DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3, 5, 6, 10, and 14 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 5,130,779 to Agarwala et al.
Regarding claim 1, Agarwala et al. teach a solder bump structure comprising:
an under bump metallurgy (UBM) layer (14);
a first solder portion (16) over the UBM layer, the first solder portion having a first composition;
a barrier layer (18) encapsulating the first solder portion; and
a second solder portion (26) over the barrier layer, the second solder portion having a second composition different from the first composition (Col. 10, lines 37-43).
Regarding claim 2, Agarwala et al. teach a solder bump structure, wherein the first solder portion has an upper surface, at least one side surface, and a lower surface positioned over the UBM layer, the barrier layer encapsulating at least part of the upper surface and the at least one side surface of the first solder portion. See Figs. 3 and 4.
Regarding claim 3, Agarwala et al. teach a solder bump structure, wherein the barrier layer is configured to limit diffusion of material between the first solder portion and the second solder portion during multiple reflowing of the bump structure (Col. 5, lines 56 – 62).
Regarding claim 5, Agarwala et al. teach a solder bump structure, wherein the second solder portion exhibits a substantially hemispherical shape after a first reflowing of the bump structure (Col. 11, lines 64 – 68).
Regarding claim 6, Agarwala et al. teach a solder bump structure, wherein the barrier layer restrains the first solder portion to a substantially cylindrical shape during multiple reflowing of the bump structure (Col. 10, lines 22 – 27).
Regarding claim 10, Agarwala et al. teach a solder bump, wherein the barrier layer comprise a layer of nickel (Ni) (Col. 13, lines 62 – 65).
Regarding claim 14, Agarwala et al. teach a solder bump, wherein the UBM layer is configured to be deposited over an integrated circuit (IC) chip (Col. 9, lines 25 – 33) and the second solder portion is configured to form a solder joint with a substrate for interconnecting the IC chip and the substrate and forming a flip-chip assembly (Col. 16, lines 21 – 25).
Regarding claim 15, Agarwala et al. teach a method for manufacturing a solder bump structure, the method comprising:
depositing an under bump metallurgy (UBM) layer (14) over an integrated circuit (IC) chip (Col. 9, lines 25 – 33);
depositing a first solder layer (16) over the UBM layer, the first solder layer having a first composition;
depositing a barrier layer (18) that encapsulates the first solder portion; and
depositing at least one second solder layer over the barrier layer, the at least one second solder layer having a second composition different from the first composition (Col. 10, lines 37-43).
Regarding claim 16, Agarwala et al. teach a method, wherein the barrier layer is deposited to encapsulate at least part of an upper surface and at least one side surface of the first solder layer. See Figs. 3 and 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7 – 9, 11, 12, 17, 19, 20, 22, and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent No. 6,501,185 to Chow et al. teach a solder structure including a conductive structure with a barrier layer encapsulation and a solder portion over the barrier layer. Chow et al. do not teach the first solder portion.
DOUGLAS W. OWENS, Esq.
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/DOUGLAS W OWENS/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897