DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 8/10/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. Because copies of each cited foreign patent document have not been submitted, the foreign patent documents have not been considered.
The information disclosure statement filed 2/13/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. A copy of EP0459569 has not been submitted. This foreign patent document therefore has not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 30 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 10, 30 and 35, “the third terminal” lacks antecedent basis. For purposes of the present examination, “the third end” is presumed to have been intended. Clarification is required so that the scope of the claims is clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 10-11, 14 and 30-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN110638453A to Zhao et al. (Zhao) in view of Stoja et al., "Numerical Investigation of a self-detuning Signal Enhancement Metasurface for 3T MRI," 2020 XXXIIIrd General Assembly and Scientific Symposium of the International Union of Radio Science, Rome, Italy, 2020, pp. 1-4 (Stoja).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a magnetic field enhancing component, comprising:
a first dielectric layer comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 3 (annotated below), dielectric plate 110);
a first electrode layer arranged on the first surface (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 3, first electrode 120);
a second electrode layer and a fourth electrode layer, which are arranged on the second surface at an interval, wherein orthographic projections of the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer, which are projected onto the first dielectric layer, overlap each other, and orthographic projections of the first electrode layer and the fourth electrode layer, which are projected onto the first dielectric layer, overlap each other (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 3, second electrode layer as annotated in Fig. 3 and fourth electrode layer in the form of second electrode 130; note in annotated Fig. 3 that orthographic projections of the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer project onto the first dielectric layer and overlap each other; note in annotated Fig. 3 that orthographic projections of the first electrode layer and the fourth electrode layer project onto the first dielectric layer and overlap each other); and
a second external capacitor
wherein one terminal of the second external capacitor is connected to the second electrode layer
Zhao is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing, in addition to the second external capacitor, a first external capacitor and a first switching control circuit, and that another terminal of the second external capacitor is connected to one terminal of the first external capacitor and one terminal of the first switching control circuit, respectively, and another terminal of the first external capacitor and another terminal of the first switching control circuit each are connected to the first electrode layer, and the first switching control circuit is configured to be turned on in an RF transmitting period and to be turned off in an RF receiving period.
Stoja relates to a self-detuning signal enhancement metasurface for MRI applications and discloses that a signal enhancement plate (EP) can provide a local SNR increase by enhancing the radio frequency (RF) magnetic field during the transmission (Tx) and receive (Rx) phase in MRI (Stoja, page 1, col. 2). Stoja discloses that while the signal enhancement during the Rx phase is beneficial, the presence of the EP might also distort the excitation field during Tx phase and modify the targeted flip angle in the region of interest (ROI), which simply corresponds to a larger input power (Stoja, page 1, col. 2). Accordingly, Stoja discloses that signal enhancement or modification during the Tx phase must be precisely controlled or at least switched off completely, but during the Rx phase, the enhancement plate shall be tuned to the scanner’s resonance frequency and perform as expected (Stoja, page 1, col. 2 to page 2, col. 1). Stoja discloses that detuning the EP precisely during the Tx phase solves this problem (Stoja, page 2, col. 1). Stoja discloses that one approach to implementing detuning may be to use a varactor modeled as a switchable capacitor of value 4.7 pF and 3.2 pF during the high incident power phase (Tx) and low power (Rx) phase, respectively (Stoja, page 2, col. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore understand from Stoja that a capacitor switchable between a detuned value and a tuned value may be used to detune and tune a resonator during the Tx and Rx phases, respectively. In view of Stoja’s disclosure, and further in view of the well-known and conventional principle of forming a variable/controllable capacitance using a bank of capacitors and switches to selectively combine capacitors in parallel and/or series, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Zhao to include a first external capacitor and a first switching control circuit, with another terminal of the second external capacitor being connected to one terminal of the first external capacitor and one terminal of the first switching control circuit, respectively, and with another terminal of the first external capacitor and another terminal of the first switching control circuit each being connected to the first electrode layer, and with the first switching control circuit being configured to be turned on in an RF transmitting period and to be turned off in an RF receiving period (e.g., as shown in Fig. 1 of the present application). In this way, in the manner disclosed by Stoja, signal enhancement or modification during the Tx phase by Zhao’s resonator may be disabled (detuned) by switchably altering the capacitance connected between the first and second electrode layers from its resonance value to prevent problems such as distortion of the excitation field, while during the Rx phase the resonator can be switchably tuned/returned to the scanner’s resonance frequency and perform as expected.
The examiner notes that while the combined teachings of Zhao and Stoja would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art a number of switch-capacitor configurations for suitably modifying the capacitance of Zhao’s variable capacitor 400 such that Zhao’s resonator is detuned during the Tx phase (e.g., a parallel switch-capacitor combination in series with capacitor 400 but interposed between the second electrode layer and the capacitor 400, or a series switch-capacitor combination in parallel with capacitor 400), the particular arrangement of Fig. 1 of the present application (i.e., parallel switch-capacitor combination in series with capacitor 400 and disposed between capacitor 400 and the first electrode layer) clearly falls within the possible alternatives that one of ordinary skill would consider in order to obtain the effect disclosed by Stoja (i.e., detuning during Tx phase). Such reasoning falls well-within the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ in light of the teachings of Zhao, Stoja’s teaching pertaining to the use of capacitor switchable between tuned/detuned capacitance values, and the well-known and conventional mathematical principles pertaining to series and parallel combinations of capacitors.
Regarding claim 4, Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 1 discloses wherein the one terminal of the first switching control circuit is connected to a portion of the second electrode layer, which corresponds to the overlapped portion of the orthographic projections of the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer projected onto the first dielectric layer; and the other terminal of the first switching control circuit is connected to a portion of the first electrode layer, which corresponds to the overlapped portion of the orthographic projections of the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer projected onto the first dielectric layer (see Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 1, noting that placement of the parallel first capacitor-switching control combination in series with Zhao’s capacitor 400 and disposed between the first electrode layer and Zhao’s capacitor 400 will provide the connections specified in claim 4).
Claim 5 recites a magnetic field enhancing component, comprising:
a first dielectric layer comprising a first surface and a second surface arranged opposite to each other;
a first electrode layer arranged on the first surface and covering part of the first surface;
a second electrode layer arranged on the second surface and covering part of the second surface, wherein an orthographic projection of the first electrode layer projected onto the first dielectric layer overlaps an orthographic projection of the second electrode layer projected onto the first dielectric layer to form a first structural capacitor; and
a first external capacitor, a second external capacitor and a first switching control circuit;
wherein one terminal of the second external capacitor is connected to the second electrode layer, and another terminal of the second external capacitor is connected to one terminal of the first external capacitor and one terminal of the first switching control circuit, respectively;
another terminal of the first external capacitor and another terminal of the first switching control circuit each are connected to the first electrode layer; and
the first switching control circuit is configured to be turned on in an RF transmitting period and to be turned off in an RF receiving period,
and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Zhao in view of Stoja for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 1, recognizing that (1) Zhao’s first electrode layer (e.g., first electrode 120) in annotated Fig. 3 above covers the entirety of the first surface (e.g., top surface of dielectric plate 110) and therefore necessarily covers part of the first surface, and (2) a portion of Zhao’s dielectric plate 110 in annotated Fig. 3 above is sandwiched between opposing portions of first electrode 120 and second electrode layer and therefore necessarily defines a first structural capacitor.
Regarding claim 6, Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 5 discloses wherein,
the first dielectric layer comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other (see annotated Fig. 3 of Zhao set forth above, right end and left end of Zhao’s dielectric plate 110 respectively correspond to a first end and a second end of the first dielectric layer as claimed, with right end being opposite the left end);
the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer are strip-shaped and have the same width (see annotated Fig. 3 of Zhao above, first electrode 120 and second electrode layer are depicted as strip-shaped with same widths in the up-down direction of Fig. 3); the first electrode layer extends from the second end towards the first end; the second electrode layer extends from the first end towards the second end (see annotated Fig. 3 of Zhao above, first electrode 120 extends from left end of dielectric plate 110 to right end of dielectric plate 110, and the second electrode layer extends from right end of dielectric plate 110 towards left end of dielectric plate 110); and
the orthographic projection of the first electrode layer projected onto the first dielectric layer overlaps the orthographic projection of the second electrode layer projected onto the first dielectric layer to form the first structural capacitor (see annotated Fig. 3 of Zhao above, a portion of Zhao’s dielectric plate 110 in annotated Fig. 3 above is sandwiched between opposing portions of first electrode 120 and second electrode layer and therefore necessarily defines the first structural capacitor).
Regarding claim 10, Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 1 discloses a magnetic field enhancing device, comprising:
a cylindrical supporting structure having a third end and a fourth end which spaced and opposite to each other (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 2, cylindrical support 300 having third (left) and fourth (right) ends);
a plurality of magnetic field enhancing components according to claim 1, which are arranged on the cylindrical supporting structure at intervals and extend from the third end towards the fourth end (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 2, plurality of printed circuit boards 100 (Fig. 3) are uniformly distributed around a cylindrical support 300, with Zhao circuit boards 100 being modified in view of Stoja as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above);
a first annular conductive sheet arranged on the cylindrical supporting structure and proximate to the third terminal [construed as “the third end” – see 112(b) rejection above], and electrically connected to portions of the plurality of magnetic field enhancing components located at the third end (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 2, shaped conductive sheet 200 includes a first ring-shaped guide sheet disposed at third (left) end of cylindrical support 300; ring-shaped conductive sheet 200 at third end is provided at each end of the second electrode 130 to connect the parallel plate capacitor, and the conductive rings are connected end to end; see, e.g., machine translation of Zhao, paragraph bridging pages 9-10); and
a second annular conductive sheet arranged on the cylindrical supporting structure and proximate to the fourth end, and electrically connected to portions of the plurality of magnetic field enhancing components located at the fourth end (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 2, shaped conductive sheet 200 includes a second ring-shaped guide sheet disposed at fourth (right) end of cylindrical support 300; conductive sheet 200 at fourth end is provided at each end of the second electrode 130 to connect the parallel plate capacitor, and the conductive rings are connected end to end; see, e.g., machine translation of Zhao, paragraph bridging pages 9-10).
Regarding claim 11, Zhao discloses a magnetic field enhancing component, comprising:
a first dielectric layer comprising a first surface and a second surface opposite to each other (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 3 (annotated above), dielectric plate 110);
a first electrode layer arranged on the first surface (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 3, first electrode 120);
a second electrode layer and a fourth electrode layer, which are arranged on the second surface at an interval; wherein orthographic projections of the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer, which are projected onto the first dielectric layer, overlap each other, and orthographic projections of the first electrode layer and the fourth electrode layer, which are projected onto the first dielectric layer, overlap each other (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 3, second electrode layer as annotated in Fig. 3 and fourth electrode layer in the form of second electrode 130; note in annotated Fig. 3 that orthographic projections of the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer project onto the first dielectric layer and overlap each other; note in annotated Fig. 3 that orthographic projections of the first electrode layer and the fourth electrode layer project onto the first dielectric layer and overlap each other); and
a third external capacitor, two terminals of the third external capacitor being connected to the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer, respectively (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 3, variable capacitor 400); and
Zhao is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing, in addition to the third external capacitor, a fourth external capacitor and a second switching control circuit, wherein one terminal of the fourth external capacitor is connected to the second electrode layer; another terminal of the fourth external capacitor is connected to one terminal of the second switching control circuit; another terminal of the second switching control circuit is connected to the first electrode layer; and the second switching control circuit is configured to be turned on in an RF transmitting period and to be turned off in an RF receiving period.
Stoja relates to a self-detuning signal enhancement metasurface for MRI applications and discloses that a signal enhancement plate (EP) can provide a local SNR increase by enhancing the radio frequency (RF) magnetic field during the transmission (Tx) and receive (Rx) phase in MRI (Stoja, page 1, col. 2). Stoja discloses that while the signal enhancement during the Rx phase is beneficial, the presence of the EP might also distort the excitation field during Tx phase and modify the targeted flip angle in the region of interest (ROI), which simply corresponds to a larger input power (Stoja, page 1, col. 2). Accordingly, Stoja discloses that signal enhancement or modification during the Tx phase must be precisely controlled or at least switched off completely, but during the Rx phase, the enhancement plate shall be tuned to the scanner’s resonance frequency and perform as expected (Stoja, page 1, col. 2 to page 2, col. 1). Stoja discloses that detuning the EP precisely during the Tx phase solves this problem (Stoja, page 2, col. 1). Stoja discloses that one approach to implementing detuning may be to use a varactor modeled as a switchable capacitor of value 4.7 pF and 3.2 pF during the high incident power phase (Tx) and low power (Rx) phase, respectively (Stoja, page 2, col. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would therefore understand from Stoja that a capacitor switchable between a detuned value and a tuned value may be used to detune and tune a resonator during the Tx and Rx phases, respectively. In view of Stoja’s disclosure, and further in view of the well-known and conventional principle of forming a variable/controllable capacitance using a bank of capacitors and switches to selectively combine capacitors in parallel and/or series, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Zhao to include a fourth external capacitor and a second switching control circuit, with one terminal of the fourth external capacitor being connected to the second electrode layer, with another terminal of the fourth external capacitor being connected to one terminal of the second switching control circuit, with another terminal of the second switching control circuit being connected to the first electrode layer, and with the second switching control circuit being configured to be turned on in an RF transmitting period and to be turned off in an RF receiving period (e.g., as shown in Fig. 14 of the present application). In this way, in the manner disclosed by Stoja, signal enhancement or modification during the Tx phase by Zhao’s resonator may be disabled (detuned) by switchably altering the capacitance connected between the first and second electrode layers from its resonance value to prevent problems such as distortion of the excitation field, while during the Rx phase the resonator can be switchably tuned/returned to the scanner’s resonance frequency and perform as expected.
The examiner notes that while the combined teachings of Zhao and Stoja would suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art a number of switch-capacitor configurations for suitably modifying the capacitance of Zhao’s variable capacitor 400 such that Zhao’s resonator is detuned during the Tx phase (e.g., a parallel switch-capacitor combination in series with capacitor 400 but interposed between the second electrode layer and the capacitor 400, or a series switch-capacitor combination in parallel with capacitor 400), the particular arrangement of Fig. 14 of the present application (i.e., series switch-capacitor combination in parallel with capacitor 400) clearly falls within the possible alternatives that one of ordinary skill would consider in order to obtain the effect disclosed by Stoja (i.e., detuning during Tx phase). Such reasoning falls well-within the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ in light of the teachings of Zhao, Stoja’s teaching pertaining to the use of capacitor switchable between tuned/detuned capacitance values, and the well-known and conventional mathematical principles pertaining to series and parallel combinations of capacitors.
Regarding claim 14, Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 11 discloses wherein the one terminal of the first switching control circuit is connected to a portion of the second electrode layer, which corresponds to the overlapped portion of the orthographic projections of the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer projected onto the first dielectric layer; and the other terminal of the first switching control circuit is connected to a portion of the first electrode layer, which corresponds to the overlapped portion of the orthographic projections of the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer projected onto the first dielectric layer (see Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 11, noting that placement of the series switch-capacitor combination in parallel with capacitor 400 will provide the connections specified in claim 14).
Regarding claim 30, Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 11 discloses a magnetic field enhancing device, comprising:
a cylindrical supporting structure having a third end and a fourth end which spaced and opposite to each other (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 2, cylindrical support 300 having third (left) and fourth (right) ends);
a plurality of magnetic field enhancing components according to claim 11, which are arranged on the cylindrical supporting structure at intervals and extend from the third end towards the fourth end (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 2, plurality of printed circuit boards 100 (Fig. 3) are uniformly distributed around a cylindrical support 300, with Zhao circuit boards 100 being modified in view of Stoja as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above);
a first annular conductive sheet arranged on the cylindrical supporting structure and proximate to the third terminal [construed as “the third end” – see 112(b) rejection above], and electrically connected to portions, located at the third end, of the plurality of magnetic field enhancing components (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 2, shaped conductive sheet 200 includes a first ring-shaped guide sheet disposed at third (left) end of cylindrical support 300; ring-shaped conductive sheet 200 at third end is provided at each end of the second electrode 130 to connect the parallel plate capacitor, and the conductive rings are connected end to end; see, e.g., machine translation of Zhao, paragraph bridging pages 9-10); and
a second annular conductive sheet arranged on the cylindrical supporting structure and proximate to the fourth end, and electrically connected to portions, located at the fourth end, of the plurality of magnetic field enhancing component (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 2, shaped conductive sheet 200 includes a second ring-shaped guide sheet disposed at fourth (right) end of cylindrical support 300; conductive sheet 200 at fourth end is provided at each end of the second electrode 130 to connect the parallel plate capacitor, and the conductive rings are connected end to end; see, e.g., machine translation of Zhao, paragraph bridging pages 9-10).
Regarding claim 31, Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 1 discloses wherein the first dielectric layer comprises a first end and a second end opposite to each other (see annotated Fig. 3 of Zhao set forth above, left end and right end of Zhao’s dielectric plate 110 respectively correspond to a first end and a second end of the first dielectric layer as claimed, with right end being opposite the left end); the first electrode layer arranged on the first surface is configure to extend from the first end to the second end (see annotated Fig. 3 of Zhao above, first electrode 120 on top surface of dielectric plate 110 extends from left end of dielectric plate 110 to right end of dielectric plate 110); the second electrode layer is located on the second end of the second surface (see annotated Fig. 3 of Zhao above, second electrode layer is located on bottom surface of dielectric plate 110 on right end of dielectric plate 110); and the fourth electrode layer is located on the first end of the second surface (see annotated Fig. 3 of Zhao above, second electrode 130 is located on bottom surface of dielectric plate 110 on left end of dielectric plate 110).
Regarding claim 32, Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 1 discloses wherein thickness of the first electrode layer, thickness of the second electrode layer, and thickness of the fourth electrode layer are equal, and planes where the first electrode layer, the second electrode layer, the fourth electrode layer, and the first dielectric layer are located respectively, are substantially parallel to each other (see annotated Fig. 3 of Zhao above, first electrode 120, second electrode layer and second electrode 130 are depicted with same widths in the up-down direction of Fig. 3 and in planes that are substantially parallel to each other).
Regarding claim 33, Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 1 discloses wherein the first dielectric layer is made of insulating material, and the first dielectric layer has a rectangular plate structure (see annotated Fig. 3 of Zhao above, noting that dielectric plate 110 has a rectangular plate structure; also see Zhao, e.g., page 13 of machine translation, first two full paragraphs).
Regarding claim 34, Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 1 discloses wherein, the first dielectric layer is made of epoxy glass fiber; the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer have rectangular plate structures; and the first electrode layer and the second electrode layer are made of conductive and non-magnetic material (see annotated Fig. 3 of Zhao above, noting that first electrode 120 and second electrode layer each comprise a rectangular plate structure; also see Zhao, e.g., page 13 of machine translation, first two full paragraphs).
Regarding claim 35, Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 5 discloses a magnetic field enhancing device, comprising:
a cylindrical supporting structure having a third end and a fourth end which spaced and opposite to each other (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 2, cylindrical support 300 having third (left) and fourth (right) ends);
a plurality of magnetic field enhancing components according to claim 5, which are arranged on the cylindrical supporting structure at intervals and extend from the third end towards the fourth end (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 2, plurality of printed circuit boards 100 (Fig. 3) are uniformly distributed around a cylindrical support 300, with Zhao circuit boards 100 being modified in view of Stoja as set forth in the rejection of claim 11 above);
a first annular conductive sheet arranged on the cylindrical supporting structure and proximate to the third terminal [construed as “the third end” – see 112(b) rejection above], and electrically connected to portions of the plurality of magnetic field enhancing components located at the third end (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 2, shaped conductive sheet 200 includes a first ring-shaped guide sheet disposed at third (left) end of cylindrical support 300; ring-shaped conductive sheet 200 at third end is provided at each end of the second electrode 130 to connect the parallel plate capacitor, and the conductive rings are connected end to end; see, e.g., machine translation of Zhao, paragraph bridging pages 9-10); and
a second annular conductive sheet arranged on the cylindrical supporting structure and proximate to the fourth end, and electrically connected to portions of the plurality of magnetic field enhancing components located at the fourth end (Zhao, e.g., Fig. 2, shaped conductive sheet 200 includes a second ring-shaped guide sheet disposed at fourth (right) end of cylindrical support 300; conductive sheet 200 at fourth end is provided at each end of the second electrode 130 to connect the parallel plate capacitor, and the conductive rings are connected end to end; see, e.g., machine translation of Zhao, paragraph bridging pages 9-10).
Claims 2-3 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao in view of Stoja, and further in view of US 2014/0171784 to Ooi et al. (Ooi).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 1 is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing wherein the first switching control circuit comprises:
a first diode, an anode of the first diode being connected to the first electrode layer; and
a second diode, a cathode of the second diode being connected to the first electrode layer;
wherein the one terminal of the second external capacitor is connected to the second electrode layer; the other terminal of the second external capacitor is connected to a cathode of the first diode, an anode of the second diode, and the one terminal of the first external capacitor, respectively; and
the other terminal of the first external capacitor is connected to the first electrode layer.
The principle of using crossed/anti-parallel diodes as a switching control circuit for detuning during RF transmit periods, e.g., by shorting a capacitor, is well-known and conventional in at least the MRI field. See, e.g., Ooi, Fig. 1 and paragraph 37. Also see, e.g., US 2007/0106148 to Dumoulin, Fig. 3 and paragraph 43; US 2016/0310229 to Bammer et al., Fig. 1C and paragraph 30. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Zhao in view of Stoja such that the first switching control circuit is implemented using crossed crossed/anti-parallel diodes such that an anode of a first diode is connected to the first electrode layer, a cathode of a second diode is connected to the first electrode layer, the one terminal of the second external capacitor is connected to the second electrode layer, the other terminal of the second external capacitor is connected to a cathode of the first diode, an anode of the second diode, and the one terminal of the first external capacitor, respectively, and the other terminal of the first external capacitor is connected to the first electrode layer (e.g., as shown in Fig. 2 of the present application). In this way, passive detuning of the resonator of Zhao in view of Stoja during RF transmit can be implemented using crossed/anti-parallel diodes as a switching control circuit in the manner disclosed by Ooi.
Regarding claim 3, Zhao in view of Stoja as applied to claim 1 is not relied upon as explicitly disclosing wherein the first switching control circuit comprises:
a first enhancement-mode MOSFET, a drain of the first enhancement-mode MOSFET being connected to the first electrode layer, and a grid of the first enhancement-mode MOSFET being connected to the first electrode layer; and
a second enhancement-mode MOSFET, a source of the second enhancement-mode MOSFET being connected to the first electrode layer;
wherein the one terminal of the second external capacitor is connected to the second electrode layer; the other terminal of the second external capacitor is connected to a source of the first enhancement-mode MOSFET, a drain of the second enhancement-mode MOSFET, a grid of the second enhancement-mode MOSFET, and
the one terminal of the first external capacitor, respectively; and the other terminal of the first external capacitor is connected to the first electrode layer.
As discussed above in connection with claim 2, the use of crossed/anti-parallel diodes as a switching control circuit for detuning during RF transmit periods is disclosed by Ooi, and the particular configuration of claim 2 is obvious over Zhao in view of Stoja and Ooi. In addition to the combined teachings of Zhao in view of Stoja and Ooi, the examiner takes Official notice of the fact that a diode-connected MOSFET configuration in which the gates and drain are connected was well-known and conventional before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains and provides a two-terminal device that behaves as a diode. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Zhao in view of Stoja in further view of Ooi such that the first switching control circuit includes a first enhancement-mode MOSFET, a drain of the first enhancement-mode MOSFET being connected to the first electrode layer, and a grid of the first enhancement-mode MOSFET being connected to the first electrode layer, a second enhancement-mode MOSFET, a source of the second enhancement-mode MOSFET being connected to the first electrode layer, wherein the one terminal of the second external capacitor is connected to the second electrode layer; the other terminal of the second external capacitor is connected to a source of the first enhancement-mode MOSFET, a drain of the second enhancement-mode MOSFET, a grid of the second enhancement-mode MOSFET and the one terminal of the first external capacitor, respectively; and the other terminal of the first external capacitor is connected to the first electrode layer. In this way, passive detuning of the resonator of Zhao in view of Stoja during RF transmit can be implemented using crossed/anti-parallel diodes as a switching control circuit in the manner disclosed by Ooi as discussed above in connection with claim 2, with the crossed/anti-parallel diodes being implemented as enhancement-mode MOSFETs in which the gate and drain of each MOSFET are connected so as to provide diode-connected MOFETS that function as diodes.
Claim 12 recites wherein the second switching control circuit comprises:
a third diode, an anode of the third diode being connected to the first electrode layer;
a fourth diode, a cathode of the fourth diode being connected to the first electrode layer; and
the one terminal of the fourth external capacitor is connected to the second electrode layer, and the other terminal of the fourth external capacitor is connected to a cathode of the third diode and an anode of the fourth diode, respectively,
and is rejected over Zhao in view of Stoja and Ooi for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 2 (e.g., using crossed/anti-parallel diodes as a switching control circuit for detuning during RF transmit periods).
Claim 13 recites wherein the second switching control circuit comprises:
a third enhancement-mode MOSFET, a drain of the third enhancement-mode MOSFET being connected to the first electrode layer, and a grid of the third enhancement-mode MOSFET being connected to the first electrode layer; and
a fourth enhancement-mode MOSFET, a source of the fourth enhancement-mode MOSFET being connected to the first electrode layer;
wherein the one terminal of the fourth external capacitor is connected to the second electrode layer, and the other terminal of the fourth external capacitor is connected to a source of the third enhancement-mode MOSFET, a drain of the fourth enhancement-mode MOSFET and a grid of the fourth enhancement-mode MOSFET,
and is rejected over Zhao in view of Stoja and Ooi for reasons analogous to those discussed above in connection with the rejection of claim 3 (e.g., using crossed/anti-parallel diodes being implemented as enhancement-mode MOSFETs in which the gate and drain of each MOSFET are connected so as to provide diode-connected MOFETS that function as diodes).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Saha, S., Pricci, R., Koutsoupidou, M. et al. A smart switching system to enable automatic tuning and detuning of metamaterial resonators in MRI scans. Sci Rep 10, 10042 (2020) relates to a radio-frequency-activated switching system that can automatically detune a metamaterial resonator to enhance magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) performance.
US 2018/0356483 to Zhang et al. relates to a passive apparatus including a plurality of resonators increases signal-to-noise ratio of radiofrequency signals emitted by a specimen and captured by an MRI machine; see, e.g., paragraphs 103, 105-106 and claim 13.
/DANIEL R MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858