DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This is the initial office action for US Patent Application No. 18/276704 by Fuchs et at. Claims 15-28 are currently pending and have been fully considered. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 15 -17 and 22 -24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Shirane et al. (US 2004/0247999 A1), herein referred to as Shirane , provided in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed 8/10/2023 . Regarding claim s 15 and 22 , Shirane teaches ( [00 38-0039, 0044 and 0100-0105 ] and Figure 5) a n energy storage cell and a method for producing an energy storage cell comprising providing a cylindrical case ( housing ) having a base; providing a current collector plate ( lead plate ) ; providing a winding (wound) electrode group ( electrode arrangement ) ; welding ( connecting ) the electrode group to the current collector plate ; arranging the current collector plate welded to the elec trode group in the cylindrical case and connecting the current collector plate and the base of the housing by laser beam welding . Regarding claims 16 and 23, Shirane further teaches (Figure 5) the cylindrical case ( housing ) 205 having the base in cludes a through hole 213 , the current collector plate 209 having a protrusion ( projection ) 209a , and arranging the current collector plate connected to the w inding electrode group (wound electrode arrangement ) in the case includes inserting the protrusion of the current collector plate into the through hole of the base of the cylindrical case. Regarding claims 17 and 24, Shirane further teaches [0105-0106] connecting the current collector plate and the base of the cylindrical case by laser beam welding which includes connecting the protrusion of the current collecting plate and the base by laser beam welding, in which a section outside of the base, which adjoins the through hole, and an exposed section of the protrusion are irradiated using a laser beam. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim s 18-21 and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirane et al. (US 2004/0247999 A1), herein referred to as Shirane , provided in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed 8/10/2023 , in view of Nakanishi et al. (US 2004/0023107 A1), herein referred to as Nakanishi, provided in Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed 8/10/2023 . Shirane teaches the energy storage cell and method for producing an energy cell recited in claims 15-17 and 22-24. Shirane does not appear to explicitly teach the limitations of claims 18-21 and 25-28. However, from the same field of technology, Nakanishi teaches the formation of a battery. In view of claims 18 and 25, Nakanishi teaches (Figure 1) a battery including providing a battery can 5 ( housing ) having a base, in which at least one opening ( recess ) 58 is provided, providing a current collector plate ( lead plate ) inclu ding an arc shaped protrusion 62 ( bulge ) , and arranging the current collector plate connected to a spirally wound electrode unit 4 ( wound electrode arrangement ) in the battery can includes inserting the arc shaped protrusion in the opening . In view of claims 19 and 26, Nakanishi further teaches [0082] the current collector plate and the spirally wound electrode unit are connected by laser beam welding. In view of claims 20 and 27, Nakanishi further teaches (Figure 1) providing the current collector plate ( lead plate ) having at least one elevation 62 , which extends originating from a first side, which faces away from a second side of the current collecting plate, originating from where the arc shaped protrusion (bulge) extends, of the current collecting plate, and connecting the spirally wound electrode unit ( wound electrode arrangement ) to the current collecting plate includes connecting the at least one elevation of the current collecting plate to the spirally wound electrode unit by laser beam welding. In view of claims 22 and 28, Nakanishi teaches (Figure 1) the battery can 5 (housing) can be provided with a groove (notch) 54 that can be used to align a laser beam used for welding the current collector plate within the battery can. Nakanishi also teaches [0002] the battery can be employed for an electric vehicle. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT STEWART A FRASER whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5126 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F, 7am-4pm, EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Miriam Stagg can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-5256 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /STEWART A FRASER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724