DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-21 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
2. Claims 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As per Claim 17, it recites the limitation “the sampler[CAs1]” which appears to be a typographical error and would be better as “sampler[CAs1]” as claim 17 previously recites “a sampler[CA1s]”, and no “sampler[CAs1]” is otherwise introduced.
As per Claim 18, it recites the limitation “the sampler[CBs1]” which appears to be a typographical error and would be better as “sampler[CBs1]” as claim 18 previously recites “a sampler[CB1s]”, and no “sampler[CBs1]” is otherwise introduced.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McIlwain (US 2022/0067251 A1) in view of Kuijsten (US 5,920,712 A), further in view of Yuan (US 8,006,206 B1), further in view of Dai (US 5,452,239 A).
As per Claim 1, 20, and 21, McIlwain teaches a method/system/non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for emulating an IC design with an FPGA ([0022] “An EDA system that uses Field-Programmable Gate Arrays (FPGAs) to prototype electronic designs may perform logic synthesis from a Register-Transfer Level hardware description language (RTL) to an FPGA netlist.”; [0101]; [0104]: an EDA system prototypes the electronic design on FPGAs, i.e., the “emulating an IC design with an FPGA” as claimed), comprising:
S1) identifying in the IC design:
a primary clock ([0032] “clock 208, which is the primary clock to be gated”: the primary clock is identified in the design’s clock generator);
a subcircuit ([0031] “An output of latch 102 is AND-gated with the clock signal 110 to generate gated clock signal 118”: the latch/AND clock-gating circuitry that processes the primary clock, i.e., the “subcircuit” as claimed);
a plurality of generated clocks, which are derived from the primary clock after being processed by the subcircuit ([0030] “a gated clock is a clock signal that is a function of a primary clock signal and one or more inputs”; [0036] “Gated clocks 408, 410, and 412 are generated based on enable signals 414, 416, 418 respectively, and a primary clock signal 420”: a plurality of gated clocks are produced from the primary clock by the clock-gating circuits);
a plurality of sequential cells, wherein a user clock being connected to one of the plurality of sequential cells is the primary clock or one of the plurality of generated clocks ([0032] “The flip-flop 210 receives the gated clock signal as input at its clock pin”; [0036]: each flip-flop is clocked by the primary clock or by one of the generated (gated) clocks);
S2) classifying the plurality of sequential cells into group A and group B, including:
2.1) labeling a sequential cell in the plurality of sequential cells as group A or group B ([0032] “The flip-flop 210 receives the gated clock signal as input at its clock pin and receives data input at data pin 212 to produce output at pin 214”: for each sequential cell, the driving clock, the clock pin that receives it, the data pin and the output pin are identified);
2.1.1) identifying on the sequential cell: a user clock by which the sequential cell is driven ([0032] “The flip-flop 210 receives the gated clock signal as input at its clock pin and receives data input at data pin 212 to produce output at pin 214”: for each sequential cell, the driving clock, the clock pin that receives it, the data pin and the output pin are identified): a data input; a user-clock input to which the user clock is connected; and a data output ([0032] “The flip-flop 210 receives the gated clock signal as input at its clock pin and receives data input at data pin 212 to produce output at pin 214”: for each sequential cell, the driving clock, the clock pin that receives it, the data pin and the output pin are identified);
2.1.2) labeling the sequential cell as group A if the data output is connected to a user-clock input of an other sequential cell ([0032] “Output of flip-flop 202 is the gated clock signal 216. The gated clock signal passes through buffer 218. The flip-flop 210 receives the gated clock signal as input at its clock pin”; [0039] “a gated clock function has a set of inputs including primary clock signals, enable signals, driving flip-flops, and latches that are in the support set of the gated clock function”: flip-flop 202, whose data output drives the clock pin of flip-flop 210, is in the support set of a gated clock function and is handled as a clock generator, i.e., the “group A” cell as claimed);
2.1.3) labeling the sequential cell as group B if the data output is not connected to the user-clock input of the other sequential cell but is connected to a data input of the other sequential cell ([0032]; [0035] “GCC transformation is useful when multiple sequential devices are sampled on different gated clocks”; [0039]; [0054] “edge sensitive inputs are inputs that may generate a clock edge”: a sampled sequential device that is not in the support set of a gated clock function, whose output may not generate a clock edge, passes its output along the datapath, i.e., the “group B” cell as claimed);
2.2) labeling the rest of the plurality of sequential cells as group A or group B ([0035] “after performing GCC, each enable function can be extracted independently from each gated clock and can be reconnected to the clock enable pin (CE) of each sequential device”: every sequential device of the design is processed and handled per its class);
S3) adapting the plurality of sequential cells, including:
3.1) modifying the sequential cells that are labeled as group A, including:
3.1.1) configuring a clock model[CA], which includes a data input[CA], a data output[CA], a user enable[CA] and a clock input[CA] ([0033] “the derived enable functions can be attached to dedicated enable pins of target registers, and the primary clock signal can be attached to clock pins of the target registers”; [0034] “Flip-flops 302 and 304 are each a D-flip-flop with clear (CLR), preset (PRE), and enable (CE) pins”: the replacement target register, with its data, enable and clock pins, is configured, i.e., the “clock model” as claimed);
3.1.2) modifying a sequential cell[A] in the plurality of sequential cells being labelled as group A, including: i) identifying in view of S2: a user clock[A] by which the sequential cell[A] is driven; a data input[A]; a user-clock input[A] to which the user clock[A] is connected; and a data output[A] ([0032]: the same per-cell identifications are made for the cell being modified);
ii) substituting the clock model[CA] for the sequential cell[A], including: connecting the data input[A] to what was connected to the data input[A]; connecting the data output[CA] to what was connected to the data output[A]; connecting the user enable[CA] to what was connected to the user-clock input[A] … ([0033]; [0035]: the target register replaces the cell in place: its enable pin receives the enable function derived from the gated clock that had driven the cell’s user-clock input, and its data pins take over the cell’s data connections);
3.1.3) modifying the rest of sequential cells[A] in the plurality of sequential cells being labelled as group A ([0033]; [0036] “after performing GCC according to some aspects of the present disclosure, the circuit has only a single unique clock”: the plural group-A cells are all modified alike);
3.2) modifying the sequential cells that are labeled as group B, including: 3.2.1) configuring a clock model[CB], which includes a data input[CB], a data output[CB], a user enable[CB] and a clock input[CB] ([0033]; [0034]: a like target-register clock model is configured for the group-B cells);
3.2.2) modifying a sequential cell[B] in the plurality of sequential cells being labelled as group B, including: i) identifying in view of S2: a user clock[B] by which the sequential cell[B] is driven; a data input[B]; a user-clock input[B] to which the user clock[B] is connected; and a data output[B]; ii) substituting the clock model[CB] for the sequential cell[B], including: connecting the data input[CB] to what was connected to the data input[B]; connecting the data output[C] to what was connected to the data output[B]; connecting the user enable[CB] to what was connected to the user-clock input[B] ... ([0032]; [0033]; [0035]: the group-B cell is likewise identified and replaced in place by a target register);
3.2.3) modifying the rest of sequential cells[B] in the plurality of sequential cells being labelled as group B ([0035]: every group-B cell is so modified). In particular, McIlwain teaches formal gated clock conversion for FPGA synthesis in which the sequential cells driven by gated clocks are identified and classified, cells that generate clocks for other cells are distinguished from cells that feed data, and each cell is replaced by a target register whose clock pin receives the primary clock and whose enable pin receives an enable function derived from its gated clock.
However, McIlwain fails to teach explicitly connecting the clock input[CA] to a primary clock′ which is equal to or greater than the primary clock in frequencies;
iii) configuring the clock model[CA], including: sampling a signal from the data input[CA] at an active edge of the primary clock′ to obtain a data sample for a period of the primary clock′ led by the active edge; when an N-th active edge is occurring on the user clock[A]: obtaining a data sample[N] for a contemporary period of the primary clock′; and outputting to the data output[CA] the data sample[N] until an N+1-th active edge occurs on the user clock[A]; and when the N+1-th active edge is occurring on the user clock[A]: obtaining a data sample[N+1] for a contemporary period of the primary clock′; and outputting to the data output[CA] the data sample[N+1] until an N+2-th active edge occurs on the user clock[A];
connecting the clock input[B] to a primary clock′ which is equal to or greater than the primary clock in frequencies;
iii) configuring the clock model[CB], including: when an active edge is occurring on the user clock[B] and when an active edge is occurring on the primary clock′: sampling a signal from the data input[CB] to obtain a data sample for a period of the primary clock′ led by the active edge on the primary clock′; and outputting to the data output[CB] the data sample; and when no active edge occurs on the user clock[B] or no active edge occurs on the primary clock′: sampling nothing from the data input[CB]; and outputting nothing to the data output[CB];
3.3) configuring the primary clock′ such that: the primary clock′ by which the clock model[CA] is driven triggers an active edge at a same point[TA] in a period across the clock models[CA]; the primary clock′ by which the clock model[CB] is driven triggers an active edge at a same point[TB] in a period across the clock models[CB]; TB=TA+Δt for a same period of the primary clock′, wherein: a minimum threshold<Δt<a period of the primary clock′; and
the minimum threshold is a maximum of delays across the user clocks[B] connected to the clock models[CB] for replacing the plurality of sequential cells being labeled as group B; and
the delay is a time lag between when an active edge occurring on a user clock[B] is being inputted into a clock detector in the clock model[CB] driven by the user clock[B] and when the active edge is being outputted from the clock detector.
Kuijsten teaches connecting the clock input[CA] to a primary clock′ which is equal to or greater than the primary clock in frequencies (Col. 4 lines 56-60 “In the synchronous mode the emulator system clock is locked to the user system clock. The emulator system clock is generated by a clock multiplier circuit from the user system clock and runs at a faster rate than the user system clock”: the clock models’ clock inputs are driven by an emulator system clock generated from, and running faster than, the user’s clock, i.e., the recited primary clock′ equal to or greater than the primary clock in frequencies);
connecting the clock input[B] to a primary clock′ which is equal to or greater than the primary clock in frequencies (Col. 4 lines 56-60: the same emulator system clock, faster than the user clock, drives the group-B models’ clock inputs); and
3.3)… TB=TA+Δt for a same period of the primary clock′, wherein: a minimum threshold<Δt<a period of the primary clock′ (Col. 4 lines 42-46 “At least two emulator program cycles must be executed during one clock cycle. This is because one program cycle is needed per half user clock cycle to handle logic calculations that must be performed when the clock is at logic high and then at logic low”: within one user clock period the emulator processes at two distinct points, one program cycle handling the logic that must be evaluated while the clock is at logic high and another the logic at logic low, the second point offset from the first by an interval that is at least one program cycle long and less than the period, i.e., the recited TB=TA+Δt for a same period of the primary clock′, the offset bounded below by a minimum threshold and above by the period). In particular, Kuijsten teaches an emulation system that emulates a single cycle in a user’s circuit in multiple cycles of a faster emulator system clock, using the additional emulator cycles to resolve the user circuit’s logic within each user clock cycle.
McIlwain and Kuijsten are analogous art because they are both from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, the automated handling of clock signals when mapping a clocked integrated-circuit design onto a field programmable gate array or hardware emulator (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Kuijsten into McIlwain’s invention for the purpose of performing gated clock conversion for FPGA synthesis to provide multiple emulator clock cycles per emulated cycle that allow the emulator’s combinatorial logic gates to be used multiple times (Kuijsten: Col. 1 lines 54-63). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, McIlwain as modified by Kuijsten fails to teach explicitly iii) configuring the clock model[CA], including: sampling a signal from the data input[CA] at an active edge of the primary clock′ to obtain a data sample for a period of the primary clock′ led by the active edge; when an N-th active edge is occurring on the user clock[A]: obtaining a data sample[N] for a contemporary period of the primary clock′; and outputting to the data output[CA] the data sample[N] until an N+1-th active edge occurs on the user clock[A]; and when the N+1-th active edge is occurring on the user clock[A]: obtaining a data sample[N+1] for a contemporary period of the primary clock′; and outputting to the data output[CA] the data sample[N+1] until an N+2-th active edge occurs on the user clock[A];
iii) configuring the clock model[CB], including: when an active edge is occurring on the user clock[B] and when an active edge is occurring on the primary clock′: sampling a signal from the data input[CB] to obtain a data sample for a period of the primary clock′ led by the active edge on the primary clock′; and outputting to the data output[CB] the data sample; and when no active edge occurs on the user clock[B] or no active edge occurs on the primary clock′: sampling nothing from the data input[CB]; and outputting nothing to the data output[CB];
3.3) configuring the primary clock′ such that: the primary clock′ by which the clock model[CA] is driven triggers an active edge at a same point[TA] in a period across the clock models[CA]; the primary clock′ by which the clock model[CB] is driven triggers an active edge at a same point[TB] in a period across the clock models[CB];
the minimum threshold is a maximum of delays across the user clocks[B] connected to the clock models[CB] for replacing the plurality of sequential cells being labeled as group B; and the delay is a time lag between when an active edge occurring on a user clock[B] is being inputted into a clock detector in the clock model[CB] driven by the user clock[B] and when the active edge is being outputted from the clock detector.
Yuan teaches iii) configuring the clock model[CA], including: sampling a signal from the data input[CA] at an active edge of the primary clock′ to obtain a data sample for a period of the primary clock′ led by the active edge; when an N-th active edge is occurring on the user clock[A]: obtaining a data sample[N] for a contemporary period of the primary clock′; and outputting to the data output[CA] the data sample[N] until an N+1-th active edge occurs on the user clock[A]; and when the N+1-th active edge is occurring on the user clock[A]: obtaining a data sample[N+1] for a contemporary period of the primary clock′; and outputting to the data output[CA] the data sample[N+1] until an N+2-th active edge occurs on the user clock[A] (Col. 4 lines 7-15 “the register 131 is clocked normally using the base clock signal 127. When the clock enable signal 135 is asserted, the data input signal 133 is connected with the data input 143 of the register 131 … Conversely, when the clock enable signal 135 is deasserted, the functionally equivalent input logic 138 connects the output 139 of the register 131 with the data input 143 … the register 131 maintains its current state”: the register clocked by the base clock takes a new sample when the enable marking a user-clock active edge is asserted and outputs the held sample until the next assertion, i.e., the claimed obtaining of a data sample at an active edge of the primary clock′ and outputting it until the next active edge occurs on the user clock); and
iii) configuring the clock model[CB], including: when an active edge is occurring on the user clock[B] and when an active edge is occurring on the primary clock′: sampling a signal from the data input[CB] to obtain a data sample for a period of the primary clock′ led by the active edge on the primary clock′; and outputting to the data output[CB] the data sample; and when no active edge occurs on the user clock[B] or no active edge occurs on the primary clock′: sampling nothing from the data input[CB]; and outputting nothing to the data output[CB] (Col. 4 lines 7-15; Col. 5 lines 60-65 “The output 313 of clock enable logic 310 is connected with multiplexer 312 of input logic 311. The clock enable logic output 313 selects one of the multiplexer inputs to connect with a data input 318 of the register 302. The inputs of the multiplexer 312 are the original data signal 314 to the register 302 and the output 316 of the register 302”: only when the enable is asserted is fresh data connected through to the register; otherwise the register’s own output is fed back and it maintains its current state. Examiner’s Note -“sampling nothing from the data input[CB]; and outputting nothing to the data output[CB]” corresponds to Yuan’s register maintaining its current state when the clock enable signal is deasserted: no new sample is taken from the data input and no new value is put out on the data output.). In particular, Yuan teaches identifying components having gated clock signals and converting them to operate directly from a base clock signal, the data path being modified with input logic responsive to a clock enable signal so that the register samples new data when the enable is asserted and maintains its current state when it is not.
McIlwain, Kuijsten, and Yuan are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, the automated handling of clock signals when mapping a clocked integrated-circuit design onto a field programmable gate array or hardware emulator (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Yuan into McIlwain as modified by Kuijsten’s invention for the purpose of performing gated clock conversion for FPGA synthesis to provide a functionally equivalent design that does not include a gated clock signal and is better suited for implementation with a programmable device (Yuan: Col. 4 lines 15-18). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
However, McIlwain as modified by Kuijsten and Yuan fails to teach explicitly 3.3) configuring the primary clock′ such that: the primary clock′ by which the clock model[CA] is driven triggers an active edge at a same point[TA] in a period across the clock models[CA]; the primary clock′ by which the clock model[CB] is driven triggers an active edge at a same point[TB] in a period across the clock models[CB]; and
the minimum threshold is a maximum of delays across the user clocks[B] connected to the clock models[CB] for replacing the plurality of sequential cells being labeled as group B; and the delay is a time lag between when an active edge occurring on a user clock[B] is being inputted into a clock detector in the clock model[CB] driven by the user clock[B] and when the active edge is being outputted from the clock detector.
Dai teaches 3.3) configuring the primary clock′ such that: the primary clock′ by which the clock model[CA] is driven triggers an active edge at a same point[TA] in a period across the clock models[CA]; the primary clock′ by which the clock model[CB] is driven triggers an active edge at a same point[TB] in a period across the clock models[CB] (Col. 40 lines 39-42 “The clock-enable scheme is better suited for FPGAs because many flip-flops can be clocked by a single clock signal; FPGAs usually have low-skew clock nets for distributing these clock signals”: the converted cells are clocked by a single low-skew clock whose active edges arrive at the same point of the period across the cells; Col. 39 lines 30-33 “For designs where gated clocks are used extensively, this optimization reduces timing problems by allowing all clocks to be on low-skew wires”); and
the minimum threshold is a maximum of delays across the user clocks[B] connected to the clock models[CB] for replacing the plurality of sequential cells being labeled as group B; and the delay is a time lag between when an active edge occurring on a user clock[B] is being inputted into a clock detector in the clock model[CB] driven by the user clock[B] and when the active edge is being outputted from the clock detector (Col. 24 lines 35-36 “Hold violations occur because of skew in a clock tree”; Col. 23 lines 13-14 “The delay insertion module 116 fixes hold violations through insertion of delay elements”; Col. 24 lines 50-51 “worst case mux chip timings are assumed”: delay elements are inserted to fix the hold violations that clock-tree skew causes, and worst-case timings are assumed when sizing them. Examiner’s Note -the recited delay through the clock detector corresponds to the clock-path lag that Dai’s delay insertion compensates; sizing the inserted delay to worst-case timing is read as the maximum of those lags across the replaced cells.). In particular, Dai teaches removing gated clocks from a netlist for hardware emulation by moving clock-gating logic out of the clock path, clocking the converted cells from a single low-skew clock, and inserting delay elements sized to worst-case timing so that hold violations caused by clock skew are avoided.
McIlwain, Kuijsten, Yuan, and Dai are analogous art because they are all from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, the automated handling of clock signals when mapping a clocked integrated-circuit design onto a field programmable gate array or hardware emulator (In re Bigio, 381 F.3d 1320, 1325 (Fed. Cir. 2004)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of cited references. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to incorporate Dai into McIlwain as modified by Kuijsten and Yuan’s invention for the purpose of performing gated clock conversion for FPGA synthesis to provide gated clock removal that has no speed penalty and reduces timing problems by allowing all clocks to be on low-skew wires (Dai: Col. 39 lines 36-38; Col. 39 lines 30-33). This rationale is the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, MPEP 2143(I)(A); KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc.
As per Claim 2, McIlwain teaches wherein: in S1, the plurality of sequential cells include: a sequential cell[A1]; a sequential cell[B1]; and a sequential cell[B2]; in S2: the sequential cell[A1] is labelled as group A; the sequential cell[B1] is labelled as group B; and the sequential cell[B2] is labelled as group B ([0032]; [0036]; [0039]: the design’s cells include a clock-generating cell and data-path cells, classified accordingly); in S3.1: a clock model[CA1] is substituted for the sequential cell[A1]; and the clock model[CA1] is configured to include a data input[CA1]; in S3.2: a clock model[CB1] is substituted for the sequential cell[B1]; the clock model[CB1] is configured to include a data input[CB1] and a data output[CB1]; a clock model[CB2] is substituted for the sequential cell[B2]; and the clock model[CB2] is configured to include a data input[CB2] and a data output[CB2] ([0033]; [0034]: each labeled cell is replaced by a configured target-register clock model); and the data output[CB1] is connected to the data input[CB2]; the data output[CB2] is connected to the data input[CA1] ([0032]: the data-path cells’ outputs feed the data inputs of following cells).
However, McIlwain fails to teach explicitly transmission of data from the data output[CB2] to the data input[CA1] takes an offset time; and S3 further includes S3.4: 3.4) re-labelling the sequential cell[B2] as group A, including: 3.4.1) modifying the sequential cell[B2] in view of S3.1; and 3.4.2) configuring the primary clock′ in view of S3.3 such that transmission of data from the data output[CB1] to the data output[CB2] takes the offset time.
Dai teaches transmission of data from the data output[CB2] to the data input[CA1] takes an offset time (Col. 24 lines 35-38 “Hold violations occur because of skew in a clock tree. Set-up violations occur because one of the datapaths has a large amount of delay, generally routing delay”: the data path between cells carries a nonzero delay, the offset the timing configuration accounts for);
S3 further includes S3.4: 3.4) re-labelling the sequential cell[B2] as group A, including:
3.4.1) modifying the sequential cell[B2] in view of S3.1 (Col. 22 lines 28-34 “The optimizer 104 transforms the logic for better implementation in the system hardware. In general it handles all transformations more complex than simple library element replacement. Its goals are improved clocking (mainly through blasting of inverters, removing buffers in the clock path and transforming gated clock logic to datapath logic)”; Col. 24 lines 55-60 “The configuration software of the present invention is directed to avoid hold violations. The optimizer 104 removes buffers and inverters from the clock tree (and all other paths) and transforms gated clock logic from a clock path and adds it to a datapath when possible”: the optimizer re-assigns a cell’s logic between clock-path handling and datapath handling as its connectivity and timing require, revising the labelled class under which the cell is modified, i.e., re-labelling a sequential cell and modifying the design under the other group’s treatment as claimed); and
3.4.2) configuring the primary clock′ in view of S3.3 such that transmission of data from the data output[CB1] to the data output[CB2] takes the offset time (Col. 23 lines 13-14: the required transfer offset is established by delay insertion in the clock configuration).
As per Claim 3, McIlwain teaches wherein S3.1 further includes: configuring for the clock model[CA] a clock detector[E1] and a sampler[CAs]; configuring for the clock detector[E1] a user enable[E1], a clock input[E1] and an active-edge output[E1]; configuring for the sampler[CAs] a data input[CAs], an enable[CAs], a clock input[CAs] and a data output[CAs]; connecting the user enable[E1] to the user enable[CA]; connecting the clock input[E1] and the clock input[CAs] to the clock input[CA]; connecting the active-edge output[E1] to the enable[CAs]; connecting the data input[CAs] to the data input[CA]; and connecting the data output[CAs] to the data output[CA] ([0034] “Post GCC, the primary clock signal 310 is directly connected to the clock pin of flip-flop 304”; [0034] “Flip-flop 302 may also receive an enable signal 306 at a data pin 308 of flip-flop 302 and the clock signal 310 at a clock pin 312”; [0034] “an output signal of flip-flop 302 is inverted, and AND-gated with enable signal 306 and is input to enable pin 316 of flip-flop 304”; [0040] “if the function is defined as PosEdge(F), PosEdge(F) may return true when a transition creates a positive edge on F”: flip-flop 302 with its inverter and AND gate receives the user enable and the clock and puts out an active-edge indication to the enable pin of flip-flop 304, i.e., the claimed clock detector with its user enable, clock input and active-edge output; flip-flop 304, clocked by the same clock and carrying the model’s data input and data output, is the claimed sampler with its enable).
As per Claim 4, McIlwain fails to teach explicitly The method in claim 3, wherein S3.1 further includes: configuring for the sampler[CAs] a first state holder[Re1], a second state holder[Re2] and a multiplexer[MUX1]; configuring for the first state holder[Re1] a clock input[Re1], a data input[Re1] and a data output[Re1]; configuring for the second state holder[Re2] a clock input[Re2], a data input[Re2] and a data output[Re2]; configuring for the multiplexer[MUX1] a first data input[MUX1], a second data input[MUX1], a signal selection[MUX1] and a data output[MUX1]; connecting the data input[Re1] to the data input[CAs]; connecting the data output[MUX1] to the data output[CAs]; connecting the clock input[Re1] and the clock input[Re2] to the clock input[CAs]; connecting the data output[Re1] to the first data input[MUX1]; connecting the data input[Re2] to the data output[MUX1]; connecting the data output[Re2] to the second data input[MUX1]; and connecting the enable[CAs] to the signal selection[MUX1].
Yuan teaches wherein S3.1 further includes: configuring for the sampler[CAs] a first state holder[Re1], a second state holder[Re2] and a multiplexer[MUX1]; configuring for the first state holder[Re1] a clock input[Re1], a data input[Re1] and a data output[Re1]; configuring for the second state holder[Re2] a clock input[Re2], a data input[Re2] and a data output[Re2]; configuring for the multiplexer[MUX1] a first data input[MUX1], a second data input[MUX1], a signal selection[MUX1] and a data output[MUX1]; connecting the data input[Re1] to the data input[CAs]; connecting the data output[MUX1] to the data output[CAs]; connecting the clock input[Re1] and the clock input[Re2] to the clock input[CAs]; connecting the data output[Re1] to the first data input[MUX1]; connecting the data input[Re2] to the data output[MUX1]; connecting the data output[Re2] to the second data input[MUX1]; and connecting the enable[CAs] to the signal selection[MUX1] (Col. 5 lines 54-58 “In this configuration 300, register 302 is clocked by a base clock signal 306 connected with its clock input 304. In configuration 300, base clock signal 306 may also be provided to one or more registers 308, which in turn provide inputs to clock enable logic 310”; Col. 4 lines 1-6 “The output 139 of the register 131 is connected with another input of the multiplexer 137. A clock enable signal 135 selects one of the multiplexer inputs to connect with the multiplexer output 141. The multiplexer output 141 is connected with a data input 143 of the register 131”: the sampler is built of state-holding registers clocked by the model’s clock together with a multiplexer whose selection input is driven by the enable; the fresh data path feeds one multiplexer input, the holding register’s output the other, and the multiplexer output feeds the holding register’s data input. Examiner’s Note -the first state holder[Re1], which registers the sampler’s data input, corresponds to Yuan’s one or more registers 308 clocked by the same base clock; the second state holder[Re2] and the multiplexer[MUX1] correspond to Yuan’s register 131/302 and multiplexer 137/312, the same enable-selected hold loop with the sampler’s output taken at the multiplexer stage of the loop.).
As per Claim 5, McIlwain teaches wherein: S2 further includes identifying on the sequential cell: a data input; a user-clock input; a data output; and an enable; and S3.1 further includes: configuring for the clock model[CA] a data input[CA], a data output[CA], a user enable[CA], a clock input[CA] and an enable[CA] ([0032] “a flip-flop 202 having data pin 206 electrically coupled to an enable signal 204 and having a clock pin electrically coupled to a clock 208”; [0034]: the cell’s data, clock and enable connections are identified, and the model register is configured with data, enable and clock pins); and
configuring for the clock detector[E1] a user enable[E1], a clock input[E1] and an active-edge output[E1] ([0034]; [0040]: the flip-flop 302/inverter/AND detector with its enable input, clock input and active-edge output).
However, McIlwain fails to teach explicitly configuring for the clock model[CA] a clock detector[E1], a first state holder[Re1], a second state holder[Re2], a multiplexer[MUX1] and a multiplexer[MUX2]; and configuring for the first state holder[Re1] a clock input[Re1], a data input[Re1] and a data output[Re1]; configuring for the second state holder[Re2] a clock input[Re2], a data input[Re2] and a data output[Re2]; configuring for the multiplexer[MUX1] a first data input[MUX1], a second data input[MUX1], a signal selection[MUX1] and a data output[MUX1]; configuring for the multiplexer[MUX2] a first data input[MUX2], a second data input[MUX2], a signal selection[MUX2] and a data output[MUX2]; connecting the second data input[MUX2] to the data input[CA]; connecting the data output[MUX1] to the data output[CA], the data input[Re2] and the first data input[MUX2]; connecting the clock input[Re1], the clock input[Re2] and the clock input to the clock input[CA]; connecting the user enable[E1] to the user enable[CA]; connecting the active-edge output[E1] to the signal selection[MUX1]; connecting the data output[Re2] to the second data input[MUX1]; connecting the enable[CA] to the signal selection[MUX2]; connecting the data output[MUX2] to the data input[Re1]; and connecting the data output[Re1] to the first data input[MUX1].
Yuan teaches configuring for the clock model[CA] a clock detector[E1], a first state holder[Re1], a second state holder[Re2], a multiplexer[MUX1] and a multiplexer[MUX2] and configuring for the first state holder[Re1] a clock input[Re1], a data input[Re1] and a data output[Re1]; configuring for the second state holder[Re2] a clock input[Re2], a data input[Re2] and a data output[Re2]; configuring for the multiplexer[MUX1] a first data input[MUX1], a second data input[MUX1], a signal selection[MUX1] and a data output[MUX1]; configuring for the multiplexer[MUX2] a first data input[MUX2], a second data input[MUX2], a signal selection[MUX2] and a data output[MUX2]; connecting the second data input[MUX2] to the data input[CA]; connecting the data output[MUX1] to the data output[CA], the data input[Re2] and the first data input[MUX2]; connecting the clock input[Re1], the clock input[Re2] and the clock input to the clock input[CA]; connecting the user enable[E1] to the user enable[CA]; connecting the active-edge output[E1] to the signal selection[MUX1]; connecting the data output[Re2] to the second data input[MUX1]; connecting the enable[CA] to the signal selection[MUX2]; connecting the data output[MUX2] to the data input[Re1]; and connecting the data output[Re1] to the first data input[MUX1] (Col. 5 lines 54-58; Col. 5 lines 60-65; Col. 4 lines 46-48 “Clock enable signal 154 is connected with an input of multiplexer 156. The output 158 of multiplexer 156 is also connected with an input of multiplexer 156”: the clock model is configured with the enable-producing detector logic, base-clock-driven state-holding registers, and multiplexers with enable-driven selection and output feedback; the detector’s output drives a multiplexer selection, the registers are clocked by the model’s clock, and a second multiplexer with its own selection and feedback completes the recited two-multiplexer arrangement. Examiner’s Note -Yuan’s clock enable logic 310 fed by registers 308 corresponds to the clock detector[E1] named in this configuring step, its output 313 driving the signal selection[MUX1] as claimed; Yuan’s multiplexer 312 corresponds to the multiplexer[MUX1]; the multiplexer 156 of the gated-clock cone, whose selection-and-feedback function is carried into the converted design’s enable-selected logic by the conversion of method 200, corresponds to the multiplexer[MUX2], arranged with the registers in the same enable-selected sample-and-hold loop.).
As per Claim 6, McIlwain teaches wherein: the first state holder[Re1] is configured to be a register or a latch; and the second state holder[Re2] is configured to be a register or a latch ([0032] “The flip-flop 202 is a D-flip-flop with clear (CLR), preset (PRE), and enable (CE) pins”; [0031] “Latch based clock gating has a level-sensitive latch to hold an enable signal from an active edge of the clock until an inactive edge of the clock”: the state holders are realized as registers (D-flip-flops) or latches).
As per Claim 7, McIlwain teaches wherein S3.2 further includes: configuring for the clock model[CB] a clock detector[E2] and a sampler[CBs]; configuring for the clock detector[E2] a user enable[E2], a clock input[E2] and an active-edge output[E2]; configuring for the sampler[CBs] a clock input[CBs], an enable[CBs], a data input[CBs] and a data output[CBs]; connecting the data input[CBs] to the data input[CB]; connecting the data output[CBs] to the data output[CB]; connecting the clock input[E2] and the clock input[CBs] to the clock input[CB]; connecting the user enable[E2] to the user enable[CB]; and connecting the active-edge output[E2] to the enable[CBs] ([0034]; [0040]; [0035]: the same detector/sampler arrangement, an enable-registering flip-flop with inverter/AND whose active-edge indication drives the sampling register’s enable pin, both clocked by the model’s clock, is configured for each modified sequential device, including the group-B clock models).
As per Claim 8, McIlwain teaches wherein the sampler[CBs] is configured to be a register having an enable ([0032]; [0034]: the sampling flip-flop with its enable (CE) pin is the claimed register having an enable).
As per Claim 9, McIlwain fails to teach explicitly wherein S3.2 further includes: configuring for the sampler[CBs] a fourth state holder[Re4] and a multiplexer[MUX3]; configuring for the fourth state holder[Re4] a clock input[Re4], a data input[Re4] and a data output[Re4]; configuring for the multiplexer[MUX3] a first data input[MUX3], a second data input[MUX3], a signal selection[MUX3] and a data output[MUX3]; connecting the first data input[MUX3] to the data input[CBs]; connecting the data output[Re4] to the second data input[MUX3] and to the data output[CBs]; connecting the clock input[Re4] to the clock input[CBs]; connecting the signal selection[MUX3] to the enable[CBs]; and connecting the data output[MUX3] to the data input[Re4].
Yuan teaches wherein S3.2 further includes: configuring for the sampler[CBs] a fourth state holder[Re4] and a multiplexer[MUX3]; configuring for the fourth state holder[Re4] a clock input[Re4], a data input[Re4] and a data output[Re4]; configuring for the multiplexer[MUX3] a first data input[MUX3], a second data input[MUX3], a signal selection[MUX3] and a data output[MUX3]; connecting the first data input[MUX3] to the data input[CBs]; connecting the data output[Re4] to the second data input[MUX3] and to the data output[CBs]; connecting the clock input[Re4] to the clock input[CBs]; connecting the signal selection[MUX3] to the enable[CBs]; and connecting the data output[MUX3] to the data input[Re4] (Col. 4 lines 1-6; Col. 4 lines 7-15: the multiplexer’s first data input takes the sampler’s data input signal, the register’s data output feeds both the multiplexer’s second data input and the sampler’s data output, the register is clocked by the sampler’s clock, the enable drives the selection, and the multiplexer output feeds the register’s data input, i.e., the recited fourth state holder[Re4] and multiplexer[MUX3] wiring).
As per Claim 10, McIlwain fails to teach wherein S3.2 further includes: configuring for the clock model[B] a third state holder[Re3], a fourth state holder[Re4] and a lookup table[LUT1]; configuring for the third state holder[Re3] a clock input[Re3], a data input[Re3] and a data output[Re3]; configuring for the fourth state holder[Re4] a clock input[Re4], a data input[Re4] and a data output[Re4]; configuring for the lookup table[LUT1] a first data input[LUT1], a second data input[LUT1], a third data input[LUT1], a fourth data input[LUT1] and a data output[LUT1]; connecting the second data input[LUT1] to the data input[CB]; connecting the data output[Re4] to the first data input[LUT1] and the data output[CB]; connecting the clock input[Re3] and the clock input[Re4] to the clock input[CB]; connecting the data input[Re3] and the third data input[LUT1] to the user enable[CB]; connecting the data output[Re3] to the fourth data input[LUT1]; and connecting the data output[LUT1] to the data input[Re4].
Yuan teaches wherein S3.2 further includes: configuring for the clock model[B] a third state holder[Re3], a fourth state holder[Re4] and a lookup table[LUT1]; configuring for the third state holder[Re3] a clock input[Re3], a data input[Re3] and a data output[Re3]; configuring for the fourth state holder[Re4] a clock input[Re4], a data input[Re4] and a data output[Re4]; configuring for the lookup table[LUT1] a first data input[LUT1], a second data input[LUT1], a third data input[LUT1], a fourth data input[LUT1] and a data output[LUT1]; connecting the second data input[LUT1] to the data input[CB]; connecting the data output[Re4] to the first data input[LUT1] and the data output[CB]; connecting the clock input[Re3] and the clock input[Re4] to the clock input[CB]; connecting the data input[Re3] and the third data input[LUT1] to the user enable[CB]; connecting the data output[Re3] to the fourth data input[LUT1]; and connecting the data output[LUT1] to the data input[Re4] (Col. 7 lines 35-41 “Synthesis phase 810 converts the register transfer layer description of the user design into a set of logic gates. In some implementations, synthesis phase 810 can incorporate embodiments of method 200. Technology mapping phase 815 subdivides the set of logic gates into a set of atoms, which are groups of logic gates matching the capabilities of the logic cells or other functional blocks of the programmable device”; Col. 8 lines 39-41 “Each LAB includes a number of programmable logic cells using logic gates and/or look-up tables to perform a logic operation”; Col. 4 lines 7-15; Col. 5 lines 54-58; Col. 5 lines 60-65: the gated-clock conversion of method 200 runs inside synthesis, and the converted design, including the clock enable logic and input logic computed from the model’s data input, user enable, registered enable and fed-back output, is technology-mapped into programmable logic cells that use look-up tables, the registers of the configuration, with their clock, data and output connections, serving as the state holders wired to the look-up table accordingly, i.e., the recited third and fourth state holders and lookup table with the recited connections).
As per Claim 11, McIlwain teaches wherein: S2 further includes identifying on the sequential cell: a data input; a user-clock input; a data output; and an enable; and S3.2 further includes: configuring for the clock model[CB] a data input[CB], a data output[CB], a user enable[CB], a clock input[CB] and an enable[CB] ([0032]; [0034]: the identifications and model pin configuration, applied to the group-B model);
configuring for the clock detector[E2] a user enable[E2], a clock input[E2] and an active-edge output[E2]; configuring for the memory cell[ERe1] a clock input[ERe1], an enable[ERe1], a data input[ERe1] and a data output[ERe1] ([0034] “Flip-flops 302 and 304 are each a D-flip-flop with clear (CLR), preset (PRE), and enable (CE) pins”; [0040]: the detector with its enable input, clock input and active-edge output, and the enable-pin flip-flop with its clock, enable, data and output pins, i.e., the memory cell with the recited pins); and
connecting the active-edge output[E2] to the enable[ERe1] ([0034] “an output signal of flip-flop 302 is inverted, and AND-gated with enable signal 306 and is input to enable pin 316 of flip-flop 304”: the detector’s active-edge indication drives the enable pin of the state-holding flip-flop).
However, McIlwain fails to teach explicitly configuring for the clock model[CB] a clock detector[E2], a memory cell[ERe1] and a multiplexer[MUX4]; configuring for the multiplexer[MUX4] a first data input[MUX4], a second data input[MUX4], a signal selection[MUX4] and a data output[MUX4]; connecting the second data input[MUX4] to the data input[CB]; connecting the signal selection[MUX4] to the enable[CB]; connecting the data output[ERe1] to the data output[CB] and to the first data input[MUX4]; connecting the clock input[E2] and the clock input[ERe1] to the clock input[CB]; connecting the user enable[E2] to the user enable[CB]; and connecting the data output[MUX4] to the data input[ERe1].
Yuan teaches configuring for the clock model[CB] a clock detector[E2], a memory cell[ERe1] and a multiplexer[MUX4], configuring for the multiplexer[MUX4] a first data input[MUX4], a second data input[MUX4], a signal selection[MUX4] and a data output[MUX4]; connecting the second data input[MUX4] to the data input[CB]; connecting the signal selection[MUX4] to the enable[CB]; connecting the data output[ERe1] to the data output[CB] and to the first data input[MUX4]; connecting the clock input[E2] and the clock input[ERe1] to the clock input[CB]; connecting the user enable[E2] to the user enable[CB] and connecting the data output[MUX4] to the data input[ERe1] (Col. 5 lines 54-58; Col. 5 lines 60-65; Col. 4 lines 1-6: the model is configured with the enable-producing detector logic fed from the model’s user enable, a state-holding register and a multiplexer with two data inputs, a selection and an output; the model’s data input feeds one multiplexer input, the enable drives the multiplexer selection, the register’s output feeds the model’s output and the other multiplexer input, the register and the detector logic are clocked by the model’s clock, and the multiplexer output feeds the register’s data input).
As per Claim 12, McIlwain teaches wherein the third state holder[Re3] is configured to be a register or a latch ([0032]; [0031]: a register (D-flip-flop) or a latch realizes the state holder).
As per Claim 13, McIlwain teaches wherein the fourth state holder[Re4] is configured to be a register or a latch ([0032]; [0031]: a register (D-flip-flop) or a latch realizes the state holder).
As per Claim 14, McIlwain teaches wherein S3 further includes: designating the active edge of the primary clock′ that drives the clock model[CA] to be a rising edge or a falling edge ([0056] “a determination may be made whether the PosEdge(F) can be minimized into a Boolean expression that is in the form of Boolean AND of a first term which is a combinatorial Boolean function, E, and second term which is a Boolean predicate, PosEdge(primary-clock), that returns true when a primary clock transitions from false to true”: the clock model is set to trigger on a designated rising primary-clock edge); and
designating the active edge of the primary clock′ that drives the clock model[CB] to be a rising edge or a falling edge ([0056] “for flip-flop targets, a determination may be made whether the PosEdge(F) can be minimized into a Boolean expression that is in the form of Boolean AND of a first term which is a combinatorial Boolean function, E, and a second term which is a Boolean predicate, NegEdge(primary-clock), that returns true when a primary clock transitions from true to false”; [0057] “when GCC is possible, the combinatorial function, E, is used as the clock enable for the target and either the primary clock or the reverse of the primary clock is used as the clock for the target”: the alternative designates a falling active edge, the target being clocked by the primary clock or its reverse).
As per Claim 15, McIlwain fails to teach explicitly wherein S3 further includes: connecting the clock model[CA] and the clock model[CB] to a same primary clock′; and configuring the primary clock′ to last for the Δt at its high logic state if the clock model[CA] is triggered by a rising edge but the clock model[CB] is triggered by a falling edge; and configuring the primary clock′ to last for the Δt at its low logic state if the clock model[CA] is triggered by a falling edge but the clock model[CB] is triggered by a rising edge.
Kuijsten teaches configuring the primary clock′ to last for the Δt at its high logic state if the clock model[CA] is triggered by a rising edge but the clock model[CB] is triggered by a falling edge; and configuring the primary clock′ to last for the Δt at its low logic state if the clock model[CA] is triggered by a falling edge but the clock model[CB] is triggered by a rising edge (Col. 4 lines 42-46: the program cycle handling the logic-high calculations and the program cycle handling the logic-low calculations divide the user clock period between them, the clock dwelling at one logic state for the interval between the two, i.e., the primary clock′ lasting for the Δt at its high or its low logic state according to the designated edges).
Further Dai teaches The method in claim 14, wherein S3 further includes: connecting the clock model[CA] and the clock model[CB] to a same primary clock′ (Col. 40 lines 39-42: many flip-flops clocked by a single low-skew clock signal, i.e., the same primary clock′ for the clock models).
As per Claim 16, McIlwain teaches wherein: in S1, the plurality of sequential cells include: a sequential cell[A1]; and a sequential cell[B1]; in S2: the sequential cell[A1] is labelled as group A; and the sequential cell[B1] is labelled as group B; in S3.1: the sequential cell[A1] is substituted with a clock model[CA1]; and the clock model[CA1] is configured to include a data input[CA1], a data output[CA1], a user enable[CA1] and a clock input[CA1]; in S3.2: the sequential cell[B1] is substituted with a clock model[CB1]; and the clock model[CB1] is configured to include a data input[CB1], a data output[CB1], a user enable[CB1] and a clock input[CB1]; S3 further includes: configuring for the clock model[CA1] a sampler[CA1s]; configuring for the sampler[CA1s] a data input[CA1s], an enable[CA1s], a clock input[CA1s] and a data output[CA1s]; configuring for the clock model[CB1] a sampler[CB1s]; configuring for the sampler[CB1s] a data input[CB1s], an enable[CB1s], a clock input[CB1s] and a data output[CB1s]; identifying an anchor to which the user enable[CA1] is connected; and if the user enable[CB1] is connected to the anchor: configuring jointly for the clock model[CA1] and for the clock model[CB1] a clock detector[E12]; configuring for the clock detector[E12] a user enable[E12], a clock input[E12] and an active-edge output[E12]; connecting the user enable[E12] to the anchor, the user enable[CA1] and the user enable[CB1]; connecting the clock input[E12] to the clock input[CA1s], the clock input[CA1], the clock input[CB1s] and the clock input[CB1]; connecting the active-edge output[E12] to the enable[CA1s] and to the enable[CB1s]; connecting the data input[CA1s] to the data input[CA1]; connecting the data output[CA1s] to the data output[CA1]; connecting the data input[CB1s] to the data input[CB1]; and connecting the data output[CB1s] to the data output[CB1] ([0034]; [0035]; [0036] “enable functions 414, 416, and 418 are connected to the clock enable (CE) pins of flip-flops 402, 404, and 406, respectively”: two cells whose gated clocks derive from the same enable source (the anchor) share the single enable function derived from that source: one detector, its user enable on the shared anchor, its clock input on the common clock, and its active-edge output connected to the enable pins of both sampling registers, whose data pins carry each model’s data).
As per Claim 17, McIlwain teaches wherein: in S1, the plurality of sequential cells include: a sequential cell[A1]; and a sequential cell[A2]; in S2: the sequential cell[A1] and the sequential cell[A2] are both labelled as group A; in S3.1: the sequential cell[A1] is substituted with a clock model[CA1]; the clock model[CA1] is configured to include a data input[CA1], a data output[CA1], a user enable[CA1] and a clock input[CA1]; the sequential cell[A2] is substituted with a clock model[CA2]; and the clock model[CA2] is configured to include a data input[CA2], a data output[CA2], a user enable[CA2] and a clock input[CA2]; S3 further includes: configuring for the clock model[CA1] a sampler[CA1s]; configuring for the sampler[CAs1] a data input[CA1s], an enable[CA1s], a clock input[CA1s] and a data output[CA1s]; configuring for the clock model[CA2] a sampler[CA2s]; configuring for the sampler[CA2s] a data input[CA2s], an enable[CA2s], a clock input[CA2s] and a data output[CA2s]; identifying an anchor to which the user enable[CA1] is connected; and if the user enable[CA2] is connected to the anchor: configuring jointly for the clock model[CA1] and for the clock model[CA2] a clock detector[E12]; configuring for the clock detector[E12] a user enable[E12], a clock input[E12] and an active-edge output[E12]; connecting the user enable[E12] to the anchor, the user enable[CA1] and the user enable[CA2]; connecting the clock input[E12] to the clock input[CA1s], the clock input[CA1], the clock input[CA2s] and the clock input[CA2]; connecting the active-edge output[E12] to the enable[CA1s] and to the enable[CA2s]; connecting the data input[CA1s] to the data input[CA1]; connecting the data output[CA1s] to the data output[CA1]; connecting the data input[CA2s] to the data input[CA2]; and connecting the data output[CA2s] to the data output[CA2] ([0034]; [0035]; [0036]: two group-A clock models whose user enables share the anchor share one jointly configured detector, its active-edge output driving both samplers’ enables).
As per Claim 18, McIlwain teaches wherein: in S1, the plurality of sequential cells include: a sequential cell[B1]; and a sequential cell[B2]; in S2: the sequential cell[B1] and the sequential cell[B2] are both labelled as group B; in S3.1: the sequential cell[B1] is substituted with a clock model[CB1]; the clock model[CB1] is configured to include a data input[CB1], a data output[CB1], a user enable[CB1] and a clock input[CB1]; the sequential cell[B2] is substituted with a clock model[CB2]; and the clock model[CB2] is configured to include a data input[CB2], a data output[CB2], a user enable[CB2] and a clock input[CB2]; S3 further includes: configuring for the clock model[CB1] a sampler[CB1s]; configuring for the sampler[CBs1] a data input[CB1s], an enable[CB1s], a clock input[CB1s] and a data output[CB1s]; configuring for the clock model[CB2] a sampler[CB2s]; configuring for the sampler[CB2s] a data input[CB2s], an enable[CB2s], a clock input[CB2s] and a data output[CB2s]; identifying an anchor to which the user enable[CB1] is connected; and if the user enable[CB2] is connected to the anchor: configuring jointly for the clock model[CB1] and for the clock model[CB2] a clock detector[E12]; configuring for the clock detector[E12] a user enable[E12], a clock input[E12] and an active-edge output[E12]; connecting the user enable[E12] to the anchor, the user enable[CB1] and the user enable[CB2]; connecting the clock input[E12] to the clock input[CB1s], the clock input[CB1], the clock input[CB2s] and the clock input[CB2]; connecting the active-edge output[E12] to the enable[CB1s] and to the enable[CB2s]; connecting the data input[CB1s] to the data input[CB1]; connecting the data output[CB1s] to the data output[CB1]; connecting the data input[CB2s] to the data input[CB2]; and connecting the data output[CB2s] to the data output[CB2] ([0034]; [0035]; [0036]: two group-B clock models whose user enables share the anchor share one jointly configured detector, its active-edge output driving both samplers’ enables).
As per Claim 19, McIlwain teaches further comprising the steps of: S4) converting the IC design into a modified design; S5) implementing the modified design on the FPGA ([0022]; [0038] “network representation or specification of the circuit design that is to be emulated on an FPGA may be received”: the design is synthesized into an FPGA netlist (the modified design) and implemented on the FPGA).
However, McIlwain fails to teach explicitly S6) validating the IC design with the FPGA on which the modified design is implemented.
Kuijsten teaches S6) validating the IC design with the FPGA on which the modified design is implemented (Col. 4 lines 6-9 “The processor groups perform logical operations on the selected values in order to emulate the operation of the user circuit”: the implemented design is exercised to emulate, and thereby test, the operation of the user’s circuit, i.e., validating the IC design as claimed).
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Dargelas (US 5,938,785 A) teaches automatically analyzing a netlist having a primary clock and internal clocks that are dependent on the input clock signals and portions of the combinatorial logic, and designating each sequential element in the netlist.
Douezy (US 6,934,674 B1) teaches clock generation and distribution in an emulation system in which derived clock signals are distributed without introducing a phase shift so that the desired clock phase relationships are maintained.
Ganesan (US 8,850,381 B1) teaches automatic clock to enable conversion for FPGA based prototyping systems in which an edge detector formed of two state elements, an inverter and a two-input AND gate, clocked by a global clock, produces a clock-enable pulse for a rising edge of a user clock.
EUNHEE KIM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2188
/EUNHEE KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2188