DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 7-8, 10 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Joseph Michael Manahan (Manahan) US 2017/0092405 A1 in view of Julianne F. Haugh (Haugh) US 2012/0130545 A1.
As per claim 1 Manahan disclose;
An electrical enclosure for outdoor use (Fig. 9A), the electrical enclosure comprising:
a first vent hole (item 926) comprising a first opening/closing mechanism (Para 0092 solenoid);
a second vent hole (item 937) a second opening/closing mechanism (Para 0097 solenoids), wherein the second vent hole is further a drain hole disposed on the bottom side of the enclosure,
at least one sensor (para 0088 item 936 “a sensor device”) configured to provide sensor data the indicating a temperature (para 0088) inside the enclosure; and
a control unit (item 931 “control module” para 0084) configured to control the operation of the first and second opening/closing mechanisms based on the sensor data indicating the temperature inside the enclosure. (Para 0084 and 0088 “can be used to measure a parameter ( e.g., a temperature) within the cavity 907” and Para 0098 “control module 931 that receives the measurements of the sensor devices 936 of FIGS. 10 and 12A (and/or any other sensor devices of the moisture control system 930) and causes one or more components (e.g., a solenoid 996) of the moisture control system 930 to operate. Examples of other sensor devices that can be used with the moisture control system 930 can include, but are not limited to, a temperature sensor and a humidity sensor. In such a case, the control module of the moisture control system 930 can determine whether dehumidification within the cavity 907 of the electrical enclosure 900 is needed.).
wherein the control unit (item 931 “control module” para 0084) is configured to open the first and/or the second vent holes when the temperature inside the enclosure is above a predetermined temperature threshold. (Para 0103 “air temperature within the cavity 907 of the electrical enclosure 900 is below a threshold value” Para 0026 “control one or more conditions (also called environmental conditions) within an electrical enclosure. Such other conditions can include, but are not limited to, temperature, pressure, humidity, and air quality” and Para 0159 “example moisture control systems can reduce moisture and/or temperatures within a cavity of an electrical enclosure.”).
As explained above Manahan disclose wherein the control unit is configured to open the first and/or the second vent holes when the temperature inside the enclosure is above a predetermined temperature threshold.
In the alternative, to the extent that applicant's argument that Manahan does not disclose wherein the control unit is configured to open the first and/or the second vent holes when the temperature inside the enclosure is above a predetermined temperature threshold,
then Haugh discloses well-known in the art, wherein the control unit is configured to open the first and/or the second vent holes when the temperature inside the enclosure is above a predetermined temperature threshold, (Para 0021 “The AF meter and controller is connected to the temperature sensor 219 and is also connected to the plurality of air vents such that when a predetermined high temperature is detected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Manahan and Haugh by incorporating the teaching of Haugh into the device of Manahan. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use well-known method of controlling temperature of Haugh into system of Manahan for the purpose of improving temperature of the enclosure.
As per claim 3 Manahan and Haugh disclose;
wherein the sensor data further comprises the humidity inside the enclosure (para 0070).
Motivation to combine remains same as claim 1.
As per claim 4 Manahan and Haugh;
wherein the sensor data further comprises water detection data indicating if water is detected inside the enclosure (Para 0098 “capacitive water level sensor”).
Motivation to combine remains same as claim 1.
As per claim 7 Manahan and Haugh;
wherein the control unit is configured to open the second vent hole when the humidity inside the enclosure is above a predetermined humidity threshold. (Para 0099-0103)
Motivation to combine remains same as claim 1.
As per claim 8 Manahan and Haugh;
wherein the control unit is configured to open the second vent hole when the water detection sensor indicates water inside the enclosure. (Para 0099-0103)
Motivation to combine remains same as claim 1.
As per claim 10 Manahan and Haugh;
wherein the first and second vent holes are disposed on opposite sides of the enclosure. (Fig. 9)
Motivation to combine remains same as claim 1.
Claim(s) 11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manahan in view of Haugh.
As per claim 11 Manahan disclose;
A method for temperature and humidity control in an electrical enclosure (Fig. 9A), the enclosure comprising a first vent hole (926) and a second vent hole (937), wherein the second vent hole is further a drain hole and disposed on the bottom side of the enclosure (Fig 9), the method comprising the steps of:
reading (para 0088 item 936 “can be used to measure a parameter ( e.g., a temperature) within the cavity 907”) sensor data from a temperature sensor (para 0088), and
controlling (Para 0084) an opening/closing mechanism of the first and second vent holes based on the sensor data (Para 0084) from the temperature sensor, wherein the sensor data from the temperature sensor indicates a temperature inside the enclosure; (Para 0088), and
wherein the control unit (item 931 “control module” para 0084) is configured to open the first and/or the second vent holes when the temperature inside the enclosure is above a predetermined temperature threshold. (Para 0103 “air temperature within the cavity 907 of the electrical enclosure 900 is below a threshold value” Para 0026 “control one or more conditions (also called environmental conditions) within an electrical enclosure. Such other conditions can include, but are not limited to, temperature, pressure, humidity, and air quality” and Para 0159 “example moisture control systems can reduce moisture and/or temperatures within a cavity of an electrical enclosure.”).
As explained above Manahan disclose wherein the control unit is configured to open the first and/or the second vent holes when the temperature inside the enclosure is above a predetermined temperature threshold.
In the alternative, to the extent that applicant's argument that Manahan does not disclose wherein the control unit is configured to open the first and/or the second vent holes when the temperature inside the enclosure is above a predetermined temperature threshold,
then Haugh discloses well-known in the art, wherein the control unit is configured to open the first and/or the second vent holes when the temperature inside the enclosure is above a predetermined temperature threshold, (Para 0021 “The AF meter and controller is connected to the temperature sensor 219 and is also connected to the plurality of air vents such that when a predetermined high temperature is detected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person in the ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Manahan and Haugh by incorporating the teaching of Haugh into the device of Manahan. One having ordinary skill in the art would have found it motivated to use well-known method of controlling temperature of Haugh into system of Manahan for the purpose of improving temperature of the enclosure.
As per claim 13 Manahan and Haugh disclose;
the method further comprises:
reading sensor data from a humidity sensor (Para 0038 “the moisture (as
measured, for example, by relative humidity using sensors
within and/or outside the electrical enclosure)” Para 0070 item 536 “humidity sensor”); and
controlling the opening/closing mechanism of the first and second vent holes based on the sensor data from the humidity sensor, wherein
the sensor data from the humidity sensor indicates a humidity inside the enclosure, and (Para 0070 “the sensor device 536 detects an excess of moisture (exceeds a threshold value) in the cavity 507 and sends a signal to the control module 531. When the control module 531 receives this signal from the
sensor device 536, the control module 531 operates the
piston 540. Subsequently, when the moisture level detected
by the sensor module 536 falls below a threshold value,”)
controlling the opening/closing mechanism of the first and second vent holes based (Para 0099 “control module 931 can operate in one or more of a number of modes. Examples of such modes can include, but are not limited to,
open, closed, moisture removal,”) on the sensor data from the humidity sensor (Para 0098 “humidity sensor”) comprises opening the first and/or the second vent holes as a result of determining that the humidity inside the enclosure is above a predetermined humidity threshold. (Para 0100 “the humidity within the cavity 907 of the electrical enclosure 900 is below a threshold value)
Motivation to combine remains same as claim 1.
As per claim 14 Manahan and Haugh disclose;
the method further comprises:
reading sensor data from a liquid sensor (Para 0070 “sensor device 536 can include, but are not limited to, a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, a photocell, a water level detector, and a humidity sensor); and
controlling the opening/closing mechanism of the first and second vent holes based on the sensor data from the liquid sensor, wherein
the sensor data from the liquid sensor indicates an amount of liquid inside the enclosure (Para 0070 “sensor device 536 can include, but are not limited to, a temperature sensor, a pressure sensor, a photocell, a water level detector, and a humidity sensor), and
controlling the opening/closing mechanism of the first and second vent holes based on the sensor data from the liquid sensor comprises opening the first and/or the second vent holes as a result of determining that the amount of liquid inside the enclosure is above a predetermined liquid threshold. (Para 0070, In this case, the sensor device 536 detects an excess of moisture (exceeds a threshold value) in the cavity 507 and sends a signal to the control module 531.
When the control module 531 receives this signal from the sensor device 536, the control module 531 operates the piston 540.“ and para 0099-0103)
Motivation to combine remains same as claim 1.
As per claim 16 Manahan and Haugh disclose;
wherein the control unit controls the operation of the first and second opening/closing mechanisms (Para 0092 solenoid); in order to regulate airflow through the enclosure to avoid overheating. (through vents 926)
Motivation to combine remains same as claim 1.
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manahan in view of Haugh and further in view of Jonathon R. Heim (Heim) US 7,320,457 B2.
Regarding claim 2
Manahan disclose opening/closing mechanism of the first and second vent holes but do not disclose, well-known alternative,
an electroactive polymer that expands in size under an applied voltage to form a seal.
However in analogues art Heim disclose, well-known alternative,
an electroactive polymer that expands in size under an applied voltage to form a seal. (Fig. 1-3 and Col. 4 line 3-7, Col. 10 lines 1-10)
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Heim to the device of Manahan would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows for significantly cheaper, lighter and have a greater operation range as compared to conventional technologies used in fluid control applications. (Col. 3 lines 61-64)
Claim(s) 9 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manahan in view of Haugh and further in view of Cliff L. Chuang (Chuang) US 4,852,469.
Regarding claim 9,
Manahan disclose opening/closing mechanism of the first and second vent holes and related sensors such as temperature, humidity and water level sensors inside and outside of the enclosure but do not disclose, but do not disclose, well-known alternative,
- the control unit is configured to close the first vent hole when the rain detection sensor indicates rain outside the enclosure.
However in analogues art Heim disclose, well-known alternative,
the control unit (fig. 1) is configured to close the first vent hole (at window, roof or top) when the rain detection sensor indicates rain outside the enclosure. (Fig. 3B)
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Heim to the device of Manahan would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows to provide an automatic venting system which accomplishes venting of an enclosed space while guarding against entry of precipitation to prevent rain damage. (Col. 1 line 40)
Regarding Claim 15
Manahan disclose opening/closing mechanism of the first and second vent holes and related sensors such as temperature, humidity and water level sensors inside and outside of the enclosure (Para 0138 “relative humidity using sensors within and/or outside the electrical enclosure”) but do not disclose, well-known alternative,
the method further comprises: reading sensor data from a rain sensor; and controlling the opening/closing mechanism of the first and second vent holes based on the sensor data from the rain sensor, wherein the sensor data from the rain sensor indicates an amount of rain outside the enclosure, and controlling the opening/closing mechanism of the first and second vent holes based on the sensor data from the rain sensor comprises closing the first and/or the second vent holes as a result of determining that the amount of rain outside the enclosure is above a predetermined rain threshold.
However in analogues art Heim disclose, well-known alternative,
the control unit (fig. 1) is configured to close the first vent hole (at window, roof or top) when the rain detection sensor indicates rain outside the enclosure. (Fig. 3B)
Thus, it would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill in the art that applying the known technique taught by Heim to the device of Manahan would have yielded predicable results and resulted in an improved assembly, that would allows to provide an automatic venting system which accomplishes venting of an enclosed space while guarding against entry of precipitation to prevent rain damage. (Col. 1 line 40)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument Manahan does not disclose: “Manahan for at least the reason that Manahan does not disclose: the control unit is configured to open the first and/or the second vent holes when the temperature inside the enclosure is above a predetermined temperature threshold, as required by claim 1.“
Examiner respectfully disagree because, Manahan disclose: “at least one sensor (para 0088 item 936 “a sensor device”) configured to provide sensor data indicating a temperature inside the enclosure (Para 0084 and 0088 “can be used to measure a parameter ( e.g., a temperature) within the cavity 907”); and
a control unit (item 931 “control module” para 0084) configured to control the operation of the first and second opening/closing mechanisms based on the sensor data indicating the temperature inside the enclosure. (Para 0084 and 0088 “can be used to measure a parameter ( e.g., a temperature) within the cavity 907” and Para 0098 “control module 931 that receives the measurements of the sensor devices 936 of FIGS. 10 and 12A (and/or any other sensor devices of the moisture control system 930) and causes one or more components (e.g., a solenoid 9 9 6) of the moisture control system 930 to operate. Examples of other sensor devices that can be used with the moisture control system 930 can include, but are not limited to, a temperature sensor and a humidity sensor. In such a case, the control module of the moisture control system 930 can determine whether dehumidification within the cavity 907 of the electrical enclosure 900 is needed.).
In the alternative, examiner added 103 rejection to show, Haugh discloses well-known in the art, wherein the control unit is configured to open the first and/or the second vent holes when the temperature inside the enclosure is above a predetermined temperature threshold, (Para 0021 “The AF meter and controller is connected to the temperature sensor 219 and is also connected to the plurality of air vents such that when a predetermined high temperature is detected).
Further regarding subject matter “based on the sensor data indicating
the temperature inside the enclosure” is not described in specification, specification describes only “the sensor data at least comprises the temperature inside the enclosure, obtained from a temperature sensor 23”. Page 5 lines 23-25
Conclusion
/MUKUNDBHAI G PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835