DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an amendment filed on 3/23/26 in which claims 1, 3-20, 22-30, 32, 34 and 35 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
The rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been withdrawn due to applicants amendments..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejections under U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), have been withdrawn due to applicants amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-8, 10-18, 20, 22-30, 32, 34 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko et al. (Pub. No.: 2023/0337318), herein Ko and Pan et al. (EP 4 013 182 A1), herein Pan.
As to claim 1, Ko teaches the method performed by a first terminal device, comprising:
determining a time period during which at least one second terminal device is estimated in an active state as a deterministic active time period (Ko [0255] In step S1630, the first device may transmit, to the at least one second device, second SCI including information related to the SL DRX configuration and a destination ID through the PSSCH. In step S1640, the first device may perform, based on the SL DRX configuration, the groupcast communication with the at least one second device. [0255] the SL DRX configuration may include information related to a DRX cycle and information related to an active time.); and
transmitting data to the at least one second terminal device during the deterministic active time period, wherein the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device belong to a groupcast group (Ko [0198] the UE uses the zone ID information mixed with the ID information, when selecting a transmission resource by always using only a specific time domain within an active time period and [0255] In step S1640, the first device may perform, based on the SL DRX configuration, the groupcast communication with the at least one second device)
Ko does not teach
determining, based on at least one measurement or configuration related to sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) behavior of a plurality of second terminal devices in a groupcast group,
However Pan does teach
determining, based on at least one measurement or configuration related to sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) behavior of a plurality of second terminal devices in a groupcast group (Pan [0153] Referring back to FIGS. 3 and 4, in one exemplary embodiment of a method for a (Rx) UE, the (Rx) UE 300 includes a program code 312 stored in the memory 310. The CPU 308 could execute program code 312 to enable the (Rx) UE (i) to initialize a sidelink service for a sidelink groupcast communication, (ii) to receive an identifier (ID) associated with the sidelink groupcast communication, wherein the ID is used for data transmission and reception in the sidelink groupcast communication, (iii) to receive a SL DRX configuration associated with the sidelink service, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes at least a first length of on-duration and a second length of a cycle, (iv) to derive or determine an offset based on at least the identifier, (v) to determine a periodic active time based on at least the first length of on-duration, the second length of the cycle and the offset, wherein the offset is used to indicate or define where the cycle starts and the first length of on-duration is a duration at beginning of the cycle, and (vi) to monitor sidelink control channel within the periodic active time for the sidelink groupcast communication)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ko and Pan, because Pan teaches us FIG. 18 is a flow chart 1800 illustrating a method for a (Rx) UE. In step 1805, the (Rx) UE initializes a sidelink service for a sidelink groupcast communication. In step 1810, the (Rx) UE receives an identifier (ID) associated with the sidelink groupcast communication, wherein the ID is used for data transmission and reception in the sidelink groupcast communication.
As to claim 20, Ko teaches the method performed by a network device, comprising:
receiving from a first terminal device information related to a deterministic active time period from a first terminal device, wherein during the deterministic active time period, determined by the first terminal at least one second terminal device is estimated in an active state period (Ko [0255] In step S1630, the first device may transmit, to the at least one second device, second SCI including information related to the SL DRX configuration and a destination ID through the PSSCH. In step S1640, the first device may perform, based on the SL DRX configuration, the groupcast communication with the at least one second device. [0255] the SL DRX configuration may include information related to a DRX cycle and information related to an active time); and
transmitting information regarding a scheduled transmission of new data and/or retransmit data to the first terminal device based on the information related to the deterministic active time period, wherein the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device belong to a groupcast group (Ko [0097] For example, the transmitting UE may transmit the entirety or part of information described below to the receiving UE through the SCI. [0105] New data indicator (NDI) information [ 0198] the UE uses the zone ID information mixed with the ID information, when selecting a transmission resource by always using only a specific time domain within an active time period [0198] the UE uses the zone ID information mixed with the ID information, when selecting a transmission resource by always using only a specific time domain within an active time period and [0255] In step S1640, the first device may perform, based on the SL DRX configuration, the groupcast communication with the at least one second device)
Ko does not teach
determined by the first terminal device based on at least one measurement or configuration related to sidelink DRX behavior of a plurality of second terminal devices in a groupcast group
However Pan does teach
determined by the first terminal device based on at least one measurement or configuration related to sidelink DRX behavior of a plurality of second terminal devices in a groupcast group (Pan [0153] Referring back to FIGS. 3 and 4, in one exemplary embodiment of a method for a (Rx) UE, the (Rx) UE 300 includes a program code 312 stored in the memory 310. The CPU 308 could execute program code 312 to enable the (Rx) UE (i) to initialize a sidelink service for a sidelink groupcast communication, (ii) to receive an identifier (ID) associated with the sidelink groupcast communication, wherein the ID is used for data transmission and reception in the sidelink groupcast communication, (iii) to receive a SL DRX configuration associated with the sidelink service, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes at least a first length of on-duration and a second length of a cycle, (iv) to derive or determine an offset based on at least the identifier, (v) to determine a periodic active time based on at least the first length of on-duration, the second length of the cycle and the offset, wherein the offset is used to indicate or define where the cycle starts and the first length of on-duration is a duration at beginning of the cycle, and (vi) to monitor sidelink control channel within the periodic active time for the sidelink groupcast communication)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ko and Pan, for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 30, Ko teaches the first terminal device comprising:
a processor and a memory coupled to the processor, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor, whereby said first terminal device is operative to (Ko Fig. 19 First Device processor and memory):
determine a time period during which at least one second terminal device is estimated in an active state as a deterministic active time period (Ko [0255] In step S1630, the first device may transmit, to the at least one second device, second SCI including information related to the SL DRX configuration and a destination ID through the PSSCH. In step S1640, the first device may perform, based on the SL DRX configuration, the groupcast communication with the at least one second device. [0255] the SL DRX configuration may include information related to a DRX cycle and information related to an active time); and
transmit data to the at least one second terminal device during the deterministic active time period wherein the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device belong to a groupcast group. (Ko [0198] the UE uses the zone ID information mixed with the ID information, when selecting a transmission resource by always using only a specific time domain within an active time period and [0255] In step S1640, the first device may perform, based on the SL DRX configuration, the groupcast communication with the at least one second device)
Ko does not teach
determine, based on at least one measurement or configuration related to sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) behavior of a plurality of second terminal devices in a groupcast group
However Pan does teach
determine, based on at least one measurement or configuration related to sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) behavior of a plurality of second terminal devices in a groupcast group (Pan [0153] Referring back to FIGS. 3 and 4, in one exemplary embodiment of a method for a (Rx) UE, the (Rx) UE 300 includes a program code 312 stored in the memory 310. The CPU 308 could execute program code 312 to enable the (Rx) UE (i) to initialize a sidelink service for a sidelink groupcast communication, (ii) to receive an identifier (ID) associated with the sidelink groupcast communication, wherein the ID is used for data transmission and reception in the sidelink groupcast communication, (iii) to receive a SL DRX configuration associated with the sidelink service, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes at least a first length of on-duration and a second length of a cycle, (iv) to derive or determine an offset based on at least the identifier, (v) to determine a periodic active time based on at least the first length of on-duration, the second length of the cycle and the offset, wherein the offset is used to indicate or define where the cycle starts and the first length of on-duration is a duration at beginning of the cycle, and (vi) to monitor sidelink control channel within the periodic active time for the sidelink groupcast communication)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ko and Pan, for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 32, Ko teaches a network device, comprising:
a processor (Ko Fig. 21 processor); and a memory coupled to the processor, said memory containing instructions executable by said processor, whereby said network device is operative to (Ko Fig. 21 memory and processor):
receive information related to a deterministic active time period from a first terminal device, wherein during the deterministic active time period, at least one second terminal device is estimated in an active state, and wherein the first terminal device and the at least one second terminal device belong to a groupcast group; (Ko [0255] In step S1630, the first device may transmit, to the at least one second device, second SCI including information related to the SL DRX configuration and a destination ID through the PSSCH. In step S1640, the first device may perform, based on the SL DRX configuration, the groupcast communication with the at least one second device. [0255] the SL DRX configuration may include information related to a DRX cycle and information related to an active time.); and
transmit information regarding a scheduled transmission of new data and/or retransmit data to the first terminal device based on the information related to the deterministic active time period (Ko [0097] For example, the transmitting UE may transmit the entirety or part of information described below to the receiving UE through the SCI. [0105] New data indicator (NDI) information [ 0198] the UE uses the zone ID information mixed with the ID information, when selecting a transmission resource by always using only a specific time domain within an active time period [0198] the UE uses the zone ID information mixed with the ID information, when selecting a transmission resource by always using only a specific time domain within an active time period and [0255] In step S1640, the first device may perform, based on the SL DRX configuration, the groupcast communication with the at least one second device)
Ko does not teach
receive, from a first terminal device, information related to a deterministic active time period determined by the first terminal device based on at least one measurement or configuration related to sidelink DRX behavior of a plurality of second terminal devices in a groupcast group
However Pan does teach
receive, from a first terminal device, information related to a deterministic active time period determined by the first terminal device based on at least one measurement or configuration related to sidelink DRX behavior of a plurality of second terminal devices in a groupcast group group (Pan [0153] Referring back to FIGS. 3 and 4, in one exemplary embodiment of a method for a (Rx) UE, the (Rx) UE 300 includes a program code 312 stored in the memory 310. The CPU 308 could execute program code 312 to enable the (Rx) UE (i) to initialize a sidelink service for a sidelink groupcast communication, (ii) to receive an identifier (ID) associated with the sidelink groupcast communication, wherein the ID is used for data transmission and reception in the sidelink groupcast communication, (iii) to receive a SL DRX configuration associated with the sidelink service, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes at least a first length of on-duration and a second length of a cycle, (iv) to derive or determine an offset based on at least the identifier, (v) to determine a periodic active time based on at least the first length of on-duration, the second length of the cycle and the offset, wherein the offset is used to indicate or define where the cycle starts and the first length of on-duration is a duration at beginning of the cycle, and (vi) to monitor sidelink control channel within the periodic active time for the sidelink groupcast communication)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ko and Pan, for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 3, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one second terminal device comprises at least threshold percent of reception terminal devices in the groupcast group, the threshold percentage indicating that a number of reception terminal devices in the groupcast group that are in the active state is greater than or equal to the threshold percentage. (KO [0199] the group header UE may adjust/determine the size of the group based on the selected DRX cycle configuration. For example, after the group header UE selects the DRX cycle configuration corresponding to ‘group size=N’ and shares it with the group member UE(s), if other UEs additionally want to join the group, the group header UE may reject join requests of other UEs, and the group header UE may maintain the size of the group within the maximum required size. Fig. 7 N = 2 (threshold percentage))
Claim 22 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 3.
As to claim 4, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 3, wherein a threshold is signaled or preconfigured to the first terminal device (Ko [0197]] For example, the DRX cycle configuration may be determined/selected/configured based on the number of UEs belonging to the group (i.e., size of the group). [0199] the group header UE may maintain the size of the group within the maximum required size)
Claim 23 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 5, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 1, wherein transmitting data to the at least one second terminal device during the deterministic active time period comprises: transmitting the data to the at least one second terminal device during the deterministic active time period by using a groupcast communication (Ko [0198] the UE uses the zone ID information mixed with the ID information, when selecting a transmission resource by always using only a specific time domain within an active time period and [0255] In step S1640, the first device may perform, based on the SL DRX configuration, the groupcast communication with the at least one second device)
As to claim 6, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 1, wherein transmitting data to the at least one second terminal device during the deterministic active time period comprises: transmitting new data to the at least one second terminal device only during the deterministic active time period (Ko [0097] For example, the transmitting UE may transmit the entirety or part of information described below to the receiving UE through the SCI. [0105] New data indicator (NDI) information [ 0198] the UE uses the zone ID information mixed with the ID information, when selecting a transmission resource by always using only a specific time domain within an active time period)
As to claim 7, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the data comprises at least one of: new data; or retransmit data (Ko [0097] the transmitting UE may transmit the entirety or part of information described below to the receiving UE through the SCI. Herein, for example, the transmitting UE may transmit the entirety or part of the information described below to the receiving UE through the first SCI and/or the second SCI. [0105] New data indicator (NDI) information, and/or [0106] Redundancy version (RV) information)
As to claim 8, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the deterministic active time period is determined based on at least one of:
a sidelink discontinuous reception, DRX, on-duration timer of the at least one second terminal device is running (Ko [0131] If a DRX cycle is configured, an active time includes the time while: [0132] drx-onDurationTimer or drx-InactivityTimer or drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer is running);
at least one time occasion determined based on resource reservation period information for the at least one second terminal device;
a sidelink DRX inactivity timer of the at least one second terminal device is running;
the first terminal device just sent link control information for new data transmission to the at least one second terminal device;
a random access contention resolution timer is running in the first terminal device;
a time window to monitor random access response after transmission of a first random access message is running in the first terminal device;
a scheduling request is sent on uplink control channel and is pending in the first terminal device;
a downlink control channel indicating a new transmission addressed to the first terminal device has not been received after successful reception of a random access response for a random access preamble not selected by the first terminal device among contention-based random access preamble;
a measurement report of the at least one second terminal device and/or the first second terminal device;
or a sensing result of the at least one second terminal device and/or the first second terminal device.
As to claim 10, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 1, wherein during the deterministic active time period, the method further comprises: transmitting information related to the deterministic active time period to a network device (Ko [0196] For example, if the group header UE in the group selects the index/information related to the DRX cycle configuration to be used by group member UE(s), the group header UE may transmit/share the index related to the selected DRX cycle configuration to group member UE(s))
As to claim 11, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 10, wherein the information related to the deterministic active time period comprises at least one of:
the deterministic active time period (Ko [0196] For example, if the group header UE in the group selects the index/information related to the DRX cycle configuration to be used by group member UE(s), the group header UE may transmit/share the index related to the selected DRX cycle configuration to group member UE(s) [0255] the SL DRX configuration may include information related to a DRX cycle and information related to an active time);
; or
a preference to be scheduled for transmission of new data and/or retransmit data during the deterministic active time period.
Claim 24 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 11.
As to claim 12, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 11, further comprising: receiving information regarding a scheduled transmission of new data and/or retransmit data from the network device (Ko [0097] For example, the transmitting UE may transmit the entirety or part of information described below to the receiving UE through the SCI. [0105] New data indicator (NDI) information [ 0198] the UE uses the zone ID information mixed with the ID information, when selecting a transmission resource by always using only a specific time domain within an active time period)
As to claim 13, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 11, wherein the deterministic active time period comprises an active start time and an active end time (Ko Fig. 10 on duration (active start and end time))
Claim 25 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 12.
As to claim 14, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining a time period during which the at least one second terminal device is not estimated in an active state as a non deterministic active time period (Ko [0186] Meanwhile, a DRX cycle may include (i) an active time when the UE monitors a transmission channel in an awake mode and, if necessary, detects/decodes an SL channel, and (ii) an inactive time when the UE is in a sleep mode (i.e., the UE does not need to monitor a channel).; and transmitting information related to the non deterministic active time period to a network device (Ko [0196] For example, if the group header UE in the group selects the index/information related to the DRX cycle configuration to be used by group member UE(s), the group header UE may transmit/share the index related to the selected DRX cycle configuration to group member UE(s))
As to claim 15, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 14, wherein the information related to the non deterministic active time period comprises at least one of: the non deterministic active time period (Ko (Ko [0186] Meanwhile, a DRX cycle may include (i) an active time when the UE monitors a transmission channel in an awake mode and, if necessary, detects/decodes an SL channel, and (ii) an inactive time when the UE is in a sleep mode (i.e., the UE does not need to monitor a channel)) or a preference to not be scheduled for transmission of new data during the non deterministic active time period.
Claim 27 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 15.
As to claim 16, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 15, further comprising: receiving information regarding a scheduled transmission of retransmit data from the network device (Ko [0197] For example, the DRX cycle configuration may be determined/selected/configured based on the number of UEs belonging to the group (i.e., size of the group). In this case, timer value(s) such as OnDurationTimer, InactivityTimer, and/or RetransmissionTimer (information regarding a scheduled transmission of retransmit data) included in an active time within a DRX cycle may be determined/selected/set based on the size of the group)
As to claim 17, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 15, wherein the non deterministic active time period comprises an inactive start time and an inactive end time (Ko Fig. 10 opportunity for DRX (inactive start and in active end time))
Claim 28 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 17.
As to claim 18, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the information related to the deterministic active time period and/or information related to an non deterministic active time period is transmitted to a network device in at least one of: a radio resource control, RRC, signaling (Ko [0119] The UE may receive DRX configuration information from the gNB through RRC signaling and operate as DRX through a reception of the (long) DRX command MAC CE) a medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, a control protocol data unit, PDU, of a protocol layer, an adaptation layer, or a layer 1 signaling.
Claim 29 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 18.
As to claim 26, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 20, further comprising: receiving information related to a non deterministic active time period from the first terminal device, wherein during the non deterministic active time period, the at least one second terminal device is not estimated in the active state (Ko [0255] In step S1630, the first device may transmit, to the at least one second device, second SCI including information related to the SL DRX configuration and a destination ID through the PSSCH. In step S1640, the first device may perform, based on the SL DRX configuration, the groupcast communication with the at least one second device. [0186] Meanwhile, a DRX cycle may include (i) an active time when the UE monitors a transmission channel in an awake mode and, if necessary, detects/decodes an SL channel, and (ii) an inactive time when the UE is in a sleep mode (i.e., the UE does not need to monitor a channel).; and transmitting (604) information regarding a scheduled transmission of retransmit data to the first terminal device based on the information related to the non deterministic active time period (Ko [0197] For example, the DRX cycle configuration may be determined/selected/configured based on the number of UEs belonging to the group (i.e., size of the group). In this case, timer value(s) such as OnDurationTimer, InactivityTimer, and/or RetransmissionTimer (information regarding a scheduled transmission of retransmit data) included in an active time within a DRX cycle may be determined/selected/set based on the size of the group)
As to claim 34, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the computer-readable storage medium storing instructions which when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform the method according to claim 1.
As to claim 35, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the computer program product comprising instructions which when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to perform the method according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko, Pan and Huang et al. (Pub. No.: 2021/0227604), herein Huang.
As to claim 9, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 8,
Ko nor Pan teach
wherein the resource reservation period information is sent from the first terminal device to the at least one second terminal device.
However Huang does teach
wherein the resource reservation period information is sent from the first terminal device to the at least one second terminal device (Huang [0138] UE receives an SCI “Resource reservation period” field)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ko and Pan with Huang, because Huang teaches us the SCI is used to schedule the PSSCH (Huang [0099])
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ko, Pan and Jeong et al. (Pub. No.: 2022/0030661), herein Jeong
As to claim 19, the combination of Ko and Pan teach the method according to claim 1,
Ko nor Pan teach
wherein transmitting data to the at least one second terminal device during the deterministic active time period comprises:
when transmitting new data to the at least one second terminal device during the deterministic active time period, selecting a layer 2 destination, wherein a sidelink DRX associated with the layer 2 destination is in the deterministic active time period.
However Jeong does teach
wherein transmitting data to the at least one second terminal device during the deterministic active time period comprises:
when transmitting new data to the at least one second terminal device during the deterministic active time period, selecting a layer 2 destination, wherein a sidelink DRX associated with the layer 2 destination is in the deterministic active time period (Jeong [0145], the UE starts SL DRX on-duration timer in the frame the UE monitors PSCCH and/or PSSCH for the L1/L2 destination id and performs another resource selection and PSCCH and/or PSSCH transmission if needed (e.g., if UE has more new data in the transmission buffer to be sent) in step 1153)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ko and Pan with Jeong, because Jeong teaches us [0144] For resource for initial transmission (not for HARQ retransmission), the UE selects the resource within the period which SL DRX on-duration timer runs or SL DRX inactivity timer runs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3, 4-20, 22-20, 32, 34 and 35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467