DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III, claims 15-19 in the reply filed on October 13, 2025 is acknowledged. Claims 13-14 and 20-23 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19 depends from claim 18 and recites “a weight ratio”. As a weight ratio was already recited in claim 18, claim 19 should state “the weight ratio”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Note: “Livestock” is defined in the instant specification paragraph 3 as animals that are acclimatized and bred for human use of their products (milk, meat, eggs, hair, skin, fur, labor, etc.) and are bred in human captivity.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brintrup Meeder (US 2018/0184699).
Brintrup Meeder teaches of a food supplement for animal feed comprising: abscisic acid and glycine (abstract, paragraphs 46, 66, Tables N3 and N4, and claim 15).
Regarding the feed as for livestock, it is noted that the claimed limitation is intended use and only requires the ability of the product to be used in the claimed manner. Additionally, the claimed limitation is recited in the preamble, and the claim does not appear to depend on the limitation for completeness. Regardless, as Brintrup Meeder teaches that the food is for animals (abstract), including pigs (paragraph 67), which were known livestock, the feed of Brintrup Meeder encompasses a feed for livestock as instantly claimed. The position of the office is further supported as Brintrup Meeder teaches of a feed with a composition overlapping that as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 1076836A machine translation) in view of Herrero et al (EP 2616058).
Xu teaches an enriched feed concentrate (additive) for pigs to increase weight gain (abstract), wherein the concentrate is added to the basic diet composition at 20% (page 2 lines 4-5). Xu teaches that the feed additive contains 1-2% glycine (page 1 line 33). Thus, the pig feed would comprise 0.2-0.4% glycine.
Xu is silent to abscisic acid and/or salt thereof in the feed as recited in claim 15, preferably from 0.01-100ppm as recited in claim 16, or from 0.1-10ppm as recited in claim 17, wherein the ratio of abscisic acid and/or salt thereof to glycine is about 1: 30-400,000 as recited in claim 18, or about 1:300-40,000 as recited in claim 19.
Herrero et al (Herrero) teaches feed for livestock, including pigs, which includes an effective amount of abscisic acid for weight gain (paragraphs 4, 6-8, 15, 18, and 21). Herrero teaches an effective amount of abscisic acid in the feed composition is about 1-2000g/MT (about 1-2000ppm), preferably 5-500g/MT (5-500ppm), with 1 and 5ppm exemplified (paragraphs 26, 31, and claims 5 and 6).
Regarding abscisic acid and/or salt thereof in the feed as recited in claim 15, preferably from 0.01-100ppm as recited in claim 16, or from 0.1-10ppm as recited in claim 17, wherein the ratio of abscisic acid and/or salt thereof to glycine is about 1: 30-400,000 as recited in claim 18, or about 1:300-40,000 as recited in claim 19, it would have been obvious for the feed of Xu to include about 1-2000ppm, preferably 5-500ppm abscisic acid for weight gain as taught by Herrero. As Xu teaches the feed comprises 0.2-0.4% glycine, this would result in a ratio of abscisic acid to glycine of about 1: 1 (0.2:0.2) to 1: 4,000 (0.0001:0.4). Thus, the prior art discloses overlapping ranges. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select any portions of the disclosed ranges including the instantly claimed ranges from the ranges disclosed in the prior art references, particularly in view of the fact that; "The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages" In re Peterson 65 USPQ2d 1379 (CAFC 2003). Also In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549,533 (CCPA 1974) and MPEP 2144.05.
Double Patenting
Claims 15-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-17 of copending Application No. 18285189 (‘189) or claims 13-15 of copending Application No. 18277365 (‘365) or claim 2 of copending Application No. 18267519 (‘519) as amended November 13, 2025 or claims 15-17 of copending Application No. 18277408 (‘408) or claim 6 of copending Application No. 18037993 (‘993), each respectively in view of Xu (CN 1076836A machine translation).
Each of the copending applications claims a feed for livestock comprising abscisic acid from 0.01-100ppm and/or 0.1-10ppm (‘189 claims 16 and 17; ‘365 claims 14 and 15; ‘519 claim 2; ‘408 claims 16 and 17; ‘993 claim 6), which encompasses the claimed ranges recited in instant claims 16-17.
Each of the copending applications is silent to the livestock feed as comprising glycine as recited in claim 15, wherein the ratio of abscisic acid and/or salt thereof to glycine is about 1: 30-400,000 as recited in claim 18, or about 1:300-40,000 as recited in claim 19.
Xu teaches enriched feed concentrate (additive) for pigs to increase weight gain (abstract), wherein the concentrate is added to the basic diet composition at 20% (page 2 lines 4-5). Xu teaches that the feed additive contains 1-2% glycine (page 1 line 33). Thus, the pig feed would comprise 0.2-0.4% glycine.
It would have been obvious for the livestock feed claimed by each of the copending applications to contain 0.2-0.4% glycine in order to enrich the feed and promote weight gain as taught by Xu. Thus, the product of each respective application would contain a ratio of abscisic acid and/or salt thereof to glycine of 1:20 (0.01:0.2) to 1:400,000 (0.000001:0.4) or 1: 200 (0.001: 0.2) to 1:40,000 (0.00001:0.4) respectively.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 96/22019 teaches feed for animals to prevent ascites and reduce stress comprising glutamic acid, glycine and proline.
KELLY BEKKER
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1792
/KELLY J BEKKER/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1792