DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application claims foreign priority to PCTCN2021076732 filed 02/18/2021. The instant application is a 371 of PCT/EP2022/053267 filed 02/110/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) dated 09/07/2023 and 09/05/2023 both comply with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP §609. Accordingly, they have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites a method but fails to recite any active, positive steps delimiting how the method is actually practiced. Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12-14,17,19, and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention.
Termer et al.(WO2018167109A1, provided by applicant in the IDS filed 09/05/2023) recites an oil-in-water emulsion Example A5 reproduced below. Termer further teaches that the pigments provide excellent skin-feeling, highly suitable skin color modification, natural freshness and luminosity to any skin type, skin protection against IR-A, VIS and HEV radiation, ready dispersibility in aqueous and oily phases, and easy homogeneous distribution on the skin (Termer at page 3).
B) Claims 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) based upon a public use or sale or other public availability of the invention. Kuhn ("Suncare compositions with new cosmetic raw materials (7) ED - Darl Kuhn", as provided by applicant in the IDS filed on 09/05/2023) teaches a Sun Cream (Kuhn at pages 70-71).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A) Claims 12-14 and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Termer et al. (WO2018167109A1, provided by applicant in the IDS filed 09/05/2023).
Termer is discussed in the Anticipation Rejection supra. Termer differ from the instant claims in this rejection insofar as it does not teach the combination of the of the instantly recited components with sufficient specificity for anticipation. However, given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the filing of the present patent application and following the teachings of Termer to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results. MPEP §2143 and §2144.06(I). Termer et al. recites an oil-in-water emulsion Example A5 reproduced supra in the Anticipation Rejection. Termer further teaches that the pigments provide excellent skin-feeling, highly suitable skin color modification, natural freshness and luminosity to any skin type, skin protection against IR-A, VIS and HEV radiation, ready dispersibility in aqueous and oily phases, and easy homogeneous distribution on the skin (Termer at page 3). Termer teaches the use of ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate in Example A8 (Termer at page 33). Termer teaches the use of dicaprylyl carbonate in Example A4 (Termer at page 27). Termer does not require the use of emulsifiers.
Regarding instant claim 16, Termer teaches the use of ethylhexyl methoxycinnamate in Example A8 (Termer at page 33).
Regarding instant claim 18, Termer teaches the use of dicaprylyl carbonate in Example A4 (Termer at page 27).
Regarding instant claim 20, Termer does not require the use of emulsifiers.
B) Claims 12-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuhn ("Suncare compositions with new cosmetic raw materials (7) ED - Darl Kuhn", as provided by applicant in the IDS filed on 09/05/2023).
Kuhn is discussed in the Anticipation Rejection supra. Kuhn differ from the instant claims in this rejection insofar as it does not teach the combination of the of the instantly recited components with sufficient specificity for anticipation. However, given the disclosure of each component individually, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time prior to the filing of the present patent application and following the teachings of Kuhn to have selected and combined known components for their established functions with predictable results. MPEP §2143 and §2144.06(I).
Kuhn ("Suncare compositions with new cosmetic raw materials (7) ED - Darl Kuhn", as provided by applicant in the IDS filed on 09/05/2023) teaches a Sun Cream (Kuhn at pages 70-71) reproduced supra. Kuhn does not require the use of an emulsifier. Kuhn further teaches that the cosmetic or pharmaceutical preparations are distinguished by excellent protection of human skin against the damaging effect of sunlight (Kuhn at page 1).
Conclusion
No claims are presently allowable.
Correspondence
/AMANDA MICHELLE PETRITSCH/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612