DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group III in the reply filed on 5 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-14 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claims 1, 8 and 9, claim 1 recites the limitation of “intaking an aqueous solution”, later in the claims and in claims 8 and 9, method steps are performed on the aqueous solution modifying the solution, and throughout the claims “the solution” is referred back to. It is unclear as to what stage of solution these instances refer back to, i.e. does the limitation “the solution” refer back to the initial solution or to the solution after a specific step of the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7, 8, 10-14, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0144673 A1 to Xiang et al. (Xiang).
As to claims 7, 8, 14, 17 and 18 Xiang teaches a method comprising intaking ocean (sea) water, an aqueous solution container bicarbonate, through a first orifice (inlet to acidified compartment (510)) into a flow system, in a first portion (acidified compartment (510)) of the flow system, electrochemically lowering the pH by releasing H+ from a first electrode (anode (506)) of the solution thereby converting at least some bicarbonate to carbon dioxide, removing carbon dioxide from the solution (in membrane contactor (620)), flowing the solution after carbon dioxide removal to a second portion (basified compartment (508)) of the flow system and raising the pH of the solution by capturing H+ at a second electrode (cathode (504)) and ejecting the solution from the flow system through a second orifice (outlet from the basified compartment (508)) (Paragraphs 0066-0069 and 0075-0079; Figure 6).
As to claims 10 and 11, Xiang teaches the method of claim 7. As discussed above, Xiang teaches that carbon dioxide is generated and released at an electrode surface in the first portion (Paragraph 0071). The remaining limitations of the claim are optional limitations.
As to claim 12, Xiang teaches the method of claim 7. Xiang further teaches that the method is free of electrolysis in that additional electrolytic products beyond carbon dioxide are not generated for collection (Figure 6).
As to claim 13, Xiang teaches the method of claim 7. Xiang teaches that the method is free of anolyte and catholyte, fed with ocean water alone (Figure 6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reason for the indication of allowable subject matter is a method wherein an aqueous solution is flown first in through a first orifice and then out through a second orifice while the method as claimed in claim 1 is performed and then also wherein an aqueous solution is flown in through the second orifice and out through the first orifice wherein an opposite reversed method is performed. While some prior art exists for reversing polarity, for example US 2011/0281959 A1 to DiMascio et al., the art does not reverse the flow inlets and outlets in combination with this polarity reversal.
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794