DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on April 23, 2026 has been entered. Claims 36, 38 and 45 have been amended. Claims 1-31 were previously canceled. No claims have been added. Claims 32-51 are still pending in this application, with claims 32, 40 and 50-51 being independent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 32, 38, 40, 48 and 50-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Neely et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0165110), hereinafter referred to as Neely.
Regarding claim 32, Neely discloses a user equipment (vehicle; See Fig. 1, #12), UE, comprising:
a memory (one or more types of electronic memory; See Fig. 1, #40); and
processing circuitry (electronic processing device (processor); See Fig. 1, #38) coupled to the memory, wherein the UE is configured to:
detect that the UE has lost navigation system coverage partially or wholly (the first indications comprises a loss of communications from one or both of the event detection system and the GNSS system (e.g., a failure to receive expected signals or “heartbeats” from one or both of these systems). In one exemplary embodiment, the first indication comprises a loss of communications from the event detection system (e.g., a failure to receive expected signals or “heartbeats” from the event detection system, such as via the antenna 70 and/or via the vehicle bus 32); See [0052]); and
after the detection, transmit towards a network node a loss notification indicating that the UE has the lost navigation system coverage (An evaluation is conducted at 210 as to additional inputs for verification of the potential vehicle event. In various embodiments, the processor 38 of FIG. 1 evaluates device sensor data 219 from the electronic device 15 of FIG. 1 and/or from one or more other electronic devices and/or global navigation satellite systems (GNSS). For example, in certain embodiments, during step 210, the processor 38 of FIG. 1 conducts analysis regarding (v) signal strength data of signals from the electronic device (e.g., as measured via the antenna 70 as part of the signal strength data 216); (vi) additional GPS data from the electronic device 15 (e.g., as received via the antenna 70 as part of the device GPS data 218) and/or from one or more other external global navigation satellite system (GNSS) devices, such as of a user onboard the vehicle (e.g., in certain embodiments, that is not part of the vehicle 12 itself but that may be presently onboard the vehicle 12). If it is determined at that the vehicle is stationary (i.e., not moving, for example with respect to a path or road on which the vehicle has been travelling), then an emergency call is placed at 222. Specifically, in various embodiments, the processor 38 of FIG. 1 provides instructions for the transceiver 35 of FIG. 1 to place an emergency call with the remote server 18 of FIG. 1; See [0053]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 38, Neely further discloses the UE of claim 32, wherein the loss notification indicates: (i) the UE's partial or full inability to perform position measurements; (ii) the UE's partial or full inability to acquire a global navigation satellite system, GNSS, clock reference; (iii) the UE's partial or full inability to acquire a GNSS frequency reference (the first indications comprises a loss of communications from one or both of the event detection system and the GNSS system (e.g., a failure to receive expected signals or “heartbeats” from one or both of these systems); See [0052]); (iv) a number of GNSS satellites from which the UE can receive navigation signals; (v) the age of the latest GNSS position measurement performed by the UE;(vi) the age of the latest clock reference retrieved from GNSS; and/or (vii) the age of the latest frequency reference retrieved from GNSS.
Regarding claim 40, Neely discloses a network node (remote server; See Fig. 1, #18) comprising:
a memory (the database of the remote server comprises a computer memory that stores information; See Fig. 1, #56); and
processing circuitry (servers e.g., including one or more processors; See Fig. 1, #54) coupled to the memory, wherein the network node is configured to:
receive a loss notification indicating that a user equipment, UE, has lost navigation system coverage partially or wholly, wherein the notification was transmitted by the UE (An evaluation is conducted at 210 as to additional inputs for verification of the potential vehicle event. In various embodiments, the processor 38 of FIG. 1 evaluates device sensor data 219 from the electronic device 15 of FIG. 1 and/or from one or more other electronic devices and/or global navigation satellite systems (GNSS). For example, in certain embodiments, during step 210, the processor 38 of FIG. 1 conducts analysis regarding (v) signal strength data of signals from the electronic device (e.g., as measured via the antenna 70 as part of the signal strength data 216); (vi) additional GPS data from the electronic device 15 (e.g., as received via the antenna 70 as part of the device GPS data 218) and/or from one or more other external global navigation satellite system (GNSS) devices, such as of a user onboard the vehicle (e.g., in certain embodiments, that is not part of the vehicle 12 itself but that may be presently onboard the vehicle 12). If it is determined at that the vehicle is stationary (i.e., not moving, for example with respect to a path or road on which the vehicle has been travelling), then an emergency call is placed at 222. Specifically, in various embodiments, the processor 38 of FIG. 1 provides instructions for the transceiver 35 of FIG. 1 to place an emergency call with the remote server 18 of FIG. 1; See [0053]-[0055]); and
based at least on receiving the loss notification, either (i) keep the UE in a state in which the UE is capable of transmitting towards the network node a regain notification indicating that the UE has regained the navigation system coverage (emergency call is placed with the remote server based on the stationary status of the vehicle but if the vehicle is not stationary the emergency call is not placed with the server; See [0056]-[0057]) or (ii) initiate a handover procedure to handover the UE.
Regarding claim 48, Neely further discloses the network node of claim 40, wherein the loss notification indicates any one or more of the following:(i) the UE's partial or full inability to perform position measurements; (ii) the UE's partial or full inability to acquire a global navigation satellite system, GNSS, clock reference; (iii) the UE's partial or full inability to acquire a GNSS frequency reference (the first indications comprises a loss of communications from one or both of the event detection system and the GNSS system (e.g., a failure to receive expected signals or “heartbeats” from one or both of these systems); See [0052]); (iv) a number of GNSS satellites from which the UE can receive navigation signals; (v) an age of the latest GNSS position measurement performed by the UE;(vi) an age of the latest clock reference retrieved from GNSS; or (vii) an age of the latest frequency reference retrieved from GNSS.
Regarding claim 50, Neely discloses a method performed by a user equipment, UE, the method comprising:
detecting that the UE has lost navigation system coverage partially or wholly (the first indications comprises a loss of communications from one or both of the event detection system and the GNSS system (e.g., a failure to receive expected signals or “heartbeats” from one or both of these systems). In one exemplary embodiment, the first indication comprises a loss of communications from the event detection system (e.g., a failure to receive expected signals or “heartbeats” from the event detection system, such as via the antenna 70 and/or via the vehicle bus 32); See [0052]); and
after the detection, transmitting towards a network node a loss notification indicating that the UE has the lost navigation system coverage (An evaluation is conducted at 210 as to additional inputs for verification of the potential vehicle event. In various embodiments, the processor 38 of FIG. 1 evaluates device sensor data 219 from the electronic device 15 of FIG. 1 and/or from one or more other electronic devices and/or global navigation satellite systems (GNSS). For example, in certain embodiments, during step 210, the processor 38 of FIG. 1 conducts analysis regarding (v) signal strength data of signals from the electronic device (e.g., as measured via the antenna 70 as part of the signal strength data 216); (vi) additional GPS data from the electronic device 15 (e.g., as received via the antenna 70 as part of the device GPS data 218) and/or from one or more other external global navigation satellite system (GNSS) devices, such as of a user onboard the vehicle (e.g., in certain embodiments, that is not part of the vehicle 12 itself but that may be presently onboard the vehicle 12). If it is determined at that the vehicle is stationary (i.e., not moving, for example with respect to a path or road on which the vehicle has been travelling), then an emergency call is placed at 222. Specifically, in various embodiments, the processor 38 of FIG. 1 provides instructions for the transceiver 35 of FIG. 1 to place an emergency call with the remote server 18 of FIG. 1; See [0053]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 51, Neely discloses a method performed by a network node, the method comprising:
receiving a loss notification indicating that a user equipment, UE, has lost navigation system coverage partially or wholly, wherein the notification was transmitted by the UE (An evaluation is conducted at 210 as to additional inputs for verification of the potential vehicle event. In various embodiments, the processor 38 of FIG. 1 evaluates device sensor data 219 from the electronic device 15 of FIG. 1 and/or from one or more other electronic devices and/or global navigation satellite systems (GNSS). For example, in certain embodiments, during step 210, the processor 38 of FIG. 1 conducts analysis regarding (v) signal strength data of signals from the electronic device (e.g., as measured via the antenna 70 as part of the signal strength data 216); (vi) additional GPS data from the electronic device 15 (e.g., as received via the antenna 70 as part of the device GPS data 218) and/or from one or more other external global navigation satellite system (GNSS) devices, such as of a user onboard the vehicle (e.g., in certain embodiments, that is not part of the vehicle 12 itself but that may be presently onboard the vehicle 12). If it is determined at that the vehicle is stationary (i.e., not moving, for example with respect to a path or road on which the vehicle has been travelling), then an emergency call is placed at 222. Specifically, in various embodiments, the processor 38 of FIG. 1 provides instructions for the transceiver 35 of FIG. 1 to place an emergency call with the remote server 18 of FIG. 1; See [0053]-[0055]); and
based at least on receiving the loss notification, either (i) keeping the UE in a state in which the UE is capable of transmitting towards the network node a regain notification indicating that the UE has regained the navigation system coverage (emergency call is placed with the remote server based on the stationary status of the vehicle but if the vehicle is not stationary the emergency call is not placed with the server; See [0056]-[0057]) or (ii) initiating a handover procedure to handover the UE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neely as applied to claims 32 and 40 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (U.S. PGPub 2022/0240335), hereinafter referred to as Takahashi.
Regarding claim 33, Neely fails to explicitly teach the UE of claim 32, wherein the loss notification is transmitted via any one of (i) a radio resource control, RRC, signaling, (ii) a medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, signaling, or (iii) an uplink control information, UCI, signaling on a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, or a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH.
Takahashi teaches the concept of sending a failure notification using RRC signaling (the information element in the NR RRC is transmitted from the terminal to the base station when a failure is detected; See [0070]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely to include wherein the loss notification is transmitted via a radio resource control, RRC, signaling taught by Takahashi in order to optimize handover.
Regarding claim 41, Neely fails to explicitly teach the network node of claim 40, wherein the loss notification is received at the network node via any one of a radio resource control, RRC, signaling, a medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, signaling, or an uplink control information, UCI, signaling on a physical uplink control channel, PUCCH, or a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH.
Takahashi teaches the concept of sending a failure notification using RRC signaling (the information element in the NR RRC is transmitted from the terminal to the base station when a failure is detected; See [0070]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely to include wherein the loss notification is received at the network node via a radio resource control, RRC, signaling taught by Takahashi in order to optimize handover.
Claims 34, 37, 42-43 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neely as applied to claims 33 and 40 above, and further in view of Jung et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0397247), hereinafter referred to as Jung.
Regarding claim 34, Neely fails to teach the UE of claim 32, wherein the UE is configured to: receive a command instructing the UE to transmit towards the network node a dummy packet or a random access preamble, wherein the command was transmitted by the network node; and after receiving the command but before a time alignment timer for the UE expires, transmit towards the network node the dummy packet or the random access preamble.
Jung teaches wherein the UE is configured to: receive a command instructing the UE to transmit towards the network node a dummy packet or a random access preamble (if a random access procedure is triggered by events such as a potential SR failure and/or a potential expiry of an UL timing alignment timer upon arrival of UL data (e.g., the UE transmits a random access preamble before a timeAlignmentTimer expires), the UE may continue monitoring PDCCH for the UE-specific search space set, even after the PRACH transmission, in order to receive an UL grant in response to a previously transmitted SR and/or to receive a TA command that makes the UE restart the UL timing alignment timer before the expiry; See [0208]), wherein the command was transmitted by the network node (a UE in an RRC_CONNECTED state initiates a random access procedure for a potential expiry of an UL timing alignment timer upon arriving UL data or for a potential SR failure, if receiving an implicit or explicit indication(s) that a serving cell is an NTN cell and/or that an early initiation of a random access procedure is configured; See [0076]); and after receiving the command but before a time alignment timer for the UE expires, transmit towards the network node the dummy packet or the random access preamble (if a random access procedure is triggered by events such as a potential SR failure and/or a potential expiry of an UL timing alignment timer upon arrival of UL data (e.g., the UE transmits a random access preamble before a timeAlignmentTimer expires), the UE may continue monitoring PDCCH for the UE-specific search space set, even after the PRACH transmission, in order to receive an UL grant in response to a previously transmitted SR and/or to receive a TA command that makes the UE restart the UL timing alignment timer before the expiry; See [0208]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely to include wherein the UE is configured to: receive a command instructing the UE to transmit towards the network node a dummy packet or a random access preamble, wherein the command was transmitted by the network node; and after receiving the command but before a time alignment timer for the UE expires, transmit towards the network node the dummy packet or the random access preamble taught by Jung in order to derive position and/or a reference time and frequency and apply TA and frequency adjustment.
Regarding claim 37, Neely fails to teach the UE of claim 34, wherein the UE is configured to: receive (i) an uplink, UL, grant, (ii) a message triggering the UE to transmit a sounding reference signal, SRS, or (iii) a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, order; and after the receiving but before the expiration of the time alignment timer for the UE, transmit towards the network node the UL grant, the SRS, or the PDCCH order, and the UE is further configured to: transmit an UL packet using the UL grant, wherein the UL packet is a dummy packet or a buffer status report medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, or initiate a random access procedure based on receiving the PDCCH order.
Jung teaches wherein the UE is configured to: receive (i) an uplink, UL, grant, (ii) a message triggering the UE to transmit a sounding reference signal, SRS, or (iii) a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, order (a UE in an RRC_CONNECTED state initiates a random access procedure for a potential expiry of an UL timing alignment timer upon arriving UL data or for a potential SR failure, if receiving an implicit or explicit indication(s) that a serving cell is an NTN cell and/or that an early initiation of a random access procedure is configured; See [0076]); and after the receiving but before the expiration of the time alignment timer for the UE, transmit towards the network node the UL grant, the SRS, or the PDCCH order (if a random access procedure is triggered by events such as a potential SR failure and/or a potential expiry of an UL timing alignment timer upon arrival of UL data (e.g., the UE transmits a random access preamble before a timeAlignmentTimer expires), the UE may continue monitoring PDCCH for the UE-specific search space set, even after the PRACH transmission, in order to receive an UL grant in response to a previously transmitted SR and/or to receive a TA command that makes the UE restart the UL timing alignment timer before the expiry; See [0208]), and the UE is further configured to: transmit an UL packet using the UL grant, wherein the UL packet is a dummy packet or a buffer status report medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, or initiate a random access procedure based on receiving the PDCCH order (if a random access procedure is triggered by events such as a potential SR failure and/or a potential expiry of an UL timing alignment timer upon arrival of UL data (e.g., the UE transmits a random access preamble before a timeAlignmentTimer expires), the UE may continue monitoring PDCCH for the UE-specific search space set, even after the PRACH transmission, in order to receive an UL grant in response to a previously transmitted SR and/or to receive a TA command that makes the UE restart the UL timing alignment timer before the expiry; See [0208]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely to include wherein the UE is configured to: receive (i) an uplink, UL, grant, (ii) a message triggering the UE to transmit a sounding reference signal, SRS, or (iii) a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, order; and after the receiving but before the expiration of the time alignment timer for the UE, transmit towards the network node the UL grant, the SRS, or the PDCCH order, and the UE is further configured to: transmit an UL packet using the UL grant, wherein the UL packet is a dummy packet or a buffer status report medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, or initiate a random access procedure based on receiving the PDCCH order taught by Jung in order to derive position and/or a reference time and frequency and apply TA and frequency adjustment.
Regarding claim 42, Neely fails to teach the network node of claim 40, wherein the state in which the UE is capable of transmitting towards the network node the regain notification is a radio resource control, RRC, connected, RRC_CONNECTED, state, and keeping the UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state comprises refraining from releasing the UE to an RRC inactive, RRC_INACTIVE, state or an RRC idle, RRC_IDLE, state.
Jung teaches wherein the state in which the UE is capable of transmitting towards the network node the regain notification is a radio resource control, RRC, connected, RRC_CONNECTED, state, and keeping the UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state comprises refraining from releasing the UE to an RRC inactive, RRC_INACTIVE, state or an RRC idle, RRC_IDLE, state (a UE in an RRC_CONNECTED state initiates a random access procedure for a potential expiry of an UL timing alignment timer upon arriving UL data or for a potential SR failure, if receiving an implicit or explicit indication(s) that a serving cell is an NTN cell and/or that an early initiation of a random access procedure is configured. It is well known that keeping a UE in the connected state is refraining from releasing to an inactive or idle state; See [0076]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely to include wherein the state in which the UE is capable of transmitting towards the network node the regain notification is a radio resource control, RRC, connected, RRC_CONNECTED, state, and keeping the UE in the RRC_CONNECTED state comprises refraining from releasing the UE to an RRC inactive, RRC_INACTIVE, state or an RRC idle, RRC_IDLE, state taught by Jung in order to derive position and/or a reference time and frequency and apply TA and frequency adjustment.
Regarding claim 43, Neely fails to teach the network node of claim 40, wherein the network node is configured to, based at least on receiving the loss notification, maintain a valid timing advance, TA, for the UE, wherein maintaining a valid TA for the UE comprises: instructing the UE to transmit towards the network node a dummy packet or a random access preamble; and after instructing the UE, receiving the dummy packet or the random access preamble transmitted by the UE, wherein the UE transmitted the dummy packet or the random access preamble before a time alignment timer for the UE expires.
Jung teaches wherein the network node is configured to, based at least on receiving the loss notification (triggered by potential SR failure; See [0208]), maintain a valid timing advance, TA, for the UE (a common TA to compensate a common propagation delay for all served UEs in a cell may be indicated by the network and may be applied to a PRACH preamble transmission(s) by the UEs; See [0096]), wherein maintaining a valid TA for the UE comprises: instructing the UE to transmit towards the network node a dummy packet or a random access preamble (if a random access procedure is triggered by events such as a potential SR failure and/or a potential expiry of an UL timing alignment timer upon arrival of UL data (e.g., the UE transmits a random access preamble before a timeAlignmentTimer expires), the UE may continue monitoring PDCCH for the UE-specific search space set, even after the PRACH transmission, in order to receive an UL grant in response to a previously transmitted SR and/or to receive a TA command that makes the UE restart the UL timing alignment timer before the expiry; See [0208]); and after instructing the UE, receiving the dummy packet or the random access preamble transmitted by the UE, wherein the UE transmitted the dummy packet or the random access preamble before a time alignment timer for the UE expires (if a random access procedure is triggered by events such as a potential SR failure and/or a potential expiry of an UL timing alignment timer upon arrival of UL data (e.g., the UE transmits a random access preamble before a timeAlignmentTimer expires), the UE may continue monitoring PDCCH for the UE-specific search space set, even after the PRACH transmission, in order to receive an UL grant in response to a previously transmitted SR and/or to receive a TA command that makes the UE restart the UL timing alignment timer before the expiry; See [0208]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely to include wherein the network node is configured to, based at least on receiving the loss notification, maintain a valid timing advance, TA, for the UE, wherein maintaining a valid TA for the UE comprises: instructing the UE to transmit towards the network node a dummy packet or a random access preamble; and after instructing the UE, receiving the dummy packet or the random access preamble transmitted by the UE, wherein the UE transmitted the dummy packet or the random access preamble before a time alignment timer for the UE expires taught by Jung in order to derive position and/or a reference time and frequency and apply TA and frequency adjustment.
Regarding claim 46, Neely fails to teach the network node of claim 40, wherein the network node is configured to: based at least on receiving the loss notification, maintain a valid timing advance, TA, for the UE, wherein maintaining a valid TA for the UE comprises: keeping track of a time alignment timer for the UE; and transmitting, before expiration of the time alignment timer for the UE, (i) an uplink, UL, grant, (ii) a message triggering the UE to transmit a sounding reference signal, SRS, or (iii) a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, order.
Jung teaches wherein the network node is configured to: based at least on receiving the loss notification (triggered by potential SR failure; See [0208]), maintain a valid timing advance, TA, for the UE (a common TA to compensate a common propagation delay for all served UEs in a cell may be indicated by the network and may be applied to a PRACH preamble transmission(s) by the UEs; See [0096]), wherein maintaining a valid TA for the UE comprises: keeping track of a time alignment timer for the UE (determining that the timer is not expired; See [0208]); and transmitting, before expiration of the time alignment timer for the UE, (i) an uplink, UL, grant, (ii) a message triggering the UE to transmit a sounding reference signal, SRS, or (iii) a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, order (if a random access procedure is triggered by events such as a potential SR failure and/or a potential expiry of an UL timing alignment timer upon arrival of UL data (e.g., the UE transmits a random access preamble before a timeAlignmentTimer expires), the UE may continue monitoring PDCCH for the UE-specific search space set, even after the PRACH transmission, in order to receive an UL grant in response to a previously transmitted SR and/or to receive a TA command that makes the UE restart the UL timing alignment timer before the expiry; See [0208]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely to include wherein the network node is configured to: based at least on receiving the loss notification, maintain a valid timing advance, TA, for the UE, wherein maintaining a valid TA for the UE comprises: keeping track of a time alignment timer for the UE; and transmitting, before expiration of the time alignment timer for the UE, (i) an uplink, UL, grant, (ii) a message triggering the UE to transmit a sounding reference signal, SRS, or (iii) a physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, order taught by Jung in order to derive position and/or a reference time and frequency and apply TA and frequency adjustment.
Claims 35 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neely in view of Jung as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Yao et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0422195), hereinafter referred to as Yao.
Regarding claim 35, Neely in view of Jung fails to teach the UE of claim 34, wherein the UE is configured to: receive one or more timing modification instructions; and using the received one or more timing modification instructions, modify a TA of the UE, wherein the one or more timing modification instructions were transmitted by the network node, and the one or more timing modification instructions were determined using at least the dummy packet or the random access preamble.
Yao teaches wherein the UE is configured to: receive one or more timing modification instructions (base station 160 may respond with a RAR message to UE 110 (at 508). As shown, the RAR message may include a TA command. The base station may determine the TA command based on a reception time on the PRACH preamble message (e.g., based on whether the PRACH preamble was received too early or two late); See [0059]); and using the received one or more timing modification instructions, modify a TA of the UE (UE 110 may update the old TA value (e.g., used to send the PRACH preamble) with the TA command in the RAR (at 510); See [0060]), wherein the one or more timing modification instructions were transmitted by the network node (base station 160 may respond with a RAR message to UE 110 (at 508). As shown, the RAR message may include a TA command. The base station may determine the TA command based on a reception time on the PRACH preamble message (e.g., based on whether the PRACH preamble was received too early or two late); See [0059]), and the one or more timing modification instructions were determined using at least the dummy packet or the random access preamble (UE 110 may obtain the common TA and/or common timing drift rate and determine an initial TA value based on the common TA and/or common timing drift rate (at 504). UE 110 may use the TA value to modify the transmission time of a PRACH preamble message sent to base station 122 (at 506),; See [0059]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely in view of Jung to include wherein the UE is configured to: receive one or more timing modification instructions; and using the received one or more timing modification instructions, modify a TA of the UE, wherein the one or more timing modification instructions were transmitted by the network node, and the one or more timing modification instructions were determined using at least the dummy packet or the random access preamble taught by Jung in order to maintain synchronization with the network.
Regarding claim 44, Neely in view Jung fails to teach the network node of claim 43, wherein maintaining a valid TA for the UE further comprises: using at least the received dummy packet or the random access preamble to determine one or more timing modification instructions for the UE; and transmitting to the UE the one or more timing modification instructions, and the one or more timing modification instructions are configured to cause the UE to modify the TA of the UE.
Yao teaches wherein maintaining a valid TA for the UE further comprises: using at least the received dummy packet or the random access preamble to determine one or more timing modification instructions for the UE (UE 110 may obtain the common TA and/or common timing drift rate and determine an initial TA value based on the common TA and/or common timing drift rate (at 504). UE 110 may use the TA value to modify the transmission time of a PRACH preamble message sent to base station 122 (at 506),; See [0059]); and transmitting to the UE the one or more timing modification instructions (base station 160 may respond with a RAR message to UE 110 (at 508). As shown, the RAR message may include a TA command. The base station may determine the TA command based on a reception time on the PRACH preamble message (e.g., based on whether the PRACH preamble was received too early or two late); See [0059]), and the one or more timing modification instructions are configured to cause the UE to modify the TA of the UE (UE 110 may update the old TA value (e.g., used to send the PRACH preamble) with the TA command in the RAR (at 510); See [0060]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely in view of Jung to include wherein maintaining a valid TA for the UE further comprises: using at least the received dummy packet or the random access preamble to determine one or more timing modification instructions for the UE; and transmitting to the UE the one or more timing modification instructions, and the one or more timing modification instructions are configured to cause the UE to modify the TA of the UE taught by Jung in order to maintain synchronization with the network.
Claims 36, 45 and 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neely in view of Jung as applied to claims 34 and 43 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0051596), hereinafter referred to as Lee.
Regarding claim 36, Neely in view of Jung fails to teach the UE of claim 34, wherein the dummy packet is transmitted via a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH; and the PUSCH comprises:(i) a guard period in the beginning and/or the end of the PUSCH in a time domain; (ii) one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing, OFDM, symbols for a demodulation reference signal, DMRS; (iii) a guard band at both ends of a scheduled frequency resource; and/or (iv) a radio network temporary identifier, RNTI, different from a cell RNTI.
Lee teaches wherein the dummy packet is transmitted via a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH (it may be configured that only when the UE is configured with a DMRS-pattern field state including the DMRS (even though there is no data in the buffer), the UE does not perform the skipping (i.e., the UE transmits a PUSCH including predefined or dummy information); See [0157]); and the PUSCH comprises: (ii) one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing, OFDM, symbols for a demodulation reference signal, DMRS (it may be configured that only when the UE is configured with a DMRS-pattern field state including the DMRS (even though there is no data in the buffer), the UE does not perform the skipping (i.e., the UE transmits a PUSCH including predefined or dummy information); See [0157]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely in view of Jung to include wherein the dummy packet is transmitted via a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH; and the PUSCH comprises (ii) one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing, OFDM, symbols for a demodulation reference signal, DMRS taught by Lee in order to maintain synchronization with the network.
Regarding claim 45, Neely in view of Jung fails to teach the network node of claim 43, wherein the dummy packet is received via a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH; and the PUSCH comprises:(i) a guard period in the beginning and/or the end of the PUSCH in a time domain; (ii) one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing, OFDM, symbols for a demodulation reference signal, DMRS; (iii) a guard band at both ends of a scheduled frequency resource; and/or (iv) a radio network temporary identifier, RNTI, different from a cell RNTI.
Lee teaches wherein the dummy packet is transmitted via a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH (it may be configured that only when the UE is configured with a DMRS-pattern field state including the DMRS (even though there is no data in the buffer), the UE does not perform the skipping (i.e., the UE transmits a PUSCH including predefined or dummy information); See [0157]); and the PUSCH comprises (ii) one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing, OFDM, symbols for a demodulation reference signal, DMRS (it may be configured that only when the UE is configured with a DMRS-pattern field state including the DMRS (even though there is no data in the buffer), the UE does not perform the skipping (i.e., the UE transmits a PUSCH including predefined or dummy information); See [0157]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely in view of Jung to include wherein the dummy packet is transmitted via a physical uplink shared channel, PUSCH; and the PUSCH comprises (ii) one or more orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing, OFDM, symbols for a demodulation reference signal, DMRS taught by Jung in order to maintain synchronization with the network.
Regarding claim 47, Neely fails to teach the network node of claim 40, wherein maintaining a valid TA for the UE further comprises receiving an UL packet transmitted by the UE; the UE transmitted the UL packet using the UL grant; the UL packet is a dummy packet or a buffer status report medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, and the PDCCH order is configured to trigger the UE to initiate a random access procedure.
Jung teaches wherein maintaining a valid TA for the UE further comprises the PDCCH order is configured to trigger the UE to initiate a random access procedure (if a random access procedure is triggered by events such as a potential SR failure and/or a potential expiry of an UL timing alignment timer upon arrival of UL data (e.g., the UE transmits a random access preamble before a timeAlignmentTimer expires), the UE may continue monitoring PDCCH for the UE-specific search space set, even after the PRACH transmission, in order to receive an UL grant in response to a previously transmitted SR and/or to receive a TA command that makes the UE restart the UL timing alignment timer before the expiry; See [0208]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely to include wherein maintaining a valid TA for the UE further comprises the PDCCH order is configured to trigger the UE to initiate a random access procedure taught by Jung in order to derive position and/or a reference time and frequency and apply TA and frequency adjustment.
Neely in view of Jung fails to teach receiving an UL packet transmitted by the UE; the UE transmitted the UL packet using the UL grant; the UL packet is a dummy packet or a buffer status report medium access control, MAC, control element, CE.
Lee teaches receiving an UL packet transmitted by the UE; the UE transmitted the UL packet using the UL grant; the UL packet is a dummy packet (it may be configured that only when the UE is configured with a DMRS-pattern field state including the DMRS (even though there is no data in the buffer), the UE does not perform the skipping (i.e., the UE transmits a PUSCH including predefined or dummy information); See [0157]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely in view of Jung to include receiving an UL packet transmitted by the UE; the UE transmitted the UL packet using the UL grant; the UL packet is a dummy packet or a buffer status report medium access control, MAC, control element, CE taught by Jung in order to maintain synchronization with the network.
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neely as applied to claim 32 above, and further in view of Pelletier et al. (U.S. PGPub 2016/0309379), hereinafter referred to as Pelletier.
Regarding claim 39, Neely further teaches the UE of claim 32, wherein the UE is configured to:
as a result of detecting the loss of navigation system coverage, initiate a handover procedure (the at least one GNSS measurement gap is associated with at least one of a trigger, wherein the trigger is a handover event. The trigger is based on a predefined event and corresponds to one of a predefined instruction transmitted by the network node and predefined condition being satisfied; See page 9, lines 13-18) or a cell re-selection procedure,
wherein the UE is configured to be in any one of the following states: (i) an active connection state (the GNSS measurement gap configuration configures the wireless device that is in a radio resource control, RRC, connected state; See page 9, lines 5-8); (ii) an inactive connection state, (iii) a disconnected state.
Neely fails to teach in case the UE is in the inactive connection state or in the disconnected state at the time the UE detected that the UE has lost navigation system coverage partially or wholly, the UE is configured to initiate the cell re-selection procedure as a result of detecting the loss of navigation system coverage; and the cell re-selection procedure comprises selecting from two or more cells a target cell based on one or more of (i) channel qualities of said two or more cells, (ii) a priority list of cells, and (iii) timing and/or frequency pre-compensation requirements of said two or more cells.
Pelletier teaches in case the UE is in the inactive connection state or in the disconnected state at the time the UE detected that the UE has lost navigation system coverage partially or wholly, the UE is configured to initiate the cell re-selection procedure as a result of detecting the loss of navigation system coverage (Such control signaling may include information about cells applicable for this Inactive state, which may lead to a cell selection or reselection procedure. For example, the control signaling may be inside an information element. An information element may be similar to, for example, idleModeMobilityControlInfo. The information element may indicate priority information for the cell reselection procedure.; See [0208]); and the cell re-selection procedure comprises selecting from two or more cells a target cell based on one or more of (i) channel qualities of said two or more cells, (ii) a priority list of cells (priority determines the cell to select; See [0209]), and (iii) timing and/or frequency pre-compensation requirements of said two or more cells.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely to include in case the UE is in the inactive connection state or in the disconnected state at the time the UE detected that the UE has lost navigation system coverage partially or wholly, the UE is configured to initiate the cell re-selection procedure as a result of detecting the loss of navigation system coverage; and the cell re-selection procedure comprises selecting from two or more cells a target cell based on one or more of (i) channel qualities of said two or more cells, (ii) a priority list of cells, and (iii) timing and/or frequency pre-compensation requirements of said two or more cells taught by Jung in order to maintain synchronization with the network.
Claim 49 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neely as applied to claim 40 above, and further in view of Wu et al. (U.S. PGPub 2018/0376393), hereinafter referred to as Wu.
Regarding claim 49, Neely fails to teach the network node of claim 40, wherein the handover of the UE comprises a handover of the UE from a first non-terrestrial network to a second non-terrestrial network; the first non-terrestrial network is provided by a first satellite orbiting at a first altitude; the second non-terrestrial network is provided by a second satellite orbiting at a second altitude; and the first altitude is lower than the second altitude.
Wu teaches wherein the handover of the UE comprises a handover of the UE from a first non-terrestrial network to a second non-terrestrial network; the first non-terrestrial network is provided by a first satellite orbiting at a first altitude; the second non-terrestrial network is provided by a second satellite orbiting at a second altitude; and the first altitude is lower than the second altitude (the user terminals can dynamically switch communications between LEO satellites and non-LEO satellites during handover, wherein the differing satellites have different altitudes; See [0011] and [0080]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Neely in view of Jung to include wherein the handover of the UE comprises a handover of the UE from a first non-terrestrial network to a second non-terrestrial network; the first non-terrestrial network is provided by a first satellite orbiting at a first altitude; the second non-terrestrial network is provided by a second satellite orbiting at a second altitude; and the first altitude is lower than the second altitude taught by Jung in order to maintain synchronization with the network.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed April 23, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 32, 38, 40, 42, 48 and 50-51 under Liberg et al. (Int. Pub. No. WO 2021/133239 A1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made using Neely et al. (U.S. PGPub 2021/0165110), hereinafter referred to as Neely.
On page 8 of the Applicants’ Response, Applicants state that Liberg is not considered prior art under 102(a)(2) because the instant application and Liberg were commonly owned and the publication of Liberg was not before the priority date of the instant application.
Examiner agrees and has thus removed Liberg from consideration. A new rejection has been indicated above using Neely.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents,
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/ASHLEY SHIVERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477 9/18/2026