DETAILED ACTION
Amendments made May 6, 2026 have been entered.
Claims 1 and 3-10 are pending;
Claims 7 and 9-10 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 1, 6, and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ryoko et al (JP 2015-123008 machine translation) as evidenced by Lemon Juice, raw (www.nutritionvalue.org/Lemon_juice%2C_raw_nutritional_value.html?size=1+kg+%3D+1000+g, pages 1-9, printed January 2026) has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made May 6, 2026 which require 0.5-500ppb E-2-decenal.
The rejection of claims 1, 5, and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kazuki et al (JP 2020-089349 machine translation) has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made May 6, 2026 which require 0.5-500ppb E-2-decenal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoko et al (JP 2015-123008 machine translation) as evidenced by Lemon Juice, further in view of (JP50000770 B1 machine translation) has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made May 6, 2026 which require a citrus-flavored beverage.
The rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoko et al (JP 2015-123008 machine translation) as evidenced by Lemon Juice, further in view of Kodama et al (JP 2015-097513 machine translation) has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made May 6, 2026 which require 0.5-500ppb E-2-decenal.
The rejection of claims 4 and 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoko et al (JP 2015-123008 machine translation) as evidenced by Lemon Juice in view of Kodama et al (JP 2015-097513 machine translation), further in view of Kazuki et al (JP 2020-089349 machine translation) has been withdrawn in light of applicant’s amendments made May 6, 2026 which require 0.5-500ppb E-2-decenal.
Note: The term “citrus flavored beverage” would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as any beverage comprising citrus flavoring. It is noted that the term is not based on taste, i.e. a citrus tasting beverage, but is rather defined in terms of its components, and thus is considered definite. It is noted that a beverage comprising any amount of citrus flavoring would be encompassed by the term as the claim has not been limited to a specific amount of said flavoring.
Claims 1, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoko et al (JP 2015-123008 machine translation) in view of Wright, John (“Flavor Bites: trans-2-Decenal” Perfumer & Flavorist 2010, pages 34-35 https://img.perfumerflavorist.com/files/base/allured/all/document/2010/10/pf.PF_35_11_034_02.pdf) and as evidenced by Lemon Juice, raw (www.nutritionvalue.org/Lemon_juice%2C_raw_nutritional_value.html?size=1+kg+%3D+1000+g, pages 1-9, printed January 2026)
Regarding claim 1, Ryoko et al (Ryoko) teaches lemon, i.e. citrus, flavored beverages in which deterioration of citrus flavor is suppressed, wherein the beverage comprises: lemon juice and 0.08-26ppm (80-260ppb) gamma-terpinene (page 1, overview, claim 4, and paragraphs 1, 6, 7, 18, 23, 25, and 35). As evidenced by Lemon Juice, raw, pages 4-6, lemon juice contains unsaturated fatty acids, and thus, the beverage of Ryoko which contains lemon juice would be a beverage comprising unsaturated fatty acids.
Ryoko is silent to the beverage as comprising 0.5-500ppb E-2-decenal.
White teaches that trans-2-decenal (also known as E-2-decenal) is uniquely useful in a wide range of flavor types, including citrus, to provide a dominant note reminiscent of fresh coriander leaves and a secondary fatty note (page 34 column 1 paragraph 2 and Citrus Flavors columns 2-3). White teaches it can be used in beverages (page 34, Orange) and used with lemon flavors starting around 1ppm, and up to 10ppm (1,000-10,000ppb) when a very peely character is desired (page 34, lemon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the lemon flavor beverage of Ryoko to comprise E-2-decenal in an amount of 1,000-10,000ppb in order to provide for a desired degree of peely character in view of White. To use a known flavoring component for flavor would have been particularly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6, Ryoko teaches the beverage is carbonated (paragraph 23).
Regarding the beverage as sugar-free as recited in claim 8, the term is defined in the instant specification as a beverage with a saccharide content of less than 0.5g per 100ml (paragraph 35). As Ryoko teaches the composition has 90-100% alcohol (paragraph 23) and does not require a saccharide ingredient, or any ingredient comprising saccharides at a level above 0.5% (all), the product of Ryoko encompasses, or alternatively, makes obvious a sugar-free product as claimed.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoko et al (JP 2015-123008 machine translation) in view of Wright (Flavor Bites: trans-2-Decenal) and as evidenced by Lemon Juice, further in view of Kodama et al (JP 2015-097513 machine translation).
As discussed above, Ryoko teaches lemon flavored beverages comprising: lemon juice and 0.08-26ppm (80-260ppb) gamma-terpinene. Ryoko is silent to the beverage as comprising sabinene from 2.5-500ppb in addition to the gamma-terpinene as recited in claim 3.
Kodama et al (Kodama) teaches improving the palatability of citrus beverages by including 0.1-15ppm (100-15,000ppb) sabinene (abstract, claims 1 and 2, and paragraphs 1, 8-10, 13, and 15).
It would have been obvious for the citrus beverage of Ryoko to comprise 100-15,00ppb sabinene in order to improve the palatability of the citrus beverage as taught by Kodama.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoko et al (JP 2015-123008 machine translation) in view of Wright (Flavor Bites: trans-2-Decenal) and Kodama et al (JP 2015-097513 machine translation), and as evidenced by Lemon Juice, further in view of Kazuki et al (JP 2020-089349 machine translation).
As discussed above, Ryoko teaches lemon flavored beverages comprising: lemon juice, i.e. citrus extract, and 0.08-26ppm (80-260ppb) gamma-terpinene, wherein it would have been obvious for the citrus beverage of Ryoko to comprise 100-15,00ppb sabinene in order to improve the palatability of the citrus beverage as taught by Kodama.
Ryoko is silent to the beverage as comprising a ratio of sabinene to gamma-terpinene of 1: 3-200 as recited in claim 4.
Kazuki et al (Kazuki) teaches of a beverage comprising flavor component A, which is in an amount of 0.0010-5.0ppm (1-5,000ppb) and is selected from the group including gamma-terpinene (overview, claim 2, and paragraphs 7, 20, and 24). Although Kazuki teaches the beverage as beer tasting, the beverage can also contain citrus flavors such as citrus extract and citric acid (paragraphs 45, 50, and 53), and thus is considered to encompass a citrus flavored beverage as claimed.
It would have been obvious for the beverage of Ryoko to comprise greater than 80-260ppb, including 1-5,000ppb gamma-terpinene in order to increase the flavor imparted by the component in view of Kazuki. As Kazuki teaches it was a known flavor component and was used for beverages within said amount, to do so would have been obvious and well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art. Thus, the product of the prior art encompasses one comprising 100-15,00ppb sabinene and 80-5,000ppb gamma-terpinene, and a product with an overlapping ratio as claimed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that; "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05. The position is further supported as Ryoko teaches that the flavor materials and each component may be adjusted to a predetermined content by adjusting the flavor (paragraph 23).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryoko et al (JP 2015-123008 machine translation) in view of Wright (Flavor Bites: trans-2-Decenal) and as evidenced by Lemon Juice, further in view of Fellows (Food processing technology Principles and practice 2nd Edition Woodhead Publishing Limited 2000, pages 466-467 and 479-481).
As discussed above, Ryoko teaches lemon flavored beverages. Ryoko teaches the beverage is packaged in a can (paragraph 23). Ryoko teaches that the invention reduces deterioration of citrus flavor which was known to be contributed by light (overview and paragraphs 2, 5, and 6).
Ryoko is silent to the beverage as packaged in a container with light transmission properties as recited in claim 5. Note: A container with light transmission properties is defined in the instant specification paragraphs 41 and 42 as a container which, at least in part, allows observation through the container.
Fellows, which is a textbook on food processing principles and practice teaches that glass was a known container [for foods] having the following advantages: impervious to moisture, gases, odors, and micro-organisms; inert and non-reactive with food products; similar filling speeds to cans; suitable heat processing when hermetically sealed; re-usable and recyclable; resealable; transparent to display contents; can be decorated; can be molded to a wide variety of shapes and colors; perceived by the consumer to add value to the product; and have good strength to allow stacking without damage (pages 479-481). Fellows teaches that light transmission is required in packages that intend to display contents, but known to be able to be restricted when foods are susceptible to deterioration by light with pigments, overwrap, and/or shipping containers (pages 466-467 Section 24.1.1 Light).
It would have been obvious for the beverage of Ryoko to be packaged in a glass container because of the many known benefits taught by Fellows, such as increased perception of value by the consumer; inert and non-reactive properties with foods; imperviousness; strength; and ability to display contents. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success as Fellows also teaches that light transmission is required in packages that intend to display contents, but that reduced light transmitting techniques can be used for foods susceptible to deterioration; and as Ryoko also teaches that the invention reduces deterioration of citrus flavor which was known to be contributed by light (overview and paragraphs 2, 5, and 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are not convincing as they are based on a combination of references not relied upon. It is noted that applicant argues that the prior art as previously presented does not teach or suggest a citrus flavored beverage comprising E-2-decenal as amended into independent claim 1; the previous rejections were withdrawn in light of said amendments; and newly cited prior art has been relied upon to teach the argued limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
NIST Chemistry WebBook shows that 2-Decenal, E was also known as trans-2-Decenal (page 1 printed June 26, 2026 https://webbook.nist.gov/cgi/cbook.cgi?ID=C3913813&Mask=2EE0).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KELLY BEKKER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1792
/KELLY J BEKKER/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792