fluid to flow for temperature adjustment of a mount surface; a tube support part 4/30 for supporting the first tubular part, wherein a stage body includes: a groove part 12/22 for accommodating the tubular part; and paired notches 16/24 facing each other across the groove part, the tube support part 4/30 including connection parts 14/36 for connecting the paired notches; (see, for example, Figs. 2-5 and their descriptions, Figs. 2 and 5 are shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosures, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of White as to comprise the claimed paired notches and tube support parts including a connection part for connecting the paired notches, because such means/configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable means/configuration for effectively and efficiently bringing the tubular part (cooling pipe) into close contact with the stage body in order to improve/optimize the heat transfer and thereby the temperature of the stage and/or object. It should be noted that in the apparatus of White modified by Awazu et al. or Komatsu et al. would comprise the claimed paired notches facing each other across the first groove part, the first tube support part including the connection part for connecting the paired notches, and the claimed second paired notches facing each other across the second groove part, and the second tube support part including the second connection part for connecting the second paired notches.
With respect to the first fluid being a fluid for raising a temperature of the mount surface, it should be noted that such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The apparatus of White modified by Awazu et al. or Komatsu et al. is capable of flowing a fluid for raising the temperature of the mount surface if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it.
Regarding claims 5-7, it should be noted that White further discloses a vacuum device 100 comprising the stage 138 as a susceptor, wherein the vacuum device is used to perform a method of manufacturing a semiconductor integrated circuit, a flat display panel, or a solar cell panel; (see, for example, Fig. 1 and its description, and paragraphs 0004-0011, and 0031, Fig. 1 is shown below). It should also be noted that the limitation of the vacuum device being used for manufacturing a semiconductor integrated circuit, a flat display panel, or a solar cell panel, is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitations, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The apparatus of White is capable of being used for manufacturing any of the claimed products if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it.
Concerning claim 8, it should be noted that Komatsu et al. discloses that the connection part includes a body part with a surface part centrally located on an upper surface of the body part, and two walls existing on both sides of the surface part, the two walls corresponding to the paired notches (see, for example, Figs. 2 and 5 and their descriptions, Figs. 2 and are shown above). Therefore, the connection parts of the stage of the apparatus of White modified by Awazu et al. or Komatsu et al. would comprise such configuration. With respect to the body part having a quadrangular prism-shape and the centrally located surface part having a flat shape, it should be noted that the configuration of the body part and the centrally located surface part of the connection parts is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed body part and the centrally located surface part of the connection parts is significant.
Claim(s) 2-3 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White, US 2007/0090516 in view of Awazu et al., US 2007/0056953 or Komatsu et al., JP 2007-180091, as applied to claims 1, 5-8 above, and further in view of Nangoy et al., US 2015/0366004.
With respect to claim 2, White, Awazu et al., and Komatsu et al. are applied as above, but does not expressly disclose the claimed heat conductive medium. Nangoy et al. discloses a stage comprising a heat conductive medium 379 in a clearance between a tubular part 209 and a groove part (see, for example, Fig. 3D and its description, Fig. 3D is shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the stage of the apparatus of White modified by Awazu et al. or Komatsu et al., as to further comprise the claimed heat conductive medium because such means is known and used it the art as a suitable means for effectively and efficiently maintaining thermal contact between the tubular part and the surrounding stage body and accommodating thermal expansion, thereby optimizing the stage and the temperature control of the stage.
Concerning claim 3, it should be noted that the heat conductive medium of the apparatus of White modified by Awazu et al. or Komatsu et al. and Nangoy et al. would be made from one of the claimed materials (see, for example, paragraphs 0032-0033 of the Nangoy et al. reference).
Regarding claims 9-14, it should be noted that, as stated above, White further discloses a vacuum device 100 comprising the stage 138 as a susceptor, wherein the vacuum device is used to perform a method of manufacturing a semiconductor integrated circuit, a flat display panel, or a solar cell panel; (see, for example, Fig. 1 and its description, and paragraphs 0004-0011, and 0031, Fig. 1 is shown below). It should also be noted that the limitation of the vacuum device being used for manufacturing a semiconductor integrated circuit, a flat display panel, or a solar cell panel, is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitations, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The apparatus of White is capable of being used for manufacturing any of the claimed products if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. White et al., US 2008/0035306 is cited for its teaching of a vacuum apparatus comprising a stage for heating and cooling an object.
/LUZ L ALEJANDRO MULERO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
April 18, 2026