DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s incomplete election, with traverse, of species D.I, in the ”Response to Election / Restriction Filed - 01/20/2026”, is acknowledged.
The election is found incomplete because the applicant has not identified the claims encompassing the elected invention, as required in “Requirement for Restriction/Election - 11/19/2025”. See “Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species or invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143 ) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention”.
It has been found that the inventions as recited in claim 1-19 do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.2 as they lack same or corresponding special technical features because the features that are common to the invention of claims 2-19 are in claim 1, which is being rejected in section I, infra, in addition to the citation in “Requirement for Restriction/Election - 11/19/2025”.
Based on the assertions in “Requirement for Restriction/Election - 11/19/2025”, that the searches for the device and process inventions are not co-extensive and are distinct for product and process is in the distinct area of examination, this office action considers all non-method claims i.e. claims 1-16 as being elected.
The requirement is still deemed proper , and is therefore made FINAL, and thus the required provisional election (see MPEP § 818.03(b)) becomes an election without traverse.
In view of the above, this office action considers claims 1-19 pending for prosecution, of which, non-elected claims 17-19 are withdrawn, and elected claims 1-16 are examined on their merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (110; Fig 3; [0051] or C 18, L 18-37)= (element 110; Figure No. 3; Paragraph No. [0051]) or Column No 18, Line Nos. 18-17. For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” or “Column No, Line Nos" shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. The cited numerals or paragraphs of primary reference, for example, Schoelkopf in this document, is not preceded with Schoelkopf. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoelkopf, III; Robert J et al., (US 20150372217 A1) hereinafter Schoelkopf; in view of MINET ROGER (FR 2220929 A1) hereinafter Minet; and in further view of Minet; Roger P. (US 3857114 A); hereinafter Minet’114.
Regarding Claim 1. Schoelkopf teaches an electromagnetic resonator (300 or 400; Figs 3-4) comprising (see the entire document, Figs 3-4, along with subject matter referenced in other figures, specifically, as cited below):
Schoelkopf Fig 3 is a cross section along line AA of Fig 4
a superconducting microwave cavity (trouh/110; Fig 3; [0051]); and
a resonant structure (310, labelled as stripline resonator) suspended (by 118) within the cavity (110/trough) and mechanically supported by (118) the cavity.
But,Schoelkopf is silent on “the resonant structure (310) comprising at least one end that is freely suspended within the cavity..
.However, in the analogous art. Minet. Teaches sn electromagnetic resonator (page 8, lines 11-13) comprising: a superconducting microwave cavity (page 4, lines 2-14); and a resonant structure suspended within the cavity (figure 6) and mechanically supported by the cavity; wherein (Fig 5) the resonant structure comprising at least one end ( 32/33) that is freely suspended within the cavity.
Minet Fig 5 Fig 6
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include Minet’s teaching into Schoelkopf’s resonant structure, and thereby the combination of (Schoelkopf and Minet) resonant structure (310) comprising at least one end (32/33) that is freely suspended within the cavity, as claimed; since Filter amplitude-frequency response will be optimized with function of the distance between the connecting points of the main line and the stubs, and the midpoint of the stubs in the cross cells of the filter as suggested by (Minet’114 paragraph (3) of summary setcion).
Regarding Claim 2. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 1, wherein the resonant structure (310) comprises:
a first portion (Schoelkopf,118, fig 4; detailed in Fig 3 in view of strip-line 6 of Minet Fig 5) that extends from a first side of the cavity to a second side of the cavity, the second side opposing the first side; and a second portion (in view of stubs 32/33 of Minet Fig 5) that extends from the first portion and includes the at least one end that is freely suspended within the cavity.
Regarding Claim 3. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 2, further teaches, wherein the resonant structure (310) comprises, comprises a dielectric substrate.([0051]: silicon oxide or silicon nitride)
Regarding Claim 4. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 3, Schoelkopf further teaches, wherein the dielectric substrate comprises (sapphire and/or) silicon ([0008]: the plurality of substrates comprise a material with a crystalline structure, such as silicon) .
Regarding Claim 5. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 4, Schoelkopf further teaches, wherein the resonant structure comprises a thin film of a superconducting material coating ([0052] layer 112; for details, Fig 5I; [0065] : superconducting layer 510) the dielectric substrate .
Regarding Claim 6. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 5, Schoelkopf, further teaches, wherein the thin film completely superconducting layer (510; ([0065]: superconducting layer 510) covers the dielectric substrate.
Regarding Claim 7. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 5, Schoelkopf further teaches, the superconducting material (510) comprises aluminum ([0065]: aluminum).
Regarding Claim 8. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 1, further teaches, further comprising a non-linear superconducting element (Qubit 116; Fig 3; [0051]) arranged within the cavity (Trough).
Regarding Claim 9. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 8, further teaches, wherein the non-linear superconducting element comprises at least one Josephson junction ([0053]: superconducting qubits using Josephson junctions).
Regarding Claim 10. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 8, further teaches, wherein the non-linear superconducting element is a transmon qubit ([0051, 0053]: superconducting qubit 116, is a transmon qubit).
Regarding Claim 11. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the resonant structure (310) is coupled to the cavity via one or more dielectric elements (118).
Regarding Claim 12. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the resonant structure (310) contacts the cavity (trough ; Fig 3-4 in further view of Minet Fig 5).
Regarding Claim 13. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the resonant structure (310) is planar (in view of Minet Fig 5).
Regarding Claim 14. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 1, further teaches, wherein the resonant structure (310) comprises (in view of Minet Fig 6) a lower element (18) and an upper element (19) arranged over the lower element and separated from the lower element by a dielectric material (28).
Regarding Claim 15. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 14, further teaches, wherein (in view of Minet Figs 5-6) the lower element (19) comprises a circular portion (23) and wherein the at least one end (32/33; Fig 5) that is freely suspended within the cavity is arranged within the circular portion.
Regarding Claim 16. The combination of (Schoelkopf, Minet and Minet’114) as applied to the electromagnetic resonator of claim 14, further teaches, wherein the upper element (19) and the lower element (18) are both planar (in view of Minet Fig 6).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/MOAZZAM HOSSAIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898
March 6, 2026