DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/18/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 5/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Rohida (WO 2021/018778 using the copy sent on 3/30/2026 for citations).
As to claim 1, Rohida discloses a method of recovering valuable materials from a black mass of lithium ion batteries (page 1 lines 3-9; page 2 lines 13-29 and discussed throughout), comprising: decomposing the black mass to produce a reduced black mass (page 2 line 13 – page 3 line 15 and discussed throughout); extracting lithium from the reduced black mass (page 3 line 25 – page 4 line 9; page 4 line 23 -page 5 line 4 and discussed throughout); and separating and recovering magnetic alloy materials and non-magnetic materials from the reduced black mass (page 14 line 20-25; page 23 line 15-17 and discussed throughout).
As to claim 2, Rohida discloses wherein, the decomposing of the black mass includes subjecting the black mass to thermal reduction (page 8 line 20- page 9 line 21 and discussed throughout).
As to claim 8, Rohida discloses wherein, the extracting of the lithium includes: mixing the reduced black mass with water whereby lithium oxide, lithium carbonate or lithium oxide and lithium carbonate in the reduced black mass reacts with the water to produce water soluble lithium salts; separating the water and water soluble lithium salts from a reduced black mass residual; and evaporating the separated water and water soluble lithium salts to recover lithium salts (page 23 line 24-page 24 line 17 and discussed throughout).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohida (WO 2021/018778) as applied to claims 2 and 8 above.
As to claim 3, Rohida discloses wherein, the thermal reduction includes heating the black mass to a temperature of between about 500° C. and about 1,000° C. in the presence of a reducing agent (page 8 line 20- page 9 line 21 and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 4, Rohida discloses wherein, the reducing agent is selected from a group of reducing agents, consisting of a reducing gas, hydrogen gas, carbon monoxide gas, methane gas, carbon-based solids, graphite solids, aluminum solids, plastic separator solids and mixtures thereof (page 8 line 20- page 9 line 21 and discussed throughout).
As to claim 5, Rohida discloses wherein, the thermal reduction of the black mass is performed in a reducing atmosphere including (a) the reducing gas and an inert gas wherein a mixture ratio of the reducing gas to total gas is about 0.001-0.2 in volume basis or (b) reduced carbon-based solids and an inert gas wherein a certain flow rate is required to maintain an appropriate reduced atmosphere (page 8 line 20- page 9 line 21 and discussed throughout). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP 2144.05 I).
As to claim 6, Rohida discloses further including using argon as the inert gas (page 8 line 20- page 9 line 21 and discussed throughout).
As to claim 7, Rohida discloses further including using nitrogen gas as the inert gas (page 8 line 20- page 9 line 21 and discussed throughout).
As to claim 9, Rohida discloses wherein, the separating and recovering of the magnetic materials and non-magnetic materials includes: drying the reduced black mass residual following separation from the water and water soluble lithium salts (page 23 line 24 – page 24 line 17 and discussed throughout); and using a magnet to separate the magnetic alloy materials from non-magnetic materials including any graphite, copper and aluminum in the reduced black mass residual (page 22 line 10 - page 23 line 12, and discussed throughout). This is a 103 type rejection because Rohida discloses the magnetic separation within step (d) and the water and dry in step (e) which is the reverse of the instant claimed invention. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill within the art at the time of the effective filling date of the invention to change steps (e) and (d) within Rohida as a mere change in sequence (see MPEP 2144.04 IV C) baring any criticality or unexpected results.
As to claim 10, Rohida discloses wherein, the separating and recovering of the magnetic alloy materials and non-magnetic materials is done by using a magnet-assisted vibration device (page 22 line 10 – page 23 line 12, the spiral will have vibrations, and discussed throughout).
Contact Information
/BRIAN R OHARA/Examiner, Art Unit 1724